Claim Rejections 35 USC 112(B)
Claims 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 15 and 21 recite dosages with inconsistent units of measurement, as some of the dosages are “mg/ ” or lack the units of measurement altogether.
Furthermore, it is not clear what “about” means in this context, as there are a wide range of numbers from .5 to 30 mg/kg in intervals of .5, which would seemingly cover the “about” intervals and limit entire range of the claimed dosages, as each dose is “about” the next .5-unit intervals listed. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections 35 USC 112(A)
Claims 11, 13, 15-17, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating PDAC with AMD-500 administration, does not reasonably provide enablement for any AXL polypeptide variant alone or in combination with other treatments to treat PDAC. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is "undue." These factors include, but are not limited to:
(1) The breadth of the claims; (2) The nature of the invention; (3) The state of the prior art; (4) The level of one of ordinary skill; (5) The level of predictability in the art; (6) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (7) The existence of working examples; and (8) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (reversing the PTO's determination that claims directed to methods for detection of hepatitis B surface antigens did not satisfy the enablement requirement). In Wands, the court noted that there was no disagreement as to the facts, but merely a disagreement as to the interpretation of the data and the conclusion to be made from the facts. In re Wands, 858 F.2d at 736-40, 8 USPQ2d at 1403-07. The Court held that the specification was enabling with respect to the claims at issue and found that "there was considerable direction and guidance" in the specification; there was "a high level of skill in the art at the time the application was filed;" and "all of the methods needed to practice the invention were well known." 858 F.2d at 740, 8 USPQ2d at 1406. After considering all the factors related to the enablement issue, the court concluded that "it would not require undue experimentation to obtain antibodies needed to practice the claimed invention." Id., 8 USPQ2d at 1407. The analysis of these factors follows.
(1) The nature of the invention and (5) The breadth of the claims:
The invention is drawn to a method of treating pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma in a patient comprising administering any soluble AXL variant as a first line therapy. Soluble AXL polypeptide variants is not limited in any way to a particular structural core in the claims, the types of fusion proteins, small molecule, any fragment of AXL is an AXL variant polypeptide, as there is no structural limitation, and the claimed method does not limit the definition or what can encompass the limitation “variant.” Therefore, the breadth of the claim is not supported for any peptides other than those known for efficacy in treating PDAC or used in the examples of the instant specification, as the specification that do not limit how far the AXL polypeptides can deviate from the wild-type portions required for treatment. As such, the breadth of the claims has no structural guidance for the portions of the 887-residue human wild-type AXL polypeptide, SEQ ID NO: 1 or variants of SEQ ID NO: 2 (known in the art as AVB-S6-500, AVB-500) are required to make and use this invention with the extremely broad genus of polypeptides claimed.
According to the specification, "stable disease" or "SD" refers to neither sufficient shrinkage of target lesions to qualify for a partial response, nor sufficient increase to qualify for progressive disease (PD), taking as reference the smallest sum of the longest diameters or “SLD” since the treatment started” [0075]. The specification defines, "partial response" or “PR” as “at least a 30% decrease in the of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SLD and "progressive disease" or “PD” refers to at least a 20% increase in the SLD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest SLD recorded since the treatment started or the presence of one or more new lesions.” [0077].
(2) The state of the prior art:
The art teaches that the effective soluble AXL (sAXL) polypeptide variants, or AXL decoys are not fully understood in relation to various cancers because AXL is found to be widely expressed in malignant effusions (Karlsen et al. Volume 152, Issue 2, February 2019, Pages 408-415; Abstract). Despite its ubiquitous presence in cancer cells, this reference teaches that “sAXL is overexpressed in HGSC compared to LGSC and its levels are lower following exposure to chemotherapy. However, sAXL levels are not informative of chemoresponse or survival” (abstract). As such, the art recognizes the incredibly high unpredictability of AXL pathways for treating cancer, which is made even more so by the lack of any structural guidance for the variants.
