DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/8/24 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 29, “means for selecting”, “means for selecting”, and “means for establishing” are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Supporting structure can be found in the applicant’s specification Fig. 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 14 and 28 recite “establishing the PDU session is further based on one set of credentials for: the first access link, and the second access link”. It is unclear if the language is intended as “one set of credentials for (the first and second access link)” OR “one set of credentials for each of (a first access link) and (a second access link). The claim will be interpreted as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 14-17, 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai et al (Pub No: 2021/0092664).
As to claim 1, Lai teaches a method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (Lai, [0045] Fig 7-8, a method for a UE), comprising:
selecting a first access link for a protocol data unit (PDU) session (Lai, Fig 7 [0047], a UE selects a QoS Flow 1 for a PDU Session 1);
selecting a second access link based on the first access link (Lai, Fig 7 [0047], a UE selects a QoS Flow 2 with EPS Bearer Identity the same as the first QoS Flow 1); and
establishing the PDU session based on the selected first access link and the second access link (Lai, [0047] Fig 7, the UE establishes the MA PDU session with the QoS Flows configured).
As to claim 2, Lai teaches wherein: the PDU session comprises a dual third generation partnership project (3GPP) PDU session (Lai, Fig 7, 8 [0047], the PDU session is dual QoS Flow 3GPP access);
the first access link comprises a first 3GPP-based access link for the dual 3GPP PDU session (Lai, Fig 7, 8 [0047], the PDU session is dual QoS Flow 3GPP access; QoS Flow 1); and
the second access link comprises a second 3GPP-based access link for the dual 3GPP PDU session (Lai, Fig 7, 8 [0047], the PDU session is dual QoS Flow 3GPP access; QoS Flow 2).
As to claim 3, Lai teaches the first access link is associated with a first public land mobile network (PLMN) and a first radio access technology (RAT) (Lai, Fig 5 [0044], the first access type to a first PLMN1), and the second access link is associated with one of: or a second PLMN and a second RAT (Lai, Fig 5, Fig 8 [0048], a different PLMN over a different RAT).
As to claim 14, Lai teaches wherein establishing the PDU session is further based on one set of credentials for: the first access link, and the second access link (Lai, [0033][0037], the PDU session for the multiple flows has a single PDU session ID and EBI).
As to claim 15, Lai teaches an apparatus for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory including instructions executable by the at least one processor (Lai, [0045] Fig 7-8, a UE)to cause the apparatus to:
select a first access link for a protocol data unit (PDU) session (Lai, Fig 7 [0047], a UE selects a QoS Flow 1 for a PDU Session 1);
select a second access link based on the first access link (Lai, Fig 7 [0047], a UE selects a QoS Flow 2 with EPS Bearer Identity the same as the first QoS Flow 1); and
establish the PDU session based on the selected first access link and the second access link (Lai, [0047] Fig 7, the UE establishes the MA PDU session with the QoS Flows configured).
As to claim 16, Lai teaches the PDU session comprises a dual third generation partnership project (3GPP) PDU session (Lai, Fig 7, 8 [0047], the PDU session is dual QoS Flow 3GPP access);
the first access link comprises a first 3GPP-based access link for the dual 3GPP PDU session (Lai, Fig 7, 8 [0047], the PDU session is dual QoS Flow 3GPP access; QoS Flow 1); and
the second access link comprises a second 3GPP-based access link for the dual 3GPP PDU session (Lai, Fig 7, 8 [0047], the PDU session is dual QoS Flow 3GPP access; QoS Flow 2).
As to claim 17, Lai teaches the first access link is associated with a first public land mobile network (PLMN) and a first radio access technology (RAT) (Lai, Fig 5 [0044], the first access type to a first PLMN1), and the second access link is associated with one of: or a second PLMN and a second RAT (Lai, Fig 5, Fig 8 [0048], a different PLMN over a different RAT).
