DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/7/25 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a machine learning model”. The specification discloses:
“a probabilistic graphical model ("PGM") using a hidden Markov model” (¶10).
However, there is insufficient written description under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), due to only disclosing one of the many species that encompass the broad or large genus of any or all possible machine learning models. MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)(ii) states:
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. See Juno Therapeutics, Inc. v. Kite Pharma, Inc., 10 F.4th 1330, 1337, 2021 USPQ2d 893 (Fed. Cir. 2021) ( "[T]he written description must lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the inventor possessed the entire scope of the claimed invention. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353–54 ('[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor's contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.' (internal quotation marks omitted).").”
There is not a sufficient number of species disclosed to encompass the broad or large genus of any or all possible machine learning models. A probabilistic graphical model ("PGM") using a hidden Markov model differs greatly from other species that could fall within the genus such as Linear Regression, Logistic Regression, Decision Trees, Random Forest, Naïve Bayes Classifier, Support Vector Machines, K Nearest Neighbour, K means Clustering, and Principal Component Analysis (see attached reference).
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the computer system." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claims 2-18 are rejected for the same deficiency in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, specifically an abstract idea.
Step 1
The claimed invention in claims 1-18 are directed to statutory subject matter as the claims recite a method for predicting a treatment outcome response for an adolescent patient to a particular treatment for major depressive disorder.
Step 2A, Prong One
Regarding claim 1, the recited steps are directed to a mental process of performing concepts in a human mind or by a human using a pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (III)).
Regarding claim 1, the limitations of “(a) accessing symptom measure data for the adolescent patient using the computer system, wherein the symptom measure data comprise: a first symptom measure for the adolescent patient corresponding to a severity of major depressive disorder at a first point in time; a second symptom measure for the adolescent patient corresponding to a severity of major depressive disorder at a second point in time that is subsequent to the first point in time; selecting based on the symptom measure data: a first symptom class from a first set of symptom classes corresponding to a first symptom range that contains the first symptom measure; a second symptom class from a second set of symptom classes corresponding to a second symptom range that contains the second symptom measure; and generating output as a prediction of a treatment outcome for the adolescent patient in response to a particular treatment regimen” are a process, as drafted, covers performance of the limitation that can be performed by a human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) under the broadest reasonable standard. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional receiving a printout of symptom measure data for the adolescent patient, wherein the symptom measure data comprise: a first symptom measure for the adolescent patient corresponding to a severity of major depressive disorder at a first point in time and a second symptom measure for the adolescent patient corresponding to a severity of major depressive disorder at a second point in time that is subsequent to the first point in time, the medical professional selecting based on the symptom measure data: a first symptom class from a first set of symptom classes corresponding to a first symptom range that contains the first symptom measure and a second symptom class from a second set of symptom classes corresponding to a second symptom range that contains the second symptom measure, and writing down on paper a prediction of a treatment outcome for the adolescent patient in response to a particular treatment regimen.
Step 2A, Prong Two
For claim 1, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 1 recites “a computer system and providing an indication of the prediction of the treatment outcome using the computer system.” The computer system is recited at a high-level of generality and amount to nothing more than parts of a generic computer. The step of providing an indication of the prediction of the treatment outcome using the computer system amounts to post-solution activity. Additionally, Applicant includes a trained machine learning model which is nothing more than the computer implementation/automation of an abstract mental process of screening a patient, which is what a physician typically does with a patient in a diagnostic setting. Merely including instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer does not integrate a judicial exception into practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding dependent claims 2-18, the limitations of claim 1 further define the limitations already indicated as being directed to the abstract idea.
Claims 2-12 are further details about the machine learning model, which is nothing more than the computer implementation/automation of an abstract mental process of screening a patient, which is what a physician typically does with a patient in a diagnostic setting.
