DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. (US20220085862 hereinafter Kung) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US20240214142 hereinafter Muruganathan, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/138,733, filed Jan. 18, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Muruganathan in the rejection below).
Regarding claims 1 and 21. Kung teaches the method and apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 2 and pars. 0029-0038, teaches the receiver system 250 (also known as access terminal (AT) or user equipment (UE))), comprising: a memory (fig. 2 and pars. 0029-0038, teaches the receiver system 250 (also known as access terminal (AT) or user equipment (UE)) includes memory 272); and one or more processors (fig. 2 and pars. 0029-0038, teaches the receiver system 250 (also known as access terminal (AT) or user equipment (UE)) includes processor 270), coupled to the memory (fig. 2 and pars. 0029-0038, teaches processor 270 coupled to the memory 272), configured to:
determine a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) based at least in part … control resource sets (CORESETs) (pars. 0348-0349, teaches the UE being configured with multi-TRP operation which includes a first BFD-RS of the cell, a first group of BFD-RSs of the cell, a first activated TCI state for PDCCH of the cell, a first group of activated TCI states for PDCCH of the cell and/or a first CORESET pool of the cell. Moreover, a second BFD-RS of the cell, a second group of BFD-RSs of the cell, a second activated TCI state for PDCCH of the cell, a second group of activated TCI states for PDCCH of the cell and/or a second CORESET pool of the cell. Whereas, the first and second BFD-RS of the cell reads as a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) set),
wherein the CORESETs are configured with a CORESET pool index value that exceeds a threshold value (pars. 0359-0360, teaches the UE maintains a first threshold for the first CORESET pool and a second threshold for the second CORESET pool. Wherein, the UE may trigger the BFR and/or initiate the random access procedure on the cell when the number of beam failure instance indications associated with the first CORESET pool of the cell is larger than or equal to the first threshold. Furthermore, par. 0389, teaches in an examples the UE is configured with a threshold 732 (e.g., beamFailurelnstanceMaxCount), with a value of 3. Thus, when the number of beam failure instance indications associated with the first CORESET pool of the cell is larger than or equal to the first threshold (3), the CORESETs are configured with a CORESET pool index value that exceeds a threshold value); and
receive, from a base station, a BFD-RS based at least in part on the BFD- RS set (fig. 9 and par. 0512 teaches the UE receives a beam failure instance indication, associated with the first reference signal. Whereas, the first reference signal is associated with the first counter. Wherein, pars. 0348-0349, teaches a first counter of the counters may be associated with (e.g., may be for) a first BFD-RS of the cell, a first group of BFD-RSs of the cell, a first activated TCI state for PDCCH of the cell, a first group of activated TCI states for PDCCH of the cell and/or a first CORESET pool of the cell. Thus, the language “UE receives a beam failure instance indication, associated with the first reference signal” reads as receive, from a base station, a BFD-RS based at least in part on the BFD- RS set. Moreover, figs. 1-2 and par. 0029 teaches transmitter system 210 (also known as the access network) and a receiver system 250 (also known as access terminal (AT) or user equipment (UE)), thus it is obvious the UE is receiving a beam failure instance indication from a base station).
However, although Kung teaches active transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for downlink channel receptions (pars. 0348-0349, teaches the UE being configured with a first group of activated TCI states for PDCCH of the cell and/or a first CORESET pool of the cell), the apparatus and methods of Kung explicitly fails to disclose, determining a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) set based at least in part on active transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for downlink channel receptions in control resource sets (CORESETs).
