DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Examiner notes that the restriction requirement was previously made final in the Non-Final Office Action mailed April 16, 2026. Applicant provides further arguments as to the propriety of the restriction requirement
The further traversal in the response filed July 15, 2026 is on the ground(s) that the allegation of unity of invention for all claims is not a concise factual reason for distinctness of any of the Groups and that applicant allegedly has no reasonable means for arguing the impropriety thereof and it is not specifically alleged which feature is the technical feature in issue. Applicant alleges this is not developed specifically within the unity analysis in the case and that without truly delineating a technical feature at issue applicant cannot respond substantively. Applicant continues none of the citations have a claim element and there is allegedly no way that the combination of references would have that claimed element and that the references individually fail to disclose a mass-colored cellulose material. This is not found persuasive because Paragraph 8 of the Restriction Requirement mailed January 7, 2026 clearly discussed the common technical feature in the unity of invention analysis. Furthermore, the common technical feature is also taught by the combination of references enumerated below in the obviousness rejection under 35 USC 103(a).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is again made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191.
Regarding Claim 1, Gort-Barten discloses a capsule (capsule 1) comprising a body (main body 2) defining a cavity wherein the body comprises an upper portion (upper end 3) and a lower portion, a sidewall extending from the upper portion (upper end 3) to the lower portion, the lower portion comprising an annular flange (flange 7) outwardly extending from the sidewall, the annular flange (flange 7) comprising an upper side facing towards the upper portion (upper end 3) of the body (main body 2) (‘144, Page 3, lines 23-27) and a sealing member (ring shaped seal 10) arranged on the upper side of the annular flange (flange 7) (‘144, Page 4, lines 7-8). The sealing member (ring shaped seal 10) comprises an inner layer (further layer 56) facing the upper side of the annular flange (flange 7) comprising an adhesive (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-23) (‘144, Page 5, line 1) and an outer layer (first layer 53) made of a cellulose material (‘144, FIGS. 2 and 5B) (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-23).
Gort-Barten further discloses the seal to be a colored material (‘144, Page 5, lines 28-32). However, Gort-Barten is silent regarding the outer layer of the seal to contain a colored cellulose material. Rather, Gort-Barten only generic discloses the entire seal itself to be made of a colored material and the outer layer to be made of a cellulose material but does not specify the outer layer made from cellulose material to be a colored cellulose material.
Toft et al. discloses a laminated food packaging comprising a laminated packaging material (‘191, Paragraph [0002]) wherein the laminated packaging material is cellulosed based (‘191, Paragraph [0029]) wherein the outermost heat sealable layers of the laminated material is provided as one or two pre-manufactured films that is pre-laminated to the barrier layer (‘191, Paragraph [0157]) wherein the outside print substrate paper facing layer is a colored or metallized film (‘191, Paragraph [0159]).
Both Gort-Barten and Toft et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of laminated food containers. Both laminated food containers of Gort-Barten and Toft et al. comprise at least one layer of cellulose based material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the food container colored seal that already contains an outer cellulose/paper based layer of Gort-Barten and construct the outer layer specifically to be a colored cellulose/paper based layer as taught by Toft et al. since claims which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the colored properties of the seal with respect to the paper/cellulose based outer layer of the seal is held unpatentable because shifting the position of the layer that imparts color to the seal would not have modified the operation of the beverage capsule in view of In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (MPEP § 2144.04.VI.C.). Toft et al. teaches that there was known utility in the food container art to construct a food container with an outer facing paper/cellulose based layer that is colored. The seal of Gort-Barten would still be colored irrespective to the particular location of the particular layer that imparts the colored properties.
Further regarding Claim 1, the limitations “a mass colored cellulose material” recites product by product limitations in how the cellulose material is colored. Applicant admits on Page 9 of the Remarks filed July 15, 2026 that “mass-coloring” is also known as mass pigmentation or dope dyeing and is a specific coloring process or technique in which a colorant or a pigment is added during the manufacturing of the cellulose material that is a distinct and definitive form of coloration distinct from other coloring processes, procedures, and results wherein the colorants are integrated into the fibers of the cellulose material. Applicant admits that the phrase “mass-coloring” refers to a specific process by which cellulose material is colored. The limitations “a mass colored cellulose material” are therefore product by process limitations as admitted by applicant. Even though product by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process in view of In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP § 2113.I.). The claimed limitations “an outer layer having a mass-colored cellulose material” results in a final product of an outer layer having a colored cellulose material.” The phrase “mass-colored” describes the process by which the cellulose material is colored. Gort-Barten discloses the sealing member being made of a colored (‘144, Page 5, lines 30-31) wherein the outer layer (first layer 53) of the sealing member is made of cellulose material (‘144, FIG. 5B) (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-18). The limitations regarding the colored cellulose material to be a “mass-colored” cellulose material as claimed are limitations with respect to the method by which the cellulose material is colored as admitted by applicant and does not impart any additional structural or compositional characteristics to the claimed colored cellulose material of the outer layer of the sealing member. The claim merely requires a colored cellulose material of the outer layer of the sealing member, which is taught by Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. as described above.
Further regarding Claim 1, the limitations “for containing beverage ingredients configured to be inserted in a beverage production device” and “to contain beverage ingredients” are seen to be recitations regarding the intended use of the “capsule.” In this regard, applicant’s attention is invited to MPEP § 2114.I. and MPEP § 2114.II. which states features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally in view of In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997). If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possess the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus in view of In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432. See also Bettcher Industries, Inc. v. Bunzl USA, Inc., 661 F.3d 629, 639-40,100 USPQ2d 1433, 1440 (Fed. Cir. 2011). The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on in view of In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432; In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213, 169 USPQ 226, 228 (CCPA 1971). Additionally, apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does in view of Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claimed in view of Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Furthermore, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding Claims 2-3, Gort-Barten discloses the outer layer of the sealing member being made of a cellulose material of paper (‘144, Page 6, lines 12-18) that is capable of swelling when the coffee machine is in use which swelling enables a better seal (‘144, Page 4, lines 29-30). Applicant discloses absorption by water of the cellulose material is configured to expand or swell when water is absorbed (Specification, Page 4, lines 25-33). Therefore, the disclosure of the paper material of the sealing member of Gort-Barten reads on the claimed outer layer of the sealing member being configured to absorb a predetermined amount of water and being configured to expand (swell) when water is absorbed. It is noted that the claims do not specify the particular predetermined amount of water.
Regarding Claim 8, Gort-Barten discloses the colored cellulose material being a colored cardboard (‘144, Page 4, lines 9-15).
Further regarding Claim 8, the limitations with respect to the paper or cardboard being mass-colored are product by process limitations and as such are rejected for the same reasons regarding product-by-process limitations as enumerated in the rejections of Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 9, Gort-Barten discloses the sealing member (sealing ring 10) comprising an intermediate layer (aluminum foil layer 55) between the outer layer (first layer 53) and the inner layer (further layer 56) (‘144, FIG. 5B) (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-23).
