DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 03/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1, 12, 20, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claim 1, this claim recites in lines 3-4, “transmitting (a) a wireless synchronization signal or (b) wireless physical channel data” and in lines 4-6 “wherein the wireless synchronization signal comprises a periodically transmitted broadcast signal, and wherein the wireless physical channel data comprises a unicast signal directed to a user equipment (UE)”.
The limitations “wherein the wireless synchronization signal comprises a periodically transmitted broadcast signal, and wherein the wireless physical channel data comprises a unicast signal directed to a user equipment (UE)” imply to the potential presence of both limitations due to the connection by the term “and”. It is unclear because this is in contrast with the prior definition in claim 1 that defines the claimed subject matter limitations to be alternatives due to the term “or”.
The rationale set forth above regarding independent claim 1 is applicable to independent claims 12, 20, and 26.
Dependent claims 2-11, 13-19, 21-25, and 27-30 are rejected as being directly or indirectly dependent on independent claims 1, 12, 20, and 26.
Regarding claim 9, this claim recites “wherein the first set of time-frequency resources is proximate to the second set of time-frequency resources by a prescribed extent in time or frequency”. It is unclear the meaning of the technical feature of the term is proximate to refers to. For purposes of examination, Examiner interpreted the term as “within”, as disclosed in instant application specification ¶[0114].
Claim Interpretation
Claims limitations “means for transmitting”, “means for selecting”, “means for multiplexing”, “means for allocation”, and “means for evaluating” of claims 26-30 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification discloses that the above means for limitations are computer implemented. A review of the specification does not provide sufficient algorithm(s) to implement the above means for limitations. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 12, 14-16, 20, 22-23, 26, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bayesteh et al. ( US 2021/0286045 A1), IDS submitted on 03/08/2024, hereinafter referred to as Bayesteh.
Regarding claim 1, Bayesteh teaches: A method of multiplexing radar signals with communications signals ( see ¶[0047], In some embodiments, it may also be desirable to provide data and sensing signal multiplexing within the radar and signal designs described herein), the method comprising:
transmitting (a) a wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like) or (b) wireless physical channel data, wherein the wireless synchronization signal comprises a periodically transmitted broadcast signal ( see ¶[0039], a radio frequency (RF) pulse signal may be defined by a waveform for both communication and sensing in periodic sensing cycles; ¶[0074], The purpose of the system 100 may be to provide content (e.g., voice, data, video, text, or the like) via broadcast, unicast, groupcast, narrowcast, user device to user device, or other communication techniques), and wherein the wireless physical channel data comprises a unicast signal directed to a user equipment (UE); and
transmitting a radar reference signal multiplexed with the wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like ) or the wireless physical channel data, wherein the radar reference signal is configured to, when correlated with a reflected version of the radar reference signal, serve as a basis for one or more radar measurements ( see ¶[0035], Radar sensing has been used for detecting a target's range (distance from the radar), velocity, and shape. For example, after a radar signal is transmitted, a reflection of that radar signal off of an object at a distance from the radar can be received and measured by the radar. Such reflection can indicate certain properties of the object, including its range, location, shape, and velocity. The range of the object can be determined based on the time-of-flight for the radar signal ).
Regarding claim 3, this claim recites “ The method of claim 1, further comprising:
selecting the wireless physical channel data, the wireless physical channel data corresponding to at least one physical channel; and
multiplexing, in one or more of a time domain or a frequency domain, resources associated with the radar reference signal with resources associated with the at least one physical channel, resulting in a radar reference signal multiplexed with the unicast signal;
wherein the transmitting of the radar reference signal comprises transmitting the radar reference signal multiplexed with the unicast signal from a transmission reception point (TRP). (Note: Examiner has given non-patentable weight because claim 3 limits a non-chosen alternative of claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, this claim recites “The method of claim 3, wherein the at least one physical channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)”. (Note: Examiner has given non-patentable weight because claim 4 further limits a non-chosen alternative of claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Bayesteh teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising multiplexing the radar reference signal with the wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like) or the wireless physical channel data in one or more of a time domain or a frequency domain according to an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) scheme ( see ¶[0189], OFDM may be a suitable choice of waveform for in-band sensing or out-of-band sensing. In some embodiments, OFDM waveforms are used for communication signals and for sensing signals to allow for the joint detection and processing of sensing signals and communication signals. The numerologies of the OFDM waveforms for the communication signals and sensing signals may be the same or different) .
