DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
· “an actuator configured to provide said suitable actuation” as set forth in claim 3
· “the urging component comprises a biased bearing” as set forth in claim 6
· “the urging component comprises a magnet” as set forth in claim 7
· “the stator annulus comprises a brake caliper backing plate” as set forth in claim 11
· “the rotor annulus comprises a disc brake rotor” as set forth in claim 12
· “the air reservoir and compressor are unitary” as set forth in claim 14
· “the air compressor is configured to be energized by means of a vehicle electrical system” as set forth in claim 15
· “an air pressure sensor” as set forth in claim 16
· “the charging valve comprises a solenoid valve” as set forth in claim 17
· “a cabin of the vehicle” as set forth in claims 18 and 20
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign, 32 “air pressure sensor”, mentioned in para [0054] of the specification.
Specification
4. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
· The element “air reservoir 14” should be amended to read “air reservoir 12” in para [0040], line 3.
· The element “tyre 8.1” should be amended to read “tyre 8.2” in para [0041], line 3.
· The element “the urging component 38” should be amended to read “the urging component 36” in para [0047], lines 1 and 5.
· The element “air compressor 12” should be amended to read “air compressor 14” in para [0054], line 4.
· The element “assembly 20” should be amended to read “assembly 10” in para [0056], line 4.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 7, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 7, 14, and 15, the phrase "such as" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, 13, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dieckmann et al (US20150360522A1) in view of Tajan (US20140183826A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Dieckmann et al discloses a pressure transfer arrangement for an ad hoc tyre pressure control assembly (Figs. 1 and 2), said pressure transfer arrangement comprising: a stator annulus (30 “stator”; Fig. 2) and arrangeable in fluid communication with a charging valve (14 “2/2 shut-off valve”, 16 “3/2 directional valve”, and 18 “rotary valve”; Para [0033]-[0037]; Figs. 1 and 2), the stator annulus (30) defining a first peripheral sealing surface (Refer to the first peripheral sealing surface in the below annotated Fig. 2); a rotor annulus (32 “revolver”; Fig. 2) and arranged in fluid communication with such a tyre via a controllable check valve (25 “tire pressure control valve” and/or 28 “twin-tire control valve”; Fig. 1), the rotor annulus (32) defining a second peripheral sealing surface (Refer to the second peripheral sealing surface in the below annotated Fig. 2); and an urging component (34 “annular spring”; Fig. 2) configured to provide a predetermined urging force between the annuli (30 and 32) to separate the first and second peripheral sealing surfaces (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 2; Para [0042]-[0043]); wherein one annulus (32) defines an internal raceway (Refer to the dotted line in the below annotated Fig. 2) in which the other annulus (30) is complementarily captured to allow substantially unimpeded relative co-axial rotation between said annuli (32 and 30; “The rotary valve 18 has a stator 30 and a positioner, the revolver 32, which is rotatable relative to the stator 30 “ per Para [0034]; Para [0034]-[0036] and [0040]);
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Dieckmann et al
and wherein the annuli (30 and 32) are complementarily configured to define an airtight air transfer passage and between the charging (18) and check valves (25) when the predetermined urging force is overcome via suitable actuation and the first and second peripheral sealing surfaces are brought into abutment (Fig. 3), so that pressurised air is transferrable through said pressure transfer arrangement (Para [0044]); wherein selective control of the charging (18) and check valves (25 and/or 28) facilitates ad hoc tyre inflation or deflation of the tyre without impeding rotation of the wheel on said axle (Para [0002], [0004], and [0033]-[0039]), but fails to disclose the stator annulus configured to be mounted about an axle of a vehicle and the rotor annulus configured to be mounted to a tyred wheel of said vehicle.