Muruganathan disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for beam failure detection reference signals, so Muruganathan is analogous to Kung. Furthermore, Muruganathan teaches determining a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) set based at least in part on active transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for downlink channel receptions in control resource sets (CORESETs) (fig. 15 and pars. 0150-0151, teaches wireless device 22 determining at least one beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) based on a configuration of at least one control resource set (CORESET) and an indication of activation of a first and a second transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for one of the at least one CORESET. Furthermore, par. 0054, teaches beam failure detection resource sets are determined through activated TCI state of CORESET. Moreover, fig. 5 and pars. 0040-0041 teaches associated CORESETs may be activated with one TCI state associated with the respective TRP, wherein a PDCCH is associated with the respective TRP. Par. 0001, teaches multi-transmission reception point (TRP), par. 0003 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize determining a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) set based at least in part on active transmission configuration indication (TCI) states for downlink channel receptions in control resource sets (CORESETs), as disclosed by Muruganathan with the method and apparatus of Kung. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Muruganathan par. 0133)
Regarding claims 3 and 22. Kung and Muruganathan teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 21. Kung further teaches the CORESETs are associated with search space sets in an order that is based at least in part on a monitoring periodicity (par. 0293, teaches active TCI states for PDCCH receptions in CORESETs associated with the search space sets in an order from the shortest monitoring periodicity. If more than one CORESETs are associated with search space sets having same monitoring periodicity, the UE determines the order of the CORESET from the highest CORESET index).
Regarding claims 4 and 23. Kung and Muruganathan teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 21. Kung further teaches more than one CORESET in the CORESETs is associated with search space sets having a same monitoring periodicity, and wherein an ordering of the more than one CORESET is based at least in part on the CORESET pool index (par. 0293, teaches more than one CORESETs are associated with search space sets having same monitoring periodicity, the UE determines the order of the CORESET from the highest CORESET index).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. (US20220085862 hereinafter Kung), in view of Muruganathan et al. (US20240214142 hereinafter Muruganathan, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/138,733, filed Jan. 18, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Muruganathan in the rejection below), in further view of Park et al. (US20220225369 hereinafter Park, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/137,689, filed Jan. 14, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Park in the rejection below).
Regarding claim 2. Kung and Muruganathan teaches the method for claim 1. Kung further teaches the threshold value (par. 0389, teaches in an examples the UE is configured with a threshold 732 (e.g., beamFailurelnstanceMaxCount), with a value of 3).
However, although Kung teaches the threshold value (par. 0389), the combination of Kung and Muruganathan explicitly fails to disclose, the threshold value is based at least in part on a UE capability
Park disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for thresholds, so Park is analogous to Kung. Furthermore, Park teaches the threshold value is based at least in part on a UE capability (par. 0244, a time offset between a reception of a DCI (e.g., DCI format 1_1, DCI format 1_0) received in the CORESET and the (corresponding) PDSCH may be equal to or greater than a threshold. Wherein, the threshold may be based on a reported UE capability. Pars. 0092-0093 physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and downlink control information (DCI)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the threshold value is based at least in part on a UE capability, as disclosed by Park with the combination of Kung and Muruganathan. The motivations for doing so would be to improve system communication. (see Park par. 0381)
Claims 5-9 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. (US20220085862 hereinafter Kung), in view of Muruganathan et al. (US20240214142 hereinafter Muruganathan, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/138,733, filed Jan. 18, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Muruganathan in the rejection below), in further view of Matsumura et al. (US20240306015 hereinafter Matsumura).
Regarding claims 5 and 24. Kung and Muruganathan teaches the method and apparatus for claims 1 and 21.
However, although Kung teaches two activated TCI states (par. 0361), the combination of Kung and Muruganathan explicitly fails to disclose, at least one CORESET of the CORESETs is associated with two TCI states, and wherein the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on a quasi co-location (QCL) reference signal (RS) of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value.
