DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8 March 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a data generation unit that generates…” in claim 1 (No detailed description);
“a user emotion prediction unit that predicts…” in claim 7 (No detailed description);
“a display control unit that controls…” in claim 8 (No detailed description);
“an extraction unit that extracts…” in claim 9 (No detailed description);
“a reproduction control unit that controls…” in claim 16 (No detailed description); and
“an edit control unit that controls…” in claim 17 (No detailed description).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a data generation unit that generates…” in claim 1, a user emotion prediction unit that predicts…” in claim 7, “a display control unit that controls…” in claim 8, “an extraction unit that extracts…” in claim 9, “a reproduction control unit that controls…” in claim 16, and “an edit control unit that controls…” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claims. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret that any structure that performs the claimed functions are the “units”, respectfully, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ajito Takeyuki (JP 2011-166405 A).
Regarding claim 1, Ajito Takeyuki discloses an information processing device comprising:
a data generation unit (Figure 1) that generates correlation data obtained by associating a user emotion with video quality on a basis of the user emotion and the video quality for each scene of moving image content (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0027]-[0028] and [0035], the emotion vs imaging mode, where the imaging modes are shown in Figure 2 which involve “image quality” [special effects, contrast correction, saturation correction, sharpness correction, etc.]. See also paragraph [0082] which says the teachings can be used for a digital video camera, thus for moving image content.).
Regarding claim 2, Ajito Takeyuki discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the correlation data includes combination data of the user emotion and the video quality for each scene (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0027]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Ajito Takeyuki discloses the information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the data generation unit generates the correlation data for each user attribute using the user emotion for each user attribute (Figure 4 and paragraphs [0027]-[0028], where the correlation data is found in the table for each user emtion attribute, i.e. “weighting factor” for “pleasant”, “scary” etc.).
Regarding claim 6, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajito Takeyuki (JP 2011-166405 A) in view of Osborne et al. (US 2020/0286505).
Regarding claim 3, Ajito Takeyuki discloses the information processing device according to claim 1.
Ajito Takeyuki fails to teach wherein the correlation data includes data of a regression equation calculated on a basis of combination data of the user emotion and the video quality for each scene.
Osborne et al. disclose wherein correlation data includes data of a regression equation calculated on a basis of combination data (Paragraph [0012]: linear regression algorithm)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the linear regression teachings of Osborne et al. in the information processing device taught by Ajito Takeyuki such that the data is calculated on a basis of combination data of the user emotion and the video quality for each scene. The motivation to combine would have been in order to apply the known benefits of regression, such as better understanding relationships between variables, which allows for performance optimization and informed decision making.
Regarding claim 4, Ajito Takeyuki and Osborne et al. disclose the information processing device according to claim 3, wherein data of a correlation coefficient is added to the data of the regression equation (Where the “correlation coefficient” is the weightings, Osborne et al.: Paragraph [0012] recites “…is based on a combination of one or more or all of the base feature parameters, with weightings determined by linear regressions.).
Claims 7-8, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajito Takeyuki (JP 2011-166405 A) in view of Sud et al. (US 2018/0314881).
Regarding claim 7, please refer to the rejection of claim 1, where Ajito Takeyuki discloses of generating correlation data obtained by associating a user emotion with the video quality for each scene of moving image content.
However, Ajito Takeyuki fails to teach
a user emotion prediction unit that predicts, on a basis of video quality for each scene of moving image content and the correlation data obtained by associating a user emotion with the video quality, the user emotion for each scene of the moving image content.
Sud et al. disclose a user emotion prediction unit (Figure 1) that predicts, on a basis of correlation data, a user emotion for each image (Paragraphs [0016]-[0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the prediction teachings of Sud et al. and apply them to the correlation data obtained by associating a user emotion with the video quality for each scene of moving image content such that the correlation data can be used to predict the user emotion. The motivation to combine would have been in order to make use of t a machine learning algorithm and its known benefits, such as allowing for personalization of content.
