DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendments filed December 23rd, 2025, the following has occurred: claims 1, 6, and 11 have been amended; claims 1-15 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aono (WO 2020116030 A1, “Aono’) in view of in view of Hill et al. (US 20040067004 A1, “Hill”).
Regarding claim 1, Aono discloses an optical fiber sensing system comprising: a plurality of optical fibers laid along a road (Fig. 14, [attached machine translation, pg. 11] (331A) and (331Z) are optical fiber sensing units arranged on a plurality of roads, each having a respective fiber optic cable (20))(it is the examiner’s interpretation that the arrangement of multiple fiber optic cables on multiple roads is equivalent to placing the fiber optic cables in a plurality of lanes); at least one memory storing instructions (Fig. 4 (402)), and at least one processor (Fig. 4 (401) configured to execute the instructions to; receive, for each of the plurality of lanes, an optical signal from the optical fiber provided corresponding to the lane and detect vibration generated by a vehicle traveling in the lane based on the optical signal ([attached machine translation, pg. 7] fiber sensing unit receives backscattered light received from the same communication optical fiber in order to generate positional information where the light is generated by a travelling vehicle); calculate, for each of the plurality of lanes, vibration data indicating the vibration detected in the lane based on the optical signal received from the optical fiber provided corresponding to the lane; and detect, for each of the plurality of lanes, a traveling state of the vehicle traveling in the lane based on the vibration data calculated for the lane ([attached machine translation, pg. 7], detection unit detects a vibration pattern indicative of the travelling state and position of a travelling vehicle on the road based on the received backscattered light)).
Aono may not explicitly teach a plurality of optical fibers laid along plurality of lanes, the plurality of lanes being provided on a road.
Hill teaches a plurality of optical fibers laid along plurality of lanes, the plurality of lanes being provided on a road ([0026]-[0030], sensor stations each comprise multiple optical fiber sensor separated by a known distance per lane of highway. This configuration allows the traffic monitoring system to be employed on any type of highway (including multi-lane) along its entire length, including known traffic congestion spots)
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of distributed acoustic sensing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Aono, to include the multiple lane optical fiber sensing of Hill with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of monitoring multi-lane highways including spots of known traffic congestion [0030].
Regarding claim 2, Aono, as modified in view of Hill teaches the optical fiber sensing system according to claim 1. Aono further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to calculate, for each of the plurality of lanes, a position and a time at which the vibration detected in the lane has been generated based on the optical signal received from the optical fiber provided corresponding to the lane, and calculate calculates, for each of the plurality of lanes, a graph with a horizontal axis representing the position at which the vibration detected in the lane has been generated and a vertical axis representing the time at which the vibration detected in the lane has been generated as the vibration data ([attached machine translation, pg. 7], patterns according to the traveling state of the vehicle are represented as a graph in which the horizontal axis represents the distance from the fiber sensing unit, and the vertical axis represents the passage of time).
Regarding claim 3, Aono, as modified in view of Hill teaches the optical fiber sensing system according to claim 1. Aono further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to detect, for each of the plurality of lanes, a vehicle speed and a position of each vehicle traveling in the lane based on the vibration data calculated for the lane ([attached machine translation, pg. 6] vibration pattern used to determine the traveling state of the vehicle can be used to determine the speed of the vehicle)([attached machine translation, pg. 7] position on the road in which the light is generated is specified by fiber sensing units).
Regarding claim 5, Aono, as modified in view of Hill teaches the optical fiber sensing system according to claim 1 Aono further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to broadcast the traveling state of the vehicle traveling in the lane to a predetermined broadcasting destination for each of the plurality of lanes (implicit, [attached machine translation, pg. 10], traffic control system manages traffic of vehicles on the road based on detection result of road monitoring device, which includes fiber sensing unit and detection unit. Traffic control system is positioned at a different location)(it is the examiner’s interpretation that as the traffic control system is not collocated with the road monitoring device, there is an implicit broadcasting of the detection results).
Regarding claim 6, the claim is a device claim corresponding to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is a device claim corresponding to claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is a device claim corresponding to claim 3 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is a device claim corresponding to claim 5 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is a method claim corresponding to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is a method claim corresponding to claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is a method claim corresponding to claim 3 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is a method claim corresponding to claim 5 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aono in view of Hill and Martin et al. (US 20180342156 A1, “Martin”).
Regarding claim 4, Aono, as modified in view of Hill teaches the optical fiber sensing system according to claim 3. Aono, as modified in view of Hill may not explicitly teach the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to further detect, for each of the plurality of lanes, an inter-vehicle distance between each vehicle traveling in the lane and a preceding vehicle or a following vehicle based on the vibration data calculated for the lane.
Martin teaches the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to further detect, for each of the plurality of lanes, an inter-vehicle distance between each vehicle traveling in the lane and a preceding vehicle or a following vehicle based on the vibration data calculated for the lane ([0107], average speed of vehicles in each lane may be used together with an indication of flow in the land to calculate the spacing of traffic in each lane).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of distributed acoustic sensing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Aono, as modified in view of Hill to include the vehicle spacing determination of Martin with a reasonable expectation of success, with the motivation of monitoring the flow of traffic on a roadway [abstract].
Regarding claim 9, the claim is a device claim corresponding to claim 4 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is a method claim corresponding to claim 4 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed December 23rd, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 6, and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Aono in view of Hill under 35 U.S.C. 103.
On pg. 2-3 of Applicant’s Remarks, Applicant argues that due to the alleged allowability of claims 1, 6, and 11, claims 2-5, 7-10, and 12-15 are therefore in condition for allowance. As noted in the response to arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, and 11, above, the rejections of the claims are maintained under new grounds (as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments). Therefore the rejections of claims 2-5, 7-10, and 12-15 are maintained.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Karabacak et al. (US 10458818 B2, “Karabacak”) which discloses a fiber-optic based traffic monitoring system
McEwen-King et al. (US 20130151203 A1, “McEwen-King”) which discloses a system and method for detecting moving objects using DAS systems
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645