CTFR 18/690,720 CTFR 85359 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5, the phrase “comprising a plurality of sensors, including the sensor, coupled to the support structure” is indefinite. It is unclear how a sensor, as set forth in claim 1, is a plurality of sensors. In other words, claim 1 should recite “at least one sensor” to define “the at least one sensor includes a plurality of sensors” in claim 5. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 5 recites the broad recitation “a plurality of sensors, coupled to the support structure”, and the claim also recites “including the sensor” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 4-6, 9, 10, 12, 14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 20170274489 to Baratta . In re claim 1, Baratta teaches an instrument package for a saw blade, comprising: a support structure (Paras 0113,0120) configured to support the instrument package (1602) at least partially within a bore (2104) of the saw blade, wherein the support structure (Paras 0113,0120) comprises a first and second mounting portions configured to couple to respective first and second sides of the saw blade (as shown in at least Figure 24) to secure the instrument package (1602); a sensor (1610) coupled to the support structure and configured to measure an operating characteristic of the saw blade (Paras 0001, 0069, 0119); storage configured to receive measurements of the operating characteristic from the sensor (Paras 0113, 00119); and at least one power source configured to provide power to the sensor and the storage (Para 0119). In re claim 4, wherein the sensor includes at least one of a thermocouple and an accelerometer (Para 0119). In re claim 5, comprising a plurality of sensors, including the sensor, coupled to the support structure, wherein the plurality of sensors is configured to monitor temperature, strain, acceleration, wobble, and vibration of the saw blade (Paras 0106, 0115, 0119, 0125). In re claim 6, further comprising a wireless communication system coupled to at least one of the storage and configured to communicate with a remote computing device (Para 0119) ( and capable of being able ) to control one or more operating parameters of the saw blade, comprising a rotational rate, a cutting depth, an advance rate, and an advance pressure. In re claim 9, wherein the control of operating parameters of the saw blade comprising adjusting the operating parameters in response to feedback from the sensor indicating a vibration outside of a threshold vibration profile (Para 0160). Note, the operating parameters of the saw blade of Baratta merely have to be capable of being controlled by adjust operating parameters in response to feedback form the sensor, in which it is. In re claim 10, wherein the support structure is ( capable of being ) connectable to a removable cutting element of the saw blade (Figs. 26, 53). In re claim 12, Baratta teaches an instrumented saw blade, comprising: a saw blade body (2302) having a circumferential surface, wherein the saw blade body comprises one or more bores (2606) and one or more slots (as shown in at least Figure 26) extending through the saw body, and at least one of more slots extends from at least one bore of the one or more bores to the circumferential surface of the saw blade body; a plurality of cutting elements (as shown in at least Figure 26) connected to the circumferential surface; and an instrument package (1602) connected to the saw blade body, the instrument package including a sensor (1610) configured to measure an operating characteristic of the instrumented saw blade, wherein the instrument package (1632) is disposed at least partially within the at least one bore of the at least one bore more bores, and the instrument package (1602) comprises first and second mounting portions (Para 0113) coupled to respective first and second sides of the saw blade to secure the instrument package to the saw blade body. Para 0121, discloses the instrument package (1602) can have externally extending components which are “hardwired” to the internal microchip package, including and LED. It has been interpreted the LED is part of the instrument package and disposed in the bore. In re claim 14, wherein the sensor includes a thermocouple (Para 0119) (capable of being) connected to at least one of the plurality of cutting elements (as shown in at least Figure 26). In re claim 16, Baratta teaches a method for collecting cutting information, comprising: installing an instrument package (1602) on a saw blade (2602), wherein the saw blade comprises one or more bores (2606) and one or more slots extending through a body of the saw blade and the at least one slot of the one or more slots extends from at least one bore of the one or more bores to a circumferential surface (as shown in at least Figure 26) of the saw blade, wherein installing the instrument package on the saw blade comprises: inserting the instrument package (1602) at least partially within the at last one bore of the one or more bores; and securing the instrument package (1602) to the body of the saw blade (as shown in at least Figure 25) via first and second mounting portions (Para 0113) coupled to respective first and second sides of the body of the saw blade. In re claim 17, comprising, during operation of the saw blade, collecting at least one operating characteristic of the saw blade using the instrument package (0119); and based on the at least one operating characteristic, adjusting one or more operating parameters of the saw blade (Para 0064, 0082, 0070, 0124, 0126, 0128, 0130). In re claim 18, wherein adjusting the one or more operating parameters includes adjusting a rotational rate or cutting depth of the saw blade (Paras 0082,0130). In re claim 19, wherein collecting the at least one operating characteristic includes collecting at least one of a temperature, and adjusting the one or more operating parameters further comprises: in response to feedback from the instrument package (1602) indicating the temperature above an upper temperature threshold, selectively