DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1-19 are interpreted under 35 ISC 112(f) because they recite generic place holders, display processing unit and map generation unit that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholders are not preceded by a structural modifier.
Specification provides the hardware support for the generic place holders as CPU or processor in “ 0090] As illustrated, the server apparatus 1 has functions as a map generation unit F1, a display processing unit F2, and an AR service processing unit F3.” Therefore the generic place holders
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamanaka et al. ( WO 2018216341, “Yamanaka”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamanaka teaches, An information processing apparatus, (Fig. 13) comprising:
a display processing unit ( CPU 901) that performs display processing of map data indicating a three-dimensional structure of a target space, the map data being generated on a basis of sensing information by at least one of a visible light camera or a distance measuring sensor, ( Section 1 Schematic Configuration: 15th Paragraph: “The information processing apparatus 100 acquires depth information from the depth sensor 210, estimates the distance between the predetermined viewpoint and the real object based on the acquired depth information, and based on the estimation result, the three-dimensional information of the real object. Generate a model that reproduces the shape.” “By using a plurality of images captured from different viewpoints in this way, for example, based on the parallax between the plurality of images, a predetermined viewpoint (for example, the position of the depth sensor 210) and a subject (that is, in the image) It is possible to estimate (calculate) the distance between the object and the real object picked up. Therefore, for example, it is possible to generate a so-called depth map in which the estimation result of the distance between the predetermined viewpoint and the subject is mapped on the imaging plane.”)
wherein the display processing unit (CPU 901) performs display processing of the map data on a basis of sensing information by a third sensor that is a sensor excluding the visible light camera and the distance measuring sensor. (Section 1 Schematic Configuration: 15th Paragraph: “the information processing apparatus 100 acquires polarization information from the polarization sensor 230, and corrects the generated model based on the acquired polarization information.”)
Claim 20 is directed to a method and its steps are similar in scope and functions of the elements of the device claim 1 and therefore claim 20 is rejected on the same rationales as specified in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Yamanaka teaches, wherein the display processing unit performs processing of causing a display unit to display a map including the sensing information by the third sensor as a map indicating the three-dimensional structure of the target space. (Section 4 Hardware Configuration: 6th Paragraph “For example, the output device 917 outputs results obtained by various processes performed by the information processing apparatus 900. Specifically, the display device displays results obtained by various processes performed by the information processing device 900 as text or images”)
Regarding claim 3, Yamanaka teaches wherein the display processing unit performs processing of causing a display unit to display a map including information estimated from the sensing information by the third sensor as a map indicating the three-dimensional structure of the target space. (Section 4 Hardware Configuration: 6th Paragraph: “For example, the output device 917 outputs results obtained by various processes performed by the information processing apparatus 900. Specifically, the display device displays results obtained by various processes performed by the information processing device 900 as text or images”)
Regarding claim 4, Yamanaka teaches, wherein the third sensor includes a polarization camera, (Section 1 Schematic Configuration: 15th Paragraph: “the information processing apparatus 100 acquires polarization information from the polarization sensor 230, and corrects the generated model based on the acquired polarization information.”) and the display processing unit performs processing of causing the display unit to display a map including surface division information of a subject estimated from a captured image of the polarization camera as the map indicating the three-dimensional structure of the target space. ( Section 2. Study on reproduction of 3D shape model: 3rd Paragraph: “As a method for integrating a depth map into a three-dimensional space model, for example, a method of expressing a three-dimensional space as an isosurface of a distance field, as represented by so-called Kinect fusion, can be mentioned. In the method of expressing a three-dimensional space by a distance field, the space is divided into voxels and polyhedra, and each has a distance to the three-dimensional model.”)
Regarding claim 7, Yamanaka teaches, a map generation unit that generates the map data on a basis of the sensing information by at least one of the visible light camera or the distance measuring sensor and the sensing information by the third sensor. (Section 1 Schematic Configuration: 15th Paragraph : “The information processing apparatus 100 acquires depth information from the depth sensor 210, estimates the distance between the predetermined viewpoint and the real object based on the acquired depth information, and based on the estimation result, the three-dimensional information of the real object. Generate a model that reproduces the shape…the information processing apparatus 100 acquires polarization information from the polarization sensor 230, and corrects the generated model based on the acquired polarization information.”)