Matsumura disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for beam failure detection, so Matsumura is analogous to Kung. Furthermore, Matsumura teaches at least one CORESET of the CORESETs is associated with two TCI states (par. 0224, teaches two TCI states may be configured/activated for one CORESET. Two BED-RSs may be associated with one CORESET. Two BFD-RSs may be associated with two respective TCI states for one CORESET. Par. 0005 teaches beam failure detection (BFD), par. 0006 reference signal (RS), par. 0008 control resource set (CORESET), transmission configuration indication (TCI)), and
wherein the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on a quasi co-location (QCL) reference signal (RS) of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value (pars. 0183-0186, teaches BFD-RS set k may be derived from a QCL type D RS in a TCI state for a CORESET configured in CORESET pool index k. For example, k is 0 or 1. Par. 0023 teaches quasi-co-location (QCL)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize at least one CORESET of the CORESETs is associated with two TCI states, and wherein the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on a quasi co-location (QCL) reference signal (RS) of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value, as disclosed by Matsumura with the combination of Kung and Muruganathan. The motivations for doing so would be to enhance beam management. (see Matsumura par. 0182)
Regarding claim 6. Kung, Muruganathan, and Matsumura teaches the method and apparatus for claim 5.
However, although Kung teaches activated TCI states (par. 0361), the combination of Kung and Muruganathan explicitly fails to disclose, the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states.
Matsumura further teaches the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states (pars. 0183-0186, teaches BFD-RS set k may be derived from a QCL type D RS in a TCI state for a CORESET configured in CORESET pool index k. For example, k is 0 or 1. Wherein, fig. 4 and pars. 0236-0239 teaches CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1 and TCI state #A is indicated for CORESET #1. Furthermore, since TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1, then it is obvious that TRP #1 may be associated with a CORESET pool index=0 within the context of pars.0183-0186 which teaches CORESET pool index k may be 0 or 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states, as disclosed by Matsumura with the combination of Kung and Muruganathan. The motivations for doing so would be to enhance beam management. (see Matsumura par. 0182)
Regarding claim 7. Kung, Muruganathan, and Matsumura teaches the method and apparatus for claim 5.
However, the combination of Kung and Muruganathan explicitly fails to disclose, the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with both single TCI states and two TCI states.
Matsumura further teaches the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value (pars. 0183-0186, teaches BFD-RS set k may be derived from a QCL type D RS in a TCI state for a CORESET configured in CORESET pool index k. For example, k is 0 or 1) with both single TCI states (fig. 4 and pars. 0236-0239 teaches CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1 and TCI state #A is indicated for CORESET #1. Furthermore, since TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1, then it is obvious that TRP #1 may be associated with a CORESET pool index=0 within the context of pars.0183-0186 which teaches CORESET pool index k may be 0 or 1) and two TCI states (fig. 4 and pars. 0236-0239 teaches CORESET #2 is configured for TRP #2, TCI state #B and TCI state #C are indicated for CORESET #2, and TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with both single TCI states and two TCI states, as disclosed by Matsumura with the combination of Kung and Muruganathan. The motivations for doing so would be to enhance beam management. (see Matsumura par. 0182)
Regarding claim 8. Kung, Muruganathan, and Matsumura teaches the method and apparatus for claim 5.
However, the combination of Kung and Muruganathan explicitly fails to disclose, the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states.
Matsumura further teaches the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states (pars. 0183-0186, teaches BFD-RS set k may be derived from a QCL type D RS in a TCI state for a CORESET configured in CORESET pool index k. For example, k is 0 or 1. Wherein, fig. 4 and pars. 0236-0239 teaches CORESET #2 is configured for TRP #2, TCI state #B and TCI state #C are indicated for CORESET #2, and TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1. Moreover, BFD-RS set #2 may be associated with TRP #2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states, as disclosed by Matsumura with the combination of Kung and Muruganathan. The motivations for doing so would be to enhance beam management. (see Matsumura par. 0182)
Regarding claim 9. Kung, Muruganathan, and Matsumura teaches the method and apparatus for claim 5.
However, the combination of Kung and Muruganathan explicitly fails to disclose, the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states or one QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states.
