DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Response to Election/Restriction Filed, Amendment, and Arguments/Remarks, filed 27 August 2026, have been entered. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-12, 14-15, 18-22, 29, and 32-34 were previously pending in the application. Applicant canceled no claims and added no new claims. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-12, 14-15, 18-22, 29, and 32-34 are currently pending. Claims 1, 18, 20, 22, 29, 32, and 33 are independent claims.
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of Group I, drawn to a method of expanding a mesenchymal stem cell population, is acknowledged.
Additionally, Applicant’s election of the following species:
Surface polymers: a. polystyrene;
without traverse is acknowledged.
Claims 18-22, 29, and 32-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-12, and 14-15 are currently pending in the application and under examination to which the following grounds of rejection are applicable. An action on the merits follows.
Priority
The present application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 national stage filing of International Application No. PCT/US2022/076593, filed 16 September 2022, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/245,153, filed 16 September 2021.
Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant application is 16 September 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 23 September 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The use of the terms “DMEM” in [0085], “StemPro Adipogenesis Differentiation Kit” in [0111], “Nunclon Delta” in [0112], “CellStart” in [0114], which are trade names or a marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. "The terms "trade name" and "commercial name" mean any name used by a person to identify his or her business or vocation" (as defined by 15 U.S.C. 1127, see MPEP 608.01 (v)).
Note that the specification has not been inspected sufficiently to identify all instances of trade names and/or marks used in commerce. It is Applicant’s responsibility to ensure complete compliance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 contains the trademarks/trade names “StemProTM”, MesenPRO RSTM”, “DMEM”, and “NutriStem®”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe culture media preparations and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim 12 is indefinite in its recitation of “growing the MSCs in growth medium “ . There is not proper antecedent bases for “growth medium” . Claim 1 recites “culturing the MSCs in serum-free growth medium”.
Claim 15 recites, “The method of claim 1, wherein the surface comprises polystyrene, cyclic olefin polymer, cyclic olefin copolymer, polyolefin, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, styrene acrylonitrile copolymer, and mixtures and copolymers therefrom”, which is indefinite because it is unclear how the surface can comprise all of polystyrene, cyclic olefin polymer, cyclic olefin copolymer, polyolefin, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, and styrene acrylonitrile copolymer as well mixtures of all of all of the recited (co)polymers in that by comprising all of the recited (co)polymers, the surface is already a mixture of all of the recited (co)polymers. As such, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 recites, “wherein the growth medium is serum- free”, which does not further limit the subject matter of claim 1, upon which claim 5 depends, in that claim 1 recites “serum-free growth medium” in line 4.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)- Enablement
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 15 recites, “The method of claim 1, wherein the surface comprises polystyrene, cyclic olefin polymer, cyclic olefin copolymer, polyolefin, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, styrene acrylonitrile copolymer, and mixtures and copolymers therefrom”.
The specification generically recites wherein the surface comprises all of the listed (co)polymer components: "In embodiments, the surface comprises polystyrene, cyclic olefin polymer, cyclic olefin copolymer, polyolefin, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, styrene acrylonitrile copolymer, and mixtures and copolymers therefrom" [0005]; and "For example, the modified surface may be comprised of polystyrene, cyclic olefin polymer, cyclic olefin copolymer, polyolefin, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, styrene acrylonitrile copolymer, and mixtures and copolymers therefrom" [0062].
However, the working examples demonstrate MSC growth on a “Surface A” compared to control commercial surfaces without teaching any polymer components making up Surface A [0018-0026, 0098, 0104-0113, Figures 2-10]. The working examples do not exemplify a surface comprising all of polystyrene, cyclic olefin polymer, cyclic olefin copolymer, polyolefin, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, styrene acrylonitrile copolymer, and mixtures and copolymers therefrom. Therefore, the instant disclosure does not teach any suitability or functionality for a culture surface comprising all of the recited (co)polymer components. The specification does not provide an enabling disclosure for culturing MSCs on a surface comprising all of the polymers and copolymers recited in claim 15.
