DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22-33, 25-56, 28, 36 and 40 remain pending in the application. Claims 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21, 24, 27, 29-35, 37-39 and 41-45 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument, see page 8 lines 14-17, that “Harada has only one signal electrode”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Harada teaches electrodes 12, 14 and 16 as contacting and recording signals from the driver ([0008], [0012-0013]).
In response to applicant’s argument, see page 8 lines 18-27, that: “electrode 16 maintains its electrical connection to the differential amplifier [Acquisition circuit]”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Harada teaches buffer circuit 32 between electrode 169 and waveform generator 20 ([0014]), waveform generator 20 further comprises differential amplifier 34 ([0015]). Switching unit 42 uses a pair of contacts between electrode 16 and buffer circuit 32, which is seen as being able to connect and disconnect to the acquisition circuit.
In response to applicants’ argument, see page 9 lines 6-17, that: Harada does not disclose power analysis and that there is no comparison between two sets of electrode channels. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Harada teaches waveform generator receiving current change ([0013]) waveform generator comprises differential signal amplifier ([0015]) wherein a voltage value is applied to the differential signal ([0034]) voltage and current give power; The differential signal is a difference between electrodes 14 and 16 ([0026]).
In response to applicant’s argument, see page 9 lines 18-26, that: Harada does not teach the attachment state of each electrode. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Harada teaches the electrodes 12, 14 and 16 being in contact with the driver ([0006]) further the electrodes detecting when the driver is in the seat and holding the steering wheel ([0011-0013]) which is seen as an attachment state.
In response to applicant’s argument, see page 10 lines 14-26, that: Martikka does not disclose multiple channels of inertia measurement or a processor that receives input pertaining to the organ which the electrodes are attached, and that selects the channels of the inertia measurement device based on that input. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Martikka discloses that the inertia sensors are commonly used describes the types of sensors that include inertia sensors to include motion sensors ([0017]) analysis of signals from electrodes and sensors is described further an analysis based on motion sensors (inertia sensors) is described ([0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harada (JP 2020195728 A) herein referred to as “Harada”.
Regarding claim 1, Harada teaches: A system for analyzing electrophysiological signals ([0007]; Electrocardiographic detection device (10)), comprising: a plurality of electrodes adherable to a skin of a subject ([0008]; Electrodes (12), (14) and (16) which are in contact with the driver which is seen as adherable to the skin of a subject), and comprising a ground electrode ([0014]; Electrodes 14 and 16 are grounded) and a set of signal electrodes ([0008]; Harada teaches the use of electrodes 12, 14 and 16 to receive signals); an acquisition circuit being connectable to each of said signal electrodes ([Abstract]; Differential signal amplifier 34, which is seen as the acquisition circuit, is connected to electrodes 12, 14 and 16), and being both connectable and disconnectable from said ground electrode ([0023]; Switch contacts are described as being between differential amplifier circuit 34 and electrode 16, which is seen as a ground electrode, which is toggled to connect and disconnect the electrode to the circuit); and a processor, in communication with said electrodes ([0011]; Signal processing unit (38) in contact with electrodes), and having a circuit configured to receive from said signal electrodes a first set of signal channels when said ground electrode is disconnected from said acquisition circuit ([0044]; Harada teaches signals acquired from electrode 14 a non-grounded state, further when electrode 16 is in a non-grounded state switch 42 is toggled which disconnects the electrode from the acquisition circuit 34) and a second set of signal channels when said ground electrode is active ([0026]; Harada teaches signals acquired from electrode 12 when electrode 16 is in a grounded state ), to compare powers above baseline among said first and said second set of signal channels, and to determine an attachment state of each electrode based on said comparison ([0013]; Harada teaches waveform generator receiving current change [0015]; waveform generator comprises differential signal amplifier [0034]; wherein a voltage value is applied to the differential signal, [0026]; voltage and current give power; The differential signal is a difference between electrodes 14 and 16).
