DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 14, 16-19, 29-30, 32-33, 35 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chastain et al., US 2019 0313240 A1 (hereinafter “Chastain”) in view of Bouskila, US 2021 0044947 A1 (hereinafter “Bouskila”).
Regarding Claim 1, Chastain teaches a computer-implemented method for a host device, the computer-implemented method comprising:
performing a first process at a first time, the first process comprising using non-cellular data connectivity to download a profile data structure, the profile data structure comprising a set of two or more International Mobile Subscriber Identities, IMSIs, and authentication data (Chastain, Pages 2-3, Paragraph 34, Fig. 2, communication device; Paragraph 38, provisioning information, Over-the-Air [OTA] communications; Page 4, Paragraphs 43-44, provisioning information associated with the IMSIs, utilized to manage or otherwise facilitate registration; Page 10, Paragraph 80, communication device receives provisioning information that includes a second IMSI) and
performing a second process at a second time, the second time being after the first time, the second process comprising:
selecting an IMSI from the set of IMSIs; and attempting to register with a cellular network using the selected IMSI and the authentication data to obtain cellular network connectivity (Chastain, Page 5, Paragraphs 51-53, Fig. 5, Step 501, registration request, reassigned IMSI from the listing of designated IMSIs).
Chastain fails to fully teach the limitation:
the profile data structure comprising a set of two or more International Mobile Subscriber Identities, IMSIs, and authentication data.
(Chastain fails to explicitly disclose profile data structures, yet discloses that the communication device can be provisioned with a bootstrap IMSI, wherein the IMSIs are associated with provisioning information, based on various criteria, Page 18, Paragraphs 134-136).
However, Bouskila further teaches the limitation:
the profile data structure comprising a set of two or more International Mobile Subscriber Identities, IMSIs, and authentication data (Bouskila, Page 3, Paragraphs 27-30, configured network parameters for connecting to networks, provisioning profile can be configured with a multi-range bootstrap IMSI, range of IMSIs)
Although Chastain addresses the remaining limitations of claim 1, Bouskila demonstrates the following limitations of a computer-implemented method for a host device, the computer-implemented method comprising:
performing a first process at a first time, the first process comprising using non-cellular data connectivity to download a profile data structure, the profile data structure comprising a set of two or more International Mobile Subscriber Identities, IMSIs, and authentication data (Bouskila, Page 2-3, Paragraphs 23-26, Fig. 1, device 120, provisioning profile, non-cellular network; Paragraphs 27-30, configured network parameters, provisioning profile); and
performing a second process at a second time, the second time being after the first time, the second process comprising:
selecting an IMSI from the set of IMSIs; and
attempting to register with a cellular network using the selected IMSI and the authentication data to obtain cellular network connectivity (Bouskila, Pages 3-4, Paragraphs 37-42, Fig. 2, Steps 210-230, selection of the profile, including range of IMSI with assigned priority, to establish a connection between the device and local network).
Bouskila and Chastain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network data management, processing and transfer of user or subscriber data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Chastain to incorporate the teachings of Bouskila for the profile data structure comprising a set of two or more International Mobile Subscriber Identities, IMSIs, and authentication data. Doing so would enable a further optimized configuration of the provided set of IMSIs and related authentication data through the use of provisioning profiles.
Regarding Claim 2, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the set of IMSIs comprise one or more shared IMSIs, the one or more shared IMSIs being included in a plurality of profile data structures that are available to one or more further host device (Chastain, Pages 18-19, Paragraphs 137-138, Fig. 15, communication devices 1510-1510n, shared IMSI[s]; Page 26, Paragraph 188, designated listing of shared IMSI[s]; Bouskila, Page 3, Paragraph 34, multiple profiles defined, each bootstrap IMSI profile may be set with an IMSI range).
Regarding Claim 3, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 2, wherein the one or more shared IMSI comprises any one or more of:
a region independent IMSI associated with region- independence indication data; and
a region dependent IMSI associated with regional indication data (Chastain, Page 22, Paragraphs 160-161, device location, registration service area; Bouskila, Pages 2-3, Paragraphs 25-27, profiles with associated network parameters to communicate through global roaming or region-specific connectivity).