The art at the time of filing teaches the use of each of the polymers/copolymers recited in instant claim 15 in cell culture applications, as well as some combinations thereof, but does not teach cell culture on surfaces comprising all of the polymers/copolymers recited in claim 15. [Gencturk et al. 2017, Biomicrofluidics, 11, 051502, 1-42, p 3 ¶ 2-p 4 ¶ 3, Table I, Table II]. Gencturk compares the advantages and disadvantages of each of the various individual polymers/copolymers recited in claim 15 [p 3 ¶ 2-p 4 ¶ 3, Table I, Table II], but does not suggest constructing a tissue culture surface comprising all such polymers and copolymers. In fact, given the teachings of Gencturk of the varied properties associated with each polymer/copolymer, including cellular toxicity of a styrene acrylonitrile copolymer (i.e., acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS)), it would not have been apparent to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing the instant application that a mixture of all of the recited polymers and copolymers would result in a surface comprising desirable characteristics for cell culture, such as biocompatibility, transparency, cell adhesion, and resistance to acids, bases, and varied solvents including ethanol [p 3 ¶ 2-p 4 ¶ 3, Table I, Table II]. Thus, at the time of filing, the skilled artisan would not have considered the combination of all of the polymers recited in claim 15 into a single cell culture surface to be predictable.
Applicant’s disclosure does not overcome this art recognized unpredictability as the disclosure teaches the use of only a single surface of undisclosed composition and does not provide sufficient guidance for using a cell culture surface comprising all of polystyrene, cyclic olefin polymer, cyclic olefin copolymer, polyolefin, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, styrene acrylonitrile copolymer, and mixtures and copolymers therefrom.
Therefore, in view of the state of the art at the time of filing for cell culture plastics, the art recognized unpredictability for mixing various polymers and copolymers, the limitation of the working examples to a single cell culture surface with undisclosed composition, and the breadth of the claims, it would have required undue experimentation to practice the method of expanding an MSC population by culturing the MSCs on a surface comprising all of polystyrene, cyclic olefin polymer, cyclic olefin copolymer, polyolefin, polycarbonate, polymethyl methacrylate, styrene acrylonitrile copolymer, and mixtures and copolymers therefrom as claimed without undue experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. [2016, Cell Proliferation, 49, 579-588, IDS].
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a method of expanding a mesenchymal stem cell (MSC) population, the method comprising i. obtaining a plurality of MSCs and ii. culturing the MSCs in serum-free growth medium on a surface, wherein the surface lacks a cell adhesive coating, thereby generating an expanded MSC population [abstract, p 585 col 1 ¶ 2- col 2 ¶ 1]. Wu does not explicitly recite wherein the culture lacks a feeder cell layer. However, Wu teaches the plating and culturing of the MSCs without indicating that any feeder cells were used in the culture [p 582 col 1 ¶ 4]. As such, Wu is presumed to teach expanding MSCs by culturing the MSCs on a surface which lacks a feeder cell layer, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 5, Wu disclosed wherein the growth medium is serum-free [abstract].
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches wherein the chemically defined serum-free medium for culturing the MSCs comprises Iscove’s Modified Dulbecco’s medium (IMDM) [Table 1].
Regarding claims 8-9, Wu discloses wherein the MSCs are isolated from human umbilical cord [abstract, p 581 col 1 ¶ 3].
Regarding claim 12, Wu discloses wherein the culturing comprises growing the MSCs in growth medium on the surface through at least 5 passages [p 582 col 2 ¶ 3, Figure 2].
Accordingly, by teaching all the limitations of claims 1, 5, 7-9, and 12 as written, Wu anticipates the instant invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fryer [US20100087002A1] in view of Wu et al. [2016, Cell Proliferation, 49, 579-588, IDS].
Regarding claim 1, Fryer teaches a method of expanding stem cell population, the method comprising: i. obtaining a plurality of stem cells; and ii. culturing the stem cells in serum-free growth medium on a surface, wherein the surface lacks a cell adhesive coating and lacks a feeder cell layer; thereby generating an expanded stem cell population [0054-0057, 0086, 0098-0099, 0161, 0131-0134].
Fryer additionally teaches wherein the stem cells are multipotent stem cells [0128], but does not explicitly teach wherein the stem cells are mesenchymal stem cells.