Claims 13-18 are further directed to the abstract idea indicated in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer (US 20190189247 filed on 12/14/18 as cited in the IDS) in view of Bondar (NPL “Symptom clusters in adolescent depression and differential response to treatment: a secondary analysis of the Treatment for Adolescents with Depression Study randomised trial” published in 2020 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Iyer teaches a computer-implemented method for predicting a treatment outcome response for a patient to a particular treatment for major depressive disorder (¶19-generate a prediction of clinical efficacy of the treatment; ¶39), the method comprising: (a) accessing symptom measure data (¶4-first symptom measure, second symptom measure; ¶23-24) for the patient using the computer system, wherein the symptom measure data comprise: a first symptom measure for the patient corresponding to a severity of major depressive disorder at a first point in time (¶4-(i) obtaining a first symptom measure for a person, the first symptom measure corresponding to a severity of major depressive disorder at a first point in time); a second symptom measure for the patient corresponding to a severity of major depressive disorder at a second point in time that is subsequent to the first point in time (¶4-(iii) obtaining a second symptom measure for the person, the second symptom measure corresponding to a severity of major depressive disorder at a second point in time, where the second point in time is subsequent to the first point in time); (b) selecting with the computer system, based on the symptom measure data (¶32-a cell phone, computer, tablet, or other computing device, such a device could receive, via a user interface, an indication of one or more symptom measures for a person; ¶4; ¶25-27): a first symptom class from a first set of symptom classes corresponding to a first symptom range that contains the first symptom measure (¶4-(ii) based on the first symptom measure, selecting a first symptom class from a first set of symptom classes, where selecting the first symptom class includes determining which symptom range of a first set of symptom ranges contains the first symptom measure and selecting the symptom class, from the first set of symptom classes, that corresponds to the determined symptom range); a second symptom class from a second set of symptom classes corresponding to a second symptom range that contains the second symptom measure (¶4- (iv) based on the second symptom measure, selecting a second symptom class from a second set of symptom classes, where selecting the second symptom class includes determining which symptom range of a second set of symptom ranges contains the second symptom measure and selecting the symptom class, from the second set of symptom classes, that corresponds to the determined symptom range); (c) inputting the first symptom class and the second symptom class to a trained machine learning model (¶30-an artificial neural network or other machine learning algorithm could be applied to determine the clinical course of action. Such an algorithm could be trained by a set of data that includes, for each one of a plurality of patients, observed symptom severity measures at a number of different points in time relative to a particular treatment (e.g., the prescription of an anti-depressant) as well as the eventual outcome of that treatment (e.g., a symptom severity measure at a particular point in time post-treatment, a changed dose or identity of a treatment drug); ¶31) using the computer system, generating output as a prediction of a treatment outcome for the patient in response to a particular treatment regimen (¶28-generate a prediction of whether the person is likely to exhibit remission (e.g., remission of major depressive disorder at a time point between seven and nine weeks post-treatment) in response to a particular treatment (e.g., treatment with citalopram, escitalopram, or some other anti-depressant drug); ¶29-the determined clinical course of action (e.g., the determined likelihood that a person will exhibit remission in response to a particular treatment) could then be indicated to the person and/or to a clinician, e.g., via a display or other user interface of a computer, a cellphone, a tablet, or some other system or device); and (d) providing an indication of the prediction of the treatment outcome using the computer system (¶5-(vi) providing an indication of the determined clinical course of action; ¶29-the determined clinical course of action (e.g., the determined likelihood that a person will exhibit remission in response to a particular treatment) could then be indicated to the person and/or to a clinician, e.g., via a display or other user interface of a computer, a cellphone, a tablet, or some other system or device; ¶28).
However, Iyer does not explicitly teach an adolescent.