Regarding claim 25 Harada discloses: A method of for analyzing electrophysiological signals during exercise (an electrocardiographic detection device 10 for use in a vehicle while a driver drives, the actions requiring movement as a form of exercise; EMT para [0024]), comprising: adhering to a skin of a subject a plurality of electrodes comprising a ground electrode and a set of signal electrodes (the detection device 10 includes a electrodes 12, 14, and 16 which couple with the skin of a driver occupant for providing signals, electrode 16 being operable in a ground state; EMT para [0024]); establishing electrical communication between a processor and said signal electrodes, but not said ground electrode, to receive from said signal electrodes a first set of signal channels; establishing electrical communication between said processor and said ground electrode, in addition to said electrical communication between said processor and said signal electrodes, to receive from said signal electrodes a second set of signal channels (a first set of signals are read by a signal processing unit 38 from the electrodes when electrode 16 is not in a grounded state, indicating the ground electrode connection is not established, and a second signal when the electrode 16 is in a grounded state; EMT para [0028]-[0036], [0043]); and by said processor, comparing powers above baseline among said first and said second set of signal channels, and determining an attachment state of each electrode based on said comparison (an electrocardiographic waveform generator detects a current change, which is a comparison to a baseline, indicative of a driver sitting in the vehicle and thus making a contact with the electrodes which is an attachment state of each electrode; EMT para [0028]-[0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of Li et al. (CN 209252849 U) herein referred to as “Li”.
Regarding claim 2, Harada discloses: the system according to claim 1, comprising an acquisition circuit for receiving said signals from said electrodes (signal processing unit 38 receives signals from the electrodes which includes an acquisition circuit for receiving said signals; EMT para [0031]-[0033]). Harada does not disclose: wirelessly transmitting data pertaining to said signal to said processor.
However, Li discloses: wirelessly transmitting data pertaining to said signal to said processor (various electrophysiological signals are transmitted wirelessly to a processor; EMT para [0009]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada to include wirelessly transmitting data pertaining to said signal to said processor as disclosed by Li. The motivation being the simple substitution of one known element, wired connection, for another, wireless connection, to achieve the predictable result of transferring data.
Regarding claim 3, Harada in view of Li discloses: the system according to claim 2. Harada further discloses: wherein said processor is configured to receive from acquisition circuit data pertaining to noise signals when said ground electrode and each of said signal electrodes are inactive, and to determine a baseline power based on said noise signals (signal processing unit 38 receives data when a driver is not sitting in the vehicle seat and thus the electrodes are inactive, the lack of a driver being a baseline with noise; EMT para [0028]-[0036]).
Regarding claim 4, Harada discloses: the system according to claim 1. Harada does not explicitly disclose: wherein said processor is configured to generate output pertaining to said attachment state on a display.
However, Li discloses: wherein said processor is configured to generate output pertaining to said attachment state on a display (electrophysiological signals from a device contacting skin, which include signals indicative of whether or not the device is attached to a person, are displayed on a display screen; EMT abstract; EMT para [0009]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada to generate output pertaining to said attachment state on a display as disclosed by Li. The motivation being to visually track health parameters (Li, [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Harada in view of Li discloses: the system according to claim 4. Harada further discloses: wherein said processor in configured to divide said set of signal electrodes into two distinct subsets based on said attachment state, to determine muscle activity based on signal channels corresponding exclusively to one of said subsets (signal processing unit 38 reads the signals as an ECG when a driver is seated in the vehicle, the signals including a set when a driver is not seated in the vehicle, the signals being an ECG which is indicative of heart activity when the driver is seated in the vehicle; EMT para [0028]-[0036]). Harada does not disclose: wherein said processor in configured to generate output pertaining to said muscle activity on said display.
However, Li discloses: wherein said processor in configured to generate output pertaining to said muscle activity on said display (output pertaining to a heart rate is displayed on a display screen; EMT para [0027], [0034]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada to generate output pertaining to said muscle activity on said display as disclosed by Li. The motivation being to visually track health parameters (Li, [0025])
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of Li further in view of Chen herein referred to as “Chen”.
