DETAILED ACTION
The following Office Action is in response to the Response to Restriction filed on April 13, 2026. Claims 1-12 are currently pending, wherein of the pending claims, claims 1-4 and 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on April 13, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 and 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 13, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 19 of the claim recites the phrase “the monitored and pressure data”, wherein the word “volume” appears to be mistakenly omitted between “monitored” and “and pressure data”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Michaels et al. (US 5,342,298, hereinafter Michaels).
Concerning claim 5, the Michaels et al. prior art reference teaches a method for automated adaptive treatment of a blood vessel with an inflatable balloon catheter, comprising: providing the inflatable balloon catheter (Figure 2; 42); a pressure controller (Figure 1; 18) in operative and fluid communication with a fluid reservoir (Figure 1; 14) and the inflatable balloon catheter (Figure 1; 12); a volume sensor in operative communication with the inflatable balloon catheter and/or the pressure controller and configured to monitor volume data in real time (Figure 1; 26); a pressure sensor (Figure 1; 20) in operative communication with the inflatable balloon catheter and/or the pressure controller and configured to monitor pressure data in real time; a processor (Figure 1; 22) having programmed instructions, the processor in operative communication with the volume sensor, the pressure sensor, and the pressure controller, wherein the programmed instructions comprise at least one reaction window having predetermined boundaries (Column 6, Line 54 – Column 7, Line 27; minimum pressure limit, maximum pressure limit, and the time limit define the predetermined boundaries of the at least one reaction window), inserting the inflatable balloon catheter within the blood vessel to a location of interest (Column 5, Lines 38-47); using the pressure controller to execute a series of inflations (Column 5, Lines 48-68); receiving at the processor the monitored volume and pressure data (Figure 1; 22, 20, 26); determining if the monitored volume and pressure data are compliant within the predetermined boundaries of the at least one reaction window (Figures 5AB); automatically adapting when at least one of the monitored volume and pressure data are non-compliant outside of the predetermined boundaries of the at least one reaction window (Figure 5B; 124); and determining if the monitored volume and pressure data after the automatic adapting are compliant within the predetermined boundaries of the at least one reaction window (Figure 5B; 120).
Concerning claim 6, the Michaels reference teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the automatic adapting comprises reducing pressure applied within the balloon (Figure 5B; 124).
Concerning claims 7 and 8, the Michaels reference teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising providing relaxation periods between each inflation, wherein said relaxation periods may be interpreted as the periods when the target pressure is reached and no increase or decrease in pressure is necessitated, which would result in a balloon pressure magnitude greater than zero given the balloon pressure would be at the target balloon pressure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michaels et al. (US 5,342,298, hereinafter Michaels) in view of Schoenle (US 2019/0000491).
Concerning claims 9 and 10, the Michaels reference teaches the method of claims 5 and 8, but does not specifically teach each of the series of inflations comprising a pressure magnitude that increases with each successive inflation.
However, the Schoenle reference teaches a method for automated adaptive treatment of a blood vessel with an inflatable balloon catheter similar to that of the Michaels reference, wherein the Schoenle reference further teaches a pressure controller that may execute a series of inflations, wherein the series of inflations comprise a pressure magnitude that increases with each success inflation ([¶ 0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of Michaels reference have the series of inflations comprise a pressure magnitude that increases with each successive inflation as in the Schoelnle reference to allow a vessel wall being treated by the balloon be allowed to adapt to the increasing load from the balloon without deformation while the balloon breaks up calcified material (Schoenle; [¶ 0050]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Chisena et al. reference (US 2020/0046949) teaches a method for automated adaptive treatment of a blood vessel with an inflatable balloon catheter including executing a series of inflations with relaxation periods between each inflation; the Donovan et al. reference (US 2010/0274180) teaches a method for inflating a balloon catheter including a pressure sensor, a volume sensor, and a compensation circuit with a threshold pressure and volume; and the Baido et al. reference (US 2021/0369394) teaches an intelligent ecosystem that may be used with an angioplasty balloon that includes a volume sensor and a pressure sensor that provides a feedback system.
/MARTIN T TON/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 5/15/2026