DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “switching element” in claims 3-4 and 7-8.
The specification fails to clearly describe the corresponding structure of “switching element.” Note that the “switching element” is designated by reference numeral 53 as illustrated in Fig. 2. However, such is simply a schematic drawing and does not clearly delineate the structural metes and bounds of limitation as required under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). See corresponding rejections below under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) & (b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. “Switching element” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as set for the above. However, since the specification fails to describe the corresponding structure as required under the statute, Applicant has failed to demonstrate full possession of the metes and bounds of the invention as claimed.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As per claims 3-4 and 7-8, claim limitation “switching element” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
In addition:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “to be…” in line 3 of the claim. This limitation appears to refer to an action to be performed in the future, rendering the metes and bound of the claim unclear. The Examiner suggests amending this limitation to read “configured to be…” in order to tie the limitation directly to the structure of the switch.
For the record, it is noted that claim 1 also recites the limitations “a voltage detection circuit to detect a voltage and output a voltage signal…” at line 5, and “a switch switching circuit to output” at line 7, and “a central processing unit to output…” at line 11. For purposes of examination, these limitations have been interpreted as the recites structure being configured to perform the respective function. However, as written it is unclear whether the structure should be understood as being “configured to” or “configurable to.” For purposes of clarity, the Examiner suggests Applicant amend each of these instances so that “to” is changed to “configured to”.
Claims 2-4 are also rejected since they depend from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “a switch different from the switch.” The use of “switch” for both instances renders the claim unclear. The Examiner suggests amending claim 1 such that the recitation of “a switch” instead reads “a first switch,” (and the further recitation in claim 1 to read “the first switch”) and amending the limitation in claim 2 to read “a second switch different from the first switch.”
Claim 3 recites “a switch connected to the switching element.” It is unclear whether this switch recited in claim 3 is meant to be the same or different from the switch of claim 1. Appropriate clarification and correction are required.
Similar to claim 1, claim 5 recites the limitation “to be…” in line 3 of the claim. This limitation appears to refer to an action to be performed in the future, rendering the metes and bound of the claim unclear. The Examiner suggests amending this limitation to read “configured to be…” in order to tie the limitation directly to the structure of the switch.
Also similarly for the record, it is noted that claim 5 also recites the limitations “a voltage detection circuit to detect a voltage and output a voltage signal…” at line 5, and “a switch switching circuit to output” at line 7, and “a central processing unit to output…” at line 10. For purposes of examination, these limitations have been interpreted as the recites structure being configured to perform the respective function. However, as written it is unclear whether the structure should be understood as being “configured to” or “configurable to.” For purposes of clarity, the Examiner suggests Applicant amend each of these instances so that “to” is changed to “configured to”.
Claims 6-8 are also rejected since they depend from claim 5.
Claim 6 recites “a switch different from the switch.” The use of “switch” for both instances renders the claim unclear. The Examiner suggests amending claim 5 such that the recitation of “a switch” instead reads “a first switch,” (and the further recitation in claim 5 to read “the first switch”) and amending the limitation in claim 6 to read “a second switch different from the first switch.”
Claim 7 recites “a switch connected to the switching element.” It is unclear whether this switch recited in claim 7 is meant to be the same or different from the switch of claim 5. Appropriate clarification and correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda (JP2018-105557 A).
As per claim 1, Ikeda discloses an air conditioner including an indoor unit 200 and an outdoor unit 1 (Figs. 1-2; etc.), the air conditioner comprising:
a switch 7 to be in one of a short-circuit state or a released state according to a switching signal to be supplied (para. 0003; Fig. 2; etc.);
a voltage detection circuit (9, 28) to detect a voltage and output a voltage signal indicating a voltage value obtained by the detection (Fig. 1);
a switch switching circuit 18 to output a switching signal for causing the switch to be in the released state in a case where a value indicated by the voltage signal output from the voltage detection circuit to the switch abnormally rises (para. 0014 re. voltage abnormally rises); and
a central processing unit 21 to output a driving signal for driving the switch switching circuit to the switch switching circuit, wherein
the switch 7, the voltage detection circuit (9, 28), and the switch switching circuit 18 are disposed in the outdoor unit 1 (Figs. 1-2; etc.), and
the voltage signal is output to the switch switching circuit without passing through the central processing unit (Fig. 1; etc.).
Ikeda does not explicitly teach the determination that the voltage abnormally rises involving comparison to a threshold. However, it is considered a simple control expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to compare the voltage to a threshold for the simple purpose of distinguishing between what is considered normal and what is considered abnormal.
As per claim 2, Ikeda further discloses the system further comprising a switch 8 different from the switch 7.
As per claim 5, Ikeda an air conditioner including an indoor unit 200 and an outdoor unit 1 (Figs. 1-2; etc.), a switch 7 to be in one of a short-circuit state or a released state according to a switching signal to be supplied (para. 0003; Fig. 2; etc.);
a voltage detection circuit (9, 28) to detect a voltage and output a voltage signal indicating a voltage value obtained by the detection (Fig. 1);
a switch switching circuit 18 to output a switching signal for causing the switch to be in the released state in a case where a value indicated by the voltage signal output from the voltage detection circuit to the switch abnormally rises (para. 0014 re. voltage abnormally rises); and
a central processing unit 21 to output a driving signal for driving the switch switching circuit to the switch switching circuit, wherein
the voltage signal is output to the switch switching circuit without passing through the central processing unit (Fig. 1; etc.).
Ikeda does not explicitly teach the determination that the voltage abnormally rises involving comparison to a threshold. However, it is considered a simple control expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to compare the voltage to a threshold for the simple purpose of distinguishing between what is considered normal and what is considered abnormal.
Also, Ikeda teaches wherein the switch 7, the voltage detection circuit (9, 28), and the switch switching circuit 18 are disposed in the being in the outdoor rather than the indoor unit. However, moving the components from the outdoor unit to the indoor unit would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application as a simple rearrangement of existing parts that not affecting the basic functioning of the system.
As per claim 6, further comprising a switch 8 different from the switch 7.
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda in view of Nevo (US 6522033 B1).
As per claims 3 and 7, Ikeda does not teach wherein the switch switching circuit includes a voltage comparator connected to the voltage detection circuit, a switching element that is connected to the voltage comparator and receives a signal from the voltage comparator, and a switch connected to the switching element. Nevo teaches a switching unit comprising a voltage comparator 21 connected to a voltage detection circuit, a switching element K that is connected to the voltage comparator and receives a signal from the voltage comparator, and a switch 30 connected to the switching element (col. 4, lines 16-27; Fig. 1; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to similarly provide these features to the switching circuit of Ikeda for the same purpose of effectively determining the voltage and controlling the opening/closing of the switch accordingly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and (b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As per claims 4 and 8, there is no teaching or motivation in the art to further modify the system of Ikeda wherein in a case where the voltage comparator determines that a voltage indicated by the voltage signal output from the voltage detection circuit is an overvoltage, the voltage comparator is turned on, and even if the driving signal output from the central processing unit is a signal that turns on the switching element, the switching element is turned off.
Cited Prior Art
The following references not applied in the rejections above are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
Evans et al. (US 2008/0054082 A1) teachers a climate control system including responsive controllers comprising outdoor unit controller 130, relays 62 &64, processor 60, voltage sensor 80, etc.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763