Regarding Claim 4, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 2, wherein the set of IMSIs comprise one or more private IMSIs, the one or more private IMSIs being uniquely included in the profile data structure downloaded to the host device (Chastain, Page 19, Paragraph 140, unique IMSI instance or shared IMSIs; Page 32, Paragraph 241, identity provisioning function, IMSI reassignment, can be a new IMSI not shared by any other device; Bouskila, Pages 3-5, Paragraphs 42-43, new profile selection; Paragraphs 59-61, given IMSI profile; Page 6, Paragraph 73, range of IMSIs defined in bootstrap profiles may be allocated to different devices).
Regarding Claim 5, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 4, characterized by at least one of the following:
the one or more private IMSIs comprises any one or more of:
a region dependent IMSI associated with regional indication data; and
a region independent IMSI associated with region- independence indication data (Chastain, Page 22, Paragraphs 160-161, device location, registration service area; Bouskila, Pages 2-3, Paragraphs 25-27, profiles with associated network parameters to communicate through global roaming or region-specific connectivity; Pages 4-5, Paragraphs 59-60, determination of whether location information status is configured for updates, location information relevant to the physical geographical position of a device, given IMSI profile; Paragraph 61, execution of the IMSI switch); and
the second process comprises determining a geographic location of the host device at the second time, and wherein if the one or more region dependent IMSIs are not associated with the geographic location of the host device, selecting an IMSI from the set of IMSIs includes selecting a region independent IMSI associated with region-independence indication data to register with a cellular network (Chastain, Page 22, Paragraphs 160-161, device location, mitigation or elimination of registration problems associated with non-supported shared IMSIs among co-located devices; Page 28, Paragraph 205, management of IMSIs based on registration error messages, location of device; Bouskila, Pages 3-4, Paragraphs 42-43, Fig. 2, Step 240, new profile selection).
Regarding Claim 6, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 3, wherein the second process comprises determining a geographic location of the host device at the second time, and wherein selecting an IMSI from the set of IMSIs includes selecting a region dependent IMSI associated with the geographic location of the host device (Chastain, Page 22, Paragraphs 160-161, device location, registration service area; Page 28, Paragraph 205, management of IMSIs, location of devices; Bouskila, Pages 3-5, Paragraphs 42-43, new profile selection; Paragraphs 59-61, location information, given IMSI profile).
Regarding Claim 7, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 4, wherein the second process comprises determining a geographic location of the host device at the second time, and wherein if the one or more region dependent IMSIs are not associated with the geographic location of the host device, selecting an IMSI from the set of IMSIs includes selecting a region independent IMSI associated with region-independence indication data to register with a cellular network, wherein selecting an IMSI from the set of IMSIs (Chastain, Page 5, Paragraphs 51-53, Fig. 5, registration request, reassigned IMSI from the listing of designated IMSIs; Page 9, Paragraph 76, obtain information that enables discerning whether the communication device is a new device that has been reassigned the IMSI or is the original device that was previously associated with the IMSI prior to the reassignment) includes prioritizing a private IMSI associated with the geographic location of the host device at the second time (Chastain does not disclose prioritization of an IMSI, however Chastain discloses techniques for elimination or mitigation of registration problems related to device location [Page 22, Paragraphs 160-161], determining how many instances of the IMSI are in use in a particular area [Page 25, Paragraph 181], and dynamic management of the designated listing of shared [Page 26, Paragraph 188; Page 33, Paragraph 245]; Bouskila discloses processes for profile selection, including a range of IMSIs with assigned priority, Pages 3-4, Paragraph 41-42).
