DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response filed 4/27/2026 amended claims 1, 3, 22, 25 and 32, cancelled claims 4-5 and 26-29, and added new claims 33-37. Applicant’s amendments in light of their arguments are persuasive in overcoming the 35 USC 103 rejection over Saini from the office action mailed 1/26/2026; therefore, this rejection is withdrawn. A new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments is set forth below.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 21-22 are being interpreted by the examiner as requiring all of the additives enumerated in the claims except the defoamer which is an optional additive.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities: “24 or more carbon atoms and formula (a2-1)” should read “24 or more carbon atoms represented by formula (a2-1)” in claim 1 and something similar in claim 23. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-3, 11-12, 14, 21-25 and 30-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura et al., International Publication No. WO/2020/085475 (hereinafter referred to as Tamura – for citation purposes USPG-PUB No. 2021/0355404 is being used) in view of Nakada et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0245014 (hereinafter referred to as Nakada).
Regarding claims 1-3, 11 and 33, Tamura discloses a transmission oil lubricant composition (see Abstract) comprising up to 100 wt% of one or more of an ester synthetic oil, such as, trimethylolpropane reacted with fatty acids having 8, 10 or 12 carbon atoms (reads on (A2) of claim 1 as represented by formula (a2-1) of claim 1 and reads on claims 2-3 – reads on claim 2 as the triester falls within the purview of the formula recited in claim 1) (Para. [0082] and see Table 1), a naphthenic synthetic oil (reads on component (B2) of claim 1) (Para. [0010]), wherein the mixture of base oils comprises between 0.001 to 15 wt% of each additive wherein the additives include a pour point depressant, a viscosity index improver, a detergent, dispersants, a corrosion inhibitor, a rust inhibitor, an anti-foam agent (as recited in claim 1) (Para. [0067]), and no fatty acid amide (as recited in claim 11) (see Table 1) or Group III base oil (as recited in claim 33) (see Table 1).
Tamura discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose the metal deactivator recited in instant claim 1.
Nakada discloses a lubricating oil composition for use in transmissions (Para. [0002]) comprising a base oil including a triester (Para. [0174]) to which is added additives including metal deactivators (as recited in claim 1) (Para. [0221]), metallic detergents (Para. [0224]), and ashless dispersants (Para. [0222]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the additives of Nakada in the composition of Tamura in order to enhance the viscosmetric properties of the composition.
Regarding claims 12, 14 and 34, Tamura discloses all the limitations discussed above including the compositional components of claim 1. Tamura does not, however, explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 12, 14 and 34. It is the position of the examiner that the limitations of claims 12, 14 and 34 are inherently disclosed by the Tamura reference based on the discussion above.
Regarding claims 21-25, 30-32 and 35-37, see discussion above.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments filed 4/27/2026 regarding claims 1-3, 11-12, 14, 21-25 and 30-37 have been fully considered and are moot as the rejections from the previous office action have been withdrawn as discussed above.
The references discussed above adequately read on the claims as instantly recited.
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771