Regarding Claim 11, Gort-Barten discloses the thickness of the sealing member (ring shaped seal 10) being between 0.1-0.3 mm (‘144, FIG. 2) (‘144, Page 4, lines 7-8), which converts to a sealing member thickness of between 100 µm and 300 µm, which overlaps the claimed sealing member thickness of between 200 µm and 700 µm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the sealing member have the claimed thickness as taught by Gort-Barten since where the claimed sealing member thickness ranges overlaps sealing member thickness ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the sealing member thickness will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such sealing member thickness is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.).
Regarding Claim 18, Gort-Barten discloses the thickness of the sealing member (ring shaped seal 10) being between 0.1-0.3 mm (‘144, FIG. 2) (‘144, Page 4, lines 7-8), which converts to a sealing member thickness of between 100 µm and 300 µm, which is close to but does not overlap the claimed sealing member thickness of between 330 µm and 550 µm. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed sealing member thickness ranges do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close in view of Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Raue et al. US 2016/0114557.
Regarding Claim 4, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. is silent regarding a color of the outer layer of the sealing member being substantially uniform along the whole thickness of the outer layer.
Raue et al. discloses a multilayered food casing which does not comprise a non-uniformly colored surface (‘557, Paragraph [0019]).
Both Gort-Barten and Raue et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of multilayered food containers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the color of the outer layer of the sealing member to be substantially uniform along the whole thickness of the outer layer since Raue et al. teaches that there was known utility in the food container art to have a casing having a uniformly colored surface. Furthermore, matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in view of In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) (MPEP § 2144.04.I.).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Planchard et al. US 2022/0402669.
Regarding Claim 5, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. is silent regarding the outer layer of the sealing member comprising a porosity between 550 and 800 cm3/ min according to the Bendtsen porosity test defined in ISO 5636-3:2013.
Planchard et al. discloses a lid for sealing a beverage capsule (‘669, Paragraph [0001]) comprising a cellulose (‘669, Paragraph [0058]) wherein the cellulose fiber base sheet has a sufficient porosity as measured using a Bendtsen porosity tester according to the ISO 5636-3 standard to allow easier penetration of a gelatinizing agent used in the parchmentizing process into the fibrous structure of the cellulose fiber base sheet (‘669, Paragraph [0031]) wherein a low porosity of the cellulose fiber sheet does not allow the gelatinizing agent to reach the core of the fibrous structure and too high of a porosity results in a cellulose fiber sheet that does not have enough mechanical strength to run through the parchmentizing process and results in a more easily ruptured cellulose fiber (‘669, Paragraph [0032]).
Both modified Gort-Barten and Planchard et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules comprising a component made of cellulose. Although Planchard et al. does not explicitly state the particular porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member to be between 550 and 800 cm3/min according to the Bendtsen porosity test, Planchard et al. teaches the porosity of the cellulose fiber sheet influencing the mechanical strength/rupturability of the cellulose fiber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capsule of modified Gort-Barten and adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member to fall within the claimed porosity range since differences in the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member of modified Gort-Barten based upon the desired mechanical strength/rupturability of the cellulose fiber that makes up the sealing member as suggested by Planchard et al.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Martin-Portugues et al. US 2007/0172687.
Regarding Claim 5, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. is silent regarding the outer layer of the sealing member comprising a porosity between 550 and 800 cm3/ min according to the Bendtsen porosity test defined in ISO 5636-3:2013.
Martin-Portugues et al. discloses a laminated substrate comprising paper (‘687, Paragraph [0001]) comprising cellulose fibers (‘687, Paragraph [0016]) wherein the paper has a Bendtsen porosity of from 400 to 1200 ml/min (‘687, Paragraph [0017]), which converts to a porosity of between 400 to 1200 cm3/min, which encompasses the claimed porosity range of between 550 and 800 cm3/min. Martin-Portugues et al. also discloses the porosity being appropriately adapted to the impregnation requirements (‘687, Paragraph [0017]).
Both modified Gort-Barten and Martin-Portugues et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of cellulosic compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capsule of modified Gort-Barten and adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member to fall within the claimed porosity range as taught by Martin-Portugues et al. since where the claimed porosity of the cellulose based outer layer of the sealing member overlaps the porosity of cellulose based materials disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member of modified Gort-Barten based upon the desired amount of resins to be impregnated with the cellulose as suggested by Planchard et al. (‘687, Paragraphs [0017] and [0059]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Brivois US 2022/0348402.
Regarding Claim 6, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. is silent regarding the outer layer of the sealing member comprising a water absorptiveness of between 200 and 300 g/m2 according to the Cobb test at 60 seconds defined in ISO 535:2014.
Brivois discloses a capsule (‘402, Paragraph [0031]) comprising a sealing member (sealing ring 10) made from an absorbent paper based material having a water absorption rate greater than or equal to 200 ml/cm3 as measured by the Cobb method in standard NF ISO 535 to improve the sealing effect by absorbing quantities of liquid (‘402, Paragraph [0047]) which Cobb test is measured for an exposure time of 60 seconds (‘402, Paragraph [0053]). The disclosure of Brivois of the paper based sealing member having a water absorptiveness of greater than or equal to 200 ml/cm3 as measured by the Cobb method in standard NF ISO 535 encompasses the claimed water absorptiveness of between 200 and 300 g/m2 according to the Cobb test at 60 seconds defined in ISO 535:2014.
Both modified Gort-Barten and Brivois are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. Both beverage capsules of modified Gort-Barten and Brivois comprise a sealing member made at least partially of paper/cellulose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the water absorptiveness of the paper based sealing member of modified Gort-Barten to have the claimed water absorptiveness as taught by Brivois since where the claimed sealing member water absorptiveness ranges overlaps sealing member absorptiveness ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Brivois discloses that the claimed water absorption rate improves the sealing effect by absorbing quantities of liquid (‘402, Paragraph [0047]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Oh US 2022/0227574.
Regarding Claim 7, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. and Oh is silent regarding the outer layer of the sealing member comprising an internal bond strength between 150 and 250 J/m2 or between 170 and 220 J/m2 according to the Scott test defined in TAPPI T569.
Oh discloses a capsule (beverage pod 10) (‘574, Paragraph [0063]) comprising first and second bonds that are permanent or peelable depending on the application wherein the desired strength of the bond is adjusted (‘574, Paragraph [0068]).
Both modified Gort-Barten and Oh are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. Although Oh does not explicitly disclose the claimed internal bond strength ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the internal bond strength of the outer layer of the sealing member of modified Gort-Barten since differences in the internal bond strength of the outer layer of the sealing member will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such internal bond strength of the outer layer of the sealing member is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Oh discloses that there was known utility in the beverage capsule art to adjust the bond strength to the desired levels (‘574, Paragraph [0068]).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 as applied to claim 9 above as further evidenced by Bartoli et al. US 2022/0388763 and Byun US 2018/0009601.
