DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 03/08/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the lens cover element (claim 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 2 line 18 “claim 17” should read “claim 19”
Pg. 7 line 25-pg. 8 line 15 discussion of a “first mold compound” and “second mold compound”. Neither is present in figures or claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 1 line 15 “floating, in particular floating” should read “floating
. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Use of “substantially” in claims 1, 7, 8, 19 supported by the specification and not considered indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-3, 11-13, 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, 3, 11, 13, 24 the phrase "in particular" in line 2, line 3, line 3, line 3, line 2, respectively, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 24 is further indefinite due to the frame being a separate isolated component from the carrier, not a subcomponent of the carrier. For purposes of examination, Examiner interprets the “in particular” limitations to be part of the claimed invention. For claim 24, Examiner interprets that the separation is claimed to occur at either the carrier or the frame.
The term “substantially” claim 3 line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Refractive index (claim 3) rendered indefinite by use of word “substantially”. Examiner interprets the refractive indices to be within 50% of each other.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the upper edge" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner interprets the upper edge to be equivalent to the one recited in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
All mentions of Harrah refer to Harrah fig. 1, unless otherwise noted.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9, 13-17, 19, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah (US-20110255263-A1) in view of Bogner (US-20090212306-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Harrah discloses an optoelectronic lighting device (fig. 1) comprising: a carrier (102, 0006-0007); at least one light emitting semiconductor element arranged on a top surface of the carrier (light emitting semiconductor element left 114 on top surface of 102, 0007, 0018), a mold compound which is substantially transparent to the light emitted by the semiconductor element and which encapsulates the light emitting semiconductor element on the carrier (mold compound 110 transparent and encapsulates 114, 0009); a frame which is arranged on the top surface of the carrier (frame 108 on top of 102, 0008), which projects beyond the light emitting semiconductor element in a direction perpendicular to the top surface of the carrier (108 projects beyond 114s in direction perpendicular to top of 102 (top to bottom in figure 1), and which delimits the mold compound in at least one spatial direction (108 delimits 110 left and right); and a cover element which is substantially transparent to the light emitted by the semiconductor element and which, viewed in an emission direction of the optoelectronic lighting device, is arranged floating, in particular floating, on the mold compound (cover element 116 transparent to light and floats on 110, 0010).
Harrah does not disclose the light has a wavelength smaller than 550 nm.
Bogner discloses an optoelectronic semiconductor device that emits at less than 550 nm (0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wavelength smaller than 550 nm to produce green, blue, and ultraviolet light with higher energies. Ultraviolet light can help disinfect surfaces.
Regarding claim 3, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1.
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein the mold compound and the cover element comprise a substantially identical refractive index, in particular in the region of an optical interface between the mold compound and the cover element.
Harrah separately discloses differences in refractive indices between adjacent optical materials produce optical losses and further discloses selecting material of encapsulant to moderate differences between refractive indices to reduce optical loss (0009-0010).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the mold compound and the cover element comprise a substantially identical refractive index, in particular in the region of an optical interface between the mold compound and the cover element to reduce loss of light intensity (Harrah 0010).
Regarding claim 4, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the cover element has no direct connection to the frame (116 no direct connection to 108).
Regarding claim 9, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the frame forms a cavity in which the light emitting semiconductor element is arranged (108 forms cavity 112 between 108 walls with 114 inside), and wherein the cavity is filled with the mold compound (112 filled with 110, 0008-0009).
Regarding claim 13, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 9, wherein in a top view, the cover element comprises a smaller surface area than a surface enclosed by the frame (in top view in fig. 1, 116 comprises smaller surface area than surface enclosed by 108), and wherein in particular the frame is uncovered by the cover element (108 uncovered by 116).
Regarding claim 14, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1 , wherein at least some regions of the mold compound, which are arranged outside a light cone emitted by the optoelectronic lighting device, remain free of the cover element (annotated fig. 1 boxed regions of 110 outside light cone and free of 116).
Annotated fig. 1
Regarding claim 15, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1 , wherein the mold compound is selected from the group of silicones or siloxanes (mold compound 210/110 silicone, 0018).
Regarding claim 16, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1 , wherein a material of the cover element is selected from the group of epoxies or glasses (cover element 216/116 glass, 0018).
Regarding claim 17, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the cover element is formed by a lens (116 can be lens, 0010).
