DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/17/2025, 12/01/2025, and 1/30/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claim(s)
Claim(s) 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jason Beal (NPL: Toward Transformer-Based Object Detection).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jason Beal (NPL: Toward Transformer-Based Object Detection) in view of Wikipedia Contributors (NPL: Attention (machine learning).
Claim Objections
Claims 8-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jason Beal (NPL: Toward Transformer-Based Object Detection).
Regarding Claim 1:
Beal teaches: A method performed by one or more computers, the method comprising (Page 2, “We believe ViT-FRCNN shows that the commonly applied paradigm of large scale pretraining on massive datasets followed by rapid fine-tuning to specific tasks can be scaled up even further in the field of computer vision, owing to the model capacity observed in transformer-based architectures and the flexible features learned in such backbones”):
obtaining an input image (Abstract, “The Vision Transformer was the first major attempt to apply a pure transformer model directly to images as input,”);
processing the input image using an object detection neural network to generate an output sequence that comprises respective token at each of a plurality of time steps, wherein each token is selected from a vocabulary of tokens that comprises (i) a first set of tokens that each represent a respective discrete number from a set of discretized numbers and (ii) a second set of tokens that each represent a respective object category from a set of object categories (Page 3, “The RPN identifies regions of interest likely to contain objects by producing multiple predictions per location on the feature map: each prediction corresponds to a different anchor of varying size and aspect ratio, centered at the lo cation of the feature. Each prediction consists of a binary classification (object vs. no object) and a regression to box coordinates. The bounding boxes are predicted as offsets from anchor boxes, using the parameterization…); and
generating, from the tokens in the output sequence, data identifying one or more bounding boxes in the input image and, for each bounding box, a respective object category from the set of object categories to which an object depicted in the bounding box belongs (Page 7, “We construct a novel subset of ObjectNet, referred to as OBJECTNET-D, by selecting the COCO 2017overlapping categories with bounding box annotations that were created in the reanalysis of the dataset. The OBJECTNET-D data set consists of 4,971 test images and 23 object categories. Nearly all of the objects (99.9%) in this dataset are “large” per the object size definitions in COCO 2017. Therefore, we do not focus on the “small” and “medium” object detection performance in our analysis. Figure 5 visualizes a few indicative samples from the OBJECTNET-D dataset. This dataset enables a robust test of the detection models with respect to domain shift. The models are evaluated on the corresponding categories without any kind of fine-tuning.”_
Regarding Claim 2:
Beal teaches: The method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the output sequence comprises a respective subsequence corresponding to each of the one or more bounding boxes, and wherein generating the data identifying the one or more bounding boxes comprises, for each bounding box (Fig. 1 and page 2, “We now describe our model, ViT-FRCNN, which aug ments a Vision Transformer backbone with a detection net work so that it can produce bounding box classifications and coordinates. In doing so, we demonstrate that the ViT is capable of transferring representations learned for classifica tions to other tasks such as object detection, paving the path for a general class of transformer-based vision models.”):
identifying, from tokens in the corresponding subsequence that belong to the first set of tokens, coordinates of the bounding box in the input image (Page 2, Section 3. Method, Production of coordinates for bounding boxes); and
identifying, as the respective object category to which the object depicted in the bounding box belongs, the object category represented by a token in the corresponding subsequence that belongs to the second set of tokens (Page 2, Section 3. Method, Production of classifications for bounding boxes).
Regarding Claim 3:
Beal teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein the respective subsequence includes four tokens from the first set of tokens and wherein the four discrete numbers that are represented by the four tokens specify coordinates in the input image of two corners of the bounding box (Fig. 1, “Detection Network”, figure shows coordinates of corners for box) .
Regarding Claim 4:
Beal teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein the respective subsequence includes four tokens from the first set of tokens and wherein the four discrete numbers that are represented by the four tokens specify coordinates in the input image of a center of the bounding box and a height and width of the bounding box (Page 3, Column 1, Bounding boxes can determine box center, width, and height for coordinates of bounding box).
Regarding Claim 5:
Beal teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein processing the input image using the object detection neural network comprises:
processing the input image using an encoder neural network to generate an encoded representation of the input image (Fig. 1, Encoded representation of image split into parts); and
processing the encoded representation of the input image using a decoder neural network to generate the output sequence (Page 2, ViT and Faster R-CNN processes encoded representation into a output).
