DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 101- Interpretation
In claim 9, a "computer-readable recording medium" is being recited. A person of ordinary skill would not understand “computer readable recording medium” as transitory signals, such as carrier waves, to record or store instructions in memory systems. This is because transitory signals, by their very nature, are fleeting and do not persist over time. The claim language thus demonstrates that claim 9 is not directed to a transient signal, but rather to a non-transient storage medium (see, Sequoia Technology, LLC v. Dell, Inc). and therefore, its statutory and 35 USC 101 rejection has not given.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2024/0089921) (hereafter Ma) (See IDS) in view of Moderator (Mediatek), “Summary for potential power saving Enhancements” (hereafter Mediatek) (See IDS).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Ma discloses a method of receiving a signal by a user equipment, UE (see, para [0204], Fig. 2b), in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
monitoring a specific signal related to whether the UE is required to detect paging downlink control information, DCI, in a radio resource control, RRC, idle or RRC inactive state (paragraph 45 A UE in an RRC IDLE state or an RRC INACTIVE state needs to monitor a PO in each paging cycle. The PO includes multiple PDCCH monitor occasions. A PDCCH detected by the UE on the PO is referred to as paging downlink control information (paging DCI), and information carried by a PDSCH scheduled by the paging DCI is referred to as a paging message. To successfully detect the paging DCI and the paging message...), and
performing detection of the paging DCI in a corresponding paging occasion, PO, based on at least one of a plurality of conditions configured in the UE being satisfied as a result of monitoring the specific signal (paragraph 61 The signal sending method and apparatus, the signal receiving method and apparatus, the device, and the storage medium are described in detail in conjunction with the embodiments below. paragraph 63 In S11, a PEI signal is received before a PO, where the PEI signal is used for indicating whether the UE receives the PO in a paging cycle. paragraph 68 Paging DCI is received),
wherein the plurality of conditions configured in the UE for performing the detection of the paging DCI includes a first condition for performing the detection of the paging DCI in a state in which the specific signal is detected as a result of monitoring the specific signal (paragraph 61 The signal sending method and apparatus, the signal receiving method and apparatus, the device, and the storage medium are described in detail in conjunction with the embodiments below. paragraph 63 In S11, a PEI signal is received before a PO, where the PEI signal is used for indicating whether the UE receives the PO in a paging cycle. paragraph 68 Paging DCI is received) and
at least one second condition for performing the detection of the paging DCI even in a state in which the specific signal is not detected as a result of monitoring the specific signal (paragraph 123 In an embodiment, the method further includes the following... paragraph 124-126, e.g. paragraph 124 When the PEI signal is not detected on a PEI time- frequency domain resource or no detection opportunities exist in the paging cycle, the UE receives the PO. paragraph 297 For example, if the UE is configured with a PEI time-frequency domain resource but detects no PEI or no detection opportunities exist in the paging cycle, the UE performs a predefined operation. For example, the predefined operation is that the UE receives paging DCI on the PO. paragraph 298 For example, no PEI detection opportunities include that at least one or all of the PEI detection opportunities collide or overlap).
But, does not explicitly disclose wherein the UE performs the detection of the paging DCI at least once during a pre-configured time duration based on the at least one second condition although the specific signal is not detected.
However, in same field of endeavor, Mediatek teaches on page 11, the MediaTek, proposal 9 where, the 4 millisecond Paging occasion processing is assumed for paging monitoring/reception across multiple beams and even though UE in light sleep mode means not receiving any signal, yet the PO reception in advance is performed as shown in Fig. 1, Also, see, page 13, the Fig. 2, where before the light sleep period, the Paging occasions processing/reception is performed. in 2.2. UE processing timeline, Proposal 1. The following updated parameters can be considered in the evaluation methodology in IDLE/INACTIVE state for FRl and From UE power consumption point of view, as shown in Figure 1, for each paging occasion, 1. The UE needs to wake up in advance to achieve the requires level of synchronization accuracy. How much time in advance and the exact procedures a UE follows before PO reception heavily depends on UE implementation and most likely also depends on UE RF condition. That is, a UE in a poor RF condition may need to wake up earlier than a UE in a good RF condition, in order to achieve sufficient synchronization. In case the UE needs to wake up before-hand to monitor multiple SSBs, the UE may go into light sleep between SSB monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mediatek with the Ma, as a whole, so as to performs the detection of the paging DCI by the UE, in advance based on the at least one second condition although the specific signal is not detected, the motivation is to improve the power consumption.