Regarding claim 8, Yamanaka teaches, wherein the third sensor includes a polarization camera, and the map generation unit generates the map data on a basis of polarization information of subject light obtained by the polarization camera. (Section 1 Schematic Configuration: 15th Paragraph : “the information processing apparatus 100 acquires polarization information from the polarization sensor 230, and corrects the generated model based on the acquired polarization information.”)
Regarding claim 9, Yamanaka teaches wherein the map generation unit generates the map data on a basis of normal direction information of a subject estimated from the polarization information. (Section 3.1 Functional Configuration, 11th Configuration: “The normal estimation unit 109 acquires the polarization information from the polarization sensor 230, and based on the acquired polarization information, the normal vector on the outer surface of the real object located in the space from which the polarization information is acquired (that is, the real space). Generate a normal map with the distribution mapped.”)
Regarding claim 10, Yamanaka teaches, wherein the map generation unit receives an input of distance image data obtained by the distance measuring sensor as generation source data of the map data, (“Section 2. Study on reproduction of 3D shape mode: 6th Para: “The reproducibility of the polygon mesh depends on the fineness of the space division, and in order to obtain a polygon mesh with a higher reproducibility, the data amount tends to be larger. In addition, when depth maps from multiple viewpoints are integrated, the shape reproduced as a polygon mesh and the target due to errors and noise that occur in distance measurement, errors related to estimation of the orientation of the imaging unit, etc. “)
and performs reduction processing of multipath induced noise on the distance image data on a basis of surface division information of the subject estimated from the normal direction information in generation processing of the map data.(Section 2 Last Paragraph: “ In view of the above-described situation, the information processing system 1 according to the present embodiment estimates the geometric characteristics of the object based on the polarization information acquired by the polarization sensor 230, thereby generating the three-dimensional generated based on the estimation result. A shape model (for example, a polygon mesh) is corrected. For example, in FIG. 2, the right diagram shown as corrected shows an example of the corrected polygon mesh when the polygon mesh shown in the left diagram is corrected based on the technique according to the present disclosure. . With the configuration as described above, the information processing system 1 according to the present embodiment improves the reproducibility of a three-dimensional model (particularly, the reproducibility of edges and corners) and reproduces the three-dimensional shape”.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka in view of Ashbrook et al. (US patent publication: 20190265038 , “Ashbrook”)..
Regarding claim 5, Yamanaka doesn’t expressly teach, wherein the third sensor includes a multi spectrum camera, and the display processing unit performs processing of causing the display unit to display a map including information indicating an existence region of a specific subject estimated from a captured image of the multi spectrum camera as the map indicating the three- dimensional structure of the target space.
However, Ashbrook teaches, a multi spectrum camera, and the display processing unit performs processing of causing the display unit to display a map including information indicating an existence region of a specific subject estimated from a captured image of the multi spectrum camera as the map indicating the three- dimensional structure of the target space. camera .( “[0041] Preferably, the mapping of the obtained change events comprises determining estimates of motion of the event camera.”)
Ashbrook and Yamanaka are analogous as they are from the field of map generation.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamanaka to have included the third sensor as a multi spectrum camera, and the display processing unit performs processing of causing the display unit to display a map including information indicating an existence region of a specific subject estimated from a captured image of the multi spectrum camera as the map indicating the three- dimensional structure of the target space. camera as taught by Ashbrook.
The motivation to include an alternative camera output to correct the initially captured map.
Regarding claim 19, Yamanaka doesn’t expressly teach, wherein the third sensor includes an event-based vision sensor, and the map generation unit generates the map data on a basis of motion information of a subject obtained on a basis of sensing information of the event-based vision sensor.
However Ashbrook teaches, an event-based vision sensor, and the map generation unit generates the map data on a basis of motion information of a subject obtained on a basis of sensing information of the event-based vision sensor.( “[0041] Preferably, the mapping of the obtained change events comprises determining estimates of motion of the event camera.”)
