DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Inoue (US 2020/0256995).
Regarding Claim 1, Inoue discloses a distance measuring device [0039; 0085] comprising: a photonic integrated circuit that has a function compatible with a coherent LiDAR method that measures distance based on interference between reception light [0042], which is reflected light of transmission light irradiated on a target [0039-43], and reference light [Fig 12; 0086-87], wherein the photonic integrated circuit independently includes …and a second coupler for the reference light as optical couplers that couple the inside and outside of an optical waveguide [Fig 13; 0086-92]. Inoue teaches a first coupler for the transmission light [#104 of Fig 1, #290 of Fig 11-13; 0041-44; 0053-57; 0086-90], as this would assist in coupling output light into the optical waveguide.
Regarding Claim 2, Inoue also discloses, wherein the photonic integrated circuit further includes a converter that modulates the transmission light [#106 of Fig 1; 0040-42].
Regarding Claim 3, Inoue also discloses wherein at least some optical couplers of the first coupler and the second coupler is a grating coupler [0053-54; 0080; 0087].
Regarding Claim 4, Inoue also discloses wherein the photonic integrated circuit includes a structure in which a plurality of grating couplers arranged in a row are connected by a spiral optical waveguide [0086-89].
Regarding Claim 5, Inoue also discloses an optical interferometer block that causes interference between the reception light and the reference light; and a receiving circuit that receives the interfered reception light and reference light [#210 of Fig 1, 2; 0043-46].
Regarding Claim 6, Inoue also discloses wherein the optical interferometer block is arranged so as to straddle the photonic integrated circuit and the receiving circuit [#210 of Fig 1, 2; 0043-46].
Regarding Claim 11, Inoue also discloses wherein the receiving circuit extracts target information regarding the target based on a received signal obtained from the interfered reception light and reference light [0045].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 2020/0256995) in view of Baba (US 2019/0204419).
Regarding Claim 12, Inoue teaches a distance measuring system [0039; 0085] comprising: a photonic integrated circuit that has a function compatible with a coherent LiDAR method that measures distance based on interference between reception light [0042], which is reflected light of transmission light irradiated on a target [0039-43], and reference light [Fig 12; 0086-87]; wherein the photonic integrated circuit independently includes …and a second coupler for the reference light as optical couplers that couple the inside and outside of an optical waveguide [Fig 13; 0086-92]. Inoue teaches a first coupler for the transmission light [#104 of Fig 1, #290 of Fig 11-13; 0041-44; 0053-57; 0086-90], as this would assist in coupling output light into the optical waveguide. Inoue does not explicitly teach – but Baba does teach and an external optical system including a telescope that deflects the transmission light to different emission angles for each pixel and a scanner that can deflect the transmission light from the telescope at least in a direction that intersects an arrangement direction of pixels [#24a, #24b of Fig 9; 0154-58]. It would have been obvious to modify the system of Inoue to include an optical telescope so that two-dimensional light beam angle sweeping from the waveguide can be realized.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 2020/0256995), as applied to claim 1, 5 above, and further in view of Rezk (US 2023/0015081 – also published as WO 2020/256942).
Regarding Claims 7 -8, wherein the optical interferometer block has a plurality of optical elements including a polarizing beam splitter and a wave plate [0023; 0035; 0038-42]… and a gap between the plurality of optical elements in the optical interferometer block is filled with an optical material that transmits a wavelength of the transmission light [0023; 0035; 0038-42]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Inoue to include a wave plate and polarizing beam splitter at allow the reflected light to be reflected to separate optical receivers, produce a time-shifted waveform, as a temporal phase difference between the two waveforms generates a beat frequency measured on the optical receivers.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 2020/0256995), as applied to claim 1, 6 above, and further in view of Baba (US 2019/0204419).
Regarding Claim 9, Inoue does not explicitly teach – but Baba does teach wherein a microlens array is disposed at least between the optical interferometer block and the photonic integrated circuit and/or between the optical interferometer block and the receiving circuit [#24a, #24b of Fig 9; 0154-58]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Inoue to include a microlens array so that two-dimensional light beam angle sweeping from the waveguide can be realized.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 2020/0256995), as applied to claim 1, 6 above, and further in view of Heck (US 2015/0378187).
Regarding Claim 10, Inoue does not explicitly teach – but Heck does teach wherein an optical deflection element is disposed between the optical interferometer block and the photonic integrated circuit [Fig 5A; 0049-50]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Inoue to include a deflector as prisms enable the circuit to perform beam steering in an axis of preference.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645