Regarding Claims 10 and 17, Gort-Barten discloses the sealing member comprising an intermediate layer of aluminum (aluminum foil layer 55) (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-23). Bartoli et al. provides evidence that it was known in the beverage capsule art (‘763, Paragraph [0001]) that aluminum is a material that is resistant to liquids and/or gases (‘763, Paragraph [0069]), i.e. aluminum is a water repellant material. Byun also provides evidence that it was known in the beverage container art (‘601, Paragraph [0007]) that aluminum is a type of water resistant material (‘601, Paragraph [0115]), i.e. aluminum is a water repellant material.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 as applied to claim 11 above in further view of Harif US 2018/0105355.
Regarding Claim 18, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. renders obvious the limitations regarding the claimed thickness of the sealing member as enumerated in the rejection of Claim 18 above. However, in the event that it can be shown with objective evidence that the claimed sealing member thickness being between 330 µm and 550 µm is critical, Harif discloses a capsule comprising a sealing member (ring 210) having a thickness of 300-800 µm (‘355, FIG. 6B) (‘355, Paragraph [0059]), which overlaps the claimed sealing member thickness of between 330 µm and 550 µm.
Both modified Gort-Barten and Harif are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. Both beverage capsules of modified Gort-Barten and Harif have a sealing member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thickness of the sealing member of modified Gort-Barten to fall within the claimed sealing member thickness as taught by Harif since where the claimed sealing member thickness ranges overlaps sealing member thickness ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.).
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 and Guarro Casas “Mass pigmentation of paper to guarantee a bright and long lasting colour” <https://guarrocasas.com/en/mass-pigmentation-of-paper-to-guarantee-a-bright-and-long-lasting-colour/> (published June 6, 2021) (herein referred to as “Guarro Casas”).
Regarding Claim 1, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. renders obvious the limitations of Claim 1 as enumerated in the rejections of Claim 1 above. However, in the event that it can be argued that the beverage capsule of Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. is necessarily structurally and/or compositionally different from the claimed mass-colored cellulose material, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. does not teach the cellulose material to be mass-colored, which applicant admits on Pages 8-9 of the Remarks that “mass-coloring” is also known as mass pigmentation or dope dyeing wherein “mass-coloring” is a specific coloring process or technique in which a colorant or a pigment is added during the manufacturing of the cellulose material wherein the colorants are integrated into the fibers of the cellulose material.
Guarro Casas discloses there are two different ways of applying pigments to paper (Guarro Casas, Page 1). One of the ways to apply pigments to paper is known as mass pigmentation and involves separating fibers from the Hollander beater where the base pulp is homogenized and the resulting mass is transferred to a second beater where the color is prepared separately with pigments added until the desired hue is achieved wherein several pigments sometimes need to be added until the outcome is as desired wherein the pigments added to the paper are anionic colorants that bind to the celluloid fibers chemically by means of Van der Waals forces and are added by pumps that regulate brightness as precisely as possible wherein the mathematical color formula is measured by means of a colorimeter so that the final result will be as close as possible to the desired hue wherein high resistance to discoloration caused by light and humidity over time is guaranteed (Guarro Casas, Pages 3-4). Applicant admits on Pages 8-9 of the Remarks that mass-colouring is also known as mass pigmentation or dope dyeing. Therefore, the mass pigmentation method of applying pigments to paper reads on the claimed “mass-coloring” as admitted by applicant.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method by which the cellulose material of modified Gort-Barten is colored to be achieved by mass-coloring/mass pigmentation methods since Guarro Casas teaches that mass pigmentation results in a colored cellulose/paper material to have high resistance to discoloration caused by light and humidity over time (Guarro Casas, Pages 3-4).
Regarding Claims 2-3, Gort-Barten discloses the outer layer of the sealing member being made of a cellulose material of paper (‘144, Page 6, lines 12-18) that is capable of swelling when the coffee machine is in use which swelling enables a better seal (‘144, Page 4, lines 29-30). Applicant discloses absorption by water of the cellulose material is configured to expand or swell when water is absorbed (Specification, Page 4, lines 25-33). Therefore, the disclosure of the paper material of the sealing member of Gort-Barten reads on the claimed outer layer of the sealing member being configured to absorb a predetermined amount of water and being configured to expand (swell) when water is absorbed. It is noted that the claims do not specify the particular predetermined amount of water.
Regarding Claim 4, the limitations “a color of the outer layer of the sealing member being substantially uniform along the whole thickness of the outer layer” are limitations with respect to the properties of the claimed outer layer having a mass-colored paper or a mass colored cardboard. Applicant discloses that in mass-colored outer layers the color is substantially uniform along the thickness of the outer layer Specification, Page 5, lines 7-12). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established in view of In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP § 2112.01.I.). Furthermore, products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties in view of In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2112.01.II.). In the present instance, the prior art combination of Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. and Guarro Casas teaches the beverage capsule having the claimed outer layer having a mass-colored paper as discussed above. Guarro Casas discloses that mass pigmentation results in a colored cellulose/paper material to have high resistance to discoloration caused by light and humidity over time (Guarro Casas, Pages 3-4). Therefore, the prior art combination of Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. and Guarro Casas would be expected to have the same properties as claimed, i.e. the outer layer made of a mass-colored paper having a color that is substantially uniform along the whole thickness of the outer layer.
Regarding Claim 8, Gort-Barten discloses the colored cellulose material being a colored cardboard (‘144, Page 4, lines 9-15). Guarro Casas discloses the cellulose/paper material being mass-colored (Guarro Casas, Pages 3-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method by which the cellulose material of modified Gort-Barten is colored to be achieved by mass-coloring/mass pigmentation methods since Guarro Casas teaches that mass pigmentation results in a colored cellulose/paper material to have high resistance to discoloration caused by light and humidity over time (Guarro Casas, Pages 3-4).
Regarding Claim 9, Gort-Barten discloses the sealing member (sealing ring 10) comprising an intermediate layer (aluminum foil layer 55) between the outer layer (first layer 53) and the inner layer (further layer 56) (‘144, FIG. 5B) (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-23).
Regarding Claim 11, Gort-Barten discloses the thickness of the sealing member (ring shaped seal 10) being between 0.1-0.3 mm (‘144, FIG. 2) (‘144, Page 4, lines 7-8), which converts to a sealing member thickness of between 100 µm and 300 µm, which overlaps the claimed sealing member thickness of between 200 µm and 700 µm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the sealing member have the claimed thickness as taught by Gort-Barten since where the claimed sealing member thickness ranges overlaps sealing member thickness ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the sealing member thickness will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such sealing member thickness is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.).
