Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ORTS et al (US 2018/0215914). ORTS et al disclose a composition containing a stereocomplex hat is formed when D-PLA is melt blended into a L-PLA matrix at a concentration between 1 and 50% D-PLA. (See Paragraph [0023].) Such process would inherently form a composition comprising L-PLA and D-PLA. The difference between the composition disclosed by ORTS et asl, and that recited in claims 23-25, is that ORTS et al do not disclose that some of the PLA would have a proportion of 50% to 67% of L-lactic acid monomer units and a proportion of 33% to 50% of D-lactic acid monomer units, and a second polylactic acid would have a proportion of )% to 5% of DF-lactic acid monomer units. It would have been obvious to provide a polylactic acid compound wherein some of the PLA would have a proportion of 50% to 67% of L-lactic acid monomer units and a proportion of 33% to 50% of D-lactic acid monomer units, and a second polylactic acid has a proportion of )% to 5% of DF-lactic acid monomer units. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since ORTS suggests in Paragraph [0023] that the concentration of D-PLA is below 50%, and it is unlikely that all the PLA would have concentrations of D-lactic acid monomer units and L-lactic acid monomer units. ORTS et al further disclose in Paragraph [0026] that the D-PLA comprises from about 5 to 20 percent of the total weight of the composition. In any event, it would have been obvious to provide mixtures of the stereomplex disclosed in Paragraph [0023] of ORTS with different ratios of L-PLA and D-PLA, since one would expect that mixtures of the stereoisomers would function for its use as a biodegradable cardstock composition, as well as compounds having a given proportion of L-lactic monomer units and D-lactic acid monomer units.
Regarding claims 24 and 25, it would have been obvious to provide the first polylactic acid in a proportion of 10% by weight to 20% by weight and the second polylactic acid in a proportion of 80% by with to 90% by weight in the composition of ORTS et al, since ORTS et al disclose in Paragraph [0026] that the composition comprises from about 5 to 20 percent of the total weight of the composition, which would indicate a greater level of the polylactic acid having a lower concentration of D-lactic acid monomer units.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 (b) in failing to differ substantially from claim 24. Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-22 and 26-31 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
JP 2001064090 (A) discloses a slow-acting fertilizer including a film of lactic acid wherein the ratio of L-lactic acid to D-lactic acid is within the range of 3 to 6. (See the English translation.) However there is no teaching, disclosure or suggestion in JP 2001064090 (A) that a first polylactic acid should have a proportion of 50% to 67% of L-lactic acid monomer unites and a proportion of 33% to 50% of D-lactic acid units, and that a second polylactic acid should have a proportion of95% to 100% of L-lactic monomer units and a proportion of 0% to 5% of D-lactic acid units , as recited in claims 17-22 and 26-31. Nor would there be any motivation from the prior art to modify the composition of JP 2001064090 (A) such that a first polylactic acid would have a proportion of 50% to 67% of L-lactic acid monomer unites and a proportion of 33% to 50% of D-lactic acid units, and that a second polylactic acid would have a proportion of 95% to 100% of L-lactic monomer units and a proportion of 0% to 5% of D-lactic acid units. Applicant’s specification discloses on page 3, lines 25-28 that it has been found that specific coatings having at least one first polylactic acid, wherein the first polylactic acid has a proportion of 50% to 67% of L-lactic acid monomer units and a proportion of 33% to 50% of D-lactic acid monomer units, are surprisingly well-suited for the coating of particulate fertilizers. Accordingly claims 17-22 and 26-31 are not rejected over JP 2001064090 (A).
JP 1995309689 (A) is made of record for disclosing fertilizer coated with polymers of lactic acid and lactic acid copolymers.
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736