Regarding claim 8, Harada in view of Li disclose: the system according to claim 6. Harada further discloses: wherein said processor is configured to receive locations of said electrodes, to identify activation patterns of active muscles based on said received locations and said determined muscle activity (signal processing unit 38 reads the signals from electrodes 12, 14, and 16, based on the information that electrode 12 is in the steering wheel and electrodes 14 and 16 are on the driver's buttocks, and determines an ECG wave which is activation patterns of the muscles of the heart; EMT para [0028]-[0036]). Harada in view of Li does not explicitly disclose: wherein said processor is configured to include in said output a displayable map of said locations and said activation patterns.
However, CHEN discloses: wherein said processor is configured to include in said output a displayable map of said locations and said activation patterns (a muscle training device includes a monitor with a screen which displays detected operations and activities of the muscle groups, which includes a plurality of electrodes and muscle activation patterns; para [0028]-[0031]; claim 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada to include in said output a displayable map of said locations and said activation patterns as disclosed by CHEN. The motivation being to record and display muscle movements of the user (Chen, [0033])
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of Li further in view of Unger (US 3724455 A) herein referred to as “Unger”.
Regarding claim 10, Harada in view of Li disclose: the system according to claim 6. Harada in view of Li does not explicitly disclose: wherein said processor is configured to generate a warning if a parameter characteristic to said muscle activity is outside a predetermined range of thresholds.
However, Unger discloses: wherein said processor is configured to generate a warning if a parameter characteristic to said muscle activity is outside a predetermined range of thresholds (an ECG device produces a warning if a heart rate is abnormal; abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada in view of Li to include wherein said processor is configured to generate a warning if a parameter characteristic to said muscle activity is outside a predetermined range of thresholds as disclosed by Unger. The motivation being to alert the patient of an irregular heart rate. (Unger, [Abstract])
Regarding claim 12, Harada in view of Li further in view of Unger disclose: the system of claim 10. Harada in view of Li does not disclose: wherein said parameter comprises at least one of level of pain, force exerted by a muscle, level of muscle fatigue, synchronization and asymmetry of muscle activity.
However, Unger discloses: wherein said parameter comprises at least one of level of pain, force exerted by a muscle, level of muscle fatigue, synchronization and asymmetry of muscle activity (an ECG device produces a warning if a heart rate is abnormal, the abnormality indicative of force exerted by the heart to pump blood; abstract).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada in view of Li further in view of Unger to include wherein said parameter comprises at least one of level of pain, force exerted by a muscle, level of muscle fatigue, synchronization and asymmetry of muscle activity as further disclosed by Unger. The motivation being to gain the advantages of alerting the user or nearby individuals of injury or harm and the level of injury or arm as to quickly obtain adequate care for the injured or harmed user. (Unger, [Abstract])
Claim(s) 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 26, 28, 36, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of Martikka et al. (US 20060079800 A1) herein referred to as “Martikka”.
As per claim 14, Harada discloses: the system according to claim 1. Harada does not disclose: comprising an inertia measurement device configured to generate signals pertaining to motion characteristics of said electrodes, wherein said processor is in communication with said inertia measurement device and is configured to analyze synchronization between signals received from said electrodes and signals received from said inertia measurement device, and to determine muscle activity based on said analysis
However, Martikka discloses: comprising an inertia measurement device configured to generate signals pertaining to motion characteristics of said electrodes, wherein said processor is in communication with said inertia measurement device (inertia sensors are included to generate signals regarding motion of a device that includes electrodes, which are in communication with a processor; para [0003], [0017]; claim 10), and is configured to analyze synchronization between signals received from said electrodes and signals received from said inertia measurement device, and to determine muscle activity based on said analysis (the device processes signals received from electrodes indicative of muscle activity and from inertia sensors to determine indexes describing exercises; para [0031]; claims 9-10)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada with the inertia sensors as disclosed by Martikka. The motivation being to determine acceleration, angular velocity, and static position (Martikka, [0017]).