Regarding Claim 18, Gort-Barten discloses the thickness of the sealing member (ring shaped seal 10) being between 0.1-0.3 mm (‘144, FIG. 2) (‘144, Page 4, lines 7-8), which converts to a sealing member thickness of between 100 µm and 300 µm, which is close to but does not overlap the claimed sealing member thickness of between 330 µm and 550 µm. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed sealing member thickness ranges do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close in view of Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.).
Regarding Claim 19, Gort-Barten discloses a capsule (capsule 1) comprising a body (main body 2) defining a cavity wherein the body comprises an upper portion (upper end 3) and a lower portion, a sidewall extending from the upper portion (upper end 3) to the lower portion, the lower portion comprising an annular flange (flange 7) outwardly extending from the sidewall, the annular flange (flange 7) comprising an upper side facing towards the upper portion (upper end 3) of the body (main body 2) (‘144, Page 3, lines 23-27) and a sealing member (ring shaped seal 10) arranged on the upper side of the annular flange (flange 7) (‘144, Page 4, lines 7-8). The sealing member (ring shaped seal 10) comprises an inner layer (further layer 56) facing the upper side of the annular flange (flange 7) comprising an adhesive (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-23) (‘144, Page 5, line 1) and an outer layer (first layer 53) made of a cellulose material (‘144, FIGS. 2 and 5B) (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-23).
Gort-Barten further discloses the seal to be a colored material (‘144, Page 5, lines 28-32). However, Gort-Barten is silent regarding the outer layer of the seal to contain a colored cellulose material. Rather, Gort-Barten only generic discloses the entire seal itself to be made of a colored material and the outer layer to be made of a cellulose material but does not specify the outer layer made from cellulose material to be a colored cellulose material.
Toft et al. discloses a laminated food packaging comprising a laminated packaging material (‘191, Paragraph [0002]) wherein the laminated packaging material is cellulosed based (‘191, Paragraph [0029]) wherein the outermost heat sealable layers of the laminated material is provided as one or two pre-manufactured films that is pre-laminated to the barrier layer (‘191, Paragraph [0157]) wherein the outside print substrate paper facing layer is a colored or metallized film (‘191, Paragraph [0159]).
Both Gort-Barten and Toft et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of laminated food containers. Both laminated food containers of Gort-Barten and Toft et al. comprise at least one layer of cellulose based material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the food container colored seal that already contains an outer cellulose/paper based layer of Gort-Barten and construct the outer layer specifically to be a colored cellulose/paper based layer as taught by Toft et al. since claims which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the colored properties of the seal with respect to the paper/cellulose based outer layer of the seal is held unpatentable because shifting the position of the layer that imparts color to the seal would not have modified the operation of the beverage capsule in view of In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (MPEP § 2144.04.VI.C.). Toft et al. teaches that there was known utility in the food container art to construct a food container with an outer facing paper/cellulose based layer that is colored. The seal of Gort-Barten would still be colored irrespective to the particular location of the particular layer that imparts the colored properties.
Further regarding Claim 19, the limitations “a color of the outer layer of the sealing member being substantially uniform along the whole thickness of the outer layer” are limitations with respect to the properties of the claimed outer layer having a mass-colored paper or a mass colored cardboard. Applicant discloses that in mass-colored outer layers the color is substantially uniform along the thickness of the outer layer Specification, Page 5, lines 7-12). Gort-Barten discloses the outer layer (first layer 53) being made of a cardboard (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-18). However, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. is silent regarding the cardboard of the outer layer being a mass-colored cardboard.
Guarro Casas discloses there are two different ways of applying pigments to paper (Guarro Casas, Page 1). One of the ways to apply pigments to paper is known as mass pigmentation and involves separating fibers from the Hollander beater where the base pulp is homogenized and the resulting mass is transferred to a second beater where the color is prepared separately with pigments added until the desired hue is achieved wherein several pigments sometimes need to be added until the outcome is as desired wherein the pigments added to the paper are anionic colorants that bind to the celluloid fibers chemically by means of Van der Waals forces and are added by pumps that regulate brightness as precisely as possible wherein the mathematical color formula is measured by means of a colorimeter so that the final result will be as close as possible to the desired hue wherein high resistance to discoloration caused by light and humidity over time is guaranteed (Guarro Casas, Pages 3-4). Applicant admits on Pages 8-9 of the Remarks that mass-colouring is also known as mass pigmentation or dope dyeing. Therefore, the mass pigmentation method of applying pigments to paper reads on the claimed “mass-coloring” as admitted by applicant. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical in structure or composition or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established in view of In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP § 2112.01.I.). Furthermore, products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties in view of In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2112.01.II.). In the present instance, the prior art combination of Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. and Guarro Casas teaches the beverage capsule having the claimed outer layer having a mass-colored paper as discussed above. Therefore, the prior art combination of Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. and Guarro Casas would be expected to have the same properties as claimed, i.e. the outer layer made of a mass-colored paper having a color that is substantially uniform along the whole thickness of the outer layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method by which the cellulose material of modified Gort-Barten is colored to be achieved by mass-coloring/mass pigmentation methods since Guarro Casas teaches that mass pigmentation results in a colored cellulose/paper material to have high resistance to discoloration caused by light and humidity over time (Guarro Casas, Pages 3-4).
Regarding Claim 20, Gort-Barten discloses the outer layer of the sealing member being made of a cellulose material of paper (‘144, Page 6, lines 12-18) that is capable of swelling when the coffee machine is in use which swelling enables a better seal (‘144, Page 4, lines 29-30). Applicant discloses absorption by water of the cellulose material is configured to expand or swell when water is absorbed (Specification, Page 4, lines 25-33). Therefore, the disclosure of the paper material of the sealing member of Gort-Barten reads on the claimed outer layer of the sealing member being configured to absorb a predetermined amount of water and being configured to expand (swell) when water is absorbed. It is noted that the claims do not specify the particular predetermined amount of water.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 and Guarro Casas “Mass pigmentation of paper to guarantee a bright and long lasting colour” <https://guarrocasas.com/en/mass-pigmentation-of-paper-to-guarantee-a-bright-and-long-lasting-colour/> (published June 6, 2021) (herein referred to as “Guarro Casas”) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Planchard et al. US 2022/0402669.
Regarding Claim 5, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. and Guarro Casas is silent regarding the outer layer of the sealing member comprising a porosity between 550 and 800 cm3/ min according to the Bendtsen porosity test defined in ISO 5636-3:2013.
Planchard et al. discloses a lid for sealing a beverage capsule (‘669, Paragraph [0001]) comprising a cellulose (‘669, Paragraph [0058]) wherein the cellulose fiber base sheet has a sufficient porosity as measured using a Bendtsen porosity tester according to the ISO 5636-3 standard to allow easier penetration of a gelatinizing agent used in the parchmentizing process into the fibrous structure of the cellulose fiber base sheet (‘669, Paragraph [0031]) wherein a low porosity of the cellulose fiber sheet does not allow the gelatinizing agent to reach the core of the fibrous structure and too high of a porosity results in a cellulose fiber sheet that does not have enough mechanical strength to run through the parchmentizing process and results in a more easily ruptured cellulose fiber (‘669, Paragraph [0032]).
