Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent Claim 10 recites “a dustproof member” in line 1 and 4. It is unclear whether the limitation in line 1 and line 4 is the same or different. Appropriate correction is required. Examiner considers the invention has one dustproof member.
There are no Claim(s) that depend(s) from the rejected claim(s) 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-12, 15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by D1 (Yang et al., CN 209448548).
For claim 1, D1 discloses, in Figure 1, a sealing structure for sealing a radial clearance between a first component and a second component (Oil seal 5 is disposed in a radial clearance between first component 2 and second component 3.), wherein the sealing structure comprises:
a sealing member (5), sealed in the radial clearance; and
a dustproof member (6), located on an axial outer side of the sealing member (5), wherein a first end of the dustproof member (6) is fixed on the first component (2), an opposite second end extends in a radial direction so as to cover the radial clearance, and the second end and the second component (3) are spaced apart and partially overlap with each other in an axial direction (Figure 1.)
For claim 2, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 1, wherein the dustproof member (6) comprises a mounting part (as shown below) arranged on an axial inner side of the first end; the first component (2) is provided with a fitting part (as shown below) corresponding to the mounting part; and the mounting part can be fitted with the fitting part to fix the dustproof member (Figure 1.)
For claim 5, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 1, wherein the first component (2) is provided with a stopping part in the axial direction (as shown above), the stopping part does not exceed an axial end face of the first component (2) in a direction of the axial outer side of the first component (Figure 1), and the stopping part is used for being stopped on an axial inner side of the dustproof member (6) to position the dustproof member (Figure 1 and as shown above.)
For claim 6, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 11, wherein the dustproof member (6) comprises a dustproof segment (61) arranged on an axial inner side of the second end, and the dustproof segment (61) and the second component (3) partially overlap with each other in the axial direction (Figure 1.)
For claim 7, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 16, wherein the second component (3) is provided with an avoidance part (the space between 61 and 3 defines the avoidance part), the avoidance part corresponds to the dustproof segment, and a labyrinth clearance having at least one bend is formed between the avoidance part and the dustproof segment (As shown above.)
For claim 9, D1 discloses an inner wheel drive system, comprising:
a first component (2, 1), which is a rotating shaft (1) of the inner wheel drive system;
a second component (3), which is a housing of the inner wheel drive system, wherein the housing surrounds the rotating shaft in a circumferential direction;
the sealing structure of claim 1; and
a wheel rim (23), which is pressed against an axial outer side of the dustproof member (Figure 1.)
For claim 10, D1 discloses, in Figure 1, a method for assembling a dustproof member (6) in a sealing structure, the sealing structure being used for sealing a radial clearance between a first component and a second component (Oil seal 5 is disposed in a radial clearance between first component 2 and second component 3.), the sealing structure comprising a sealing member (5) and a dustproof member (6), and the sealing member (5) being sealed in the radial clearance (Figure 1), characterized in that the dustproof member has a first end and a second end opposite to each other (Figure 1), the first end is provided with a mounting part (as shown above), and the first component (2) is provided with a fitting part (as shown above) corresponding to the mounting part and is provided with a stopping part (as shown above); and
during assembly, the mounting part is fitted into the fitting part and a position of the dustproof member (6) is adjusted until the stopping part is stopped on an axial inner side of the dustproof member (Figure 1 and as shown above), so that the second end and the second component (3) are spaced apart and partially overlap with each other in an axial direction (Figure 1 and as shown above.)
For claim 11, D1 discloses a sealing structure for sealing a radial clearance between a first component and a second component (Oil seal 5 is disposed in a radial clearance between first component 2 and second component 3.) comprising:
a sealing member (5) sealed in the radial clearance between the first component (2) and the second component (3); and
a dustproof member (6) located on an axial outer side of the sealing member (5), wherein a first end of the dustproof member is fixed on the first component (2), wherein an opposite second end of the dustproof member (6) extends in a radial direction to cover the radial clearance (Figure 1 and as shown above.)
For claim 12, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 12, wherein the dustproof member (6) comprises a mounting part (as shown above) arranged on an axial inner side of the first end; the first component (2) comprises a fitting part (as shown above) corresponding to the mounting part; wherein the mounting part is fitted with the fitting part to fix the dustproof member (6; Figure 1 and as shown above.)