Regarding Claim 6:
Beal teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the object detection neural network is configured to generate a respective score distribution over the tokens in the vocabulary for each time step conditioned on (i) the input image and (ii) the tokens at any earlier time steps in the output sequence, and wherein processing the input image using the object detection neural network to generate an output sequence comprises, for each time step (Page 3, “The RPN identifies regions of interest likely to contain objects by producing multiple predictions per location on the feature map: each prediction corresponds to a different anchor of varying size and aspect ratio, centered at the lo cation of the feature. Each prediction consists of a binary classification (object vs. no object) and a regression to box coordinates. The bounding boxes are predicted as offsets from anchor boxes, using the parameterization…):
selecting the respective token at the time step in the output sequence using the respective score distribution generated by the object detection neural network for the time step (Page 3, 3.1 Implementation details, 2000 discrete steps are identified in detection and object detection).
Regarding Claim 13:
Beal teaches: The method of claim1, further comprising:
outputting the data identifying the one or more bounding boxes in the input image and, for each bounding box, the respective object category from the set of object categories to which the object depicted in the bounding box belongs (Fig. 1 amd Page 2, Right column, final paragraph discusses categorization of bounding boxes from input images).
Regarding Claim 14:
Beal teaches: A method of training an object detection neural network, the method comprising (Page 2, “We believe ViT-FRCNN shows that the commonly ap plied paradigm of large scale pretraining on massive datasets followed by rapid fine-tuning to specific tasks can be scaled up even further in the field of computer vision, owing to the model capacity observed in transformer-based architectures and the flexible features learned in such backbones”):
obtaining a batch of training images and, for each training image, a target output that identifies one or more ground truth bounding boxes in the image and a respective ground truth object category for each bounding box (Page 7, Section 4.3 Curriculum pretraining, Paragraph 2, “For this investigation, we consider OpenImages V6[20], a supervised data set consisting of 1.7 million images, with 15.8 million bounding boxes and 600 categories. Relative to COCO 2017 train, which consists of 118k images and 860k bounding boxes, this data set is an order of magnitude larger in terms of image and bounding box count.”);
for each training image, generating a target output sequence that includes, for each ground truth bounding box, a respective subsequence that includes (i) a set of first tokens that define a location of the bounding box in the image and (ii) a second token that represents the ground truth object category for the bounding box (Page 3, “The RPN identifies regions of interest likely to contain objects by producing multiple predictions per location on the feature map: each prediction corresponds to a different anchor of varying size and aspect ratio, centered at the location of the feature. Each prediction consists of a binary classification (object vs. no object) and a regression to box coordinates. The bounding boxes are predicted as offsets from anchor boxes, using the parameterization…); and
training the object detection neural network to maximize, for each training image and for each token in at least a subset of the tokens in the target output sequence for the training image, a log likelihood of the token conditioned on any preceding tokens in the target output sequence and the training image (Page 7, Section 4.3 Curriculum pretraining, “The simplified Transformer model is pretrained for 100 epochs on the Open Images V6 dataset, using the AdamW [24] optimizer with a base learning rate of 3e-4, weight decay of 0.1, and a total batch size of 4,096. The ViT-B/32 backbone is first pretrained on ImageNet-21k for these curriculum pretraining experiments. As seen in Table6, the addition of the pretraining phase on OpenImagesV6 yields a +1.1 AP improvement for the ViT-B/32-FRCNN model, and a +0.4AP improvement for the ViT-B/32-FRCNN model with overlapping patches. This phase of pretraining is shown to be most beneficial for im proving the performance on small and medium objects.”).
Regarding Claim 15:
Beal teaches: The method of claim 14, wherein obtaining a batch of training images and, for each training image, a target output that identifies one or more ground truth bounding boxes in the image and a respective ground truth object category for each bounding box comprises:
generating one or more of the training images in the batch by applying one or more image augmentation policies to a corresponding initial training image (Pages 6-7, Final paragraph of paragraph 6 to first 3 lines of page 7.).
Regarding Claim 16:
Beal teaches: The method of claim 14,wherein obtaining a batch of training images and, for each training image, a target output that identifies one or more ground truth bounding boxes in the image and a respective ground truth object category for each bounding box comprises:
for a particular bounding box in a particular training image, generating the bounding box by applying noise to an initial ground truth bounding box in the particular training image (Page 4, Alterations to resolution for identification of bounding boxes to training images).