Ashbrook and Yamanaka are analogous as they are from the field of map generation.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamanaka to have included the third sensor as an event-based vision sensor, and the map generation unit generates the map data on a basis of motion information of a subject obtained on a basis of sensing information of the event-based vision sensor as taught by Ashbrook.
The motivation to include an alternative camera to correct the initially captured map to make a dynamic map..
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka in view of Aponte et al. (US patent publication: 2019/0318598, “Aponte”)..
Regarding claim 6, Yamanaka doesn’t expressly teach, wherein the third sensor includes a thermal camera, and the display processing unit performs processing of causing the display unit to display a map including information indicating an existence region of a specific subject estimated from a captured image of the thermal camera as the map indicating the three-dimensional structure of the target space.
However, Aponte teaches, wherein a thermal camera, and the display processing unit performs processing of causing the display unit to display a map including information indicating an existence region of a specific subject estimated from a captured image of the thermal camera as the map indicating the three-dimensional structure of the target space. ( Paragraph 0012).
Aponte and Yamanaka are analogous as they are from the field of map generation.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamanaka to have included a third sensor as a thermal camera, and the display processing unit performs processing of causing the display unit to display a map including information indicating an existence region of a specific subject estimated from a captured image of the thermal camera as the map indicating the three-dimensional structure of the target space as taught by Aponte.
The motivation to include an alternative camera output to correct the initially captured map.
Claim(s) 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanaka in view of Del Grande et al. (US patent publication: 2004/0183020, “Del Grande”)..
Regarding claim 16, Yamanaka doesn’t expressly teach, wherein the third sensor includes a thermal camera, and the map generation unit generates the map data on a basis of temperature information of a subject obtained by the thermal camera.
However, Del Grande teaches, a thermal camera, and the map generation unit generates the map data on a basis of temperature information of a subject obtained by the thermal camera (Paragraph [0029])
Del Grande and Yamanaka are analogous as they are from the field of map generation.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamanaka to have included the third sensor as a thermal camera, and the map generation unit generates the map data on a basis of temperature information of a subject obtained by the thermal camera as taught by Del Grande.
The motivation to include an alternative camera output to correct the initially captured map.
Regarding claim 17, Yamanaka as modified by Del Grande teaches, wherein the map generation unit generates the map data on a basis of division information of an object region estimated on a basis of the temperature information. (Del Grande “[0027] The present invention provides a method for detecting an underground object surrounded by a host material, where the detection is accomplished by using thermal inertia diagnostics, which removes both surface and subsurface foreign-object clutter. The host material is analyzed using visible, temperature and thermal inertia imagery to characterize the contrasting features of the host material from those of the object.”)
The motivation to include an alternative camera output to correct the initially captured map.
Regarding claim 18, Yamanaka as modified by Del Grande teaches, wherein the map generation unit performs processing of removing a person portion estimated on a basis of the temperature information in generation processing of the map data. (Del Grande, “[0030] Thermal image clutter may be identified and removed by mapping the maximum minus the minimum temperature spread from coregistered day minus night, or autumn minus spring, temperature maps. Thermal image clutter is produced by foreign objects, and materials, such as: disturbed terrain, animal holes, roots, water, mud and rocks which resist diurnal and seasonal temperature changes differently than the sought-after object and host material.” Del Grande removes clutter based on temperature information. It would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person to use the same technique to remove a person portion assuming it is a clutter based on teaching of Del Grande.)
The motivation to include an alternative camera output to correct the initially captured map.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is objected because the best combination of the prior arts fails to expressly teach, wherein the map generation unit receives an input of visible light image data obtained by the visible light camera as generation source data of the map data, and generates the map data on a basis of information of a transparent object region estimated on a basis of the polarization information.
Claim 12 is objected because the best combination of the prior arts fails to expressly teach, wherein the third sensor includes a multi spectrum camera, and the map generation unit generates the map data on a basis of wavelength analysis information of subject light obtained by the multi spectrum camera.
Dependent claims 13-15 are objected by virtue of dependency.
Conclusion
/TAPAS MAZUMDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615