Matsumura further teaches the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states (pars. 0183-0186, teaches BFD-RS set k may be derived from a QCL type D RS in a TCI state for a CORESET configured in CORESET pool index k. For example, k is 0 or 1. Wherein, fig. 4 and pars. 0236-0239 teaches CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1 and TCI state #A is indicated for CORESET #1. Furthermore, since TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1, then it is obvious that TRP #1 may be associated with a CORESET pool index=0 within the context of pars.0183-0186 which teaches CORESET pool index k may be 0 or 1. Moreover, BFD-RS set #1 including BFD-RS #a to be QCLed with TCI state #A for CORESET #1 is configured) or one QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states (pars. 0183-0186, teaches BFD-RS set k may be derived from a QCL type D RS in a TCI state for a CORESET configured in CORESET pool index k. For example, k is 0 or 1. Wherein, fig. 4 and pars. 0236-0239 teaches CORESET #2 is configured for TRP #2, TCI state #B and TCI state #C are indicated for CORESET #2, and TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1. Moreover, BFD-RS set #2 may be associated with TRP #2. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states or one QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states, as disclosed by Matsumura with the combination of Kung and Muruganathan. The motivations for doing so would be to enhance beam management. (see Matsumura par. 0182)
Regarding claim 25. Kung, Muruganathan, and Matsumura teaches the method and apparatus for claim 24.
However, the combination of Kung and Muruganathan explicitly fails to disclose, the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states; the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with both single TCI states and two TCI states; the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states; or the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states or one QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states, wherein two QCL RSs are precluded from being selected from a same CORESET.
Matsumura further teaches the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states (pars. 0183-0186, teaches BFD-RS set k may be derived from a QCL type D RS in a TCI state for a CORESET configured in CORESET pool index k. For example, k is 0 or 1. Wherein, fig. 4 and pars. 0236-0239 teaches CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1 and TCI state #A is indicated for CORESET #1. Furthermore, since TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1, then it is obvious that TRP #1 may be associated with a CORESET pool index=0 within the context of pars.0183-0186 which teaches CORESET pool index k may be 0 or 1. Moreover, BFD-RS set #1 including BFD-RS #a to be QCLed with TCI state #A for CORESET #1 is configured);
the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value (pars. 0183-0186, teaches BFD-RS set k may be derived from a QCL type D RS in a TCI state for a CORESET configured in CORESET pool index k. For example, k is 0 or 1) with both single TCI states (fig. 4 and pars. 0236-0239 teaches CORESET #1 is configured for TRP #1 and TCI state #A is indicated for CORESET #1. Furthermore, since TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1, then it is obvious that TRP #1 may be associated with a CORESET pool index=0 within the context of pars.0183-0186 which teaches CORESET pool index k may be 0 or 1) and two TCI states (fig. 4 and pars. 0236-0239 teaches CORESET #2 is configured for TRP #2, TCI state #B and TCI state #C are indicated for CORESET #2, and TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1);
the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states (pars. 0183-0186, teaches BFD-RS set k may be derived from a QCL type D RS in a TCI state for a CORESET configured in CORESET pool index k. For example, k is 0 or 1. Wherein, fig. 4 and pars. 0236-0239 teaches CORESET #2 is configured for TRP #2, TCI state #B and TCI state #C are indicated for CORESET #2, and TRP #2 may be associated with a new ID or a CORESET pool index=1. Moreover, BFD-RS set #2 may be associated with TRP #2);
or the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states or one QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states, wherein two QCL RSs are precluded from being selected from a same CORESET (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with single TCI states; the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with both single TCI states and two TCI states; the BFD-RS set is based at least in part on the QCL RS of the CORESETs configured with the CORESET pool index value with two TCI states, as disclosed by Matsumura with the combination of Kung and Muruganathan. The motivations for doing so would be to enhance beam management. (see Matsumura par. 0182)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. (US20220085862 hereinafter Kung), in view of Muruganathan et al. (US20240214142 hereinafter Muruganathan, examiner notes reliance on provisional application 63/138,733, filed Jan. 18, 2021 which fully supports all citations made from Muruganathan in the rejection below), in further view of Matsumura et al. (US20240306015 hereinafter Matsumura), in further view of Yu et al. (US20230106244 hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 10. Kung, Muruganathan, and Matsumura teaches the method and apparatus for claim 5.