Regarding claim 2, Ma further discloses the method, wherein the pre-configured time duration is determined based on a periodicity for updating system information or an integer multiple of a paging periodicity (see, para[0047]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 3, Ma further discloses the method, wherein, from among a plurality of POs, a location of a PO for detecting the paging DCI based on the at least one second condition is pre-configured by a base station (BS) (see, paras [0047]-[0051], [0216], [0217]).
Regarding claim 5, Ma further discloses the method, wherein the at least one second condition is not satisfied based on detection of the specific signal at least once during the pre-configured time duration (see, para [0297] and [0298], no PEI detection opportunities include that at least one or all of the PEI detection opportunities collide or overlap).
Regarding claim 7, Ma further discloses the method, wherein the specific signal is a paging early indication (PEI) signal or a wake-up signal (paragraph 61 The signal sending method and apparatus, the signal receiving method and apparatus, the device, and the storage medium are described in detail in conjunction with the embodiments below. paragraph 63 In S11, a PEI signal is received before a PO, where the PEI signal is used for indicating whether the UE receives the PO in a paging cycle. paragraph 68 Paging DCI is received).
Regarding claim 8 the combined teachings further disclose the method wherein, from among a plurality of POs, a number of POs for detecting the paging DCI based on the at least one second condition is determined based on a length of the pre-configured time duration (see, Mediatek, section 2.2. page 11, the PO duration of paging monitoring is 4 milisecond).
Regarding claim 9, Ma further discloses a computer-readable recording medium in which a program for performing the method of claim 1 is stored (see, para [0026]).
Regarding claim 11, Ma further discloses the device of claim 10, further comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit or receive a radio signal under control of the processor (see, para [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Ma further discloses the device, wherein the device is a user equipment (UE) operating in a wireless communication system (para [0045]).
Regarding claim 13, Ma further discloses the device, wherein the device is an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or a digital signal processing device configured to control a user equipment (UE) operating in a wireless communication system (para [0532]).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Ma discloses a method of transmitting a signal by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (see, para [0043]), the method comprising:
transmitting a configuration for a specific signal related to whether a user equipment (UE) is required to detect paging downlink control information (DCI) in a radio resource control (RRC) idle or RRC inactive state (paragraph 45 A UE in an RRC IDLE state or an RRC INACTIVE state needs to monitor a PO in each paging cycle. The PO includes multiple PDCCH monitor occasions. A PDCCH detected by the UE on the PO is referred to as paging downlink control information (paging DCI), and information carried by a PDSCH scheduled by the paging DCI is referred to as a paging message. To successfully detect the paging DCI and the paging message...para [0071], information about the PEI receiving window is configured by a base station according to one or more of the following types of information: a UE capability, a UE type, or DRX configuration information); and
transmitting the paging DCI in a corresponding paging occasion (PO) based on at least one of a plurality of conditions configured in the UE being satisfied (paragraph 61 The signal sending method and apparatus, the signal receiving method and apparatus, the device, and the storage medium are described in detail in conjunction with the embodiments below. paragraph 63 In S11, a PEI signal is received before a PO, where the PEI signal is used for indicating whether the UE receives the PO in a paging cycle. paragraph 68 Paging DCI is received, see para [0142], paging DCI is received, para [0297], if the UE is configured with a PEI time-frequency domain resource but detects no PEI or no detection opportunities exist in the paging cycle, the UE performs a predefined operation. For example, the predefined operation is that the UE receives paging DCI on the PO. The predefined operation is that the UE does not receive the paging DCI on the PO. For example, if the UE is configured with the PEI time-frequency domain resource but detects no PEI or no detection opportunities exist in the paging cycle, the UE omits PO reception in the paging cycle and performs a sleep operation by default. For example, if the UE is configured with the PEI time-frequency domain resource but detects no PEI or no detection opportunities exist in the paging cycle, whether the UE receives paging is indicated by a higher-layer parameter);
wherein the plurality of conditions includes a first condition for transmitting the paging DCI in a state in which the specific signal is transmitted based on the configuration for the specific signal (paragraph 61 The signal sending method and apparatus, the signal receiving method and apparatus, the device, and the storage medium are described in detail in conjunction with the embodiments below. paragraph 63 In S11, a PEI signal is received before a PO, where the PEI signal is used for indicating whether the UE receives the PO in a paging cycle. paragraph 68 Paging DCI is received) and at least one second condition for transmitting the paging DCI even in a state in which the specific signal is not transmitted (paragraph 123 In an embodiment, the method further includes the following... paragraph 124-126, e.g. paragraph 124 When the PEI signal is not detected on a PEI time- frequency domain resource or no detection opportunities exist in the paging cycle, the UE receives the PO. paragraph 297 For example, if the UE is configured with a PEI time-frequency domain resource but detects no PEI or no detection opportunities exist in the paging cycle, the UE performs a predefined operation. For example, the predefined operation is that the UE receives paging DCI on the PO. paragraph 298 For example, no PEI detection opportunities include that at least one or all of the PEI detection opportunities collide or overlap...).
