DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 01, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 the applicant argues that IWAI does not teach “wherein the another end part of the extending portion is spaced apart a predetermined distance from the ground portion in a direction parallel to the front surface of the ground portion, and the main body portion partially overlaps the ground portion at a periphery of the ground portion in a top view of the antenna device”. The examiner agrees with the applicant regarding IWAI failing to teach and/or disclose the newly amended features of claim 1.
However, the prior art of VANCE teaches the newly amended features of claim 1.
Therefore, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant's argument. The examiner contends that the newly amended features in the 35 USC 103 rejections below are disclosed by the combined art of IWAI and VANCE.
The examiner would welcome a request for interview to discuss strategies for amending the claims with the goal of determining amendments that would overcome the prior art of record while ensuring that the invention is clearly recited in a manner that is not overly limiting. As best understood by the examiner, the applicant has argued but not claimed features/details in the instant application that would overcome the prior art of record as applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2002223114 A (see attached translation for the following citations) by IWAI et. al. (hereinafter IWAI) in view of US 20040252061 by VANCE et. al. (hereinafter VANCE).
Regarding claim 1, IWAI teaches: (Currently amended) An antenna device (¶ 0001: an antenna for mobile radio communication) comprising:
a ground portion including a front surface (¶ 0036, fig. 1 [11]: conductive ground plane 11 (Examiner’s note: The ground plane 11 (fig. 1 [11]) has a front surface.)); and
a first element located on a side of the front surface (fig. 1 [12, 16, 17] (Examiner’s note: The first element (fig. 1 [12, 16, 17]) is located on the ground plane 11.)), the first element supporting a predetermined frequency band (¶ 0038, fig. 2: the antenna shown in FIG. 2 has a center frequency of 924 MHz and a bandwidth of 145 MHz, so the fractional bandwidth is 15.7% (≈145/924).), the first element including
a main body portion (planar conductive plate 12 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) spaced apart a predetermined distance from the ground portion (ground plane 11 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) in a direction normal to the front surface (¶ 0036, fig. 1 [12]: a planar conductive plate 12 which is an antenna element (Examiner’s note: The planar conductive plate 12 (fig. 1 [12]) is distanced from the ground plane 11 (fig. 1 [11]) by a predefined distance in the direction normal to the front surface.)), the main body portion facing the ground portion (fig. 1 [11, 12] (Examiner’s note: The planar conductive plate 12 (fig. 1 [12]) is facing the ground plane 11 (fig. 1 [11]).)), and
an extending portion (conductor wall 16 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) extending from the main body portion (planar conductive plate 12 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) toward the ground portion (ground plane 11 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) (¶ 0036, fig. 1 [11, 12, 16]: The conductor wall 16 has one end electrically connected to the conductor plate 12 (Examiner’s note: The conductive wall 16 (fig. 1 [16]) extends from the planar conductive plate 12 (fig. 1 [12]) towards the ground plane 11 (fig. 1 [11]).)), the extending portion (conductor wall 16 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) having
one end part (conductor wall 16 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) located on a side of one end part of the main body portion (planar conductive plate 12 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) (¶ 0036, fig. 1 [12, 16, 17]: The electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 is electrically connected to the other end of the conductor wall 16 that faces the one end mentioned above (¶ 0036: The conductor wall 16 has one end electrically connected to the conductor plate 12.)),
and
another end part (electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 ¶ 0037, fig. 1) having no contact (a predetermined gap ¶ 0037, fig. 1) with the front surface (ground plane 11 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) (¶ 0037, fig. 1 [11, 17]: the electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 is disposed with a predetermined gap between it and the conductive ground plane 11 , and forms a capacitor between it and the conductive ground plane 11).
IWAI further teaches the conductive plate 12 is connected to the conductive ground plate 11 via a metal wire 14 (¶ 0036, fig. 1).
The conductor wall 16 and the electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 are arranged (connected) so that the path length from the part where the metal wire 14 is connected to the conductor plate 12 (hereinafter referred to as the short-circuit part) to the open end of the electromagnetic field coupling adjustment element is long (¶ 0037, fig. 1).