Regarding Claim 9, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 1, characterized by at least one of the following:
the second process comprises, if the attempting to register with the cellular network using the selected IMSI is unsuccessful:
selecting a further IMSI from the set of IMSIs to be the selected IMSI; and
attempting to register with the cellular network using the selected IMSI (Chastain, Page 14, Paragraphs 105-106, registration failure, request for reassignment of another IMSI from the listing of designated IMSIs; Bouskila, Page 3, Paragraph 34, multiple profiles defined, configured with bootstrap IMSI allocating connectivity);
if the attempting to register with the cellular network using the selected IMSI is successful and no cellular network connectivity is provided to the host device:
selecting a further IMSI from the set of IMSIs to be the selected IMSI; and
attempting to register with the cellular network using the selected IMS (Chastain, Page 5, Paragraphs 51-53, Fig. 5, registration request, reassigned IMSI from the listing of designated IMSIs; Page 9, Paragraph 76, failure to obtain device identity information for the communication device, discerning whether device is a new device that has been reassigned the IMSI or is original device previously associated with IMSI prior to reassignment; Pages 24-25, Paragraphs 178-179, identity proxy function can determine whether the registration request is coming from a "new" device rather than device that has already registered or is re-registering with the network; if IMSI adjustment is necessary, an OTA can be implemented if IMSI adjustment is necessary; Bouskila, Page 4, Paragraphs 51-54, Fig. 5, Steps 510-530, activation of a first bootstrap IMSI profile, attempt to connect the device to the cellular network through allocated IMSI out of the range of IMSIs, verifying connection success).
Regarding Claim 10, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 1, characterized by at least one of the following:
a single set of authentication data is associated with each IMSI of the set of IMSIs, the second process is triggered independently of the first process; and
at the second time the mobile device does not have non-cellular data connectivity. (Chastain, Page 5, Paragraphs 51-53, Fig. 5, registration request, reassigned IMSI from the listing of designated IMSIs; Pages 25, Paragraph 181, OTA technique via alternate access network [Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, NFC, and/or wired broadband connection]; Bouskila, Page 2, Paragraph 23, alternative methods for device to download a provisioning profile, non-cellular network; Pages 3-4, selection of the profile, including range of IMSI).
Regarding Claim 14, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the host device is a first host device and the profile data structure is a first profile data structure (Chastain, Page 5, Paragraphs 51-53, Fig. 5, registration request, reassigned IMSI from the listing of designated IMSIs; Page 9, Paragraph 76, device identity information) and wherein a second profile data structure comprising a further set of two or more IMSIs is provided to a second host device (Bouskila, Pages 2-3, Paragraphs 25-27, Fig. 1, Devices 120-1, 120-2, 120-3, respectively configured with SIM parameters 125-1, 125-2, 125-3).
Regarding Claim 16, it differs from Claim 1 only in that it is a host device comprising at least one processor and storage comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a computer-implemented method according to claim 1. (Chastain and Bouskila disclose a host device, comprising at least one processor and storage comprising computer-executable instructions in Chastain, Page 2, Paragraphs 31 and 34, Fig. 2, communication device 210, processor, memory that stores executable instructions; Bouskila, Page 2-3, Paragraphs 23-26, Fig. 1, device 120; Page 6, Paragraph 75-76, processor, computer-readable instructions). Claim 16 recites similar limitations as in Claim 1 and Chastain in view of Bouskila discloses them.
Regarding Claim 17, it differs from Claim 1 only in that it is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising computer executable instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method according to claim 1. (Chastain and Bouskila disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising computer executable instructions in Chastain, Pages 10-11, Paragraph 80, Fig. 9, communication device, Paragraph 88, non-transitory memory; Bouskila, Page 6, Paragraph 77, non-transitory memory). Claim 17 recites similar limitations as in Claim 1 and Chastain in view of Bouskila discloses them.
Regarding Claim 18, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method for enabling a host device to obtain cellular network connectivity, the method comprising:
receiving a request to provide a profile data structure to a host device; and
transmitting the profile data structure for receipt by the host device (Chastain, Page 5, Paragraphs 51-53, Step 501, registration request, reassigned IMSI from the listing of designated IMSIs, Step 504, messaging associated with registration process exchanged between server components, communication device; Bouskila, Page 3, Paragraphs 37-40, Fig. 2, Step 210, validating device authorization, Step 220, selection of device profile),
wherein the profile data structure comprises a first set of two or more International Mobile Subscriber Identities, IMSIs, and authentication data (Chastain, Page 4, Paragraphs 43-47, identity proxy function, list of IMSIs designated for potential reassignment or have been reassigned to another device; identity provisioning function, maintain listing of designated IMSIs, listing of designated IMSIs generated based on various criteria, provisioning information associated with IMSIs; Bouskila, Page 3, Paragraph 34, first profile may be defined as IMSI-X with range of Y, second profile may be defined as IMSI-M with range of X [where Y is different than X]),
wherein the first set of two or more IMSIs are selected from a second set of three or more IMSIs (Chastain, Page 18, Paragraphs 133-136, group of designated IMSIs, second or third subset of IMSIs; Bouskila, Pages 3-4, Paragraphs 37-42, Fig. 2, Steps 210-230, selection of the profile, including range of IMSI with assigned priority, to establish a connection between the device and local network).