Dieckmann et al further discloses an ad hoc tyre pressure control assembly (Figs. 1 and 2) for a tyred vehicle, said assembly comprising: an air reservoir configured to store pressurised air; an air compressor configured to operatively charge said reservoir with pressurised air; a selectively controllable charging valve arranged in fluid communication with said air reservoir (Para [0032]; Dieckmann et al expressly states that the tire inflation system 2 is fed from a compressed air supply 5 representing a connection to a compressor or to a reservoir connected to a compressor. Accordingly, Dieckmann et al discloses an air reservoir configured to store pressurized air and an air compressor configured to operatively charge the reservoir. Dieckmann et al further discloses a selectively controllable charging valve 18 arranged in fluid communication with the compressed air supply 5. As the compressed air supply 5 is described as being provided by a reservoir connected to a compressor, the charging valve 18 is necessarily in fluid communication with the reservoir) as set forth in claim 13.
Tajan, however, teaches, a stator annulus (4 “fixed support”; Fig. 2) configured to be mounted an axle (The axis 10 corresponds to the vehicle axle about which the wheel rotates) of a vehicle and rotor annulus (3 “rotating crown”) configured to be mounted to a tyred wheel (Fig. 1) of said vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al by incorporating stator and rotor annuli mounted respectively about a vehicle axle and to a tyred wheel, as taught by Tajan, with the motivation to provide a wheel-mounted rotating air transfer interface between stationary and rotating vehicle components, as commonly required in tire inflation systems, thereby improving sealing integrity during wheel rotation.
Dieckmann et al further fails to disclose the annuli are configured such that injection of pressurised air via the charging valve acts as said suitable actuation in order to overcome the predetermined urging force to bring the first and second peripheral sealing surfaces into abutment to form the airtight air transfer passage as set forth in claim 2.
Tajan, however, discloses injection of pressurised air via the charging valve (29 “non-return valve”; Fig. 1) acts as said suitable actuation in order to overcome the predetermined urging force to bring the first and second peripheral sealing surfaces into abutment to form the airtight air transfer passage (The “predetermined urging force” is interpreted as a biasing force having a defined magnitude established by design parameters such as spring characteristics or regulated pressure, rather than requiring any specific structural form; Para [0064]–[0069]; Figs. 1 and 2a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the actuation mechanism of Dieckmann et al such that injection of pressurized air via the charging valve overcomes the predetermined urging force as a well-known alternative arrangement for overcoming the predetermined urging force, as taught by Tajan, with the motivation to utilize the available inflation pressure to provide a calibrated sealing force at the annular interface while reducing friction and wear.
Regarding claim 8, Dieckmann et al fails to disclose the pressure transfer arrangement comprises a skirt or valvular seal between the annuli where air flow or pressure is directed onto itself to form a seal when the first and second peripheral sealing surfaces are brought into abutment.
Tajan, however, discloses the pressure transfer arrangement (Fig. 1) of claim 1, which comprises a skirt or valvular seal (12; Fig. 4) between the annuli where air flow or pressure is directed onto itself to form a seal when the first and second peripheral sealing surfaces are brought into abutment (Figs. 2a and 2b; Para [0057] and [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al by including a skirt or valvular seal as taught by Tajan in order to provide a pressure-activated sealing mechanism that enhances sealing reliability when pressurized air is transferred between the annuli.
Regarding claim 9, Dieckmann et al fails to disclose the pressure transfer arrangement comprises a contaminant protection seal to prevent the ingress of unwanted contaminants into the air transfer passage.
Tajan, however, discloses the pressure transfer arrangement (Fig. 1) of claim 1, which comprises a contaminant protection seal (19 and/or 20 “mud-guard seal”; Figs. 2b, 3b, and 4) to prevent the ingress of unwanted contaminants into the air transfer passage (9a and 9b; Figs. 2b, 3b, and 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al by incorporating a contaminant protection seal, such as taught by Tajan, with the motivation to prevent ingress of contaminants into the air transfer passage and thereby improve durability and reliability of the rotating air transfer interface, as such protective sealing arrangements are well known in wheel-mounted and rotating pneumatic systems.