Regarding claim 19, Harrah discloses a method for manufacturing at least one optoelectronic lighting device (fig. 1) comprising the steps of: arranging at least one light emitting semiconductor element on a top surface of a carrier (114 on top surface of 102, 0007-0010, 0018); arranging a frame on the top surface of the carrier, wherein the frame together with the carrier forms at least one cavity in which the at least one light emitting semiconductor element is arranged (108 on top of 102, 108 and 102 form cavity 112 in which 114 is arranged, 0008); molding the at least one semiconductor element with a mold compound which is substantially transparent to the light emitted by the semiconductor element in such a way that the at least one cavity is at least filled with the mold compound (mold compound 110 molds 114, 110 substantially transparent to light and fills cavity 112); and arranging at least one cover element which is substantially transparent to the light emitted by the semiconductor element in such a way that the at least one cover element is arranged floating on the mold compound as seen in an emission direction of the optoelectronic lighting device (cover element 116 transparent to light and floating on 110 as seen in vertical emission direction of device).
Harrah does not disclose the light has a wavelength smaller than 550 nm.
Bogner discloses an optoelectronic semiconductor device that emits at less than 550 nm (0029).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wavelength smaller than 550 nm to produce green, blue, and ultraviolet light with higher energies. Ultraviolet light can help disinfect surfaces.
Regarding claim 22, modified Harrah discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the step of arranging a frame comprises dispensing a dam material (108 serves as dam for encapsulant 110, 0008-0010).
A “dam material” is interpreted to mean a material that forms a dam.
Claim(s) 2, 5-8, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah in view of Bogner and Tatsuno (US-20030128726-A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1.
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein the cover element is formed by an optical element, in particular a glass platelet, which preserves the wavefront of the light emitted by the semiconductor element.
Tatsuno discloses a diode laser module with a cover element formed by a parallel-plane plate that reduces wavefront aberration of light emitted by a diode laser (fig. 3, plate 201 preserves wavefront from laser 100, 0011-0014, 0037-0038, 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cover element is formed by an optical element, in particular a glass platelet, which preserves the wavefront of the light emitted by the semiconductor element to keep the wavefront aberration within a controllable range and eliminate aberration adverse effects (Tatsuno 0011).
Regarding claim 5, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1.
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein the light emitting semiconductor element is formed by a side-emitting laser diode.
Tatsuno discloses a diode laser module with a side-emitting laser diode with a side-emitting arrangement/embodiment including a reflector (fig. 3 side emitting laser diode 100 with reflector 300, 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light emitting semiconductor element is formed by a side-emitting laser diode to provide reduced package height and more substantial diode mounting surface. Using laser diode provides narrower wavelength bandwidth and faster response times.
Regarding claim 6, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1.
Modified Harrah does not disclose further comprising a reflector or a prism, wherein the reflector or the prism is configured to deflect the light emitted by the semiconductor element.
Tatsuno discloses a diode laser module with a side-emitting laser diode with a side-emitting arrangement/embodiment including a reflector configured to deflect light from side-emitting laser diode (fig. 3+4 side emitting laser diode 100 with reflector 300, 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light emitting semiconductor element is formed by a side-emitting laser diode with a reflector configured to deflect light to provide reduced package height and more substantial diode mounting surface. Using reflector also allows for more control over beam direction.
Regarding claim 7, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1,
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein the emission direction of the optoelectronic lighting device is substantially perpendicular to a main emission direction of the semiconductor element.
Tatsuno discloses a diode laser module with emission direction of module is perpendicular to emission direction of semiconductor element, using side-emitting laser and reflector (figs. 3+4 semiconductor element emits to right and is reflected to top of module, side-emitting laser 100 and reflector 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a side-emitting laser and reflector arrangement to provide perpendicularity between module emission and laser emission to provide reduced package height and more substantial laser diode mounting surface. This arrangement also improves positional flexibility and beam control.
Regarding claim 8, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according claim 1.
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein the emission direction of the optoelectronic lighting device and a main emission direction of the semiconductor element are substantially parallel.
Tatsuno discloses a diode laser module with module emission direction substantially parallel to laser emission (fig. 2 module (201+204+202+105+104) emission parallel to laser 100 emission (to top of page), 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the emission direction of the optoelectronic lighting device and a main emission direction of the semiconductor element are substantially parallel to avoid need for additional optical components/reflectors and reduce optical loss/energy.
Regarding claim 21, modified Harrah discloses the method according to claim 19.
Modified Harrah does not disclose further comprising a step of arranging a reflector or prism on the top surface of the carrier within the at least one cavity, wherein the reflector or the prism is configured to deflect the light emitted by the semiconductor element.
Tatsuno discloses a diode laser module with a side-emitting laser diode with a side-emitting arrangement/embodiment including a reflector configured to deflect light from side-emitting laser diode (fig. 3+4 side emitting laser diode 100 with reflector 300, 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the light emitting semiconductor element is formed by a side-emitting laser diode with a reflector located on the top surface of the carrier and configured to deflect light to provide reduced package height and more substantial diode mounting surface. Using reflector also allows for more control over beam direction.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah fig. 1 in view of Bogner and Harrah fig. 3b.