Regarding claim 12, Bayesteh teaches: A transmission reception point (TRP) comprising (see FIG. 2B; ¶[0092]):
one or more wireless communications interfaces (see FIG. 2B; ¶[0139] The TRP 402 is a base station that transmits a downlink (DL) signal 430 to the UE 416. The DL signal 430 is an example of a communication signal carrying data. The TRP 402 also transmits a sensing signal 464 in the direction of the UEs 418, 420);
memory (Memory 258); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory and the one or more wireless communication interface (Processing Unit 250, Memory 258, TX 252, RX 254), and configured to :
transmit (a) a wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like) or (b) wireless physical channel data, wherein the wireless synchronization signal comprises a periodically transmitted broadcast signal ( see ¶[0039], a radio frequency (RF) pulse signal may be defined by a waveform for both communication and sensing in periodic sensing cycles; ¶[0074], The purpose of the system 100 may be to provide content (e.g., voice, data, video, text, or the like) via broadcast, unicast, groupcast, narrowcast, user device to user device, or other communication techniques), and wherein the wireless physical channel data comprises a unicast signal directed to a user equipment (UE); and
transmit a radar reference signal multiplexed with the wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like ) or the wireless physical channel data, wherein the radar reference signal is configured to, when correlated with a reflected version of the radar reference signal, serve as a basis for one or more radar measurements ( see ¶[0035], Radar sensing has been used for detecting a target's range (distance from the radar), velocity, and shape. For example, after a radar signal is transmitted, a reflection of that radar signal off of an object at a distance from the radar can be received and measured by the radar. Such reflection can indicate certain properties of the object, including its range, location, shape, and velocity. The range of the object can be determined based on the time-of-flight for the radar signal ).
Regarding claim 14, this claim recites: The TRP of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
select the wireless physical channel data, the wireless physical channel data corresponding to at least one physical channel; and
multiplex, in one or more of a time domain or a frequency domain, resources associated with the radar reference signal with resources associated with the at least one physical channel, resulting in a radar reference signal multiplexed with the unicast signal;
wherein the transmission of the radar reference signal comprises transmitting the radar reference signal multiplexed with the unicast signal from a transmission reception point (TRP).
(Note: Examiner has given non-patentable weight because claim 14 limits a non-chosen alternative of claim 12).
Regarding claim 15, this claim recites: The TRP of claim 14, wherein the at least one physical channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH. (Note: Examiner has given non-patentable weight because claim 15 further limits a non-chosen alternative of claim 12).
Regarding claim 16, Bayesteh teaches: The TRP of claim 12, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to multiplex the radar reference signal with the wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like) or the wireless physical channel data in one or more of a time domain or a frequency domain according to an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) scheme ( see ¶[0189], OFDM may be a suitable choice of waveform for in-band sensing or out-of-band sensing. In some embodiments, OFDM waveforms are used for communication signals and for sensing signals to allow for the joint detection and processing of sensing signals and communication signals. The numerologies of the OFDM waveforms for the communication signals and sensing signals may be the same or different).