Regarding Claim 19, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 18, characterized by at least one of the following:
a single set of authentication data is associated with each IMSI of the first set of IMSIs; and
the second set of IMSIs comprises one or more shared IMSIs that are included in a plurality of profile data structures which are available to a plurality of further host devices and one or more private IMSIs that are uniquely included in the profile data structure provided to the host device (Chastain, Pages 18-19, Paragraphs 137-138, Fig. 15, communication devices 1510-1510n, shared IMSI[s]; Page 24, Paragraph 177, registration process and utilization of features related to shared IMSIs; Page 32, Paragraph 241, new IMSI not shared by any other device; Bouskila, Page 3, Paragraph 34, multiple profiles defined, with IMSI range; Page 6, Paragraph 73, range of IMSIs defined in bootstrap profiles may be allocated to different devices).
Regarding Claim 29, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a network element for authenticating a host device to a cellular network, the network element being configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving an authentication request from a host device, wherein the host device is using either:
a shared IMSI that is included in a plurality of profile data structures which are available to a plurality of host devices; or
a private IMSI that is uniquely included in a profile data structure of the host device (Chastain, Page 3, Paragraph 37, AUC, authentication request, database containing device information integrated with the HLR; Page 19, Paragraph 140, unique IMSI instance or shared IMSIs; Bouskila, Pages 3-6, Paragraph 27-38, Fig. 5, Step 210, authentication request from device; Paragraphs 42-43, new profile selection; Paragraphs 59-61, given IMSI profile; Paragraph 73, range of IMSIs defined in bootstrap profiles may be allocated to different devices);
accessing information that identifies an IMSI used by the host device as being either a shared IMSI or a private IMSI (Chastain, Page 4, Paragraphs 43-47, registration request, identity proxy function, list of IMSIs designated for potential reassignment or have been reassigned to another device; identity provisioning function, maintain listing of designated IMSIs, listing of designated IMSIs generated based on various criteria, provisioning information associated with IMSIs); and
responding to the authentication request in a manner which is dependent on whether the host device is using a shared IMSI or a private IMSI (Chastain, Page 12, Paragraphs 52-53, registration request, authentication request, registration function server; Bouskila, Page 3, Paragraph 28, determination of authorization).
Regarding Claim 30, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a network element according to claim 29, wherein the network element is characterized by at least one of the following:
the network element is a home server implemented as any one or more of: a Home Subscriber Server; a Home Location Register; an authentication centre; or a combination thereof;
if the host device is using a private IMSI, responding to the authentication request comprises authenticating the host device (Chastain, Pages 2-3, Paragraphs 34-35, network components such as a Home Location Register [HLR], an Authentication Center [AUC]; Page 12, Paragraphs 52-53, authentication request; Page 32, Paragraph 241, identity provisioning function, IMSI reassignment, can be new IMSI not shared by any other device; Bouskila, Page 3, Paragraph 28, determination of authorization; Page 6, Paragraph 73, central server);
if the host device is using a shared IMSI, responding to the authentication request comprises performing a check to determine if the shared IMSI is in active state in a cellular network;
the information that identifies an IMSI as being a shared IMSI or a private IMSI is provided by a provisioning system via a communications interface (Chastain, Pages 4-6, Paragraphs 42-47, provisioning of information associated with the IMSIs; Paragraph 57, original device, activity state; Bouskila, Pages 2-4, Paragraphs 25-27, profiles with associated network parameters to communicate through global roaming or region-specific connectivity; Paragraph 28, determination of authorization; Paragraph 46, IMSI selection method); and
the network element stores registration information associated with host devices which are registered with the cellular network, and wherein the network element is further configured to process the registration information to deregister host devices which are no longer to be registered (Chastain, Pages 7-8, Paragraph 65-66, determination of device eligibility for communication services, disabling use of the particular IMSI by the original device; Bouskila, Page 4, Paragraphs 47-50, timer expiration).