reducing the rotational rate (Paras 0089, 0090, 0111, 0124, 0130); in response to feedback from the instrument package (1602) indicating the temperature below a lower temperature threshold, selectively increasing the rotational rate (Paras 0089, 0090, 0111, 0124, 0130); in response to feedback from the instrument package (1602) indicating the vibration outside of a threshold vibration profiled, adjusting one ore more operating parameters of the saw blade (Para 0130). In re claim 20, further comprising transmitting the at least one operating characteristic to a remote computing device from the instrument package (Para 0119). In re claim 21, wherein adjusting the one or more operating parameters of the saw blade comprises coordinating adjustments of the one or more operating parameters between the saw blade and an additional saw blade based on the collected at least one operating characteristic (Para 0070) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 3, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baretta in view of JP 2001036259 to Asano et al. or CN101438332 to Haywood . Regarding claims 2 and 13, Baretta teaches the first mounting portion, but does not teach the first mounting portion has an electronics chassis supporting the sensor, and the electronics chassis is configured to mount in the bore of the saw blade. Asano teaches an electronic chassis (2) supporting a PCB (4) which mounts into a support structure having a first and second mounting portion. Haywood teaches an electronic chassis (3) and a first mounting portion (1) and a second mounting portion (13) with holes for receiving screws. In light of the teachings of Asano or Haywood, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been provided the support structure of Baretta with an electronic chassis to fasten to the support structure in order to maintain protection against the environment and provide efficient thermal management. In re claim 3, modified Baretta teaches wherein the first and second mounting portions are coupled together via one or more fasteners (Paras 0112,013; Pg. 5, lines 39-40, Pg. 6, lines 1-7), and the electronic chassis further supports the at least one power source and a wireless communication system (Paras 0115,0119). In re claim 11, modified Baretta teaches wherein the first mounting portion comprises a first circular plate (Para 0113), the second mounting portion comprises a second circular plate (Para 0113), the first circular plate has a first annular protrusion (as shown in at least Figure 2, the first circular plate has an annular protrusion around the perimeter of the plate) having the electronics chassis, the electronics chassis comprises a circuit board (Para 0123,0124), and the first annular protrusion is configured to insert into a circular shape of the bore of the saw blade. Note, the preamble is directed to an instrument package and the first annular protrusion merely has to be capable of being inserted into a bore of the saw blade, in which it is . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baratta in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20210402626 to Heimendinger . In re claims 7 and 8, Baratta teaches wherein at least one power source includes a battery (Para 0119), but does not teach the power source is a rechargeable battery and the power source includes an energy harvesting system. Heimendinger teaches in the art of cutting, a blade device having printed circuit board with a microcontroller (562), a power supply (560, including rechargeable batteries, Para 0027,0028), and a power receiver (564, Paras 0028, 0072). An energy harvesting means, as a coil or antenna can be used to power the knife or recharge a battery (Para 0214). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Baratta with an energy harvesting and rechargeable battery arrangement as taught by Heimendinger which is advantageous for reducing the need to replace batteries which can lead to cost savings . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed February 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the instrument package of Baratta is not at least partially within a bore of the saw and that Baratta teaches mounting on a side. Applicant further argues Baratta does not teach first and second mounting portions coupled to the respective first and second sides of the saw . Baratta teaches an instrument package (1402/1602) which is mounted in a bore of a saw. Para [0131] specifically teaches the microchip package can be positioned in a corresponding opening 2104 in the core 2102, such as may be laser cut, and potted in place, for example with 2216 epoxy. This does not preclude the instrument package from being supported at least partially within the bore. Figure 23 provides details that the window which receives the instrument package is laser cut into both side skims (of the blade). Baratta further provides details to the support structure of the instrument package and specifically that the support structure is formed from two opposite shells or layers. This satisfies the limitation that the instrument package has a support structure including first and second mounting portions. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JENNIFER S MATTHEWS whose telephone number is (571)270-5843. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Boyer Ashley can be reached at 571-272-4502. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/690,720 Page 2 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/690,720 Page 3 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/690,720 Page 4 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/690,720 Page 5 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/690,720 Page 6 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/690,720 Page 7 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/690,720 Page 8 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/690,720 Page 9 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/690,720 Page 10 Art Unit: 3724 Application/Control Number: 18/690,720 Page 11 Art Unit: 3724