Regarding claim 19, Dieckmann et al fails to disclose the controllable check valve is configured to allow one-way pressurised air from the pressure transfer arrangement into the tyre to inflate said tyre.
Tajan, however, teaches a controllable check valve (29 “non-return valve”; Fig. 1) is configured to allow one-way pressurized air from the pressure transfer arrangement into the tyre to inflate said tyre (Para [0064]-[0069]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al by incorporating a one-way check valve, such as taught by Tajan, with the motivation to prevent backflow of pressurized air from the tyre toward upstream pneumatic components and to ensure reliable and controlled inflation of the tyre.
Regarding claim 3, Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, discloses the pressure transfer arrangement of claim 1, which comprises an actuator (19 “drive apparatus”; Fig. 1; Para [0034] and [0047]) configured to provide said suitable actuation to overcome the predetermined urging force (Para [0040]) to bring the first and second peripheral sealing surfaces into abutment to form the airtight air transfer passage (Para [0042]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 4, Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, discloses the pressure transfer arrangement of claim 3, wherein the actuator (19) comprises a mechanical and/or electromechanical actuator (Para [0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, discloses the pressure transfer arrangement of claim 1, wherein the first and second peripheral sealing surfaces comprise opposite hard-facing surfaces (Para [0017] and [0053]; Claim 13), such as tungsten carbide or silicon carbide, to facilitate sealing between the annuli (30 and 32) whilst allowing unimpeded rotation.
Regarding claim 16, Dieckmann et al discloses the ad hoc tyre pressure control assembly of claim 13, which comprises an air pressure sensor configured to sense (Para [0033], [0037], [0040], and [0046]), and/or indicate pressure within the air reservoir and/or tyre.
Regarding claim 17, Dieckmann et al discloses the ad hoc tyre pressure control assembly of claim 13, wherein the charging valve comprises a solenoid valve (14) for transferring compressed air from the air reservoir, via the pressure transfer arrangement, to the tyre (Para [0033], [0037], [0040], and [0044]).
10. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Ingram et al (US20180056732A1).
Regarding claim 6, Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, fails to discloses the urging component comprises a biased bearing configured to position one annulus within the raceway of the other annulus, the bearing including a biasing element, such as a spring, providing the predetermined urging force.
Ingram et al, however, teaches the urging component (134 “wave spring”; Fig. 4) comprises a biased bearing (100 “thrust bearing”; Fig. 4) configured to position one annulus (40 “stator”; Fig. 4) within the raceway of the other annulus (38 “rotating housing”; Fig. 4), the bearing (100) including a biasing element (134), such as a spring, providing the predetermined urging force.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al by substituting its urging component for a biased bearing including a spring element, such as taught by Ingram et al, with the motivation to provide a predetermined axial urging force maintaining proper positioning between rotating and non-rotating annular components, thereby reducing seal disengagement, accommodating axial tolerances and runout, and improving sealing reliability in a rotary air transfer system.
11. Claims 7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Kitagawa et al (JP2009090826A).
Regarding claim 7, Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, fails to disclose the urging component comprises a magnet configured to position one annulus within the raceway of the other annulus, the magnet including a biasing element, such as a spring, providing the predetermined urging force.
Kitagawa et al, however, teaches a magnetic urging mechanism including a magnetic body (14) and an electromagnet (15) arranged adjacent a rotating annular member (12), wherein the electromagnetic generates an attractive magnetic force toward the magnetic body 14 to control the relative rotational position of the annular rotating bodies (11 and 12). Kitagawa et al further discloses that the magnetic force is controlled to provide a predetermined braking torque necessary for operation, thereby providing a predetermined urging force (Fig. 2; Para [0021] and [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, by substituting its urging component for a magnetic urging component, such as taught by Kitagawa et al, with the motivation to provide a controllable, non-contact predetermined urging force between the annuli and thereby reduce mechanical wear while allowing adjustable force control.
Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, further fails to disclose the annuli are incorporated into a brake arrangement of the wheel, the stator annulus comprises a brake caliper backing plate, and the rotor annulus comprises a disc brake rotor as set forth in claims 10, 11, and 12.
Kitagawa et al, however, teaches the annuli (11 “first rotating body” and 21 “knuckle”; Figs. 4 and 5) are incorporated into a brake arrangement of the wheel (22 “brake disc rotor”; Fig. 5), the stator annulus (21) comprises a brake caliper backing plate (While a backing plate is not separately shown in Figs. 4 and 5, the disclosed inner and outer brake pads inherently include a rigid backing plate), and the rotor annulus (11) comprises a disc brake rotor (22; Figs. 4 and 5) as set forth in claims 10, 11, and 12.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, by incorporating the annular members into an existing brake arrangement of the wheel, such as configuring the stator annulus as a brake caliper backing plate and the rotor annulus as a disc brake rotor, as taught by Kitagawa et al, with the motivation to utilize existing annular brake structures to reduce component count, simplify packaging within the wheel assembly, an improve structural integration while minimizing additional space requirements.
12. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Tsiberidou et al (US20180186197A1).
Regarding claim 14, Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, fails to discloses the ad hoc tyre pressure control assembly of claim 13, wherein the air reservoir and compressor are unitary, such as a pump and tank combination.
Tsiberidou et al, however, teaches the air reservoir and compressor are unitary (Para [0048]-[0049]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, by configuring the air reservoir and compressor as a unitary pump-and-tank combination, as taught by Tsiberidou et al, as such integrated arrangements are well known in vehicle-mounted pneumatic systems and provide advantages including compact packaging, reduced plumbing complexity, and improved installation efficiency.
13. Claims 15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Kalavitz (US20090084481A1).
Regarding claim 15, Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, fails to disclose the air compressor is configured to be energised by means of a vehicle electrical system, such as a 12V system.
Kalavitz, however, teaches the ad hoc tyre pressure control assembly of claim 13, wherein the air compressor is configured to be energised by means of a vehicle electrical system (“The compressor may include any one of a number of different types of compressors for providing the compressed air to the reservoir 32 including battery operated pumps as well as pumps operated by the vehicle engine or belt system.” per Para [0025]; Fig. 1), such as a 12V system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, by configuring an air compressor to be energized by a vehicle electrical system, as taught by Kalavitz, with the motivation to provide a conventional and reliable onboard power source for operating the compressor within a vehicle-mounted tyre inflation system. The modification merely employs a well-known vehicle battery supply to facilitate integration with existing vehicle electrical architecture.
Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, further fails to disclose the selectively controllable charging valve is controllable from a cabin of the vehicle as set forth in claim 18.
Kalavitz, however, teaches a user interface 16 mounted within the vehicle for use by an operator to determine and adjust air pressure within each wheel, including increasing or decreasing tyre pressure via controlled valves (Para [0024]-[0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, by incorporating a cabin mounted user interface as taught by Kalavitz, with the motivation to allow a vehicle operator to selectively control tyre inflation and deflation from within the vehicle cabin, thereby improving operational convenience and safety.
Regarding claim 20, Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, fails to disclose the controllable check valve is controllable from a cabin of the vehicle to vent pressurized air to the atmosphere to deflate said tyre.
Kalavitz, however, teaches the controllable check valve (50 or 156 “pilot valve assembly”; Fig. 4) is controllable from a cabin (16 “user interface”) of the vehicle to vent pressurised air to the atmosphere to deflate said tyre (Para [0005], [0024]-[0026], and [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the pressure transfer arrangement of Dieckmann et al, as modified by Tajan, such that the controllable check valve to be controllable from a cabin of the vehicle as taught by Kalavitz, with the motivation to permit selective venting of pressurized air to atmosphere for tyre deflation without requiring the operator to exit the vehicle.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references disclose a pressure transfer arrangement and associated air transfer structures between annular members.
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615