Regarding claim 20, Bayesteh teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable apparatus comprising a storage medium, the storage medium comprising a plurality of instructions configured to, when executed by one or more processors, cause a computerized apparatus to ( see ¶[0093], Each memory 258 may include any suitable volatile or non-volatile storage and retrieval device(s), such as those described above in connection to the ED 110. The memory 258 stores instructions and data used, generated, or collected by the base station 170. For example, the memory 258 may store software instructions or modules configured to implement some or all of the functionality described herein and that are executed by the processing unit(s) 250) :
transmit (a) a wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like ) or (b) wireless physical channel data, wherein the wireless synchronization signal comprises a periodically transmitted broadcast signal ( see ¶[0039], a radio frequency (RF) pulse signal may be defined by a waveform for both communication and sensing in periodic sensing cycles; ¶[0074], The purpose of the system 100 may be to provide content (e.g., voice, data, video, text, or the like) via broadcast, unicast, groupcast, narrowcast, user device to user device, or other communication techniques), and wherein the wireless physical channel data comprises a unicast signal directed to a user equipment (UE) ; and
transmit a radar reference signal multiplexed with the wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like ) or the wireless physical channel data, wherein the radar reference signal is configured to, when correlated with a reflected version of the radar reference signal, serve as a basis for one or more radar measurements ( see ¶[0035], Radar sensing has been used for detecting a target's range (distance from the radar), velocity, and shape. For example, after a radar signal is transmitted, a reflection of that radar signal off of an object at a distance from the radar can be received and measured by the radar. Such reflection can indicate certain properties of the object, including its range, location, shape, and velocity. The range of the object can be determined based on the time-of-flight for the radar signal ).
Regarding claim 22, this claim recites: The non-transitory computer-readable apparatus of claim 20, wherein the plurality of instructions are further configured to, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computerized apparatus to:
select the wireless physical channel data, the wireless physical channel data corresponding to at least one physical channel; and
multiplex, in one or more of a time domain or a frequency domain, resources associated with the radar reference signal with resources associated with the at least one physical channel, resulting in a radar reference signal multiplexed with the unicast signal;
wherein the transmission of the radar reference signal comprises transmitting the radar reference signal multiplexed with the unicast signal from a transmission reception point (TRP); and
wherein the at least one physical channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). (Note: Examiner has given non-patentable weight because claim 22 limits a non-chosen alternative of claim 20).
Regarding claim 23, Bayesteh teaches: The non-transitory computer-readable apparatus of claim 20, wherein the plurality of instructions are further configured to, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computerized apparatus to: multiplex the radar reference signal with the wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like) or the wireless physical channel data in one or more of a time domain or a frequency domain according to an orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) scheme ( see ¶[0189], OFDM may be a suitable choice of waveform for in-band sensing or out-of-band sensing. In some embodiments, OFDM waveforms are used for communication signals and for sensing signals to allow for the joint detection and processing of sensing signals and communication signals. The numerologies of the OFDM waveforms for the communication signals and sensing signals may be the same or different).
Regarding claim 26, Bayesteh teaches: A computerized apparatus (see FIG. 2B, the base station 170) comprising :
means for transmitting (a) a wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0093], Each transmitter 252 includes any suitable structure for generating signals for wireless or wired transmission to one or more EDs or other devices; ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like) or (b) wireless physical channel data, wherein the wireless synchronization signal comprises a periodically transmitted broadcast signal ( see ¶[0039], a radio frequency (RF) pulse signal may be defined by a waveform for both communication and sensing in periodic sensing cycles; ¶[0074], The purpose of the system 100 may be to provide content (e.g., voice, data, video, text, or the like) via broadcast, unicast, groupcast, narrowcast, user device to user device, or other communication techniques), and wherein the wireless physical channel data comprises a unicast signal directed to a user equipment (UE); and
means for transmitting a radar reference signal multiplexed with the wireless synchronization signal ( see ¶[0093], Each transmitter 252 includes any suitable structure for generating signals for wireless or wired transmission to one or more EDs or other devices; ¶[0310], In the case that sensing signaling is reused as synchronization (SYNCH) channel (see S492C and S494C of FIG. 4C), signaling may also include bandwidth of Synch signal, SYNCH channel indices among the sensing symbols/slots, SYNCH channel sequence and the like ) or the wireless physical channel data, wherein the radar reference signal is configured to, when correlated with a reflected version of the radar reference signal, serve as a basis for one or more radar measurements ( see ¶[0035], Radar sensing has been used for detecting a target's range (distance from the radar), velocity, and shape. For example, after a radar signal is transmitted, a reflection of that radar signal off of an object at a distance from the radar can be received and measured by the radar. Such reflection can indicate certain properties of the object, including its range, location, shape, and velocity. The range of the object can be determined based on the time-of-flight for the radar signal ).