Additionally, the prior art teaches that the instantly claimed method is the first to treat pancreatic cancer, which has an extremely low historical success rate because ENC for cell occurs early in pancreatic cancer (Schefers, para. 1). Given the lack of guidance as to any variant other than AMD-500 (SEQ ID NO: 2) and the wild-type AXL polypeptide (SEQ ID NO: 1), the scope of treating pancreatic cancer with variants of soluble AXL polypeptides is not supported by the prior art teachings of AXL unpredictability as well as be prior art teaching of the difficulty in treating PDAC.
(3) The relative skill of those in the art:
The relative skill of those in the art is high.
(4) The predictability or unpredictability of the art:
Applicant’s claims are drawn to an extremely broad genus of “variants.” There is very little predictability in how a patient will respond to many of the fragments and/or fusion proteins, etc. that fall within this unspecified genus of soluble AXL polypeptides with no specified limitations to the number of substitutions or regions that are required for the claimed treatment. The instant claims are drawn to a method of treatment with soluble AXL variant polypeptides by administering any AXL variant to a subject having PDAC, which is an extremely high-risk cancer with a very low successful treatment rate, as discussed above. Many types of chemotherapeutic and immunotherapeutic regimens that have failed to work for treating PDAC, and the term “stable disease” is not defined in the specification so as to provide a clear test with units of measurement that provides guidance on treatment dosages and regimens because the claim is drawn to comparing stability and there are not results to support this comparison for the one variant tested, and no others are supported by the disclosures of the specification. Therefore, the extremely broad genus of AXL variants the must be tested for success, as compared to the results of the nab-paclitaxel and gemcitabine control, with no guidance as to the sequence or structure of the AXL variant polypeptide.
As such, the predictability in the art is low.
(6) The amount of direction or guidance presented and (7) The presence or absence of working examples:
There are no examples of variants other than AMD-S6-500 in the specification. The wild-type AXL (SEQ ID NO: 1) is the only alternative polypeptide provided. There is no narrowing guidance as to how to make and use other variants of AXL polypeptides to treat PDAC
(8) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
Because it is uncertain to predict the variants of sAXL polypeptides that will successfully treat PDAC, the compound to be administered requires an excessive amount of experimentation to make and use. One of ordinary skill in the art would be burdened with undue “painstaking experimentation study” to determine how to use the extremely broad genus of compounds to treat PDAC with only two data points that do not yet provide results.
As such, the scope of these claims is not enabled.
Claim Rejections 35 USC 102(A)(1)
Claim(s) 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Schepers et al. (Aravive Announces First Patient Dosed in Phase 1b/2 Clinical Trial of AVB-500 for the Treatment of Pancreatic Adenocarcinoma. BioSpace. August 9, 2021, as evidenced by Clinicaltrials.gov V2, posted on 08/04/21 and incorporated by reference in Schepers).
Schepers teaches that the 1b portion of its Phase 1b/2 trial of AVB-500 in combination with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel as a first-line treatment in patients with advanced or metastatic pancreatic adenocarcinoma (p. 1, para. 2). The Phase 1b portion of the clinical trial will evaluate safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and clinical activity of AVB-500 in combination with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel (p. 1). This reference further teaches that pancreatic adenocarcinoma is the most common type of pancreatic cancer, and there is a clear, high, unmet medical need to improve patient survival with new effective treatments that are safe and well-tolerated (p. 2). As part 2 of the trial (p. 2).