Ma further discloses memory and processor as per claim 15 (see, para [0043], [0532] and [0533]).
But does not explicitly disclose wherein the BS performs transmission of the paging DCI at least once during a pre-configured time duration based on the at least one second condition although the specific signal is not transmitted.
However, in same field of endeavor, Mediatek teaches in 2.2. UE processing timeline, Proposal 1. The following updated parameters can be considered in the evaluation methodology in IDLE/INACTIVE state for FRl and From UE power consumption point of view, as shown in Figure 1, for each paging occasion, 1. The UE needs to wake up in advance to achieve the requires level of synchronization accuracy. How much time in advance and the exact procedures a UE follows before PO reception heavily depends on UE implementation and most likely also depends on UE RF condition. That is, a UE in a poor RF condition may need to wake up earlier than a UE in a good RF condition, in order to achieve sufficient synchronization. In case the UE needs to wake up before-hand to monitor multiple SSBs, the UE may go into light sleep between SSB monitoring.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Mediatek with the Ma, as a whole, so as to performs the detection of the paging DCI by the UE, in advance based on the at least one second condition although the specific signal is not detected, the motivation is to improve the power consumption.
8. Claim(s) 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma and MediaTek and further in view of Moderator (MediaTek): Summary of paging enhancements (hereafter 3GPP) (see IDS).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings do not explicitly disclose the method, wherein, based on at least one second condition being satisfied, the UE performs only detection of the paging DCI without receiving a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the paging DCI. However, in same field of endeavor, 3GPP teaches section page 70, Nordic Proposal-3, a paging PDSCH is not scheduled by DCI. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of 3GPP with the MA and MediaTek, as a whole, so as to configure the UE performing the detection of the paging DCI without receiving PDSCH scheduled by paging DCI, the motivation is to reduce the power consumption.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings further disclose the method wherein the at least one second condition is satisfied based on short message information or a tracking reference signal (TRS) availability indication included in the paging DCI being not acquired at least once during the pre-configured time duration (see, 3GPP, section 2.7, page 39, HI Silicon observation 11, Observation 11: PDCCH-based PEI carrying 8 sub-group indication can provide the most efficient resource utilization with comparable power saving gain compared to TRS based PEI. Observation 12, PDCCH-based PEI carrying 8 sub-group indication can provide better power saving performance with smaller resource overhead compared to SSS based PEI).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (US 12538227) discloses signal sending method and apparatus, signal receiving method and apparatus.
Agiwal et al. (US12520276) discloses method and apparatus for transmitting and receiving paging in a wireless communication system.
Xu et al. (US 2024/0381309) discloses remote UE group paging for relay power savings.
Ozturk et al. (US2024/0251382) discloses busy indication for paging in a wireless network.
Hosseini et al. (US2024/0196481) discloses system information block and paging transmission priority for sitelink relaying.
Shi (US2024/0098691) discloses paging processing method, communication device and storage medium.
Fu (US2024/0064699) discloses paging early indication.
/DHAVAL V PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631