CTNF 18/690,335 CTNF 76690 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art, Liu et al., “Advertisement of Algorithm in BGP” (hereinafter Liu) . Regarding claims 1 and 16, Liu discloses a routing advertisement method, applied to a first autonomous system border router (ASBR) in a first autonomous domain [Fig. 2: node 5; Node 5 is an ASBR because it speaks BGP to Node 4 and belongs to IGP domain 2 while Node 4 belongs to IGP domain 1], comprising: generating a cross-domain routing based on an inter-domain routing protocol according to a prefix of an intra-domain routing based on an intra-domain routing protocol in the first autonomous domain and a flexible algorithm identifier corresponding to the prefix [“Node 5 can advertise prefix loopback-1 and prefix loopback-2 to node 4 through BGP [RFC2545] [RFC4271]. Node 4 can import the BGP routes into IGP and continue to advertise the routes to its neighbors in IGP domain 1. Or, node 4 directly advertises the routes to node 1 through BGP. In both cases, the corresponding algorithm information from IGP domain2 is lost during the advertisement. As a result, node 4 does not know which Flex-algo plane to import loopback-1 or loopback-2 into IGP domain 1. With the Algorithm Extended Community, the algorithm information can be carried in the BGP route of loopbacks advertised from node 5 to node 4. The administrator can configure algorithms in each IGP domain in the network. A simple configuration method is that algorithms in each IGP domain are consistent. If the algorithm configurations in each IGP domain are inconsistent, the ASBR needs to know the mapping relationship of the algorithms and carry the converted algorithm information in Algorithm Extended Community when advertising the BGP route.”]; and advertising the cross-domain routing to a second autonomous domain through the inter-domain routing protocol [“Node 5 can advertise prefix loopback-1 and prefix loopback-2 to node 4 through BGP”]. Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses wherein the intra-domain routing protocol comprises an internal gateway protocol (IGP) [fig. 2]. Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses wherein the inter-domain routing protocol comprises a border gateway protocol (BGP), and the advertising the cross- domain routing to a second autonomous domain through the inter-domain routing protocol comprises: advertising the cross-domain routing to a second ASBR in the second autonomous domain through the BGP. [“Node 4 can import the BGP routes into IGP and continue to advertise the routes to its neighbors in IGP domain. Or, node 4 directly advertises the routes to node 1 through BGP.”] Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses wherein the prefix is selected from any one of: an IP address prefix (IP-prefix), a prefix-segment identifier (SID), a segment routing over IPv6 (SRv6) locator [“A BGP speaker can advertise multiple paths for the same address prefix, each path is identified by a Path Identifier in addition to the address prefix [RFC7911].”]. Regarding claim 14, it is inherent in the art for the autonomous system border router to comprise a processor, memory and at least one I/O interface connected between the processor and the memory . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ((a)(2) as being anticipated by Arora et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0367867 (hereinafter Arora) . Regarding claims 1 and 16, Arora discloses a routing advertisement method, applied to a first autonomous system border router (ASBR) in a first autonomous domain [paragraph 0057], comprising: generating a cross-domain routing based on an inter-domain routing protocol according to a prefix of an intra-domain routing based on an intra-domain routing protocol in the first autonomous domain and a flexible algorithm identifier corresponding to the prefix [paragraphs 0024, 0027]; and advertising the cross-domain routing to a second autonomous domain through the inter-domain routing protocol [paragraph 0028]. Regarding claim 4, Arora discloses wherein the intra-domain routing protocol comprises an internal gateway protocol (IGP) [paragraph 0021]. Regarding claim 5, Arora discloses wherein the inter-domain routing protocol comprises a border gateway protocol (BGP), and the advertising the cross- domain routing to a second autonomous domain through the inter-domain routing protocol comprises: advertising the cross-domain routing to a second ASBR in the second autonomous domain through the BGP [paragraph 0024]. Regarding claim 6, Arora discloses wherein the prefix is selected from any one of: an IP address prefix (IP-prefix), a prefix-segment identifier (SID), a segment routing over IPv6 (SRv6) locator [paragraph 0036]. Regarding claim 14, it is inherent in the art for the autonomous system border router to comprise a processor, memory and at least one I/O interface connected between the processor and the memory . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 7-13, 15, and 17-20 are allowed. The closest prior art, Arora, discloses a routing advertisement method for an autonomous system border router comprising generating and advertising cross-domain routing as discussed above. However, the reference does not teach or suggest the detailed path establishment method of independent claim 7. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ansari et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2017/0366444, disclose scaled inter-domain metrics for link state protocols. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ERIKA WASHINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-7841. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /EAW/ March 4, 2026 /ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/690,335 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644