As to claim 28, Lai teaches wherein establishing the PDU session is further based on one set of credentials for: the first access link, and the second access link (Lai, [0033][0037], the PDU session for the multiple flows has a single PDU session ID and EBI).
As to claim 29, Lai teaches an apparatus for wireless communication (Lai, [0045] Fig 7-8, a UE), comprising:
means for selecting (Lai, [0038], processor 213) a first access link for a protocol data unit (PDU) session (Lai, Fig 7 [0047], a UE selects a QoS Flow 1 for a PDU Session 1);
means for selecting (Lai, [0038], processor 213) a second access link based on the first access link (Lai, Fig 7 [0047], a UE selects a QoS Flow 2 with EPS Bearer Identity the same as the first QoS Flow 1); and
means for establishing (Lai, [0038], processor 213) the PDU session based on the selected first access link and the second access link (Lai, [0047] Fig 7, the UE establishes the MA PDU session with the QoS Flows configured).
As to claim 30, Lai teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an apparatus (Lai, [0045] Fig 7-8, a UE), cause the apparatus to:
select a first access link for a protocol data unit (PDU) session (Lai, Fig 7 [0047], a UE selects a QoS Flow 1 for a PDU Session 1);
select a second access link based on the first access link (Lai, Fig 7 [0047], a UE selects a QoS Flow 2 with EPS Bearer Identity the same as the first QoS Flow 1); and
establish the PDU session based on the selected first access link and the second access link (Lai, [0047] Fig 7, the UE establishes the MA PDU session with the QoS Flows configured).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 8, 18, 19, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as applied to claims above, and further in view of Sen et al (Pub No: 2015/0133196)
As to claim 4, Lai teaches wherein: selecting the first access link is based on a first selection information (Lai, [0036], the QoS flow is based on a protocol configuration option IE), and selecting the second access link is based on a second selection information (Lai, [0036], the QoS flow is based on a protocol configuration option IE).
Lai does not explicitly teach the selection information is an information file.
However, Sen teaches the selection information is an information file (Sen, [0068], selection information comes from a PLMN file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a file” as taught by Sen in the system of Lai, so that it would configure the wireless device for cellular communication (Sen, [0003]).
As to claim 5, the combination of Lai and Sen teaches wherein: the first selection file (Sen, [0068], PLMN file) comprises an operator controlled public land mobile network (PLMN) selector with access technology elementary file (EF) (Lai, [0055], the configuration is an indicator (file) for a PLMN), and the second selection file (Sen, [0068], PLMN file)comprises an access traffic steering, switching and splitting (ATSSS) PLMN EF (Lai, [0055], the configuration is an indicator (file) for a PLMN with ATSSS supported).
As to claim 8, the combination of Lai and Sen teaches wherein the second selection file is stored in a subscriber identification module (SIM) of the UE (Sen, [0068], selection information comes from a PLMN file stored on a SIM).
As to claim 18, Lai teaches select the first access link is based on a first selection information (Lai, [0036], the QoS flow is based on a protocol configuration option IE), and selecting the second access link is based on a second selection information (Lai, [0036], the QoS flow is based on a protocol configuration option IE).
Lai does not explicitly teach the selection information is an information file.
However, Sen teaches the selection information is an information file (Sen, [0068], selection information comes from a PLMN file).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “a file” as taught by Sen in the system of Lai, so that it would configure the wireless device for cellular communication (Sen, [0003]).
As to claim 19, the combination of Lai and Sen teaches wherein: the first selection file (Sen, [0068], PLMN file) comprises an operator controlled public land mobile network (PLMN) selector with access technology elementary file (EF) (Lai, [0055], the configuration is an indicator (file) for a PLMN), and the second selection file (Sen, [0068], PLMN file)comprises an access traffic steering, switching and splitting (ATSSS) PLMN EF (Lai, [0055], the configuration is an indicator (file) for a PLMN with ATSSS supported).
