DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Response to Election/Restriction and Amendment filed 06/15/2026, wherein claim 1 was amended and claim 15 was cancelled.
Claims 1-14 and 16-32 are pending.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the IRAK inhibitor compound,
, and the patient population of a patient having or expected to develop acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS), in the reply filed on 06/15/2026, is acknowledged.
In the course of the search, the IRAK inhibitor compound was broadened to include the species
.
Claims 10, 16-27 and 32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-9, 11-14, and 28-31 are examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-9, 11-14, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-In claim 1, the phrase “a patient. . .expected to develop acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS),” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what baseline or parameters are applied to determine which patients are those “expected to develop ARDS,” in comparison to those patients who are not expected to develop ARDS. Neither the specification nor the prior art further, definitively, defines this patient population.
In view of compact prosecution, for the purpose of applying prior art, this phase is interpreted as any disease or condition that can cause ARDS in any part of its patient population. For example, the instant specification teaches that patients with COVID-19 can develop ARDS. As such, the instant claim is interpreted such that a patient with COVID-19 is “a patient. . .expected to develop ARDS.”
All other claims not specifically recited are rejected for depending from an indefinite claim and failing to cure the deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
-Claim 13 depends from claim 12, however, claim 12 does not recite “H” as a Markush member of “R.” As such the recitation of “H” in the Markush group of “R” in claim 13, fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 12.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-14, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021/026451 to Taylor (published 02/11/2021, IDS of 03/08/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Taylor teaches pyrazole compounds for use as IRAK inhibitors for the treatment of cytokine release syndrome (abstract). As evidenced by the instant specification, a consequence of a cytokine storm is acute lung injury, which can progress into ARDS (pg. 1)
Regarding claims 2-9, 11-14, Taylor specifically teaches:
, instant VII-1 and VI-176 (pg. 211, claim 12) and
, the elected species and instant VII-18 (pg. 189) as the IRAK inhibitors.
Regarding claims 28-31, Taylor teaches oral, injectable, and nasal administration by inhalation or insufflation as modes of administration (pg. 123).
Claims 1 and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2021/0188809 to Chan (published 06/2021, PTO-892).
Chan teaches a method of treating an inflammatory disease such as ARDS by administering an IRAK-4 inhibitor (claims 25-28).
Regarding claims 28-31, Chan teaches oral, intravenous, and inhalation as modes of administration ([0187]-[0188]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-14, and 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/172560 to Kelley (published 2016, IDS of 07/25/2025) in view of Pan (Selective inhibition of interleukin-1 receptor associated kinase 1 ameliorates lipopolysaccharide-induced sepsis in mice, published 2020, PTO-892).
Kelley teaches pyrazole compounds for use as IRAK inhibitors (abstract), such as
(pg. 4; pg. 223, claim 36; pg. 224, claim 40).
Kelley specifically teaches:
, instant VII-1 and VI-176 (pg. 50; pg. 247, claim 64).
Kelley teaches its compounds as useful for the treatment of bacterial infection, viral infection, respiratory diseases, and more (pg. 478, claim 68), such as pneumonia and sepsis (pg. 249, claim 70), which are diseases wherein ARDS can be expected to occur in a patient.
While Kelley teaches a method of treating diseases for which an IRAK inhibitor is indicated, such as sepsis, it differs from that of instant claim 1 in that it does not explicitly teach a method of treating sepsis, a disease in which a patient is expected to develop ARDS, by administering its compounds.
Pan teaches that IRAK inhibitors, especially IRAK1 and 4, are useful in the treatment of sepsis (abstract; pgs. 1-2, Introduction).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select sepsis as the disease/condition treated by the methods of Kelley, to arrive at instant claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a selection, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Kelley teaches a method of treating diseases by administering IRAK inhibitors,
-Kelley teaches sepsis as a disease treated by its methods, and
-Pan teaches treating sepsis with IRAK inhibitors.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a selection, to predictably arrive at an effective method of treating sepsis.
Regarding claims 2-9, and 14 the instant specification teaches its compounds as inhibiting IRAK1 and 4 (pg. 25), wherein
of Kelley is instant VII-1 and VI-176.
Regarding claims 11-13,
differs from that of instant claims 11-13 in that it does not teach an aliphatic, carboxyl ester, or alkyl phosphate at the instant R position.
Kelley teaches:
(pg. 226, claims 43-46).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to substitute the H in
with aliphatic, alkyl, carboxyl ester, or alkyl phosphate, to arrive at instant claims 11-13. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Kelley teaches that its R10 position can be hydrogen, aliphatic, alkyl, carboxyl ester, or alkyl phosphate,
-Kelley exemplifies similar compounds with these substituent groups for use as IRAK inhibitors, such as compound II-173 on pg. 204; II-164 on pg. 201; II-163 on pg. 200; II-107, II-105, II-103 on pg. 186; II-98 on pg. 184; II-97 on pg. 183; II-85 on pg. 179; II-84 on pg. 178; II-83 on pg. 177; II81, II-82 on pg. 176; II-80 on pg. 175; II-77, II-78 on pg. 174 and more on pgs. 171, 165, 164, 160, 158, 157, 156.
As such, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution to predictably arrive at a structurally and functionally similar compound.
Regarding claims 28-31, Kelley teaches oral, nasal, inhalation, insufflation, and injection as modes of administration (pg. 85, “B.”). Specifically regarding claim 30, inhalation is pulmonary administration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 14 and 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,384,775 (PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘775 claims compounds of instant Formulas IV and VI, and species such as
(I-1 of ‘775).