Both modified Gort-Barten and Planchard et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules comprising a component made of cellulose. Although Planchard et al. does not explicitly state the particular porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member to be between 550 and 800 cm3/min according to the Bendtsen porosity test, Planchard et al. teaches the porosity of the cellulose fiber sheet influencing the mechanical strength/rupturability of the cellulose fiber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capsule of modified Gort-Barten and adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member to fall within the claimed porosity range since differences in the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member of modified Gort-Barten based upon the desired mechanical strength/rupturability of the cellulose fiber that makes up the sealing member as suggested by Planchard et al.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 and Guarro Casas “Mass pigmentation of paper to guarantee a bright and long lasting colour” <https://guarrocasas.com/en/mass-pigmentation-of-paper-to-guarantee-a-bright-and-long-lasting-colour/> (published June 6, 2021) (herein referred to as “Guarro Casas”) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Martin-Portugues et al. US 2007/0172687.
Regarding Claim 5, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. and Guerro Casas is silent regarding the outer layer of the sealing member comprising a porosity between 550 and 800 cm3/ min according to the Bendtsen porosity test defined in ISO 5636-3:2013.
Martin-Portugues et al. discloses a laminated substrate comprising paper (‘687, Paragraph [0001]) comprising cellulose fibers (‘687, Paragraph [0016]) wherein the paper has a Bendtsen porosity of from 400 to 1200 ml/min (‘687, Paragraph [0017]), which converts to a porosity of between 400 to 1200 cm3/min, which encompasses the claimed porosity range of between 550 and 800 cm3/min. Martin-Portugues et al. also discloses the porosity being appropriately adapted to the impregnation requirements (‘687, Paragraph [0017]).
Both modified Gort-Barten and Martin-Portugues et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of cellulosic compositions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capsule of modified Gort-Barten and adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member to fall within the claimed porosity range as taught by Martin-Portugues et al. since where the claimed porosity of the cellulose based outer layer of the sealing member overlaps the porosity of cellulose based materials disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Furthermore, differences in the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member of modified Gort-Barten based upon the desired amount of resins to be impregnated with the cellulose as suggested by Planchard et al. (‘687, Paragraphs [0017] and [0059]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 and Guarro Casas “Mass pigmentation of paper to guarantee a bright and long lasting colour” <https://guarrocasas.com/en/mass-pigmentation-of-paper-to-guarantee-a-bright-and-long-lasting-colour/> (published June 6, 2021) (herein referred to as “Guarro Casas”) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Brivois US 2022/0348402.
Regarding Claim 6, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. and Guarro Casas is silent regarding the outer layer of the sealing member comprising a water absorptiveness of between 200 and 300 g/m2 according to the Cobb test at 60 seconds defined in ISO 535:2014.
Brivois discloses a capsule (‘402, Paragraph [0031]) comprising a sealing member (sealing ring 10) made from an absorbent paper based material having a water absorption rate greater than or equal to 200 ml/cm3 as measured by the Cobb method in standard NF ISO 535 to improve the sealing effect by absorbing quantities of liquid (‘402, Paragraph [0047]) which Cobb test is measured for an exposure time of 60 seconds (‘402, Paragraph [0053]). The disclosure of Brivois of the paper based sealing member having a water absorptiveness of greater than or equal to 200 ml/cm3 as measured by the Cobb method in standard NF ISO 535 encompasses the claimed water absorptiveness of between 200 and 300 g/m2 according to the Cobb test at 60 seconds defined in ISO 535:2014.
Both modified Gort-Barten and Brivois are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. Both beverage capsules of modified Gort-Barten and Brivois comprise a sealing member made at least partially of paper/cellulose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the water absorptiveness of the paper based sealing member of modified Gort-Barten to have the claimed water absorptiveness as taught by Brivois since where the claimed sealing member water absorptiveness ranges overlaps sealing member absorptiveness ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.). Brivois discloses that the claimed water absorption rate improves the sealing effect by absorbing quantities of liquid (‘402, Paragraph [0047]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 and Guarro Casas “Mass pigmentation of paper to guarantee a bright and long lasting colour” <https://guarrocasas.com/en/mass-pigmentation-of-paper-to-guarantee-a-bright-and-long-lasting-colour/> (published June 6, 2021) (herein referred to as “Guarro Casas”) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Oh US 2022/0227574.
Regarding Claim 7, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. and Oh is silent regarding the outer layer of the sealing member comprising an internal bond strength between 150 and 250 J/m2 or between 170 and 220 J/m2 according to the Scott test defined in TAPPI T569.
Oh discloses a capsule (beverage pod 10) (‘574, Paragraph [0063]) comprising first and second bonds that are permanent or peelable depending on the application wherein the desired strength of the bond is adjusted (‘574, Paragraph [0068]).
Both modified Gort-Barten and Oh are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the internal bond strength of the outer layer of the sealing member of modified Gort-Barten since differences in the internal bond strength of the outer layer of the sealing member will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such internal bond strength of the outer layer of the sealing member is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). Oh discloses that there was known utility in the beverage capsule art to adjust the bond strength to the desired levels (‘574, Paragraph [0068]).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 and Guarro Casas “Mass pigmentation of paper to guarantee a bright and long lasting colour” <https://guarrocasas.com/en/mass-pigmentation-of-paper-to-guarantee-a-bright-and-long-lasting-colour/> (published June 6, 2021) (herein referred to as “Guarro Casas”) as applied to claim 9 above as further evidenced by Bartoli et al. US 2022/0388763 and Byun US 2018/0009601.
Regarding Claims 10 and 17, Gort-Barten discloses the sealing member comprising an intermediate layer of aluminum (aluminum foil layer 55) (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-23). Bartoli et al. provides evidence that it was known in the beverage capsule art (‘763, Paragraph [0001]) that aluminum is a material that is resistant to liquids and/or gases (‘763, Paragraph [0069]), i.e. aluminum is a water repellant material. Byun also provides evidence that it was known in the beverage container art (‘601, Paragraph [0007]) that aluminum is a type of water resistant material (‘601, Paragraph [0115]), i.e. aluminum is a water repellant material.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gort-Barten WO 2019/092144 (cited on Information Disclosure Statement filed March 7, 2024) in view of Toft et al. US 2019/0202191 and Guarro Casas “Mass pigmentation of paper to guarantee a bright and long lasting colour” <https://guarrocasas.com/en/mass-pigmentation-of-paper-to-guarantee-a-bright-and-long-lasting-colour/> (published June 6, 2021) (herein referred to as “Guarro Casas”) as applied to claim 11 above in further view of Harif US 2018/0105355.