Regarding Claim 17:
Beal teaches: The method of claim 14, wherein for each training image, generating a target output sequence comprises:
generating one or more random bounding boxes in the training image (Page 3, Predicted bounding boxes on training images); and
for each random bounding box, including, in the target output sequence, (i) a set of first tokens that define a location of the random bounding box in the training image and (ii) a second token that represents a noise object category that is not in the set of object categories (Page 3, Location of bounding boxes defined by coordinates and resolution is altered to account for noise).
Regarding Claim 18:
Beal teaches: The method of claim 17, wherein the object detection neural network is not trained to maximize the log likelihood of the tokens in the sets of first tokens for the random bounding boxes (Page 5, Figure 3, use of non-maximum suppression for detection of objects using bounding boxes).
Regarding Claim 19:
Beal teaches: The method of claim 14, wherein for each training image, generating a target output sequence comprises:
ordering the respective subsequences in a random order within the target output sequence (Page 3, Figure 1 and Paragraph 2, Order of identified objects is can happen in any order to create an output).
Regarding Claim 20:
Beal teaches: A system comprising (Page 2, “We believe ViT-FRCNN shows that the commonly applied paradigm of large scale pretraining on massive datasets followed by rapid fine-tuning to specific tasks can be scaled up even further in the field of computer vision, owing to the model capacity observed in transformer-based architectures and the flexible features learned in such backbones”):
one or more computers (Page 2, “We believe ViT-FRCNN shows that the commonly applied paradigm of large scale pretraining on massive datasets followed by rapid fine-tuning to specific tasks can be scaled up even further in the field of computer vision, owing to the model capacity observed in transformer-based architectures and the flexible features learned in such backbones”); and
one or more storage devices storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising (Page 2, “We believe ViT-FRCNN shows that the commonly applied paradigm of large scale pretraining on massive datasets followed by rapid fine-tuning to specific tasks can be scaled up even further in the field of computer vision, owing to the model capacity observed in transformer-based architectures and the flexible features learned in such backbones”): [One of ordinary skill in the art can identify that a computer will include a storage device included for image processing as shown by Beal]
obtaining an input image (Abstract, “The Vision Transformer was the first major attempt to apply a pure transformer model directly to images as input,”);
processing the input image using an object detection neural network to generate an output sequence that comprises respective token at each of a plurality of time steps, wherein each token is selected from a vocabulary of tokens that comprises (i) a first set of tokens that each represent a respective discrete number from a set of discretized numbers and (ii) a second set of tokens that each represent a respective object category from a set of object categories (Page 3, “The RPN identifies regions of interest likely to contain objects by producing multiple predictions per location on the feature map: each prediction corresponds to a different anchor of varying size and aspect ratio, centered at the lo cation of the feature. Each prediction consists of a binary classification (object vs. no object) and a regression to box coordinates. The bounding boxes are predicted as offsets from anchor boxes, using the parameterization…); and
generating, from the tokens in the output sequence, data identifying one or more bounding boxes in the input image and, for each bounding box, a respective object category from the set of object categories to which an object depicted in the bounding box belongs (Page 7, “We construct a novel subset of ObjectNet, referred to as OBJECTNET-D, by selecting the COCO 2017overlapping categories with bounding box annotations that were created in the reanalysis of the dataset. The OBJECTNET-D data set consists of 4,971 test images and 23 object categories. Nearly all of the objects (99.9%) in this dataset are “large” per the object size definitions in COCO 2017. Therefore, we do not focus on the “small” and “medium” object detection performance in our analysis. Figure 5 visualizes a few indicative samples from the OBJECTNET-D dataset. This dataset enables a robust test of the detection models with respect to domain shift. The models are evaluated on the corresponding categories without any kind of fine-tuning.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jason Beal (NPL: Toward Transformer-Based Object Detection) in view of Wikipedia Contributors (NPL: Attention (machine learning).
Regarding Claim 7:
Beal teaches the methods of claim 6 as applied above.
Beal does not explicitly teach the following: however, in related art, Wikipedia teaches: wherein selecting the respective token comprises selecting the token with the highest score in the respective score distribution (Wikipedia, Page 3 and Figure 2, Interpreting attention weights, Highest scores are demonstrated on a diagonal matrix and selection of score is based on user preference.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of attention machine learning functions such as selection of scores from a distribution with that of Beal’s transformer vision object detection system.
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
MISRA (US 20240380923 A1)
Burke (US 20240045928 A1)
FINLAY (US 20240354553 A1)
Conclusion
/D.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665