Schepers further teaches that the trial is designed to evaluate AVB-500 as a first-line therapy in combination with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel (Abraxane®) in patients with advanced or metastatic pancreatic adenocarcinoma who are eligible to receive gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel combination therapy(p. 2, para. 1). This reference teaches that the Phase 1b portion of the clinical trial will evaluate safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and clinical activity in approximately 20 patients dosed with 15 mg/kg of AVB-500 in combination with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel (p.2, para. 1). This reference also teaches that Phase 2 is a randomized, controlled portion of the clinical trial designed to evaluate approximately 60 patients dosed with 15 mg/kg of AVB-500 as a first-line therapy in combination with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel versus gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel alone. The primary endpoint of the Phase 2 portion of the trial is progression-free survival. The secondary endpoints are objective response rate, duration of response, clinical benefit rate, safety and overall survival, and the exploratory endpoints are pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics are detailed in the 1b/2 trial is listed on clinicaltrials.gov as NCT04983407, which includes disease control rate, defined as the proportion of subjects who have a complete or partial response to AVB-500 PDAC therapy or maintain stable disease state (p. 2, para. 1).
This meets the limitations of claim 16 because the subjects were administered to evaluate approximately 60 patients dosed with 15 mg/kg of AVB-500 as a first-line therapy in combination with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel versus gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel alone. As to “a regimen determined to achieve stable disease as compared to a patient administered nab-paclitaxel and gemcitabine,” the prior art teaches a regimen that is the same as the regimen of 15 mg/kg AVB-500 + gemcitabine and Paclitaxel versus a group administered gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel alone, and disease stability can be determined by the same parameters discussed in the specification and described in the clinical trial Phase1b, which measures the anti-tumor activity of AVB-500 in combination with nab-paclitaxel and gemcitabine, measured by the Objective Response Rate (ORR), which is the proportion of subjects who have a partial or complete response to therapy relative to baseline in the Phase 1b portion of the study and antitumor activity/response, measured by progression free survival (PFS) in patients receiving AVB-S6-500, nab-paclitaxel, and gemcitabine versus patients receiving nab-paclitaxel, and gemcitabine alone in Phase 2 (Outcome measures, p. 1 of V2 of Clinicaltrials.gov, NCT04983407, posted 08/04/21). Because the claims do not require any particular dosing regimen with a time frame for a particular subject, the same step of administering the same AXL-S6-500 peptide to the same exact subject population with the same exact outcome measures, the limitations of “regimen determined to achieve stable disease” is met by the prior art anticipating each of the claimed active method steps with AVB-S6-500. The outcome of the prior art did not provide the results, but it provides a reasonable expectation of success by teaching the reasoning and background of using the well-known soluble AXL polypeptide, AMD-S6-500 with a regimen of both paclitaxel and gemcitabine as well. As such, the prior art trial with the same exact design and steps meets the limitations of the instant claims, as there are no specific parameters for “stable disease” that have been established by any results disclosed in the instant application. Therefore, claim 16 is anticipated. Claim 17 is anticipated because the same dose of the same AVB-S6-500 with the same combination of gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel is administered to the same PDAC patient class, which will inherently be expected to have the same biological effect, unless it can be shown that they worked synergistically due to a method that differs from the of the prior art. Support for this can be found in MPEP 2112, which states: "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004), the court held that the claimed promoter sequence obtained by sequencing a prior art plasmid that was not previously sequenced was anticipated by the prior art plasmid which necessarily possessed the same DNA sequence as the claimed oligonucleotides. The court stated that "just as the discovery of properties of a known material does not make it novel, the identification and characterization of a prior art material also does not make it novel." Id.
As such, claim 17 is met because the prior art teaches each and every component of the claimed method of treating PDAC, which includes administering the same combination therapy, which would be expected to have synergistic function as the prior art, absent any evidence to the contrary.
As to claims 19-20, SEQ ID NO: 2 is described in the specification as "AVB-S6-500," which can also be referred to as "AVB-500" and as "Batiraxcept" [0046-0047]. As such, claims 18-20 are met because the prior art teaches treating PDAC with AVB-S6-500 and Batiraxcept as a synonym for SEQ ID NO: 2. Claim 21 is met because 15 mg/kg of AVB-S6-500 is administered.
Claim(s) 11 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being by Leconet et al. (Preclinical validation of AXL receptor as a target for antibody-based pancreatic cancer immunotherapy. Oncogene 33, 5405–5414 (2014)).