IWAI does not explicitly teach wherein the another end part of the extending portion is spaced apart a predetermined distance from the ground portion in a direction parallel to the front surface of the ground portion, and the main body portion partially overlaps the ground portion at a periphery of the ground portion in a top view of the antenna device.
However, VANCE teaches a wireless communication device 200 wherein the antenna 20 includes a conductive element 21 with at least one conductive looped track element 22 having four sides
22
1
,
22
2
,
22
3
and
22
4
. The looped track element 22 also has an associated center aperture 22a (¶ 0059, fig. 1A-1C).
The center aperture 22a can be sized with a length and width,
L
2
,
W
2
, respectively that separate the inner perimeter of the track a sufficient distance to inhibit parasitic coupling of opposing sides of the track (¶ 0060, fig. 1A).
The ground feed 25 is connected to the ground plane 125 and the antenna 20 can be installed substantially parallel to the ground plane 125 (¶ 0103, fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of VANCE to include the ground and extending portion arrangement with the antenna device of the art of IWAI with the benefit of providing multiple frequency bands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of IWAI and VANCE to obtain the invention:
VANCE teaches wherein the another end part of the extending portion is spaced apart a predetermined distance from the ground portion in a direction parallel to the front surface of the ground portion (the antenna 20 can be installed substantially parallel to the ground plane 125 ¶ 0103, fig. 12), and the main body portion partially overlaps the ground portion at a periphery of the ground portion in a top view of the antenna device (At the intersection with the aperture 214, a section of the antenna 20 partially overlaps with the ground plane 125.).
Regarding claim 2, IWAI and VANCE make obvious (Original) The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein
the extending portion (IWAI: conductor wall 16 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) includes a facing portion (IWAI: electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 ¶ 0037, fig. 1) facing the main body portion (IWAI: planar conductive plate 12 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) (fig. 1 [12, 16, 17] (Examiner’s note: The electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 (fig. 1 [17]) is an extension of the conductive wall 16 (fig. 1 [16]) facing the planar conductive plate 12 (fig. 1 [12]))), and
the facing portion (IWAI: electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 ¶ 0037, fig. 1) has no contact (IWAI: predetermined gap ¶ 0037, fig. 1) with the front surface (IWAI: ground plane 11 ¶ 0037, fig. 1) (IWAI: ¶ 0037, fig. 1 [11, 17]: the electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 is disposed with a predetermined gap between it and the conductive ground plane 11 , and forms a capacitor between it and the conductive ground plane 11).
Regarding claim 3, IWAI and VANCE make obvious (Previously presented) The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein, in side view, the other end part (IWAI: electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 ¶ 0036-0037, fig. 1) of the extending portion (IWAI: conductor wall 16 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) is
located on a side of the one end part (IWAI: conductor wall 16 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) of the main body portion (IWAI: planar conductive plate 12 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) relative to the back surface (IWAI: fig. 1 [11, 12, 16, 17] (Examiner’s note: The opposite section of the electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 (fig. 1 [17]), which is part of the elongated section of the conductive wall 16 (fig. 1 [16]) end, is in the same direction as the back section of the planar conductive plate 12 (fig. 1 [12]) and the ground plane 11 (fig. 1 [11]) back surface position (i.e., This is facing towards the ground plane front surface)).
Regarding claim 9, IWAI and VANCE make obvious (Previously presented) The antenna device according to claim 1,
wherein
the first element (IWAI: fig. 1 [12, 16, 17]) includes a short-circuit portion (IWAI: ¶ 0037, fig. 1 [11, 12, 14, 16, 17]: the conductor wall 16 and the electromagnetic field coupling adjustment plate 17 are arranged (connected) so that the path length from the part where the metal wire 14 is connected to the conductor plate 12 (hereinafter referred to as the short-circuit part) to the open end of the electromagnetic field coupling adjustment element is long.),
the short-circuit portion (IWAI: short-circuit part ¶ 0037) has
one end part connected to the ground portion (IWAI: ¶ 0036, fig. 1 [11, 12, 14]: the conductive plate 12 is connected to the conductive ground plate 11 via a metal wire 14), and
another end part located on a side of another end part of the main body portion (IWAI: planar conductive plate 12 ¶ 0036, fig. 1) (IWAI: ¶ 0037, fig. 1 [11, 12, 14]: so that the path length from the part where the metal wire 14 is connected to the conductor plate 12 (hereinafter referred to as the short-circuit part)) to the open end of the electromagnetic field coupling adjustment element is long. (Examiner’s note: The planar conductive plate 12 has one end in a short-circuit connection, via a metal wire 14, to the conductive ground plane 11 and a different end section found beside another end section (inverse direction to A) of the planar conductive plate 12.).