Regarding claim 28, this claim recites: The computerized apparatus of claim 26, further comprising:
means for selecting the wireless physical channel data, the wireless physical channel data corresponding to at least one physical channel; and
means for multiplexing, in one or more of a time domain or a frequency domain, resources associated with the radar reference signal with resources associated with the at least one physical channel, resulting in a radar reference signal multiplexed with the unicast signal;
wherein the transmitting of the radar reference signal comprises transmitting the radar reference signal multiplexed with the unicast signal from a transmission reception point (TRP); and
wherein the at least one physical channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). (Note: Examiner has given non-patentable weight because claim 28 limits a non-chosen alternative of claim 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 13, 21, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayesteh in view of Braun et al. ( US 2023/0358852 A1), hereinafter referred to as Braun.
Regarding claim 2, Bayesteh teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising:
selecting the wireless synchronization signal, the wireless synchronization signal comprising a synchronization signal block (SSB) ( see ¶[0250], the sensing signal may be reused as a synchronization (SYNCH) channel ); and
multiplexing, in one or more of a time domain or a frequency domain, resources associated with the radar reference signal with resources associated with the SSB, resulting in a radar reference signal multiplexed with the SSB ( see ¶[0252], An example frame 390 is illustrated in FIG. 3F, where M denotes slots/symbols for sensing signals multiplexed with communications data. As illustrated in FIG. 3F, some of the sensing symbols/slots may be used for sensing only (denoted as S), while other sensing symbols/slots are multiplexed with communications data ) ;
wherein the transmitting of the radar reference signal comprises periodically broadcasting the radar reference signal multiplexed with the SSB from a transmission reception point (TRP) ( see ¶[0055], Sensing agents are nodes in a network that can assist in the sensing operation. These nodes can be stand-alone nodes dedicated to just sensing operations, or other nodes, for example transmit points (TPs) including transmit and receive points (TRPs) or UEs, which can perform both sensing operations and communication transmissions; ¶[0039], a radio frequency (RF) pulse signal may be defined by a waveform for both communication and sensing in periodic sensing cycles. An electronic device may transmit the RF pulse signal in an active phase of a periodic sensing cycle and sense a reflection of the RF pulse signal reflected from an object in a passive phase of the sensing cycle; ¶[0074], The purpose of the system 100 may be to provide content (e.g., voice, data, video, text, or the like) via broadcast, unicast, groupcast, narrowcast, user device to user device, or other communication techniques).
Although Bayesteh teaches a synchronization channel and utilizations within New Radio or other telecommunication generations ( see ¶[0250] and ¶[0081]), Bayesteh, however, fails to explicitly teach information related to the use of synchronization signal block (SSB).
However, Braun, in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches signal multiplexing of data and radar transmissions ( see Braun, ¶[0036]; ¶[0041] ) and the use of SSB signal (¶[0060]- ¶[0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bayesteh's teachings with Braun's above teaching, results in improved functioning of communications networks and their nodes and, therefore constitute an improvement at least to the technological field of transmissions of data and radar signals ( see ¶[0099] ). Known work in one field of endeavor (Braun prior art) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or different one (Bayesteh prior art) based on design incentives ( improve the technological field of transmissions of data and radar signals) or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one or ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 13, 21, and 27 recite similar limitations of claims 2 and are thus rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6-11, 17-19, 24-25, and 29-30 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Akkarakaran et al. ( US 2019/0394747 A1), Synchronization signal block (SSB)-based positioning measurement signals
Cha et al. ( US 2020/0367193 A1), Method for obtaining positioning information in wireless communication system and apparatus therefor
/MANG BOI THAWNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476