Leconet teaches that their studies investigated the expression of AXL in a series of pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma (abstract). This reference teaches that AXL receptors are found in the majority of PDAC cells, which indicated AXL was investigated as a target for pancreatic cancer immunotherapy in a study that generated monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) against the extracellular domain (ECD) of AXL (abstract). This study tested AXL mAbs efficacy in vitro in several pancreatic cancer cell lines and in vivo, using xenografted nude mice at a dose of 15mg/kg of mAb D9 twice a week for 4 weeks (abstract). Leconet found that selected anti-AXL mAbs (D9 and E8) induced AXL down-regulation and inhibited its phosphorylation induced by GAS6, as well as the subsequent AKT activation and cell proliferation. This reference also found that in vivo, these anti-AXL mAbs reduced the growth of subcutaneous and orthotopic pancreatic tumor xenografts, independently of their KRAS mutation status (5406, Col. 1). This reference concludes that when compared to the standard gemcitabine treatment, the AXL antibodies induced more complete responses and longer PDAC survival time in mice (p. 5406, Col. 1). This reference also concludes that because pancreatic cancer undergoes early epithelial-mesenchymal transition (EMT) of malignant cells, which display increased invasiveness, metastatic capacity and multidrug resistance, anti-AXL antibodies should be used as a first-line therapy, in combination with other cytotoxic agents, especially because AXL overexpression is associated with resistance to standard chemotherapy and an anti-AXL antibody can inhibit cell migration to reduce cancer aggressivity in cells (5412, Col. 1).
This anticipates claim 11 because PDAC was treated with 15mg/kg of a solvent AXL polypeptide. Because the only AXL polypeptide being administered as the first line therapy, the success of administering the AXL inhibitor alone, compared to any baseline would be considered successful, absent any clear regimen that requires a method step. Here the comparison to the combination of gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel is not a part of the step of administration, and the regimen itself is not described, such that the results of AXL polypeptide administration to subjects having PDAC does not include administration of gemcitabine or paclitaxel at all in the claimed method of making the AXL polypeptide alone the treatment. As discussed above, MPEP 2112 establishes that the inherent effect of a known composition in a known method of administration to the same known patient class would be expected to have the same effect, especially with the results showing that the AXL mAbs are more effective than standard gemcitabine, which serves as the measurable control. Here, the comparison is a future step of evaluation that is not required for the claimed steps of treatment, which only require one active administration step of a soluble AXL polypeptide to a subject having PDAC. Here, 15 mg/kg AXL antibodies D9 and E8 were administered biweekly to treat PADC, which also meets the limitations of claim 15.
Claim Rejections 35 USC 103
Claim(s) 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leconet et al. ((Preclinical validation of AXL receptor as a target for antibody-based pancreatic cancer immunotherapy. Oncogene 33, 5405–5414 (2014), as applied to claims 11 and 15 above, in view of Schepers et al. (Aravive Announces First Patient Dosed in Phase 1b/2 Clinical Trial of AVB-500 for the Treatment of Pancreatic Adenocarcinoma. BioSpace. August 9, 2021, as evidenced by Clinicaltrials.gov V2) and in further view of Desai et al. (US2014/0199403).
The teachings of Leconet have been described supra.
The difference between the prior art and the instant claims is that claims 12-14 require that the soluble AXL variant polypeptide be the Fc fusion peptide AVB-500 (instant SEQ ID NO: 1).