Regarding claim 10, IWAI and VANCE make obvious (Previously presented) The antenna device according to claim 1, wherein a hole (VANCE: center aperture 22a ¶ 0060, fig. 1A) is formed in the first element (VANCE: looped track element 22 ¶ 0059-0060, fig. 1A-1C) (VANCE: the antenna 20 includes a conductive element 21 with at least one conductive looped track element 22 having four sides
22
1
,
22
2
,
22
3
and
22
4
. The looped track element 22 also has an associated center aperture 22a ¶ 0059, fig. 1A-1C. The center aperture 22a can be sized with a length and width,
L
2
,
W
2
, respectively that separate the inner perimeter of the track a sufficient distance to inhibit parasitic coupling of opposing sides of the track ¶ 0060, fig. 1A).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IWAI in view of VANCE and in further view of JP 2011066713 (see attached translation for the following citations) by SHOJI et. al. (hereinafter SHOJI).
Regarding claim 4, IWAI and VANCE make obvious (Previously presented) The antenna device according to claim 1.
IWAI and VANCE do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, further comprising: a second element located on the side of the front surface of the ground portion, the second element being separate from the first element.
However, SHOJI teaches the integrated antenna 100 is configured by integrating a telephone antenna 110 with another antenna 101 (not shown) (¶ 0020).
The GPS antenna 101 (not shown) is disposed in a non-contact manner at approximately the center of the common ground plane 102. A TRx antenna 111 that transmits and receives in a specified frequency band, and an Rx antenna 112 that only receives, and both antennas 111, 112 are arranged parallel to both left and right ends of the common ground plane 102 (¶ 0021, fig. 2 [102, 111, 112]).
The frequency band used by the TRx antenna 111 is referred to as a transmission/reception frequency band Fl, and the frequency band used by the Rx antenna 112 is referred to as a reception frequency band F2. As an example, the respective frequency bands are F1=824 to 925 MHz and F2=843 to 875 MHz (¶ 0022).
SHOJI further teaches a plurality of feeding point 111a, 112a, 312a (¶ 0042, fig. 2, 10 & 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SHOJI to include the plurality of antennas, the grounding and the configuration with the antenna device of the combined art of IWAI and VANCE with the benefit of providing an integrated antenna having high isolation between the TRx antenna and the Rx antenna that constitute diversity (SHOJI, ¶ 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of IWAI, VANCE and SHOJI to obtain the invention:
SHOJI teaches further comprising: a second element (Rx antenna 112 ¶ 0021, fig. 2) located on the side of the front surface of the ground portion (ground plane 102 ¶ 0021, fig. 2 (Examiner’s note: The ground plane 102 (fig. 1-2 [102]) has a front surface)), the second element (Rx antenna 112 ¶ 0021, fig. 2) being separate (arranged parallel ¶ 0021, fig. 2) from the first element (TRx antenna 111 ¶ 0021, fig. 2) (¶ 0021, fig. 2 [102, 111, 112]: a TRx antenna 111 that transmits and receives in a specified frequency band, and an Rx antenna 112 that only receives, and both antennas 111, 112 are arranged parallel to both left and right ends of the common ground plane 102).