However, although Matsumura teaches the at least one CORESET associated with the two TCI states (par. 0224, teaches two TCI states may be configured/activated for one CORESET. Two BED-RSs may be associated with one CORESET. Two BFD-RSs may be associated with two respective TCI states for one CORESET), the combination of Kung, Muruganathan, and Matsumura explicitly fails to disclose, selecting one QCL RS for the at least one CORESET associated with the two TCI states based at least in part on: a QCL RS of a first TCI state, a QCL RS of a second TCI state, a QCL RS of a TCI with a lowest identifier, a QCL RS of a TCI with a highest identifier, or a QCL RS with a smallest RS periodicity.
Yu disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for selecting one QCL RS, so Yu is analogous to Kung. Furthermore, Yu teaches selecting one QCL RS for the at least one CORESET associated with the two TCI states (pars. 0084-0099, teaches rules (1) to (11) for selecting a subset of RSs from PDCCH reception TCI states for beam failure detection purposes. Wherein, the rules (1) to (11) includes UE selects a QCL RS(s) and active TCI. Furthermore, par. 0119, teaches the TCI states associated with CORESET(s) with multiple TCI states are selected with priority using the rules (1) to (11)) based at least in part on:
a QCL RS of a first TCI state (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a QCL RS of a second TCI state (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record),
a QCL RS of a TCI with a lowest identifier (pars. 0084-0099, teaches an active TCI state whose QCL RS(s) corresponds to lower-indexed (or higher-indexed) serving cell(s) may be selected first), a QCL RS of a TCI with a highest identifier (pars. 0084-0099, teaches an active TCI state whose QCL RS(s) corresponds to lower-indexed (or higher-indexed) serving cell(s) may be selected first), or a QCL RS with a smallest RS periodicity (pars. 0084-0099, teaches an active TCI state with shorter QCL RS(s) periodicity may be selected first).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize selecting one QCL RS for the at least one CORESET associated with the two TCI states based at least in part on: a QCL RS of a TCI with a lowest identifier, a QCL RS of a TCI with a highest identifier, or a QCL RS with a smallest RS periodicity, as disclosed by Yu with the combination of Kung, Muruganathan, and Matsumura. The motivations for doing so would be to improve reliability. (see Yu par. 0053)
Claims 11-14 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. (US20220085862 hereinafter Kung) in view of Wang et al. (US20240049010 hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claims 11 and 26. Kung teaches the method and apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 2 and pars. 0029-0038, teaches the receiver system 250 (also known as access terminal (AT) or user equipment (UE))), comprising: a memory (fig. 2 and pars. 0029-0038, teaches the receiver system 250 (also known as access terminal (AT) or user equipment (UE)) includes memory 272); and one or more processors (fig. 2 and pars. 0029-0038, teaches the receiver system 250 (also known as access terminal (AT) or user equipment (UE)) includes processor 270), coupled to the memory (fig. 2 and pars. 0029-0038, teaches processor 270 coupled to the memory 272), configured to:
transmit, to a base station associated with multiple transmit-receive points (TRPs), a beam failure recovery (BFR) report based at least in part on a detection of a beam failure event for a TRP (fig. 7 and par. 0389, teaches the UE may be configured with multi-TRP operation on a SpCell with TRP 1 and TRP 2. Then the UE receives a first beam failure instance indication of TRP 1 (shown with reference number 702) at timing t1 (and/or in response to receiving the first beam failure instance indication of TRP 1 at timing t1), the UE increments BFI_COUNTER 1 by 1. Then, the UE generates and transmits a BFR MAC CE 706 indicating beam failure information of TRP 1 to a network at timing t3. Whereas, the BFR MAC CE 706 indicating beam failure information of TRP 1 reads as a beam failure recovery (BFR) report based at least in part on a detection of a beam failure event for a TRP. Par. 0002, teaches multiple transmission/reception points (TRPs), par. 0005 Special Cell (SpCell) ,par. 0011 Secondary Cell (SCell), Beam Failure Recovery (BFR), Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), par. 0336 beam failure instance indication (e.g., BFI_COUNTER));