‘775 teaches its compounds for the treatment of ARDS (Col. 42, lines 45-55), and for administration orally, via injections, nasally, by inhalation or insufflation (Col. 46, lines 40-45).
Consistent with Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Col, 611 F. 3d 1381, 1387 (CAFC 2010), it is permissible to use a compound claim to reject a method of use claim where that method of use is disclosed in the specification of the application claiming the compound. According to the Sun Pharma. Court, “[i]t would shock one’s sense of justice if an inventor could receive a patent upon a composition of matter, setting out at length in the specification the useful purposes of such composition, . . .and then prevent the public from making any beneficial use of such product by securing patents upon each of the uses to which it may be adapted. . .”.
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-14, and 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,370,787 (PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘787 claims compounds of
(claims 1-20).
‘787 claims a method of treating a disease or condition, such as a lung injury, respiratory diseases, bacterial infection, or viral infection, for which an IRAK inhibitor is indicated comprising administering a compounds of instant formula VII-18. As evidenced by pg. 1 of the instant specification lung injury can progress into ARDS.
‘787 teaches its compounds for the treatment of cytokine release syndrome (Col. 61, lines 1-15), a condition which is expected to develop ARDS, and for administration orally, via injections, nasally, by inhalation or insufflation (Col. 64, lines 39-45).
Consistent with Sun Pharmaceutical Industries v. Eli Lilly and Col, 611 F. 3d 1381, 1387 (CAFC 2010), it is permissible to use a compound claim to reject a method of use claim where that method of use is disclosed in the specification of the application claiming the compound. According to the Sun Pharma. Court, “[i]t would shock one’s sense of justice if an inventor could receive a patent upon a composition of matter, setting out at length in the specification the useful purposes of such composition, . . .and then prevent the public from making any beneficial use of such product by securing patents upon each of the uses to which it may be adapted. . .”.
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-14, and 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,441,723 (PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘723 claims a salt of a compound of instant VII-18 (claim 1)
‘723 claims a method of treating a disease or condition, such as a lung injury, respiratory diseases, bacterial infection, or viral infection, for which an IRAK inhibitor is indicated comprising administering a salt of a compound of instant formula VII-18 (Claim 3). As evidenced by pg. 1 of the instant specification lung injury can progress into ARDS.
Regarding claims 28-31, while ‘723 does not claim modes of administration, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer the compound of ‘723 orally, or using an inhaler or nebulizer, to predictably arrive at a customary method of administering its compounds to a subject.
Claims 1-3 and 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 10,941,140 (PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘140 claims a method for inhibiting IRAK in a subject comprising administering to a subject a compound of instant formula IV(claim 1).
‘140 claims lung injury, respiratory diseases, bacterial infection, or viral infection, as diseases to be treated (Claim 20). As evidenced by pg. 1 of the instant specification lung injury can progress into ARDS.
Regarding claims 28-31, while ‘140 does not claim modes of administration, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer the compound of ‘140 orally, or using an inhaler or nebulizer, to predictably arrive at a customary method of administering its compounds to a subject.
Claims 1-2 and 28-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15, 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,774,076 (PTO-892).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘076 claims a method for treating a disease or condition for which an IRAK4 modulator or inhibitor is indicated comprising administering a compound (claim 1).
‘076 claims sepsis as the disease (claim 20), wherein sepsis is a disease that can be expected to develop ARDS.
Regarding claims 28-31, while ‘076 does not claim modes of administration, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer the compound of ‘076 orally, or using an inhaler or nebulizer, to predictably arrive at a customary method of administering its compounds to a subject.
Claims 1-6 and 28-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-17 of copending Application No. 18/963,039 (claim set dated 07/09/2025, reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘039 claims compounds of instant formula VI (claims 13-17).
‘039 claims a method for treating a disease or condition for which an IRAK inhibitor is indicated, wherein the disease or condition is lung injury, respiratory disease, bacterial infection, and viral infection (claims 25-27, 29, 33). As evidenced by pg. 1 of the instant specification lung injury can progress into ARDS.
Regarding claims 28-31, while ‘039 does not claim modes of administration, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer the compound of ‘039 orally, or using an inhaler or nebulizer, to predictably arrive at a customary method of administering its compounds to a subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2 and 28-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18-21 of copending Application No. 18/204,304 (claim set dated 03/20/2026, reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘304 claims a method for treating a disease or condition for which an IRAK inhibitor is indicated, wherein the disease or condition is lung injury, respiratory disease, bacterial infection, and viral infection (claims 1, 18-21). As evidenced by pg. 1 of the instant specification lung injury can progress into ARDS.
Regarding claims 28-31, while ‘304 does not claim modes of administration, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer the compound of ‘304 orally, or using an inhaler or nebulizer, to predictably arrive at a customary method of administering its compounds to a subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-14 and 28-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-16, 31-41 of copending Application No. 19/262,001 (claim set dated 09/23/2025, reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
‘001 claims a method for treating a disease or condition for which an IRAK inhibitor is indicated, wherein the disease or condition is lung injury, respiratory disease, bacterial infection, and viral infection, by administering a compound of instant formula VI (claims 15-16, 31-41). As evidenced by pg. 1 of the instant specification lung injury can progress into ARDS.
Regarding claims 28-31, while ‘001 does not claim modes of administration, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to administer the compound of ‘001 orally, or using an inhaler or nebulizer, to predictably arrive at a customary method of administering its compounds to a subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622