Regarding claim 5, IWAI, VANCE and SHOJI make obvious (Original) the antenna device according to claim 4, wherein the second element (SHOJI: Rx antenna 112 ¶ 0021, fig. 2) supports the predetermined frequency band (SHOJI: ¶ 0022: the frequency band used by the TRx antenna 111 is referred to as a transmission/reception frequency band F1,and the frequency band used by the Rx antenna 112 is referred to as a reception frequency band. As an example, the respective frequency bands are F1=824 to 925 MHz and F2=843 to 875 MHz).
Regarding claim 6, IWAI, VANCE and SHOJI make obvious (Previously presented) the antenna device according to claim 4, wherein a feeding portion (SHOJI: Feeding point 111a ¶ 0042, fig. 2) of the first element (SHOJI: TRx antenna 111 ¶ 0021, fig. 2) and a feeding portion (SHOJI: Feeding point 112a ¶ 0042, fig. 2) of the second element (SHOJI: Rx antenna 112 ¶ 0021, fig. 2) are located so as to be line-symmetrical with respect to an axis parallel to a direction in which the main body portion extends (SHOJI: ¶ 0021, fig. 2 [102, 111, 112]: a TRx antenna 111 that transmits and receives in a specified frequency band, and an Rx antenna 112 that only receives, and both antennas 111, 112 are arranged parallel to both left and right ends of the common ground plane 102 (Examiner’s note: The feeding points 111a and 112a are parallel arranged at both ends of the ground plate and line-symmetrical located in relation to an axis parallel to the direction in which the antennas (111, 112) longitudinal plates extend.)).
Regarding claim 11, IWAI and VANCE make obvious (Previously presented) The antenna device according to claim 1.
IWAI and VANCE do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein further comprising: an antenna located at the front surface, the antenna supporting a frequency band different from the predetermined frequency band, wherein a feeding portion of the antenna is located closer to the one end part of the main body portion than to the other end part of the main body portion.
However, SHOJI teaches the integrated antenna 100 is configured by integrating a telephone antenna 110 with another antenna 101 (not shown) (¶ 0020).
The GPS antenna 101 (not shown) is disposed in a non-contact manner at approximately the center of the common ground plane 102. A TRx antenna 111 that transmits and receives in a specified frequency band, and an Rx antenna 112 that only receives, and both antennas 111, 112 are arranged parallel to both left and right ends of the common ground plane 102 (¶ 0021, fig. 2 [102, 111, 112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SHOJI to include the plurality of antennas and the multiple frequency bands with the antenna device of the combined art of IWAI and VANCE with the benefit of providing an antenna in which a telephone antenna is integrated with another antenna by arranging them on a common ground plane, the telephone antenna being configured in diversity with a first antenna and a second antenna, at least whose radiating portions are arranged close to and parallel to two opposing ends of the common ground plane, and a parasitic element arranged close to and parallel to the first antenna, the ground point side of the parasitic element being bent toward the second antenna, and the ground point of the parasitic element being arranged between the feed point of the first antenna and the feed point of the second antenna (SHOJI, ¶ 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of IWAI, VANCE and SHOJI to obtain the invention:
SHOJI teaches wherein further comprising: an antenna (another antenna 101/GPS antenna 101 ¶ 0020-0021) located at the front surface (The integrated antenna 100 is configured by integrating a telephone antenna 110 with another antenna 101 (not shown) ¶ 0020;The GPS antenna 101 (not shown) is disposed in a non-contact manner at approximately the center of the common ground plane 102 ¶ 0021), the antenna supporting a frequency band different from the predetermined frequency band (Examiner’s note: The antenna 101 supports a different frequency band other than the predetermined frequencies used by the TRx antenna 111 and Rx antenna 112), wherein
a feeding portion of the antenna is located closer to the one end part of the main body portion than to the other end part of the main body portion (Examiner’s note: The feeding point of the antenna 101 is positioned more to one end of the 111 and 112 antennas body than to the other end of the aforementioned antennas).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IWAI in view of VANCE and in further view of JP 2012029137 (see attached translation for the following citations) by SEKIZAWA et. al. (hereinafter SEKIZAWA).
Regarding claim 7, IWAI and VANCE make obvious (Previously presented) The antenna device according to claim 1.