Regarding Claim 32, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a network element according to claim 29, wherein, if the host device is using a shared IMSI, responding to the authentication request comprises performing a check to determine if the shared IMSI is in active state in a cellular network, wherein if the shared IMSI is in active state in a cellular network, the network element rejects the authentication request from the host device (Chastain, Page 21, Paragraph 153, a device with a shared IMSI does not register when a device with the same IMSI is already registered or otherwise designated to that registration service area; Bouskila, Page 3, Paragraph 33, one device assigned with a bootstrap IMSI can be connected to the cellular network, while other devices with the same bootstrap IMSI shall not be able to register with the same allocated bootstrap IMSI).
Regarding Claim 35, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a network element according to claim 29, wherein the network element stores registration information associated with host devices which are registered with the cellular network, and wherein the network element is further configured to process the registration information to deregister host devices which are no longer to be registered, wherein processing the registration information to deregister host devices which are no longer to be registered includes deregistering a said host device which registered with the cellular network using a shared IMSI after a predetermined period of time has lapsed since said host device registered with the cellular network (Chastain, Page 18, Paragraph 133, device/UICC can switch from utilizing original IMSI to bootstrap IMSI responsive to detecting triggering event; device can monitor for a time period from last successful registration, switch to bootstrap IMSI if time period exceeds particular threshold; Paragraphs 135-136, group of designated IMSIs, can include: first subset of IMSIs designated for limited use (bootstrap IMSIs), second subset of IMSIs designated as having been reassigned to other devices, and/or third subset designated for potential reassignment but not yet been reassigned to other devices; Bouskila, Page 4, Paragraphs 47-50, timer expiration).
Regarding Claim 37, it differs from Claim 18 only in that it is a computer system communicatively coupled to a cellular network, the computer system comprising at least one processor and storage comprising computer executable instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computer system to perform a method according to claim 18 (Chastain and Bouskila disclose a computer system communicatively coupled to a cellular network, the computer system comprising at least one processor and storage comprising computer executable instructions in Chastain, Page 2, Paragraph 33, method including provisioning, by a server including a processor; Bouskila, Page 6, Paragraphs 73 and 75-77, central server, processor).
Claim 37 recites similar limitations as in Claim 18 and Chastain in view of Bouskila discloses them.
Regarding Claim 38, it differs from Claim 18 only in that it is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising computer executable instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the processor to perform a method according to claim 18. (Chastain and Bouskila disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising computer executable instructions in Chastain, Page 37, Paragraph 279, virtual processing environment, processor executes instructions to perform operations; Bouskila, Page 6, Paragraphs 73 and 75-77, central server, processor). Claim 38 recites similar limitations as in Claim 18 and Chastain in view of Bouskila discloses them.
Claims 15, 20, 22, 24, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chastain as modified by Bouskila and further in view of Prabdial et al., US 2017 0099601 A1 (hereinafter “Prabdial”).
Regarding Claim 15, Chastain in view of Bouskila teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 14, wherein the use of the selected IMSI by the first host device causes the prioritisation of one or more IMSIs, different to the selected IMSI, when providing the further set of IMSIs to the second host device (Chastain does not disclose prioritization of an IMSI, however Chastain discloses techniques for elimination or mitigation of registration problems related to device location [Page 22, Paragraphs 160-161], determining how many instances of the IMSI are in use in a particular area [Page 25, Paragraph 181], and dynamic management of the designated listing of IMSIs [Page 26, Paragraph 188; Page 33, Paragraph 245]; Bouskila discloses multiple profiles defined, with IMSI range [Page 3, Paragraph 34], processes for profile selection, including a range of IMSIs with assigned priority [Pages 3-4, Paragraph 41-42], and a range of IMSIs defined in bootstrap profiles that may be allocated to different devices [Page 6, Paragraph 73]).
