DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/8/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (Pub No: 2020/0100088).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor and memory, wherein the processor and memory are (Kim, [0889-0890], a UE with processor and memory) configured to:
send a message to a relay WTRU, wherein the message comprises a Relay Service Code (RSC) (Kim, [0662-0668], a remote UE performs a direct link setup to a relay UE by sending a relay service code [0222]) and one or more power saving capabilities of the WTRU (Kim, [0578], a capability of small data tx (power saving) is indicated in the Discovery message from UE to network relay);
receive a Direct Security Mode (DSM) command message from the relay WTRU (Kim, Fig 10 [0320]-[0325], receive a DSM command message from the commanding (relay UE));
send a DSM complete message to the relay WTRU (Kim, Fig 10, [0349]-[0352], sending a DSM complete message to the commanding relay UE), wherein the DSM complete message comprises a power saving policy of the WTRU (Kim, Fig 10, [0669], the direct link setup comprises the power saving mode (eDRX, PSM, SDT));
receive a power saving configuration from the relay WTRU, wherein the power saving configuration indicates an agreed upon power saving policy (Kim, [0684]-[0686], receiving a configuration of an eDRX mode (the agreed policy)); and
activate the power saving configuration for communication with the relay WTRU (Kim, [0684]-[0686], using the eDRX state to communicate);.
As to claim 2, Kim teaches wherein the message comprises a Direct Communication Request (DCR) message (Kim, [0187], the message is a direct communication request).
As to claim 3, Kim teaches wherein the one or more power saving capabilities of the WTRU indicate whether the WTRU supports a Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) mode or an extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) mode (Kim, [0669], the power saving modes are MICO or eDRX).
As to claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the DSM command message comprises an indication of the one or more power saving capabilities of the WTRU (Kim, Fig 10, [0669], the direct link setup comprises the power saving mode (eDRX, PSM, SDT));
As to claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the power saving policy indicates a requested power saving mode (Kim, Fig 10, [0669], the direct link setup comprises the power saving mode (eDRX, PSM, SDT)).
As to claim 6, Kim teaches wherein the requested power saving mode comprises a Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) mode or an extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) mode (Kim, [0669], the power saving modes are MICO or eDRX)..
As to claim 7, Kim teaches wherein the power saving configuration is received in a dynamic channel allocation (DCA) message (Kim, [0109], the messaging is a dynamic resource allocation).
As to claim 8, Kim teaches wherein the agreed upon power saving policy comprises an indication that Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) mode or an enhanced Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) mode will be used (Kim, [0669], the power saving modes are MICO or eDRX)..
As to claim 9, Kim teaches wherein the processor and memory are further configured to: store the power saving configuration with a PC5 link context (Kim, [0680], storing the context with the direct connection [0011-0015] PC5 link messages)..
As to claim 10, Kim teaches wherein the processor and memory are further configured to: exchange one or more PC5 link messages with the relay WTRU according to the stored power saving configuration (Kim, [0011-0015] PC5 link messages).
As to claim 11, Kim teaches wherein the processor and memory are further configured to: receive updated power saving parameters from a network; and initiate a link modification procedure with the relay WTRU to request an updated power saving configuration based on the updated power saving parameters (Kim, [0496], the MME requests to update the link via modification indication with bearer request parameters).
As to claim 12, Kim teaches wherein the power saving policy indicates an initial power saving mode and an initial power saving timer value (Kim, [0235], the link to be established is initial and with initial timer value); wherein the updated power saving parameters comprise an updated power saving mode or an updated power saving timer value; and wherein the processor and memory are further configured to initiate the link modification procedure with the relay WTRU based on the initial power saving mode and the initial power saving timer value (Kim, [0496], the MME requests to update the link via modification indication with bearer request parameters).
As to claim 13, Kim teaches wherein the DSM command message, the DSM complete message, and the power saving configuration are integrity protected to prevent man-in-the-middle attacks (Kim, [0217], the direct link setup establishes security).
As to claim 14, Kim teaches a method performed by a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Kim, [0889-0890], a method by a UE with processor and memory), the method comprising:
sending a message to a relay WTRU, wherein the message comprises a Relay Service Code (RSC) (Kim, [0662-0668], a remote UE performs a direct link setup to a relay UE by sending a relay service code [0222]) and one or more power saving capabilities of the WTRU (Kim, [0578], a capability of small data tx (power saving) is indicated in the Discovery message from UE to network relay);
receiving a Direct Security Mode (DSM) command message from the relay WTRU (Kim, Fig 10 [0320]-[0325], receive a DSM command message from the commanding (relay UE));
sending a DSM complete message to the relay WTRU (Kim, Fig 10, [0349]-[0352], sending a DSM complete message to the commanding relay UE), wherein the DSM complete message comprises a power saving policy of the WTRU (Kim, Fig 10, [0669], the direct link setup comprises the power saving mode (eDRX, PSM, SDT));
receiving a power saving configuration from the relay WTRU, wherein the power saving configuration indicates an agreed upon power saving policy Kim, [0684]-[0686], receiving a configuration of an eDRX mode (the agreed policy)); and
activating the power saving configuration for communication with the relay WTRU (Kim, [0684]-[0686], using the eDRX state to communicate).
As to claim 15, Kim teaches wherein the one or more power saving capabilities of the WTRU indicate whether the WTRU supports a Mobile Initiated Connection Only (MICO) mode or an extended Discontinuous Reception (eDRX) mode (Kim, [0669], the power saving modes are MICO or eDRX).
As to claim 16, Kim teaches wherein the DSM command message comprises an indication of the one or more power saving capabilities of the WTRU (Kim, [0669], the power saving modes are MICO or eDRX).
As to claim 17, Kim teaches wherein the power saving policy indicates a requested power saving mode (Kim, Fig 10, [0669], the direct link setup comprises the power saving mode (eDRX, PSM, SDT)), wherein the requested power saving mode comprises the MICO mode or the eDRX mode (Kim, [0669], the power saving modes are MICO or eDRX).
As to claim 18, Kim teaches wherein the agreed upon power saving policy comprises an indication that a mobile initiated connection only (MICO) mode or an enhanced discontinuous reception (eDRX) mode will be used (Kim, [0669], the power saving modes are MICO or eDRX).
As to claim 19, Kim teaches further comprising: storing the power saving configuration with a PC5 link context; and exchanging one or more PC5 link messages with the relay WTRU according to the stored power saving configuration (Kim, [0680], storing the context with the direct connection [0011-0015] PC5 link messages).
As to claim 20, Kim teaches further comprising: receiving updated power saving parameters from a network; and initiating a link modification procedure with the relay WTRU to request an updated power saving configuration based on the updated power saving parameters (Kim, [0496], the MME requests to update the link via modification indication with bearer request parameters).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Novlan et al (Pub No: 2014/0112194) [0096]-[0193]
Paladugu et al (Pub No: 2021/0352767) [0124]
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469