IWAI and VANCE do not explicitly individually teach, or make obvious in combination, wherein the ground portion includes a cutout portion, and when the front surface is viewed from the direction normal thereto, the extending portion lies in or partially lies in the cutout portion.
However, SEKIZAWA teaches a ground antenna section is provided in parallel to the substrate-side antenna section (¶ 0010, fig. 1-2).
The antenna device 101 comprises a substrate 1 that is approximately T-shaped in a planar view. The antenna section 3 comprises a standing section 5 which extends from the end of the board-side antenna section 4 in a manner rising in the thickness direction of the substrate 1 (¶ 0017, fig. 1-2).
The substrate 1 constituting the antenna device 101 is formed by cutting out both ends in the width direction W of a rectangular original substrate having a predetermined length (for example, about 50 mm) and a predetermined width (for example, about 40 mm) while leaving a portion in the length direction L (cut-out portions 1a, 1b, 1d, 1e), and cutting out one end in the length direction L across its entire width (cut-out portion 1c), so that it has an approximately T-shape when viewed in a plane (¶ 0019, fig. 1-2).
The antenna device 101, is an inverted L-shaped antenna. However, the antenna device may be an inverted F antenna (¶ 0035).
SEKIZAWA further teaches the parallel antenna section 6 is made of a conductor having the same cross-sectional shape as the board-side antenna section 4 and the standing section 5. This conductor is bent at approximately a right angle from the terminal end (upper end) of the standing portion 5 in a plane parallel to the substrate 1 and extends along the width direction W of the substrate 1 for a length equal to the width of the substrate 1 (first element portion 6a) (¶ 0022, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of SEKIZAWA to include the ground portion, the cutout portion, and the extending portion with the antenna device of the combined art of IWAI and VANCE with the benefit of improving the gain of an inverted-L antenna without increasing the height from the feed point to the bending point (SEKIZAWA, ¶ 0006)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of IWAI, VANCE and SEKIZAWA to obtain the invention:
SEKIZAWA teaches wherein the ground portion (ground antenna section ¶ 0010) includes a cutout portion (cut-out portions ¶ 0019, fig. 1-2), and when the front surface is viewed from the direction normal thereto, the extending portion (standing section 5 ¶ 0017, fig. 1-2) lies in or partially lies (extends from the end of the board-side antenna section 4 ¶ 0017, fig. 1-2) in the cutout portion (¶ 0010, fig. 1-2: a ground antenna section is provided in parallel to the substrate-side antenna section; ¶ 0017, fig. 1-2 [1, 5]: a substrate 1 that is approximately T-shaped in a planar view. a standing section 5 which extends from the end of the board-side antenna section 4 in a manner rising in the thickness direction of the substrate 1; ¶ 0019, fig. 1-2 [1]: The substrate 1 constituting the antenna device 101 is formed by cutting out both ends in the width direction W of a rectangular original substrate having a predetermined length (for example, about 50 mm) and a predetermined width (for example, about 40 mm) while leaving a portion in the length direction L (cut-out portions 1a, 1b, 1d, 1e), and cutting out one end in the length direction L across its entire width (cut-out portion 1c), so that it has an approximately T-shape when viewed in a plane; ¶ 0035: The antenna device 101, is an inverted L-shaped antenna. However, the antenna device may be an inverted F antenna).
Regarding claim 8, IWAI, VANCE and SEKIZAWA make obvious (Original) the antenna device according to claim 7, wherein when the front surface is viewed from the direction normal thereto (SEKIZAWA: ¶ 0019, fig. 1-2: the substrate 1 has an approximately T-shape when viewed in a plane), at least a part of the main body portion (SEKIZAWA: first element portion 6a ¶ 0022, fig. 1) lies in the cutout portion (SEKIZAWA: ¶ 0022, fig. 1 [6a]: This conductor is bent at approximately a right angle from the terminal end (upper end) of the standing portion 5 in a plane parallel to the substrate 1 and extends along the width direction W of the substrate 1 for a length equal to the width of the substrate 1 (first element portion 6a)).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE A. MIRANDA GONZALEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2844
/REGIS J BETSCH/ SPE, Art Unit 2844