Chastain in view of Bouskila fails to fully teach the limitation:
prioritisation of one or more IMSIs, different to the selected IMSI, when providing the further set of IMSIs to the second host device.
However, Prabdial further teaches the limitation:
prioritisation of one or more IMSIs, different to the selected IMSI, when providing the further set of IMSIs to the second host device (Prabdial, Page 5, Paragraph 58, location register [HLR], subscriber mobile terminal; Paragraph 62, token signal, further profile information; Page 6, Paragraphs 74-77, SIM may contain multiple Kis and multiple IMSIs, one Ki being associated with at least two IMSIs, sequence of IMSIs to be used; Pages 7-8, Paragraph 88, service platform may comprise, or be in communication with, a rules engine which is configurable by the controller of the service platform; Paragraph 92, service platform, re-order of the priority list; Paragraph 97, modifications of the IMSI priority list upon remote instruction provided from the service platform, amended HLR database).
Prabdial, Bouskila and Chastain are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network data management, processing and transfer of user or subscriber data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Chastain in view of Bouskila to incorporate the teachings of Prabdial for prioritization of one or more IMSIs, different to the selected IMSI, when providing the further set of IMSIs to the second host device. Doing so would provide a further optimization in dynamic modification of the range of IMSIs provided to a plurality of devices based on programmable criteria provided by a rules engine.
Regarding Claim 20, Chastain as modified by Bouskila and further in view of Prabdial teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 18, wherein the second set of IMSIs comprises one or more shared IMSIs that are included in a plurality of profile data structures which are available to a plurality of further host devices and one or more private IMSIs that are uniquely included in the profile data structure provided to the host device, the method being characterized by at least one of the following:
the one or more shared IMSIs and the one or more private IMSIs each comprise any one or more of a region dependent IMSI associated with regional indication data; and
a region independent IMSI associated with regional independence indication data; (Chastain, Page 22, Paragraphs 160-161, registration, device location; Bouskila, Pages 2-3, Paragraphs 25-27, profiles with associated network parameters to communicate through global roaming or region-specific connectivity; Pages 4-5, Paragraphs 59-60, determination of whether location information status is configured for updates, location information relevant to the physical geographical position of a device, given IMSI profile; Paragraph 61, execution of the IMSI switch; Prabdial, Page 5, Paragraphs 62-63, verification that IMSI number is in a range maintained by the location register) and
the method comprises using a provisioning system to batch the second set of three or more IMSIs into a plurality of batched sets of two or more IMSIs, each batched set of two or more IMSIs comprising at least one shared IMSI and at least one private IMSI, and wherein at least one of the batched sets is selected to be the first set of two or more IMSIs (Chastain, Page 26, Paragraph 188; Page 33, Paragraph 245, dynamic management of the designated listing of IMSIs; Bouskila, Pages 3-4, Paragraph 34, first profile may be defined as IMSI-X with range of Y, second profile may be defined as IMSI-M with range of X [where Y is different than X]; Paragraphs 37-42, Fig. 2, Steps 210-230, selection of the profile, including range of IMSI with assigned priority, to establish a connection between the device and local network; Prabdial, Page 6, Paragraphs 74-77, plurality of different IMSIs; predetermined sequence of IMSIs to be used; Pages 7-8, Paragraph 88, configurable rules engine; Paragraph 92, service platform, re-order the priority list; Paragraph 97, modification of the priority list based on instruction from the service platform, rules engine in communication with service platform).
Regarding Claim 22, Chastain as modified by Bouskila and further in view of Prabdial teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 20, wherein the method comprises using a provisioning system to batch the second set of three or more IMSIs into a plurality of batched sets of two or more IMSIs, each batched set of two or more IMSIs comprising at least one shared IMSI and at least one private IMSI, and wherein at least one of the batched sets is selected to be the first set of two or more IMSIs, the method comprising the provisioning system transmitting the batched sets of two or more IMSIs to network elements including a home server, implemented as any one or more of a Home Subscriber Server, a Home Location Register, an Authentication Centre, or any combination thereof (Chastain, Pages 2-3, Paragraphs 34-35, network components such as a Home Location Register [HLR], an Authentication Center [AUC]; Bouskila, Page 6, Paragraph 73, central server; Prabdial, Page 2, Paragraphs 20-22, location register; Page 5, Paragraph 58, HLR, location register; Page 7, Paragraph 87-88, provision of a service platform, HLR, configurable rules engine;).