receive, from the base station, a response based at least in part on the BFR report (fig. 7 and par. 0389, teaches after the UE transmits the BFR MAC CE 706 as part of the BFR procedure, the network transmits an acknowledgement (ACK) 708 to the UE at timing t4. The acknowledgement 708 may be an uplink grant for a transmission (e.g., a new transmission) associated with a HARQ process used to transmit the BFR MAC CE 706. Par. 0379 Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ)); and
reset, based at least in part on a receipt of the response, …the TRP associated with the beam failure event (fig. 7 and par. 0389, teaches in response to the acknowledgement 708, the UE may consider the BFR procedure to be complete and may set the BFI_COUNTER 1 to zero (e.g., set the counter value of the BFI_COUNTER 1 to zero), and the UE may not set the BFI_COUNTER 2 to zero (e.g., a counter value of the BFI_COUNTER 2 remains equal to 1). Wherein, the resetting the BFI_COUNTER 1 to zero reads as resetting a set of channels for the TRP associated with the beam failure event due to the BFI_COUNTER 1 (shown with reference number 710) associated with TRP 1 and BFI_COUNTER 2 (shown with reference number 712) associated with TRP 2. Moreover, the UE receives a first beam failure instance indication of TRP 1 (shown with reference number 702)).
However, although Kung teaches resetting the TRP associated with the beam failure event (fig. 7 and par. 0389), the apparatus and methods of Kung explicitly fails to disclose, resetting, based at least in part on a receipt of the response, a set of channels for the TRP associated with the beam failure event.
Wang disclosed apparatus, systems, and methods for beam failure events, so Wang is analogous to Kung. Furthermore, Wang teaches resetting, based at least in part on a receipt of the response, a set of channels for the TRP associated with the beam failure event (pars. 0124-0125, teaches the terminal terminates the beam recovery request procedure and/or resets the beam of a corresponding channel by using the beam information indicated by the received third message. Wherein, the third message is used to adjust a transmission configuration indication state (TCI) state of CORESET associated with the TRP with beam failure. Par. 0047, transmission and reception point (TRP)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize resetting, based at least in part on a receipt of the response, a set of channels for the TRP associated with the beam failure event, as disclosed by Wang with the method and apparatus of Kung. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Wang par. 0003)
Regarding claim 12. Kung and Wang teaches the method for claim 11.
However, although Kung teaches new beam identification reference signal (pars. 0321-0326, teaches after beam failure is detected for a TRP, the new candidate beam can be also detected for the TRP), the apparatus and methods of Kung explicitly fails to disclose, the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event using a beam associated with a reported new beam identification reference signal.
Wang further teaches the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event (pars. 0124-0125, teaches the terminal terminates the beam recovery request procedure and/or resets the beam of a corresponding channel by using the beam information indicated by the received third message. Wherein, the third message is used to adjust a transmission configuration indication state (TCI) state of CORESET associated with the TRP with beam failure) using a beam associated with a reported new beam identification reference signal (fig. 3 and pars. 0118-0120, teaches in a case that the BFR MAC CE includes the information of a new beam, terminating, by the terminal, a beam recovery request procedure and/or resetting a beam for some channels by using the new beam. Wherein, the language “new beam” reads as a new beam identification reference signal within the context of par. 0041, which teaches the UE reports the candidate beam reference signal (candidate beam RS) or new beam reference signal (new beam RS) to find a new candidate beam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event using a beam associated with a reported new beam identification reference signal, as disclosed by Wang with the method and apparatus of Kung. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Wang par. 0003)
Regarding claim 13. Kung and Wang teaches the method for claim 11.
