DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . It is responsive to the submission dated 01/22/2026. Claims 1-8, and 10-20 are presented for examination, of which, claims 1, 11 and 17 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 01/22/2026, with respect to the obviousness rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly found reference to Jozef et al. (RU 2667034 C2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Deng (CN 109710255 B) in view of Wu et al. (US 10002452).
Considering claim 1, Deng discloses an image processing method (e.g., a special effect processing method, see abstract), comprising:
acquiring a first texture data corresponding to a target effect [in response to a triggering operation to the target effect], wherein the first texture data is a texture data of the target effect corresponding to a first color display standard (for example, Deng discloses obtaining the to-be-processed special effect, which comprises one or more specific elements of similar characteristics elements set from the special effect element that can be used to generate the target special effect according to the processed special effect element. See abstract of Deng. Deng further teaches, the obtaining the to-be-processed special effect used to generate the target special effect is obtained from a different video game platform that may need to be transplanted to a game platform of a specific display precision for processing the special target effect. See paras. 1-2 under the “Background” section of Deng, wherein the characteristics of the special effect elements corresponds to the color and texture data of the obtained special effect. See the detailed descriptions of fig. 4 S130 under the “Specific implementation examples” section of Deng);
executing a texture conversion on the first texture data according to a second color display standard to acquire a second texture data; wherein a color range of the second color display standard is larger than a color range of the first color display standard (e.g., Deng discloses: step S140, performing refined processing to the special effect element in the similar special effect element set, and generating the target special effect according to the processed special effect element, wherein the simplified processing can be the special effect element in the similar special effect element set for simple processing, such as reducing/increasing the number of specific element, reducing/increasing the size of the specific element. after simplifying the specific element, according to the special effect element in the special effect element set to generate the specific effect is the target effect processed according to the processed special effect element. See abstract. Deng further teaches Strengthen rendering is to make the effect reach better visual effect, can be colour enhancement, light efficiency enhancement, for example, it can increase the color saturation of the intermediate effect, or performing High-Dynamic Range or high dynamic illumination rendering processing to the intermediate effect; see the detailed descriptions of S140 under the “Specific implementation examples” section of Deng); and
displaying the target effect according to the second texture data (Deng teaches: Strengthen rendering is to make the effect reach better visual effect, so as to satisfy requirement of the special effect of different platform, and increasing the application range of the special effect, without remanufacturing special effect for different platforms. See S140. Deng further teaches visual display of the target special effect can increase the application range of the special effect (see abstract).
The Deng reference differs from the features of claim 1 in that Deng fails to specifically describes that the first texture data of the target effect is acquired in response to a triggering operation to the target effect.
However, executing a corresponding instruction in response to a trigger operation is a common technical means in the art, and is common general knowledge.
Particularly, Wu, in the same field of endeavor as Deng, teaches an application comprise a media interface component executable in a processor for obtaining a digital image, special effects component for obtaining a special effect, and a selection from a user specifying at least one criterion associated with a target attribute for applying the obtained special effect to the digital image. See col. 1 line 59 to col. 2 line 11 and col. 3 lines 5-22.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to have modified the teaching of Deng to include acquiring a first texture data of the target effect in response to a triggering operation to the target effect, in the same conventional manner as taught by Wu; in order to give the system’ user the ability to take digital images virtually any time; and to select and apply special effects to further enhance said digital images in a time-consuming manner. See col. 1 lines 16-28 of Wu.
Furthermore, the combination of Deng and Wu fail to particularly teach the first color display standard comprises a Standard Dynamic Range (SDR) color display standard, and the second color display standard comprises a High Dynamic Range (HDR) color display standard, which is disclosed by Jozef (e.g., transforming a low-dynamic range display device to high-dynamic range display device to reproduce colored images of high quality. See para. 1 under the “SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION” section, and para. 4 under the “DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE DRAWINGS” section and the detailed descriptions of fig. 4 of Jozef).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the teachings of Deng and Wu with the display calibration schemes of Jozef; in order to simulate and recreate a highly saturated color images, without any negative effect on the color appearance of the reproduced image.