Regarding claim 16, Harada in view of Martikka disclose: the system according to claim 14. Martikka further discloses: wherein said inertia measurement device is configured to generates said signals over a plurality of signal channels, each channel corresponding to one motion characteristic (the inertia sensors include acceleration and gyroscopic sensors which each correspond to one motion characteristic; para [0017]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada with measurement channels as further disclosed by Martikka. The motivation being to determine acceleration, angular velocity, and static position (Martikka, [0017]).
Regarding claim 18, Harada in view of Martikka disclose: the system according to claim 16. Martikka further discloses: wherein said processor is configured to receive input pertaining to an organ to which said electrodes are attached, and to select signal channels of said inertia measurement device based on said input (the processing system receives input pertaining to the muscles, which are an organ, to which electrodes are attached, and reads inertia sensors based on the electrode input; para [0017], [0058]; claims 9-10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada in view of Martikka to include organ inputs as further disclosed by Martikka. The motivation being to record muscle and heart activity (Martikka, [0058])
Regarding claim 20, Harade in view of Martikka disclose: the system according to claim 1. Markitta further discloses: comprising an external inertia measurement device configured to generate signals pertaining to motion characteristics of an exercise apparatus, wherein said processor is in communication with said external inertia measurement device (inertia sensors are included to generate signals regarding motion of a device for exercising that includes electrodes, which are in communication with a processor; para [0003], [0017]; claim 10), and is configured to analyze synchronization between signals received from said electrodes and signals received from said inertia measurement device, and to determine muscle activity based on said analysis (the device processes signals received from electrodes indicative of muscle activity and from inertia sensors to determine indexes describing exercises; para [0031]; claims 9-10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada in view of Martikka with the inertia measurement and parsing as further disclosed by Martikka. The motivation being to track users movement and muscle activity (Martikka, [0031])
Regarding claim 22, Harada discloses: A system for analyzing electrophysiological signals ([0007]; Electrocardiographic detection device (10)), comprising: a plurality of electrodes adherable to a skin of a subject ([0008]; Electrodes (12), (14) and (16) which are in contact with the driver which is seen as adherable to the skin of a subject); Harada does not disclose: an inertia measurement device, configured to generate signals pertaining to motion characteristics of said electrodes over a plurality of signal channels, each channel corresponding to one motion characteristic; a processor, being in communication with said electrodes and said inertia measurement device, and having a circuit configured to analyze synchronization between signals received from said electrodes and signals received from said inertia measurement device, to generate output pertaining to muscle activity based on said analysis.
However, Martikka discloses: an inertia measurement device, configured to generate signals pertaining to motion characteristics of said electrodes over a plurality of signal channels, each channel corresponding to one motion characteristic; a processor, being in communication with said electrodes and said inertia measurement device (A plurality of electrodes are connected to the body wherein each of the electrodes corresponds to a muscle group, para [0063]. Inertia sensors are included to generate signals regarding motion of a device that includes electrodes, which are in communication with a processor; para [0003], [0017]; claim 10), and having a circuit configured to analyze synchronization between signals received from said electrodes and signals received from said inertia measurement device, to generate output pertaining to muscle activity based on said analysis. (the device processes signals received from electrodes indicative of muscle activity and from inertia sensors to determine indexes describing exercises; para [0031]; claims 9-10) wherein said processor is configured to receive input pertaining to an organ to which said electrodes are attached, and to select signal channels of said inertia measurement device based on said input (Martikka discloses that the inertia sensors are commonly used describes the types of sensors that include inertia sensors to include motion sensors, para ([0017]) analysis of signals from electrodes and sensors is described further an analysis based on motion sensors (inertia sensors) is described, para [0025]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada with the inertia sensors as disclosed by Martikka. The motivation being to determine acceleration, angular velocity, and static position (Martikka, [0017]).
Regarding claim 26, Harada discloses: the method according to claim 25. Harada does not disclose: comprising digitizing said signals and wirelessly transmitting data pertaining to said signal to said processor.