However, Wu teaches a method of expanding a mesenchymal stem cell (MSC) population, the method comprising i. obtaining a plurality of MSCs and ii. culturing the MSCs in serum-free growth medium on a surface, wherein the surface lacks a cell adhesive coating, thereby generating an expanded MSC population [abstract, p 585 col 1 ¶ 2- col 2 ¶ 1]. Wu also teaches that due to their immunomodulatory and tissue repair properties, MSCs have been led to clinical exploitation in numerous clinical trials [p 579 col 1 ¶ 1]. Wu further teaches that umbilical cord mesenchymal stomal cells (UCMSCs) can be considered to become a new gold standard for MSC-based therapies, wherein a serum and xeno-free, chemically defined and no-plate-coating-based culture system will greatly facilitate development of robust, clinically acceptable bioprocesses for reproducibly generating quality-assured UCMSCs [abstract].
Therefore, given the teachings of Wu of the clinical benefits of MSCs and the desirability of culturing MSCs in a serum and xeno-free, chemically defined and no-plate-coating-based culture system, and ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing the instant application would have been motivated to culture MSCs in a no-plate-coating-based culture system, such as that taught by Fryer.
Regarding claim 2, Fryer teaches a method of culturing stem cells by culturing the stem cells attached on a solid substrate surface containing from at least about 0.9% N, a sum of O and N of greater than or equal to 22.3%, and a static sessile contact angle of at least about 13.9 degrees, lacking a feeder cell layer and lacking an adlayer, comprising the steps of a. obtaining a suspension of cells, and b. adding the suspension of cells to the surface and allowing the cells to attach [0054-0057, 0086, 0098-0099, 0161, 0131-0134]. Fryer further teaches wherein surfaces with a nitrogen content of at least about 0.9%, a sum of O and N of greater than or equal to 22.3%, and a water contact angle of at least about 13.9 degrees supported human embryonic stem cells attachment and colony formation in the absence of Rho inhibition or Rho kinase inhibition [0249].
Regarding claim 5, Fryer disclosed wherein the growth medium is serum-free [0170].
Regarding claim 7, Fryer teaches wherein the chemically defined serum-free medium for culturing the MSCs comprises Dulbecco’s Modified Dulbecco’s medium (DMEMTM) [0172].
Regarding claims 8-9, Fryer teaches wherein the stem cells are isolated from human amniotic fluid [0166, 0281, 0284]. Wu discloses wherein the MSCs are isolated from human umbilical cord [abstract, p 581 col 1 ¶ 3].
Regarding claims 10-11, Fryer teaches wherein stem cells are cultured on a layer of extracellular matrix (ECM) protein that supports the stem cells in various ways prior to culturing according to the method of their invention [0168, 0169]. Fryer further teaches wherein culturing with an ECM adhesive coating layer supports the culture of stem cells without differentiation [0169].
Regarding claim 12, Fryer teaches that stem cells can be passaged up to at least 15 passages without compromising the karyotypes [0042], and further teaches culturing stem cells on the recited surface for at least four passages [0060, 0062]. Wu discloses wherein the culturing comprises growing the MSCs in growth medium on the surface through at least 5 passages [p 582 col 2 ¶ 3, Figure 2].
Regarding claim 14, Fryer teaches wherein the surface modified plates, including those containing from at least about 0.9% N, a sum of O and N of greater than or equal to 22.3%, and a static sessile contact angle of at least about 13.9 degrees, were prepared by treating injection molded items using a corona plasma treatment or a microwave plasma treatment, wherein the polymer materials used in injection molding was polystyrene [0233-0235, 0241-0243, 0249, 0278, Table 6]. Fryer also teaches wherein the surface can comprise polymer, such as polystyrene (PS), cyclic olefin copolymer (COC), polycarbonate (PC), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA), or styrene acrylonitrile copolymer
(SAN) [0126]. Fryer further teaches specifically using polystyrene, polycarbonate, a blend of polycarbonate and polystyrene, and cyclic olefin copolymer for injection molding followed by corona plasma treatment or microwave plasma treatment [0233, Table 6].
Given the motivations taught by Wu to culture human umbilical cord MSCs in a no-plate-coating-based culture system to generate quality-assured UCMSCs for clinical applications; it would have been prima facie obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing the instant application to modify the method of Fryer to culture MSCs with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
DR. KATIE L. PENNINGTON
Examiner
Art Unit 1634
/KATIE L PENNINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1634
/MARIA G LEAVITT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1634