As per claim 2, Deng, as modified by Wu and Jozef, discloses: executing the texture conversion on the first texture data according to the second color display standard to acquire the second texture data, comprises: acquiring a target output format of the target effect in the second color display standard, wherein the second color display standard corresponds to one or more output formats, and the one or more output formats comprise the target output format; and executing the texture conversion on the first texture data according to the target output format to acquire the second texture data (e.g., a special effect processing method and device for processing special effect specific to a game platform and to realize special effect of different requirements on different terminal platform. See abstract and background sections of Deng. Generating target effect according to processed special effect element by performing refined processing to the special effect element in the similar special effect element set to obtain the middle special effect; performing the enhanced rendering process to the intermediate effect for obtaining the target effect. See “Contents of the Invention” section of Deng. And, Strengthen rendering is to make the effect reach better visual effect, so as to satisfy requirement of the special effect of different platform, and increasing the application range of the special effect, without remanufacturing special effect for different platforms. Strengthen rendering is to make the effect reach better visual effect, can be colour enhancement, light efficiency enhancement, for example, it can increase the color saturation of the intermediate effect, or performing High-Dynamic Range or high dynamic illumination rendering processing to the intermediate effect; See detailed description of S140 of Deng).
As per claim 3, Deng, as modified by Wu and Jozef discloses acquiring a conversion function corresponding to the target output format according to the target output format; and executing the texture conversion on the first texture data according to the conversion function corresponding to the target output format to acquire the second texture data (e.g., Strengthen rendering is to make the effect reach better visual effect, so as to satisfy requirement of the special effect of different platform, and increasing the application range of the special effect, without remanufacturing special effect for different platforms. Strengthen rendering is to make the effect reach better visual effect, can be colour enhancement, light efficiency enhancement, for example, it can increase the color saturation of the intermediate effect, or performing High-Dynamic Range or high dynamic illumination rendering processing to the intermediate effect; See detailed description of S140 of Deng).
As per claim 4, Deng, as modified by Wu and Jozef, discloses displaying the target effect according to the second texture data, further comprises:
configuring a data type identifier corresponding to the second texture data; and acquiring the second texture data according to the data type identifier of the second texture data (for example, Deng teaches the special effect to be processed comprises obtaining or more specific elements with characteristic specific to a type of the special effect element based on similarity, and generating a target special effect according to the processed special effect element, by transplanting the special effect to a different platform, so as to satisfy requirement of the special effect of different platform, and increasing the application range of the special effect, without remanufacturing special effect for different platforms, wherein the features of the specific elements can be extracted according to the size and shape of the specific element, color composition, number distribution and other aspects of information, so as to render the target effect to the different platform. See “Contents of the Invention” section and the detailed description of S120-S140 sections of Deng).
As per claim 5, Deng, as modified by Wu and Jozef, discloses the executing the texture conversion on the first texture data according to the second color display standard to acquire the second texture data, comprises: executing the texture conversion on part of the first texture data according to the second color display standard to acquire the second texture data; and the displaying the target effect according to the second texture data, comprises: displaying the target effect according to a texture data without the texture conversion in the first texture data and the second texture data (Deng teaches the special effect to be processed comprises obtaining or more specific elements with characteristic specific to a type of the special effect element based on similarity, and generating a target special effect according to the processed special effect element, by transplanting the special effect to a different platform, so as to satisfy requirement of the special effect of different platform, and increasing the application range of the special effect, without remanufacturing special effect for different platforms. See the detailed description of S110-S130 sections of Deng).
