DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 03/08/2026.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Soltani et al. (US 2023/0036387 A1; hereafter SOLTANI).
With respect to claim 1, SOLTANI discloses an apparatus (120, UE of FIG. 6) comprising:
a transceiver (258, 264, 280, 282 of FIG. 2); and
a processor (258, 264, 280, 282 of FIG. 2) coupled to the transceiver (258, 264, 280, 282 of FIG. 2), the processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive a single-carrier Synchronization Signal Block (“SC-SSB”) structure (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS) from a radio access network, wherein the SC-SSB structure comprises:
a Primary Synchronization Signal (“PSS”) portion comprising a PSS block mapped to a first set of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS):
a Secondary Synchronization Signal (“SSS”) portion comprising a SSS block mapped to a second set of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS); and
a Physical Broadcast Channel (“PBCH”) portion comprising a plurality of PBCH blocks mapped to a third set of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS); and
access a cell using a single-carrier waveform based on the received SC-SSB structure (615 of FIG. 6).
With respect to claim 2, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the SC-SSB structure comprises a guard interval inserted between the second and third sets of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS).
With respect to claim 3, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the guard interval comprises a random block-wise guard interval (paragraph [0059]).
With respect to claim 4, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the guard interval comprises a known demodulation reference signal (“DM-RS”) (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS).
With respect to claim 5, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the third set of time-domain symbols comprises a plurality of time-domain blocks, wherein the SC-SSB structure comprises the guard interval inserted between each of the plurality of time-domain blocks (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS).
With respect to claim 6, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the SC-SSB structure comprises respective guard intervals inserted at a beginning of each of the first and second sets of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS).
With respect to claim 7, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PSS block comprises a 127 element PSS sequence and the SSS block comprises a 127 element SSS sequence, wherein the PSS block is mapped to a first set of 128 time-domain symbols and the SSS block is mapped to a second set of 128 time-domain symbols (FIG. 7; FIG. 8; paragraphs [0083] and [0092]).
With respect to claim 8, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PSS block comprises a 127 element PSS sequence and the SSS block comprises a 127 element SSS sequence, wherein the PSS block is mapped to a first set of 256 time-domain symbols and the SSS block is mapped to a second set of 256 time-domain symbols (FIG. 7; FIG. 8; paragraphs [0083] and [0092]).
With respect to claim 9, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PSS block is mapped to a first set of 128 time-domain symbols, wherein the SSS block is mapped to a second set of 128 time-domain symbols, and wherein the plurality of PBCH blocks are mapped to multiple sets of 128 time-domain symbols (FIG. 7; FIG. 8; paragraphs [0083] and [0092]).
With respect to claim 10, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PSS block is mapped to a first set of 128 time-domain symbols, wherein the SSS block is mapped to a second set of 128 time-domain symbols, and wherein the plurality of PBCH blocks are mapped to multiple sets of 256 time-domain symbols (FIG. 7; FIG. 8; paragraphs [0083] and [0092]).
With respect to claim 11, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the PSS block and the SSS block are mapped to a common time-domain block (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS).
With respect to claim 12, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the PSS block and/or the SSS block comprises a demodulation reference signal (“DM-RS”) (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS).
With respect to claim 13, SOLTANI further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the apparatus to receive a master information block (“MIB”) comprising parameters restricted to the time domain (paragraph [0078]).
With respect to claim 14, SOLTANI discloses a method (Title; Abstract) of a User Equipment (“UE”) (120, UE of FIG. 6), the method comprising:
receiving a single-carrier Synchronization Signal Block (“SC-SSB”) structure (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS) from a radio access network, wherein the SC-SSB structure comprises:
a Primary Synchronization Signal (“PSS”) portion comprising a PSS block mapped to a first set of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS):
a Secondary Synchronization Signal (“SSS”) portion comprising a SSS block mapped to a second set of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS); and
a Physical Broadcast Channel (“PBCH”) portion comprising a plurality of PBCH blocks mapped to a third set of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS); and
accessing a cell using a single-carrier waveform based on the received SC-SSB structure (615 of FIG. 6).
With respect to claim 15, SOLTANI discloses an apparatus (110, base station of FIG. 6) comprising:
a transceiver (238, 220, 240, 242 of FIG. 2); and
a processor (238, 220, 240, 242 of FIG. 2) coupled to the transceiver (238, 220, 240, 242 of FIG. 2), the processor configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a single-carrier Synchronization Signal Block (“SC-SSB”) structure, wherein the SC-SSB structure (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS) comprises:
a Primary Synchronization Signal (“PSS”) portion comprising a PSS block mapped to a first set of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS);
a Secondary Synchronization Signal (“SSS”) portion comprising a SSS block mapped to a second set of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS); and
a Physical Broadcast Channel (“PBCH”) portion comprising a plurality of PBCH blocks mapped to a third set of time-domain symbols (605, SSB by SC-QAM waveform; 610, PSS, SSS, PBCH, DMRS); and
receive a connection request (615 of FIG. 6) from a User Equipment (“UE”) (120, UE of FIG. 6).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 April 1, 2026