Regarding Claim 18, Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. and Guarro Casas renders obvious the limitations regarding the claimed thickness of the sealing member as enumerated in the rejection of Claim 18 above. However, in the event that it can be shown with objective evidence that the claimed sealing member thickness being between 330 µm and 550 µm is critical, Harif discloses a capsule comprising a sealing member (ring 210) having a thickness of 300-800 µm (‘355, FIG. 6B) (‘355, Paragraph [0059]), which overlaps the claimed sealing member thickness of between 330 µm and 550 µm.
Both modified Gort-Barten and Harif are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules. Both beverage capsules of modified Gort-Barten and Harif have a sealing member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the thickness of the sealing member of modified Gort-Barten to fall within the claimed sealing member thickness as taught by Harif since where the claimed sealing member thickness ranges overlaps sealing member thickness ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous indefiniteness rejections of Claims 1 and 19 under 35 USC 112(b) pertaining to the phrase “mass-colored” have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pages 8-9 of the Remarks that the claimed hyphenation in the phrase “mass-colored” indicates the necessary connection of the word “mass” to the word “colored.” Applicant contends that this hyphenation makes it clear there is a relationship of a “mass-coloring” process to the cellulose material and not a separate relationship of a “mass” to a separately defined “colored cellulose material.” Applicant continues that “mass-coloring” is also known as mass pigmentation or dope dyeing wherein “mass-coloring” is a specific coloring process or technique in which a colorant or a pigment is added during the manufacturing of the cellulose material wherein the colorants are integrated into the fibers of the cellulose material. Applicant contends that “mass-coloring” is a coloring process or technique that is in contrast to other coloring techniques such as painting or depositing ink.
Examiner notes that these arguments are found persuasive. The previous indefiniteness rejections of Claims 1 and 19 under 35 USC 112(b) pertaining to the phrase “mass-colored” have been withdrawn.
Examiner notes that the other previous indefiniteness rejections under 35 USC 112(b) not pertaining to the phrase “mass-colored” have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous Claim Objections have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant contends on Pages 6-8 of the Remarks that there is no legal basis for the “A/a” and/or “The/the” as leading articles and cannot be required to be changed. Applicant points to examples cited in MPEP 2173.05(f) as examples of acceptable dependent claims starting with the article “A.” These arguments are not found persuasive. Therefore, the previous Claim Objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous obviousness rejection(s) of Claims 1 and 19 under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant contends on Page 11 of the Remarks that Chen does not mention colorants such as pigments or dyes in the priority document from the associated US provisional 63/144473 filed on February 1, 2021 and that the effective date for the subject matter of Paragraph [0058] of Chen is February 1, 2022 whereas the priority date of the instant application is September 14, 2021. Applicant concludes that Paragraph [0058] of Chen cannot be regarded as a valid prior art for the subject matter of Paragraph [0058] of Chen. Examiner notes that these arguments are found persuasive. Therefore, the previous obviousness rejection under 35 USC 103(a) has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new combination of references. A Non-Final Office Action has been issued herein.
Applicant's arguments filed July 15, 2026 with respect to the reliance of Gort-Barten in the obviousness rejections of Claims 1 and 19 under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pages 10 and 14-15 with respect to Claims 1 and 19 that Gort-Barten discloses a ring shaped seal 10 and that the Office Action refers to the seal 10 of FIGS. 2 and 5B wherein the outer layer of the seal is made from a cellulose material. Applicant asserts that seal 10 of FIG. 2 of Gort-Barten is made of aluminum rather than of a cellulose material.
Examiner argues FIG. 2 shows capsule 1 having a seal 10 disposed thereon (‘144, FIG. 2). The ring shaped seal 10 is made of paper, fiber, or cork or polystyrene (‘144, Page 4, lines 7-8). FIG. 5B discloses an alternative seal construction comprising a layered structure having a first layer 53 formed of card or cellulose based material, a second layer comprising a heat seal lacquer or adhesive, an aluminum foil layer 55, and a further layer 56 comprising a heat seal lacquer or adhesive (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-23). The embodiment of the ring shaped seal being made of an aluminum annulus of Page 5, lines 28-32 pointed out by applicant is not being relied upon in the current rejection. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments in view of In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971) (MPEP § 2123.II.). The Office Action relies upon the embodiment disclosed in FIG. 5B of Gort-Barten wherein the seal construction comprises a layered structure having a first layer 53 formed of card or cellulose based material, a second layer comprising a heat seal lacquer or adhesive, an aluminum foil layer 55, and a further layer 56 comprising a heat seal lacquer or adhesive (‘144, Page 4, lines 16-23). This FIG. 5B embodiment teaches an outer layer having a colored cellulose material/colored paper. Although this FIG. 5B embodiment teaches an intermediate layer being made of aluminum, Claims 1 and 19 recite the transitional phrase “comprising,” which is inclusive or open ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements in view of Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (MPEP § 2111.03.I.). Claims 1 and 19 do not preclude the seal to have the presence of an intermediate aluminum layer by virtue of the open ended transitional phrase “comprising.” Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on Pages 10 and 14-15 of the Remarks with respect to Claims 1 and 19 that Gort-Barten does not disclose a seal to be a “mass” colored material in Page 5, lines 28-32 of Gort-Barten. Applicant contends that this passage refers to an aluminum seal rather than a cellulose material and that having a different color does not render obvious coloring the seal using the specific coloring technique of mass coloring as defined in Paragraph [0017] of applicant’s application. Applicant continues that mass coloring is a specific process that involves adding pigments to the mix of cellulose fibers and water during the manufacturing of the cellulose material and is not any coloration process and thus distinct. Applicant continues that mass coloring involves adding pigments to the cellulose fibers and water during cellulose material manufacturing and an aluminum seal cannot be mass colored wherein coloring an aluminum seal requires depositing the color on the outer surface that is contrary to the mass coloring process and that color deposited on the surface is not mass coloring.
Examiner first notes that applicant admits that mass-coloring is a very specific process that involves adding pigments to the mix of cellulose fibers and water during the manufacturing of the cellulose material. Claims 1 and 19 are directed to a capsule product and not to a method of manufacturing a capsule. Applicant admits that the claimed phrase “mass-coloring” refers to a process/manufacturing (method) of coloring. The limitations regarding the “mass-coloring” are product by process claims as admitted by applicant. Secondly, the primary reference of Gort-Barten modified with Toft et al. teaches the final product of a beverage capsule comprising a sealing member having an outer layer having a mass-colored cellulose material. In an alternative rejection, Guerro Casas teaches a method of mass-coloring/mass pigmentation of a cellulose material for making a colored cellulose material. Therefore, this argument is not found persuasive.
Examiner notes that applicant’s arguments with respect to Wilbur and Chen are moot since neither Wilbur nor Chen are being relied upon in the current rejection.