The teachings of Schepers are above, and are drawn to a method of treating PDAC with 15 mg/kg of AVB-500 as a first-line therapy in combination with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel together, versus gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel alone, and SEQ ID NO: 2 is described in the specification as "AVB-S6-500," which can also be referred to as "AVB-500" and as "Batiraxcept" [0046-0047]. This reference also teaches that AVB-500 is shown to neutralize GAS6 activity by binding to GAS6 with very high affinity to disrupt the GAS6-AXL pathway in pancreatic cancer (p. 1, para. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to have taken the AXL polypeptide variant mAbs of Leconet and use AVB-500 as the AXL polypeptide variant because it is known in the art to be used to treat PDAC disrupting the GAS6-AXL pathway. One would be motivated to use AVB-500 as the AXL fusion polypeptide because Schefer teaches that it selectively inhibits the GAS6-AXL signaling pathway, which is upregulated in multiple cancer types pancreatic cancer, and that AVB-500 has been successful in inhibiting the same pathway with high affinity to GAS6 to disrupt the AXL-GAS6 pathway effectively. As such, there is a reasonable expectation of success that AVB-500 can be effectively substituted as the first line AXL polypeptide in the method of Schefer.
Claims 12-14 are met because the prior art teaches treating PDAC with AVB-S6-500/ Batiraxcept, which is SEQ ID NO: 2 of the instant claims. AVB-S6-500 also meets the variations of claim 1 for the reasons discussed in the 102(A)(1) rejection above. AVB -S6-500 also meets the structural limitations of claims 12 and 13, rendering them obvious.
Claim(s) 16-23 and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schepers et al. (Aravive Announces First Patient Dosed in Phase 1b/2 Clinical Trial of AVB-500 for the Treatment of Pancreatic Adenocarcinoma. BioSpace. August 9, 2021, as evidenced by Clinicaltrials.gov V2, posted on 08/04/21 and incorporated by reference in Schepers), as applied to claims 16-21 above, and in further view of Desai et al. (US2014/0199403)
The teachings of Schepers have been described supra.
The difference between the prior art and the instant claims is that the prior art does not teach the amounts of AXL polypeptide biweekly, or the amounts of gemcitabine and 125mg/m2 and nab-paclitaxel 1000 mg/m2 weekly with the AVB-500.
However, Desai teaches that standard regimens for gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel combination pancreatic cancer treatment is 125 mg/m2 nab-paclitaxel in combination with 1000 mg/m2 gemcitabine on days 1, 8, and 15 for patients with pancreatic cancer [ potentially operable on a 28 day cycle before advanced or metastatic surgery pancreatic adenocarcinoma 28 day cycle and locally advanced and metastatic pancreatic cancer is treated with 125 mg/m2 Abraxane in combination with 1000 mg/m2 gemcitabine on days 1, 8, and 15 for at least 2 cycles or more in case of response of stable disease.
As to the AXL polypeptide, Schefer teaches a 15mg/kg for GAS6 pathway disruption and Leconet teaches biweekly 15mg/kg of and AXL GAS6 inhibitor.
As such, the doses of each gemcitabine, nab-paclitaxel and AXL polypeptide are all obvious to optimize for dosages that are known to treat PDAC. The MPEP states: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1848 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989)(Claimed ratios were obvious as being reached by routine procedures and producing predictable results); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(Claimed amount of wash solution was found to be unpatentable as a matter of routine optimization in the pertinent art, further supported by the prior art disclosure of the need to avoid undue amounts of wash solution); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1470, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1366 (Fed. Cir. 1997)(Claims were unpatentable because appellants failed to submit evidence of criticality to demonstrate that that the wear resistance of the protective layer in the claimed thickness range of 50-100 Angstroms was "unexpectedly good"); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438, 4 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (identifying "the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.").[AltContent: rect]
As such, the prior art teaches similar dosages of gemcitabine, nab-paclitaxel and AXL polypeptides are combinable, result effective variables that are obvious to optimize through routine experimentation in treating PDAC. Claim 22 is rendered obvious because the prior art teaches 125 mg/m2 Abraxane in combination with 1000 mg/m2 gemcitabine, which is within the claimed range of dosages for both, as there is nothing in claim 22 requiring the dosage for each. Claim 23 is rendered obvious because the prior art teaches the same dosages.
Conclusion
/JEANETTE M LIEB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654