However, although Kung teaches downlink control channel (par. 0343, teaches the UE may maintain one or more counters for one or more activated Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states for Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) associated with a cell), the apparatus and methods of Kung explicitly fails to disclose, the set of channels includes one or more of a downlink control channel or an uplink control channel.
Wang further teaches the set of channels includes one or more of a downlink control channel (pars. 0124-0125, teaches the terminal terminates the beam recovery request procedure and/or resets the beam of a corresponding channel by using the beam information indicated by the received third message. Whereas, par. 0128 teaches the PDCCH is associated with the TRP with beam failure. Par. 0029 physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)) or an uplink control channel (pars. 0124-0125, teaches the terminal terminates the beam recovery request procedure and/or resets the beam of a corresponding channel by using the beam information indicated by the received third message. Wherein, par. 0069 and 0076, teaches multiple physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources or uplink grant resources correspond to multiple TRPs. Whereas, a PUCCH resource or a UL grant resource associated with a TRP. Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the set of channels includes one or more of a downlink control channel or an uplink control channel, as disclosed by Wang with the method and apparatus of Kung. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Wang par. 0003)
Regarding claim 14. Kung and Wang teaches the method for claim 11.
However, although Kung teaches new candidate beam information (pars. 0321-0326), the apparatus and methods of Kung explicitly fails to disclose, the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event based at least in part on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) applied to a reported new beam identification reference signal (NBI-RS).
Wang further teaches the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event based at least in part on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) applied to a reported new beam identification reference signal (NBI-RS) (pars. 0122-0125, teaches in a case that the BFR MAC CE includes the information of a new beam, the method further includes: the terminal terminates the beam recovery request procedure and/or resets the beam of a corresponding channel by using the beam information indicated by the received third message. Wherein, the third message is used to adjust a transmission configuration indication state (TCI) state of the CORESET associated with the TRP with beam failure. Moreover, fig. 3 and pars. 0049-0060, teaches the terminal sending the first message including the media access control - control element containing beam failure recovery information (BFR MAC CE) which includes a new beam identification reference signal set identifier (NBI-RS set ID). Thus, the NBI-RS set ID is used to adjust a TCI state of the CORESET associated with the TRP with beam failure reads as a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) applied to a reported new beam identification reference signal (NBI-RS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event based at least in part on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) applied to a reported new beam identification reference signal (NBI-RS), as disclosed by Wang with the method and apparatus of Kung. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Wang par. 0003)
Regarding claim 27. Kung and Wang teaches the method for claim 26.
However, although Kung teaches new beam identification reference signal (pars. 0321-0326, teaches after beam failure is detected for a TRP, the new candidate beam can be also detected for the TRP), the apparatus and methods of Kung explicitly fails to disclose, the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event using a beam associated with a reported new beam identification reference signal; or the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event based at least in part on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) applied to a reported new beam identification reference signal (NBI-RS).
Wang further teaches the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event (pars. 0124-0125, teaches the terminal terminates the beam recovery request procedure and/or resets the beam of a corresponding channel by using the beam information indicated by the received third message. Wherein, the third message is used to adjust a transmission configuration indication state (TCI) state of CORESET associated with the TRP with beam failure) using a beam associated with a reported new beam identification reference signal (fig. 3 and pars. 0118-0120, teaches in a case that the BFR MAC CE includes the information of a new beam, terminating, by the terminal, a beam recovery request procedure and/or resetting a beam for some channels by using the new beam. Wherein, the language “new beam” reads as a new beam identification reference signal within the context of par. 0041, which teaches the UE reports the candidate beam reference signal (candidate beam RS) or new beam reference signal (new beam RS) to find a new candidate beam); or the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event based at least in part on a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) applied to a reported new beam identification reference signal (NBI-RS) (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the set of channels is reset for the TRP associated with the beam failure event using a beam associated with a reported new beam identification reference signal, as disclosed by Wang with the method and apparatus of Kung. The motivations for doing so would be to improve performance. (see Wang par. 0003)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 and 28-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474