Regarding claim 10, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 9.
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein the mold compound projects beyond the frame and is arranged at least partially on an upper edge of the frame.
Harrah fig. 3b discloses a separate embodiment with a mold compound that projects beyond frame in vertical direction and is arranged on upper edge of frame (fig. 3b mold compound 310 projects up beyond frame 308 into openings 322 on top surface of 308, 0034-0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the mold compound projects beyond the frame and is arranged at least partially on an upper edge of the frame to allow outflow of the mold compound during heating of device to reduce internal stresses (Harrah 0033).
Regarding claim 11, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 9.
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein in a top view, the cover element completely covers the cavity and in particular at least partially covers the frame.
Harrah fig. 3b discloses a separate embodiment with a cover that completely covers a cavity and a frame (fig. 3b cover 316 covers cavity 312 and frame 308, 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cover completely cover the cavity and the frame to provide additional support for cover and maximize heat transfer between components (Harrah 0014).
Regarding claim 12, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 11.
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein a portion of the mold compound is arranged between the upper edge of the frame and the cover element covering this portion of the frame.
Harrah fig. 3b further discloses a portion of the mold compound is arranged between the upper edge of the frame and the cover element covering this portion of the frame (fig. 3b portion of 310 arranged between upper edge of 308 and cover element 316 (within 322), 0036-0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a portion of the mold compound is arranged between the upper edge of the frame and the cover element covering this portion of the frame using the arrangement in Harrah fig. 3b to allow outflow of the mold compound during heating of device to reduce internal stresses (Harrah 0033).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah in view of Bogner and Bogner2008 (WO-2008031391-A1, machine translation "Bogner2008_English" cited and included herewith).
Regarding claim 18, modified Harrah discloses the optoelectronic lighting device according to claim 1.
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein the optoelectronic lighting device comprises electrical contact surfaces on a side facing away from the top surface of the carrier and is surface-mountable.
Bogner2008 discloses a surface-mountable optoelectronic housing with electrical contact surfaces on a bottom surface of a carrier (fig. 1+2 electrical contacts 7, surface-mountable using mounting holes 8, lines 184-197).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have electrical contact surfaces on a side facing away from the top surface of the carrier and is surface-mountable to allow for mounting on a separate carrier that is suitable for heat dissipation or other purpose that cannot be provided by the existing device (Bogner2008 lines 205-212).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah in view of Bogner and Itoh (US-20190115718-A1).
Regarding claim 20, modified Harrah discloses the method according to claim 19.
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein the step of arranging the at least one cover element is conducted after the step of molding the at least one semiconductor element with the mold compound, and wherein the mold compound is in a liquid state at the time of arranging the at least one cover element.
Itoh discloses a laser device with manufacturing step of arranging cover element conducted after step of molding at least one semiconductor element, wherein mold compound is liquid when cover is arranged (fig. 5 cover element 150 arranged after liquid resin mold 140, 140 is liquid when 150 arranged, 0131-0132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the step of arranging the at least one cover element is conducted after the step of molding the at least one semiconductor element with the mold compound, and wherein the mold compound is in a liquid state at the time of arranging the at least one cover element to eliminate the need for any exhaust holes for discharging air or mold compound filling holes for filling of the cavity with mold compound (Itoh 0132).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah in view of Bogner and Bellynck (WO-2015007737-A1, machine translation "Bellynck_English" cited and included herewith).
Regarding claim 23, modified Harrah discloses the method according to claim 19.
Modified Harrah does not disclose wherein the step of arranging a frame comprises gluing a prefabricated frame.
Bellynck discloses a lighting device with a frame/dam that is prefabricated and glued to a carrier (fig. 1 dam 4, lines 122-130 + 248-252).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the step of arranging a frame comprises gluing a prefabricated frame to allow for adjustments to be made to separate frame component without needing to transport additional attached components of device. Increased modularity also improves production efficiency.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrah in view of Bogner and Zitzlsperger (WO-2020169524-A1; US-20220140215-A1 used as cited translation).
Regarding claim 24, modified Harrah discloses the method according to claim 19.
Modified Harrah does not disclose further comprising a step of separating the carrier, and in particular the frame, and optionally the cover element, to provide one of the at least one optoelectronic lighting device.
Zitzlsperger discloses making optoelectronic lighting devices in bulk and then separating them along separation lines at carrier (figs. 12-13 separation lines S, 0063, 0073-0077, 0118-0119).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a step of separating the carrier, and in particular the frame, and optionally the cover element, to provide one of the at least one optoelectronic lighting device to allow for more efficient batch production and more consistency between final product devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mok US-20080074884-A1.
Shih US-20200169060-A1
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828