As per claim 6, Deng, as modified by Wu and Jozef, discloses configuring data type identifiers corresponding to the texture data without the texture conversion in the first texture data and the second texture data; and acquiring the texture data without the texture conversion in the first texture data and the second texture data according to the data type identifiers corresponding to the texture data without the texture conversion in the first texture data and the second texture data respectively (for example, Deng teaches the special effect to be processed comprises obtaining or more specific elements with characteristic specific to a type of the special effect element based on similarity, size and using frequency of the specific element; and generating a target special effect according to the processed special effect element, by transplanting the special effect to a different platform, so as to satisfy requirement of the special effect of different platform, and increasing the application range of the special effect, without remanufacturing special effect for different platforms, and without affecting the effect visual effect. See “Contents of the Invention” section and the detailed description of S120-S140 sections of Deng).
As per claim 7, Deng, as modified by Wu and Jozef, discloses acquiring a first constant parameter corresponding to the target effect; converting the first constant parameter into a second constant parameter according to the second color display standard; and the displaying the target effect according to the second texture data, comprises: displaying the target effect according to the second texture data and the second constant parameter (e.g., Deng discloses obtaining the to-be-processed special effect may include: obtaining multiple original special effects; and determining the original special effect reaching a preset condition in multiple original special effects as the special effect to be processed, wherein the original special effect is obtained without processing, keeping the initial special effect of the complete special effect resource, in the exemplary embodiment, in order to effectively perform special effect processing, can set a preset condition, the plurality of original special effect for primary screening, the original special effect reaches the preset condition is determined as the to-be-processed special effect. the preset condition can be the size of the special effect resource of the original special effect, or the number of the number of the special effect element of the original special effect, for example, can set a threshold value 100M for the size of the special effect resource of the original special effect, the specific resource size exceeds 100M of the original special effect as the to-be-processed special effect. Further, the preset condition may include a threshold value of the specific element number of the original special effect. See the detailed descriptions of fig. 5 in Deng).
As per claim 8, Deng, as modified by Wu and Jozef, discloses converting the first constant parameter into the second constant parameter according to a conversion function corresponding to the target output format of the target effect in the second color display standard (e.g., Deng discloses determining the original special effect reaching a preset condition in multiple original special effects as the special effect to be processed, when the original special effect reaches the preset condition is determined as the to-be-processed special effect. the preset condition can be the size of the special effect resource of the original special effect, or the number of the number of the special effect element of the original special effect, for example, can set a threshold value 100M for the size of the special effect resource of the original special effect, the specific resource size exceeds 100M of the original special effect as the to-be-processed special effect. Further, the preset condition may include a threshold value of the specific element number of the original special effect. See the detailed descriptions of fig. 5 in Deng).
The invention of claim 10 contains features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited claim 1. As the limitations of claim 1 were found obvious over the combined teachings of Deng and Wu and Jozef, it is readily apparent that the applied prior arts perform the underlying elements. As such, the limitations of claim 10 are, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as claim 1.
The subject-matters of claims 11-13 correspond in terms of a device, a non-transient readable storage medium and program product, respectively, to that of independent method claim 1, and the rationale raised above to reject the later also apply, mutatis mutandis, to the former. In addition, Deng discloses an electronic device, comprising: a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store computer program instructions; and the processor is configured to execute the computer program instructions to enable the electronic device to realize the image processing method according to claim 1. See the “Technical field” and “Contents of the Invention” sections of Deng.
Claim 14 contains features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited claim 2. Claim 14 is, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim 15 contains features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited claim 3. Claim 15 is, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as claim .
Claim 16 contains features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited claim 4. Claim 16 is, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as claim 4.
Claim 17 contains features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited claim 5. Claim 17 is, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as claim 5.
Claim 18 contains features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited claim 6. Claim 18 is, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as claim 6.
Claim 19 contains features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited claim 7. Claim 19 is, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as claim 7.
Claim 20 contains features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited claim 8. Claim 20 is, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as claim 8.
Conclusion
/WESNER SAJOUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612
WS
03/25/2026