However, Martikka discloses: comprising digitizing said signals and wirelessly transmitting data pertaining to said signal to said processor (transmission of information between parts of the device happens wirelessly and use memory, which requires digitization; para [0020]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada with the digitization and wireless transmitting of signals as disclosed by Martikka. The motivation being the ease of transmission between parts of the device (Martikka, [0020])
Regarding claim 28, Harada discloses: The method according to claim 25. Harada further discloses: comprising dividing said set of signal electrodes into two distinct subsets based on said attachment state, determining muscle activity based on signal channels corresponding exclusively to one of said subsets (signal processing unit 38 reads the signals as an ECG when a driver is seated in the vehicle, the signals including a set when a driver is not seated in the vehicle, the signals being an ECG which is indicative of heart activity when the driver is seated in the vehicle; EMT para [0028]-[0036]). Harada does not disclose: displaying said muscle activity on a display.
However, Martikka discloses: displaying said muscle activity on a display (output pertaining to a heart rate and muscle activity is displayed on a display screen; para [0019]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as discloses by Harada to include displaying said muscle activity on a display as disclosed by Martikka. The motivation being to gain the advantages of displaying information to be read and interpreted by users for knowledge, data collection, analysis, and healthcare purposes, as well as ensuring the device is functioning properly. (Martikka, [0019])
Regarding claim 36, Harada discloses: the method according to claim 25. Harada does not disclose: comprising receiving from an inertia measurement device signals pertaining to motion characteristics of said electrodes, analyzing synchronization between signals received from said electrodes and said signals received from said inertia measurement device, and determining muscle activity based on said analysis
However, Martikka discloses: comprising receiving from an inertia measurement device signals pertaining to motion characteristics of said electrodes (inertia sensors are included to generate signals regarding motion of a device that includes electrodes; para [0003], [0017]; claim 10), analyzing synchronization between signals received from said electrodes and said signals received from said inertia measurement device, and determining muscle activity based on said analysis (the device processes signals received from electrodes indicative of muscle activity and from inertia sensors to determine indexes describing exercises; para [0031]; claims 9-10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada with the inertia sensors as disclosed by Martikka. The motivation being to determine acceleration, angular velocity, and static position (Martikka, [0017]).
Regarding claim 40 Harada discloses: The method according to claim 25. Harada does not disclose: comprising receiving from an external inertia measurement device signals pertaining to motion characteristics of an exercise apparatus, analyzing synchronization between signals received from said electrodes and signals received from said external inertia measurement device, and determining muscle activity based on said analysis
However, Martikka discloses: comprising receiving from an external inertia measurement device signals pertaining to motion characteristics of an exercise apparatus (inertia sensors are included to generate signals regarding motion of a device for exercising that includes electrodes, which are in communication with a processor; para [0003], [0017]; claim 10), analyzing synchronization between signals received from said electrodes and signals received from said external inertia measurement device, and determining muscle activity based on said analysis (the device processes signals received from electrodes indicative of muscle activity and from inertia sensors to determine indexes describing exercises; para [0031]; claims 9-10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada in view of Martikka with the inertia measurement and parsing as further disclosed by Martikka. The motivation being to track users movement and muscle activity ([0031])
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of Martikka further in view of Li.
Regarding claim 23, Harada in view of Martikka discloses: The system according to claim 22. Harada further discloses: comprising acquisition circuitry for receiving said signals from said electrodes (signal processing unit 38 receives signals from the electrodes which includes an acquisition circuit for receiving said signals; EMT para [0031]-[0033]). Harada in view of Martikka does not disclose: wirelessly transmitting data pertaining to said signal to said processor.
However, Li discloses: wirelessly transmitting data pertaining to said signal to said processor (various electrophysiological signals are transmitted wirelessly to a processor; EMT para [0009]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as disclosed by Harada to include wirelessly transmitting data pertaining to said signal to said processor as disclosed by Li. The motivation being the simple substitution of one known element, wired connection, for another, wireless connection, to achieve the predictable result of transferring data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CASEY GEORGE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794