Bondar relates generally to a better understanding of the heterogeneity of treatment responses that could help to improve care for adolescents with depression (page 337, Summary section). Bondar further teaches the invention using the following step:
an adolescent (page 341, Discussion section, ¶1-adolescent depression).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Iyer to include an adolescent of Bondar in order to improve care for adolescents with depression (Bondar, page 337, Summary section).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trained machine learning model comprises a probabilistic graphical model (Iyer, ¶30-factor graph model).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the probabilistic graphical model is implemented as a hidden Markov model (Iyer, ¶33-factor graphs can provide a compact expressive representation of random variables and may be configured to…hidden Markov models).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the hidden Markov model comprises a plurality of hidden states, a plurality of observation states, and a plurality of transition probabilities (Iyer, ¶33-hidden Markov models; ¶45-clusters (hidden states C), associated clinical outcomes are likely to be during the transitions (observed states O); ¶44-a transition probability matrix for symptom severity between two time points for random variable X, and what cluster C the patient corresponds to based on his or her current symptom severity score X; ¶46).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the hidden states comprise symptom classes defined by ranges of symptom measures (Iyer, ¶44-patient stratification (clusters) were obtained based only the symptom severity scores, each layer is associated one variable node. Such variable nodes may include O, representing the distribution of patients who demonstrate response (R) vs no response (NR), X, representing the symptom measure at each time point, C, representing the patient stratification/clustering at each time point), and an associated factor node that may include a decision rule to determine whether a patient has demonstrated response; ¶45). Bondar further teaches an adolescent (page 341, Discussion section, ¶1-adolescent depression).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Iyer to include an adolescent of Bondar in order to improve care for adolescents with depression (Bondar, page 337, Summary section).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the observation states comprise treatment response status of patients associated with different symptom classes (Iyer, ¶44-variable nodes may include O, representing the distribution of patients who demonstrate response (R) vs no response (NR), X, representing the symptom measure at each time point; ¶45). Bondar further teaches an adolescent (page 341, Discussion section, ¶1-adolescent depression).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Iyer to include an adolescent of Bondar in order to improve care for adolescents with depression (Bondar, page 337, Summary section).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the transition probabilities comprise fractions of patients moving between symptom classes of one timepoint to a subsequent timepoint (Iyer, ¶46-where p(O|Ct ) is the probability of the observation (response or no-response) in a current state, p(Ct-1 →Ct ) is the probability of a transition from a state of a previous time-point to a state of the current time-point (e.g., Cb 1 →Ct f 2 ), and PO (Ct-1 ) is the path probability for a given set of observations O seen until Ct-1; ¶47). Bondar further teaches an adolescent (page 341, Discussion section, ¶1-adolescent depression).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Iyer to include an adolescent of Bondar in order to improve care for adolescents with depression (Bondar, page 337, Summary section).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the transition probabilities can be determined using a forward algorithm to identify probable forward transitions between hidden states (Iyer, ¶45-the forward algorithm was used to identify the most likely forward transitions a patient starting in any baseline cluster will make between clusters (hidden states C) of the trial, and also what the associated clinical outcomes are likely to be during the transitions (observed states O); ¶46-48).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the forward algorithm also determines the observation states as probable treatment outcomes during each transition between hidden states (Iyer, ¶45-the forward algorithm was used to identify the most likely forward transitions a patient starting in any baseline cluster will make between clusters (hidden states C) of the trial, and also what the associated clinical outcomes are likely to be during the transitions (observed states O); ¶44-such variable nodes may include O, representing the distribution of patients who demonstrate response (R) vs no response (NR), X, representing the symptom measure at each time point, C, representing the patient stratification/clustering at each time point), and an associated factor node that may include a decision rule to determine whether a patient has demonstrated response; ¶46-48; Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 10, Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the probabilistic graphical model comprises a plurality of nodes and at least some of the plurality of nodes are connected via symptom dynamic paths (Iyer, ¶44-factor graphs were generated, for men and women separately, to model the transitions between clusters over time, Each layer is associated one variable node. Such variable nodes may include O, representing the distribution of patients who demonstrate response (R) vs no response (NR), X, representing the symptom measure at each time point, C, representing the patient stratification/clustering at each time point), and an associated factor node that may include a decision rule to determine whether a patient has demonstrated response; Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the symptom dynamic paths can be determined using a forward algorithm to compute likelihoods for paths originating from a first symptom stratum and ending in a second symptom stratum without having to condition trajectories on a specific outcome of interest (Iyer, ¶37-the forward algorithm of the HMM established the symptom dynamics; ¶45-the forward algorithm was used to identify the most likely forward transitions a patient starting in any baseline cluster will make between clusters (hidden states C) of the trial, and also what the associated clinical outcomes are likely to be during the transitions (observed states O), the symptom dynamics for any patient, starting in any of the clusters at baseline, can be predicted recursively using the forward algorithm; ¶47-48; Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein selecting the first symptom class and the second symptom class comprise determining the first set of symptom classes and the second set of symptom classes using a Gaussian mixture model (Iyer, ¶27-the set of symptom classes and corresponding symptom ranges for a particular point in time could be determined in a variety of ways. For example, a Gaussian mixture model (GMM) could be applied to identify sub-populations within the observed symptom measures for a given point in time, a Gaussian mixture model may be applied to the population of observed pre-treatment symptom measures in order to identify a number of symptom classes for the pre-treatment point in time).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the particular treatment regimen associated with the predicted treatment outcome comprises treatment with an antidepressant (Iyer, ¶18-major depressive disorder may be treated by using citalopram, escitalopram, or some other antidepressant drug).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the antidepressant is one of fluoxetine or duloxetine (Bondar, page 339, left col., ¶1-fluoxetine).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Iyer to include wherein the antidepressant is one of fluoxetine or duloxetine of Bondar in order to assess whether specific symptom clusters responded differently to various treatments (Bondar, page 337, Summary section).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the particular treatment regimen associated with the predicted treatment outcome comprises treatment with a placebo (Bondar, page 339, left col., ¶1-a placebo pill).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Iyer to include wherein the particular treatment regimen associated with the predicted treatment outcome comprises treatment with a placebo of Bondar in order to determine whether symptoms improve more from treatment with fluoxetine or with a placebo (Bondar, page 341, Discussion section, ¶1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the symptom measure data further comprise at least one of genomic data or metabolomic data (Iyer, ¶31-one or more physiological properties of the person, e.g., a metabolomic or genomic property of the person) obtained from the adolescent patient (Bondar, page 341, Discussion section, ¶1-adolescent depression)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Iyer to include an adolescent of Bondar in order to improve care for adolescents with depression (Bondar, page 337, Summary section).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the symptom measure data comprise Children's Depression Rating Scale-Revised (CDRS-R) total scores (Bondar, page 339, left col., ¶1-participants' symptoms were assessed with the CDRS-R at baseline).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Iyer to include wherein the symptom measure data comprise Children's Depression Rating Scale-Revised (CDRS-R) total scores of Bondar in order to improve care for adolescents with depression (Bondar, page 337, Summary section).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer in view of Bondar as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Voort (NPL “Psychometric Properties of the Patient Health Questionnaire-9 Modified for Major Depressive Disorder in Adolescents” published in 2018).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Iyer and Bondar teaches the method of claim 1. However, the combination of Iyer and Bondar does not explicitly teach wherein the symptom measure data comprise Patient Health Questionnaire Modified for Teens (PHQ-9M) response data.
Voort teaches wherein the symptom measure data comprise Patient Health Questionnaire Modified for Teens (PHQ-9M) response data (page 35, right col., Measures section, ¶1-self-reported PHQ-9M scores were collected at baseline and during the treatment course).
Voort relates to the psychometric properties of the PHQ-9M in a psychiatric clinic compared with the QIDS-A17 SR and the CDRS-R (page 39, Conclusions section).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Iyer to include wherein the symptom measure data comprise Patient Health Questionnaire Modified for Teens (PHQ-9M) response data of Voort in order to assess the presence and severity of depressive symptoms in teenagers (Voort, page 34, ¶1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200411188: relates among other things to methods for use by a computer-based system for profiling the symptoms of a psychological condition, determining subtypes of a psychological condition, and/or assigning a patient to a psychotherapy treatment protocol (¶1).
/LAURA HODGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3792