Regarding claim 8, Ajito Takeyuki and Sud et al. disclose the information processing device according to claim 7, further comprising:
a display control unit (Sud et al.: Figures 1-2) that controls display of the predicted user emotion for each scene of the moving image content (Sud et al.: Paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 15, Ajito Takeyuki and Sud et al. disclose the information processing device according to claim 7, wherein the user emotion prediction unit predicts the user emotion for each scene of the moving image content on a basis of the correlation data of a predetermined attribute selected from the correlation data for each user attribute (In the prediction in the combination. Ajito Takeyuki discloses in paragraphs [0027]-[0028], where the emotions are the attributes: pleasant, scary, etc., and the weights are correlation data, and the selection is done based on the weights.).
Regarding claim 16, Ajito Takeyuki and Sud et al. disclose the information processing device according to claim 7, further comprising:
a reproduction control unit (Sud et al.: Figures 1-2) that controls reproduction of the moving image content on a basis of the extracted emotion representative scene (Sud et al.: Paragraph [0046] in the combination.).
Regarding claim 18, this claim is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Claims 9-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajito Takeyuki (JP 2011-166405 A) in view of Sud et al. (US 2018/0314881) and further in view of Matsuyama et al. (JP 2005-128884 A).
Regarding claim 9, Ajito Takeyuki and Sud et al. disclose the information processing device according to claim 7.
Ajito Takeyuki and Sud et al. fail to teach the information processing device further comprising:
Matsuyama et al. disclose an extraction unit that extracts an emotion representative scene for each scene of the moving image content (Figure 3B and see page 26 of the provided document, the paragraph reciting: “In the above embodiment, information content editing processing is performed based on emotion parameters based on biometric information. However, in addition to emotion information, scene extraction based on position information and time information is performed, and the same position and same time A summary content collection can also be created. Thereby, for example, an experience history based on various information can be created from the experience videos accumulated every day and looked back.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the scene extraction taught by Matsuyama et al. and apply them to the information processing device taught by the combination of Ajito Takeyuki and Sud et al. such that the extraction will be based on the predicted user emotion. The motivation to combine would have been in order to provide customized user experience videos where a user can easily grasp what impressive scenes existed in daily experiences (See the top of page 27 of the provided document for Matsuyama et al.).
Regarding claim 10, Ajito Takeyuki, Sud et al. and Matsuyama et al. disclose the information processing device according to claim 9, wherein the extraction unit extracts the emotion representative scene on a basis of a type of the user emotion (In the combination, Ajito Takeyuki: Figure 4 shows “types”, see paragraphs [0027]-[0028].).
Regarding claim 11, Ajito Takeyuki, Sud et al. and Matsuyama et al. disclose the information processing device according to claim 9, wherein the extraction unit extracts the emotion representative scene on a basis of a degree of the user emotion (In the combination, Ajito Takeyuki, paragraphs [0027]-[0028], the weights are a “degree.”).
Regarding claim 17, Ajito Takeyuki and Sud et al. disclose the information processing device according to claim 7.
Ajito Takeyuki and Sud et al. fail to teach the information processing device further comprising:
an edit control unit that controls editing of the moving image content on a basis of the extracted emotion representative scene.
Matsuyama et al. disclose an edit control unit that controls editing of the moving image content on a basis of an extracted emotion representative scene (Figure 1 and see page 21 of the provided document, the paragraph reciting: “Next, the summary creation application will be described. The summary creation application is described in XML (Extensible Markup Language) and creates a summary of video and audio collected by the user. In the summary creation application, necessary video and audio are edited based on the emotional state when the user takes a video. The editing processing unit is called a command, and the processing method is described between <Command> tags. Then, editing is performed by arranging a plurality of commands in time series and sequentially executing each command in the command sequence in time series.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to “one of ordinary skill” in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the editing teachings of Matsuyama et al. and apply them to the information processing device taught by the combination of Ajito Takeyuki and Sud et al. The motivation to combine would have been in order to provide customized user experience videos where a user can easily grasp what impressive scenes existed in daily experiences (See the top of page 27 of the provided document for Matsuyama et al.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 12 is the inclusion of the limitations reciting “wherein the extraction unit extracts a scene in which the degree of the user emotion exceeds a threshold as the emotion representative scene” which, in combination with the other recited features, is not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 13 is the inclusion of the limitations reciting “wherein the extraction unit extracts the emotion representative scene on a basis of a statistical value of the degree of the user emotion of the entire moving image content” which, in combination with the other recited features, is not taught and/or suggested either singularly or in combination within the prior art.
Claim 14 is objected to due to its dependency from claim 13.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN G SHERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621
7 January 2026