Applicant argues on Page 13 of the Remarks with respect to Claim 5 that the porosity values of Planchard are greater than 1000 cm3/min and are different from the porosity values of Claim 5. Applicant continues that the aim of the porosity of Planchard is to allow penetration of the gelatinizing agent rather than allowing the absorption of water and that Planchard is for a very different purpose and allegedly does not disclose the claimed ranges. Applicant continues that Martin-Portugues refers to laminated structures for furniture and wood based materials and that a skilled person would not consult a document from a distant document or field of endeavor and that the porosity disclosed in Martin-Portugues is related to resin impregnation and not to the different/discrete property of water absorption.
Examiner argues that Claim 5 does not explicitly recite the property of absorption of water in relation to the claimed porosity values. Applicant argues limitations that are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention, i.e. Claim 5 does not explicitly recite any particular degree of absorption of water. Planchard et al. discloses a lid for sealing a beverage capsule (‘669, Paragraph [0001]) comprising a cellulose (‘669, Paragraph [0058]) wherein the cellulose fiber base sheet has a sufficient porosity as measured using a Bendtsen porosity tester according to the ISO 5636-3 standard to allow easier penetration of a gelatinizing agent used in the parchmentizing process into the fibrous structure of the cellulose fiber base sheet (‘669, Paragraph [0031]) wherein a low porosity of the cellulose fiber sheet does not allow the gelatinizing agent to reach the core of the fibrous structure and too high of a porosity results in a cellulose fiber sheet that does not have enough mechanical strength to run through the parchmentizing process and results in a more easily ruptured cellulose fiber (‘669, Paragraph [0032]). Both modified Gort-Barten and Planchard et al. are directed towards the same field of endeavor of beverage capsules comprising a component made of cellulose. Although Planchard et al. does not explicitly state the particular porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member to be between 550 and 800 cm3/min according to the Bendtsen porosity test, Planchard et al. teaches the porosity of the cellulose fiber sheet influencing the mechanical strength/rupturability of the cellulose fiber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capsule of modified Gort-Barten and adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member to fall within the claimed porosity range since differences in the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member is critical. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in view of In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP § 2144.05.II.A.). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member of modified Gort-Barten based upon the desired mechanical strength/rupturability of the cellulose fiber that makes up the sealing member as suggested by Planchard et al. With respect to Martin-Protugues et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the capsule of modified Gort-Barten and adjust the porosity of the outer layer of the sealing member to fall within the claimed porosity range as taught by Martin-Portugues et al. since where the claimed porosity of the cellulose based outer layer of the sealing member overlaps the porosity of cellulose based materials disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists in view of In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (MPEP § 2144.05.I.).Therefore, these arguments are not found persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 14 of the Remarks with respect to Claim 7 that Oh refers to strength of bonds but the only reference is to polymers or adhesives and does not refer to cellulose. Applicant contends that the internal bond strength refers to the force necessary to separate the fibers perpendicular to the plane of the sheet.
Examiner argues Oh is being relied upon to render obvious the claimed internal bond strength by adjusting the bond is adjusted (‘574, Paragraph [0068]). Oh also discloses it is within the scope of the invention to utilize polymer material or paper filter in multiple layers (‘574, Paragraph [0113]). Oh envisages an embodiment of using paper. Therefore, these arguments are not found persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Miles “1000 Ways to Dye – Rope, Dope, Piece Dyeing and More” <https://web.archive.org/web/20200920043603/https://www.heddels.com/2020/03/1000-ways-to-dye/> (published March 9, 2020) discloses dope dyeing cuts out the initial washing stage used in almost every other coloring technique by adding color to liquid polymers before they are processed into polyester or nylon yarns to save energy, ensure colorfastness and resistance to UV fading (Miles, Pages 13-14).
Fibre2Fashion “Textile Dyeing” <https://www.fibre2fashion.com/industry-article/3871/dyeing> (published January 2009) discloses dope dyeing is also called solution dyeing or spun dyeing wherein pigment color is bonded in solution and picked up as the filaments form in the liquor wherein both cellulosic and non-cellulosic fibers are dyed to perfection to make bright, clear, clean, and fast colors wherein the process of applying color to fiber stock, yarn, or fabric is called dyeing wherein sulphur dyes are used to dye cellulose but produce colors lacking brilliance wherein the dyeing of a textile fiber is carried out in an aqueous solution known as the dye liquor or dye bath wherein in any dyeing process heat must be applied to the dye bath and energy is used to transfer dye molecules from the solution to the fiber and to swell the fiber rendering it more receptive in a process known as exhaustion.
Shukla et al. “Dope Dyed Viscose Fibers from Black Liquor Treated Carbon Black” (published January 1, 2020) discloses viscose fibers are regenerated cellulosic fibers obtained via a complex process involving derivatization of cellulose into sodium cellulose xanthate which is subsequently dissolved in NaOH solution to give a spinnable viscose solution which polymer solution is passed through spinnerets in an acidic bath to regenerate fibers wherein dope dyed or spun dyed viscose fibers are inherently colored and regenerated cellulosic fibers spun from a viscose solution contain a pigment formulation (Shukla et al., Page 31).
Igarashi et al. US 2020/0039275 discloses a paper comprising at an outermost coating layer having at least one pigment (‘275, Paragraph [0041]).
Seyfeer et al. US 2018/0142416 discloses a food container (‘416, Paragraph [0200]) made from an aqueous coating mass containing a dye in soluble or pigment form (‘416, Paragraph [0188]).
Hellsten et al. US 2017/0030021 discloses a coated food cardboard comprising a cardboard fiber layer and a coating layer on at least one side of it (‘021, Paragraph [0037]).
Kumabe et al. US 2003/0087065 discloses a corrugated fiberboard food container made of recyclable water resistant corrugated fiberboard sheets (‘065, Paragraph [0001]) comprising a water resistant coating containing pigments (‘065, Paragraph [0016]).
Zambounis et al. US 2001/0012559 discloses porous material given colored pigmentation with organic pigments localized in their pores (‘559, Paragraph [0001]) wherein for pigmentation of varnishes, coating materials, and printing inks, the high molecular mass organic materials and instant pigmented porous material powders together if desired with additives such as fillers, other pigments, or plasticizers, are finely dispersed or dissolved in an organic solvent or solvent mixture for them both (“559, Paragraph [0022]).
Pedrazzi US 5,665,871 discloses a coating mass consisting of dyestuffs, inorganic white pigments, binders, and optionally further additives applied to a paper surface.
Salkinoja-Salonen US 4,980,023 discloses a food or beverage container made of a cardboard containing a cellulase enzyme from a mass containing cellulose made by introducing the mass into a machine, passing the mass through the machine and forming a paper or cardboard web, adding a cellulase enzyme into the web, and adding the cellulase enzyme into the web in pigmentation added to the web.