Regarding Claim 24, Chastain as modified by Bouskila and further in view of Prabdial teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 18, characterized by at least one of the following:
the IMSIs in the first set of IMSIs are at least in one respect substantially randomly related to the second set of IMSIs (Chastain, Page 10, Paragraph 80, provisioning information; Page 18, Paragraphs 134-136, communication device can be provisioned with bootstrap IMSI based on various criteria; Bouskila, Pages 2-3, Paragraphs 27-30, configured network parameters for connecting to networks, provisioning profile, relevant profiles, multi-range bootstrap IMSI, best-optimized IMSI allocation; Prabdial, Page 7, Paragraph 89, information communicated to the service platform, service platform criteria);
the method comprises receiving data indicating a number of times that IMSIs in the second set of IMSIs have been used by other host devices, and wherein the first set of IMSIs are selected based on the data indicating the number of times that IMSIs in the second set of IMSIs have been used by other host devices (Chastain discloses a process for flagging devices and IMSIs for dynamic IMSI management, based on triggering events [Page 4, Paragraphs 44-47, identity proxy function, device and/or IMSI flagging, threshold time period; Page 18, Paragraphs 133-146, group of designated IMSIs and related subsets, triggering events]; Bouskila discloses defining multiple profiles with an IMSI range [Page 3, Paragraph 34], processes for profile selection, including a range of IMSIs with assigned priority [Pages 3-4, Paragraph 41-42]; Prabdial discloses a predetermined sequences of a plurality of different IMSIs to be used [Page 6, Paragraphs 74-77] and the capability of modifying the priority list based on instruction from the service platform in conjunction with the configurable instruction received from a rules engine in communication with the service platform [Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 88, 92 and 97]).
Regarding Claim 26, Chastain as modified by Bouskila and further in view of Prabdial teaches
A computer-implemented method according to claim 18, the method comprising receiving data indicating a number of times that IMSIs in the second set of IMSIs have been used by other host devices, and wherein the first set of IMSIs are selected based on the data indicating the number of times that IMSIs in the second set of IMSIs have been used by other host devices, wherein selecting the first set of IMSIs based on the data indicating the number of times that IMSIs in the second set of IMSIs have been used by other host devices comprises prioritising IMSIs of the second set of IMSIs which are associated with fewer uses than other IMSIs of the second set of IMSIs (Chastain, Page 18, Paragraphs 133-146, group of designated IMSIs and related subsets, triggering events; Bouskila, Pages 3-4, Paragraph 41-42, selection of the profile, including range of IMSI with assigned priority; Prabdial, Page 6, Paragraphs 74-77, plurality of different IMSIs to be used; Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 88, 92 and 97, service platform, rules engine, modification of the priority list).
Regarding Claim 27, Chastain as modified by Bouskila and further in view of Prabdial teaches a computer-implemented method according to claim 26, characterized by at least one of the following:
comprising determining a geographic location of the host device, and wherein selecting the first set of IMSIs based on the data indicating the number of times that IMSIs in the second set of IMSIs have been used by other host devices comprises prioritising IMSIs of the second set of IMSIs which are associated with fewer uses in the geographic location than other IMSIs of the second set of IMSIs, and
prioritising IMSIs of the second set of IMSIs is time dependent such that different IMSIs are prioritized at different points in time (Chastain, Page 18, Paragraphs 133-146, group of designated IMSIs and related subsets, triggering events; Bouskila, Pages 3-4, Paragraph 41-42, selection of the profile, including range of IMSI with assigned priority; Prabdial, Page 6, Paragraphs 74-77, plurality of different IMSIs to be used; Pages 7-8, Paragraphs 88, 92 and 97, service platform, rules engine, modification of the priority list).
Conclusion
/GABRIELLE N DAI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2681
/AKWASI M SARPONG/ SPE, Art Unit 2681 5/19/2026