For claim 15, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 11, wherein the first component (2) comprises a stopping part (as shown above) in the axial direction, the stopping part does not exceed an axial end face of the first component in a direction of the axial outer side of the first component, and the stopping part is used for being stopped on an axial inner side of the dustproof member to position the dustproof member (Figure 1 and as shown above.)
For claim 19, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 11, wherein the first component (2, 1) comprises a rotating shaft (1) and the second component (3) comprises a housing surrounding the rotating shaft (Figure 1.)
For claim 20, D1 discloses an inner wheel drive system comprising: a first component (2, 1), wherein the first component comprises a rotating shaft (1); a second component (3), wherein the first component comprises a rotating shaft (1) and the second component comprises a housing (3) surrounding the rotating shaft (1) in a circumferential direction; the sealing structure of claim 11; and a wheel rim (23), wherein the wheel rim is secured against an axial outer side of the dustproof member (6; Figure 1.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Yang et al., CN 209448548) in view of D2 (Brister et al., US Pub. App. 2005-0052043).
For claim 3, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 2, wherein the mounting part is a first axial extension segment protruding from the first end toward the first component (2), the fitting part is an axial fitting groove located on an end face of an axial outer side of the first component (2), and the first axial extension segment is fitted into the axial fitting groove in an interference mode.
D2 teaches an assembly where the inner leg 60 and the dust guard diameter 4 has an interference fit (Para. [0030]) for secured arrangement and for effective sealing between the joint (abstract.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such the first axial extension segment is fitted into the axial fitting groove in an interference mode, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured joint.
For claim 4, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 3, wherein the first axial extension segment abuts against a first side wall of the axial fitting groove (Figure 1 and as shown above.), and a radial avoidance clearance is formed between the first axial extension segment and a second side wall of the axial fitting groove (Figure 1 and as shown above), wherein the first side wall is located on a radial inner side of the axial fitting groove, and the second side wall is located on a radial outer side of the axial fitting groove (Figure 1 and as shown above.)
For claim 13, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 12, wherein the mounting part is a first axial extension segment protruding from the first end toward the first component (2), the fitting part is an axial fitting groove located on an end face of an axial outer side of the first component (2), and the first axial extension segment is fitted into the axial fitting groove in an interference mode.
D2 teaches an assembly where the inner leg 60 and the dust guard diameter 4 has an interference fit (Para. [0030]) for secured arrangement and for effective sealing between the joint (abstract.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 such the first axial extension segment is fitted into the axial fitting groove in an interference mode, as taught by D2 with a reasonable expectation of success of having a secured joint.
For claim 14, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 13, wherein the first axial extension segment abuts against a first side wall of the axial fitting groove (Figure 1 and as shown above.), and a radial avoidance clearance is formed between the first axial extension segment and a second side wall of the axial fitting groove (Figure 1 and as shown above), wherein the first side wall is located on a radial inner side of the axial fitting groove, and the second side wall is located on a radial outer side of the axial fitting groove (Figure 1 and as shown above.)
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Yang et al., CN 209448548) in view of D3 (Haepp et al., US Pub. App. 2014-0003753).
For claim 8, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 1, wherein the axial outer side of the sealing member (5) is further provided with a sealing lip (Figure 1), but does not disclose the sealing lip has an annular sealing groove arranged toward a radial outer side.
D3 teaches a sealing system with sealing lip 17 having a groove 30 arranged toward a radial outer side of 12, and the groove 30 facilitates to repel dirty water (Para. [0025].) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a sealing lip having an annular sealing groove arranged toward a radial outer side, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success providing a system to repel dirty water.
For claim 18, D1 discloses the sealing structure of claim 11, wherein the axial outer side of the sealing member (5) comprises a sealing lip (Figure 1), but does not disclose the sealing lip has an annular sealing groove arranged toward a radial outer side.
D3 teaches a sealing system with sealing lip 17 having a groove 30 arranged toward a radial outer side of 12, and the groove 30 facilitates to repel dirty water (Para. [0025].) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify D1 with a sealing lip having an annular sealing groove arranged toward a radial outer side, as taught by D3 with a reasonable expectation of success providing a system to repel dirty water.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Seno (US 10,119,571); Seki (US 11,796,004); and Hubbard (US Pub. 2011-0064347).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675