Pauls et al. US 4,202,852 discloses a process for coloring nonwoven air layer webs with pigmentary material such that the final web has a rub and bleed resistance superior to that obtained with dye colored webs wherein the surface of a dried and pressed formed web of fibrous material is sprayed with a suspension of water insoluble particulate color pigment in a liquid carrier of water wherein the sprayed web is then partially dried before passing into a hammermill which fiberizes the web and thoroughly mixes it to form a mixture of individual fibers having pigment particles clinging thereto and fibers without pigment (‘852, Column 1, lines 55-67) wherein a pigment in carrier suspensions is applied to the formed fibrous pulp web by spraying thereon or by other common means of application such as saturation in a pigment suspension bath, coating by means of rotogravure, or other common application methods which provides a pigment coating over at least one surface of the pulp fiber web wherein the mixing of the pigmented and unpigmented fibers does not necessarily result in a uniform coating wherein varying the color intensity in the resulting final air layed product is made by applying a pigment coating to one or both surfaces of the web as necessary to obtain the requisite degree of color intensity (‘852, Column 3, lines 19-36) wherein a substantially dry mass of fibrous material is passed into the fiberizer and the fine particulate pigment is intermixed with the shredded fibers in the fiberizer and thoroughly intermixed therewith before the fibers are transported to the air laying apparatus by injecting a stream of particulate pigment in suspension in a liquid carrier into the fibers exiting from the hammermill and before the fibers are blown into the pipe which takes them to the air laying station and the pigment in liquid water suspension mixed with the fibers results in at least some of the fibers having pigment particles adhered thereto and thorough mixing the fiberizer again results in a uniform mixture of pigmented and unpigmented fibers (‘852, Column 3, lines 60-68) (‘852, Column 4, lines 1-6).
Krukonis et al. US 6,270,625 discloses a method of making colored stripped paper comprising the step of introducing one or more coloring agents to pulp before the pulp enters the headbox in such a way that the colored and uncolored fibers form a sheet of paper having a machine direction striped pattern throughout the entire thickness of the sheet.
Reiner et al. US 6,096,167 discloses a process for making a colored fiber material containing a certain proportion of cellulose fibers such as paper or nonwoven wherein a dyestuff is applied onto reel or sheet pulp either on the whole material or only on part of it (‘167, Column 1, lines 5-11).
Kroyer et al. US 3,963,819 discloses a method of preparing a colored fibrous sheet material wherein a fiber pulp is treated in a defibrator to form a stream of gas containing suspended fibers forming a fibrous layer on a forming surface, a dye or dye solution is added to the fiber pulp which is introduced into the defibrator.
Goodman US 2,045,349 discloses a method of treating vegetable fibrous material with soluble organic sulfur derivatives of cellulose as viscose which soluble derivative is subsequently regenerated with the formation of a regenerated cellulose product wherein it is well known that regenerated cellulose in general readily absorbs moisture wherein the vegetable fibrous material is suitable for making a food container.
Ostergren US 2021/0237951 discloses a compostable flexile material comprising at least two compostable and/or biodegradable layers (‘951, Paragraph [0003]) wherein the compostable flexible material is used for food and edible product packaging (‘951, Paragraph [0030]) comprising a sealant layer safe for food contact wherein the sealant layer is a transparent cellulose film extruded through a machine polylactic acid wherein the sealant layer is colored with a compostable dye if desired wherein the sealant layer is transparent, semi-transparent, translucent, or opaque (‘951, Paragraph [0033]) and a paper layer on which compostable ink is applied wherein the sealant layer and adhesive layer are translucent or transparent to allow the compostable ink to be seen (‘951, Paragraph [0045]).
Smith Jr. et al. US 2021/0129492 discloses a multilayered polymeric film comprising an interior polymeric film that is at least colored and made of paper (‘492, Paragraph [0024]) used for packaging food (‘492, Paragraph [0044]).
Olsson et al. US 2020/0391919 discloses a food packaging material being non-white colored or comprising a film for folding into a container (‘919, Paragraph [0001]) wherein the laminated packaging material for food products comprises a paper board having a non-white color or a film arranged on the paper board (‘919, Paragraph [0011]) wherein the paper board is colored itself or the paper board is treated afterwards by printing the paper board in a color to treat it to have a color different from white (‘919, Paragraph [0044]).
Collaud et al. US 2018/0354690 discloses a packaging container comprising a laminated packaging material for liquid food packaging (‘690, Paragraph [0002]) made of a laminated cellulose based material (‘690, Abstract).
Rio Gonzalez et al. US 2011/0309072 discloses a food container (‘072, Paragraph [0001]) comprising pre-printed paper or cardboard containing marks, colors, and designs glued to the outer face of the original fiberboards made of biodegradable materials (‘072, Paragraph [0200]).
Takasawa et al. US 2006/0220868 discloses a carton laminate material comprising a coated cardboard used as the outer paper layer (‘868, Paragraph [0105] used for food containers (‘868, Paragraph [0003]).
De Coninck et al. US 2006/0057315 discloses a food packaging container (‘315, Paragraph [0024]) comprising a colored outer varnish layer having a pigment disposed over a cardboard layer (‘315, Paragraph [0031]).
Retallick et al. US 6,189,330 discloses a food container comprising an outer casing made of corrugated paper that is white in color or another reflective color to reduce absorption of radiant heat by the shipping container.
Moore US 3,015,917 discloses a food coffee package comprising individual containers formed of cellophane/regenerated cellulose with heat sealing waterproofing coatings.
Bossel et al. US 2012/0014623 discloses a food package (‘623, Paragraph [0013]) made of a film material composite of at least two material layers comprising coated papers or colored varnish layers (‘623, Paragraph [0021]).
Burdette US 4,596,713 discloses a food package (package 6) made from a paper/film laminate comprising a kraft paper outer layer having less than 5% pigment laminated to a polyester inner layer.
Koyama et al. US 2014/0045684 discloses a water dispersible coated paper for labels on food containers (‘684,Paragraph [0037]) wherein the coated paper comprises a pigmented coating layer on top of the water dispersion paper (‘684, Paragraph [0142]).
Ronka US 2011/0262745 discloses a coated paper of paperboard product having moisture resistance used for food packaging (‘745, Paragraph [0040]) wherein the paper or paperboard is coated with a coating composition of an aqueous dispersion of synthetic polymers and pigment (‘745, Paragraph [0020]) wherein the pigment is any pigment useful for substrate coating compositions such as aqueous dispersions of coating grade clays such as kaolin clays, titanium dioxide, calcium carbonate, barium sulfate, talc, zinc sulfate, aluminum sulfate, calcium oxide reaction products, lithopone, zinc sulfide, or other coating pigments (‘745, Paragraph [0023]).
Toft et al. US 2018/0311940 discloses a food package comprising a laminated packaging material (‘940, Paragraph [0002]) comprising a colored print surface of a brown, natural cellulose print surface (‘940, Paragraph [0170]).
/ERICSON M LACHICA/Examiner, Art Unit 1792