DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant’s claim language allows for so many alternatives that is uncertain what the intended scope of the claims are. Please note that the language of a claim must make it clear what subject matter the claim encompasses to adequately delineate its "metes and bounds". See, e.g., the following decisions: In re Hammack, 427 F 2d. 1378, 1382, 166 USPQ 204, 208 (CCPA 1970); In re Venezia 530 F 2d. 956, 958, 189 USPQ 149, 151 (CCPA 1976); In re Goffe, 526 F 2d. 1393, 1397, 188 USPQ 131, 135 (CCPA 1975); In re Watson, 517 F 2d. 465, 477, 186 USPQ 11, 20 (CCPA 1975); In re Knowlton 481 F 2d. 1357, 1366, 178 USPQ 486, 492 (CCPA 1973). The courts have also indicated that before claimed subject matter can properly be compared to the prior art, it is essential to know what the claims do in fact cover. See, e.g., the following decisions: In re Steele, 305 F 2d. 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962); In re Moore 439 F 2d. 1232, 169 USPQ 236 (CCPA 1969); In re Merat, 519 F 2d. 1390, 186 USPQ 471 (CCPA 1975).
Further claim 9 would appear to have redundancies that make it unclear what the intended limitations are.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Rütering Marius ET AL: "Supporting Information Tailor-made Exopolysaccharides
CRISPR-Cas9 mediated genome editing in Paenibacillus polymyxa",
21. December 2017 (2017-12-21)
Rutering teaches the production of polysaccharides through the targeted deletion of different genes in the Pep-2 cluster in Paenibacillus polymyxa. Using CRISPR, the glycosyl transferase genes for PepF, PepJ and PepC were removed (fig 7). Paenan I is disclosed as not being produced when these deletions are made.
Note that MPEP § 706.3(e) states that:
"[w]hen the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 of the statute is appropriate. As a practical matter, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. A lesser burden of proof is required to make out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1063, 173 USPQ 685 (1972) ; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA1974)."
The polysaccharides as claimed, compositions thereof and generic application are all disclosed in the reference which thus anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claims 1 & 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
HE ET AL: "Effects of an EPS Biosynthesis Gene Cluster of Paenibacillus
polymyxa WLY78 on Biofilm Formation and Nitrogen Fixation under Aerobic
Conditions", MICROORGANISMS, Bd. 9, Nr. 2, 1. Februar 2021 (2021-02-01)
HE describes the deletion of the Pep1- and Pep-2 clusters in Paenibacillus polymyxa (table 1) and how deletion of Pep-1 allows for the select production of Paenan I over paenan II & paenan III.
Note that MPEP § 706.3(e) states that:
"[w]hen the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 of the statute is appropriate. As a practical matter, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. A lesser burden of proof is required to make out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their peculiar nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1063, 173 USPQ 685 (1972) ; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA1974)."
The polysaccharides as claimed, compositions thereof and generic application are all disclosed in the reference which thus anticipates the claim subject metter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rutering and He (as above)
Rutering teaches the production of polysaccharides through the targeted deletion of different genes in the Pep-2 cluster in Paenibacillus polymyxa. Using CRISPR, the glycosyl transferase genes for PepF, PepJ and PepC were removed (fig 7). Paenan I is disclosed as not being produced when these deletions are made.
HE describes the deletion of the Pep1- and Pep-2 clusters in Paenibacillus polymyxa (table 1) and how deletion of Pep-1 allows for the select production of Paenan I over paenan II & paenan III.
Rutering and HE don’t specifically disclose every iteration of the claims however their methods of deletion in Paenibacillus polymyxa to produce different polysaccharides would have been modified and applied to any known Paenibacillus polymyxa to produce the produced polysaccharides and mixtures thereof.
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657