As to claim 22, the combination of Lai and Sen teaches wherein the second selection file is stored in a subscriber identification module (SIM) of the UE (Sen, [0068], selection information comes from a PLMN file stored on a SIM).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lai and Sen as applied to claims above, and further in view of Moisanen et al (Pub No: 2013/0136115).
As to claim 6, the combination of Lai and Sen teaches a first (Lai, [0055], the configuration is an indicator (file) for a PLMN) and second selection file (Lai, [0055], the configuration is an indicator (file) for a PLMN with ATSSS supported).
The combination of Lai and Sen does not explicitly teach a list of prioritized primary PLMNs and RAT combinations, and a list of prioritized secondary PLMNs and RAT combinations.
However, Moisanen teaches a list of prioritized primary PLMNs and RAT combinations (Moisanen, [0030], a selector list of prioritized PLMN and RAT candidate) and a list of prioritized secondary PLMNs and RAT combinations (Moisanen, [0030], a second(at least one) selector list of prioritized PLMN and RAT candidate)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “prioritized PLMN and RAT candidate lists” as taught by Moisanen in the system of Lai, so that it would be able to successfully perform fallback when voice data is to be transferred in event of failure (Moisanen, [0002]).
As to claim 20, the combination of Lai and Sen teaches a first (Lai, [0055], the configuration is an indicator (file) for a PLMN) and second selection file (Lai, [0055], the configuration is an indicator (file) for a PLMN with ATSSS supported).
The combination of Lai and Sen does not explicitly teach a list of prioritized primary PLMNs and RAT combinations, and a list of prioritized secondary PLMNs and RAT combinations.
However, Moisanen teaches a list of prioritized primary PLMNs and RAT combinations (Moisanen, [0030], a selector list of prioritized PLMN and RAT candidate) and a list of prioritized secondary PLMNs and RAT combinations (Moisanen, [0030], a second(at least one) selector list of prioritized PLMN and RAT candidate)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “prioritized PLMN and RAT candidate lists” as taught by Moisanen in the system of Lai, so that it would be able to successfully perform fallback when voice data is to be transferred in event of failure (Moisanen, [0002]).
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Lai and Sen as applied to claims above, and further in view of Chen et al (Pub No: 2024/0107417).
As to claim 7, the combination of Lai and Sen teaches selecting the second access link (Lai, Fig 7 [0047], a UE selects a QoS Flow 2 with EPS Bearer Identity the same as the first QoS Flow 1).
The combination of Lai and Sen does not explicitly teach based on a UE route selection policy (URSP) rule associated with the first PLMN and a traffic requirement associated with the PDU session.
However, Chen teaches based on a UE route selection policy (URSP) rule associated with the first PLMN and a traffic requirement associated with the PDU session (Chen [0215] [0245], a URSP rule corresponding to PLMN and traffic condition requirement [0236] to select the session)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “URSP rules and a traffic requirement” as taught by Chen in the system of Lai, so that it would be able to satisfy multiple service requirements (Chen, [0006]-[0009]).
As to claim 21, , the combination of Lai and Sen teaches selecting the second access link (Lai, Fig 7 [0047], a UE selects a QoS Flow 2 with EPS Bearer Identity the same as the first QoS Flow 1).
The combination of Lai and Sen does not explicitly teach based on a UE route selection policy (URSP) rule associated with the first PLMN and a traffic requirement associated with the PDU session.
However, Chen teaches based on a UE route selection policy (URSP) rule associated with the first PLMN and a traffic requirement associated with the PDU session (Chen [0215] [0245], a URSP rule corresponding to PLMN and traffic condition requirement [0236] to select the session)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “URSP rules and a traffic requirement” as taught by Chen in the system of Lai, so that it would be able to satisfy multiple service requirements (Chen, [0006]-[0009]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 and 23-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tonesi et al (Pub No: 2023/0180057).
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469