Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 31-39 and 50 in the reply filed on 8/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 40-49 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected invention.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 31, the recitation of “ the longitudinal direction” does not have proper antecedent basis. Line 13, the limitation “ said fluid” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what fluid the claim is referring to. Previous lines recite fluid accommodating spaces; there is no recitation of any fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-37,39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scionti ( WO 2020030628)
For claim 31, Scionti discloses a meat analog product having texture and mechanical properties resembling traditional meat with high skeletal fibrous consistency. The product comprises protein mass in form of sheet comprising protein filaments. The layers are made of microextruded protein filaments. The filaments at several densities per unit surface. When a percentage of microextruded filaments per unit of layer surface is under 100%, it means that the filaments are disposed in parallel but they are not in contact thus leading empty spaces between filaments. The empty spaces between filaments are the same as the claimed plurality of fluid accommodating spaces. The spaces are parallel to the protein strands. Thus they are elongated and has first end and second end. The spaces are empty which means it's airy gas spaces. The filaments are in form of threads with a longitudinal section higher than its cross section layers. They have a cross section with a diameter from 10 microns to 1000 microns. The filaments are arranged in parallel; thus, all the filaments are in parallel encompassing the claimed at least 60%. For claim 32, since the protein filaments are arranged in parallel. It’s obvious the ends are exposed externally. For claim 33, as shown in figure 11, the spaces do have a definite shape. So they are amorphouse in shape. For claim 35, Scionti discloses the protein filaments are arranged not touching so that there are spaces, there is no disclosure of having different length of filaments. Thus, it obviously inherent they are off the same length and cross sectional dimensions. For claim 37, figure 13 shows a slab defining a horizontal plane and cross sectional dimension being perpendicular to the horizontal plane. When the filaments are arranged in parallel to form the slab, the empty spaces are perpendicular to the horizontal plane. For claim 39, Scionti discloses the protein mass comprises texture protein. ( see pages 4-5, 19,29)
Scionti does not specifically disclose at least 2mm and twice larger than the cross sectional dimension as in claim 31, the dimension as in claim 34 and the volume as in claim 36.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the filaments any length depending on the shape desired. The empty elongated spaces would be the same length as the filaments. It would have been obvious to arrange the filaments in any varying arrangement to have any varying dimension between empty spaces as an obvious matter of shape and size desired. Such parameter can readily be determined by one skilled in the art. It would have been obvious to vary the volume contributed by the empty spaces depending on the density of the filament desired to make the layers. Scionti discloses the percentage can be up to 100%.
Claim(s) 38,50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scionti (WO 2020/030628) in view of Geistlinger ( 2017/0035076).
Scionti does not disclose method marinating as in claim 50.
Geistlinger discloses products having structures, textures and other similar properties to those of animal meat. The protein fibrous products can be marinated by immersing in a marinade. ( see paragraphs 0123,0125)
The marination in claim 38 is an intended use which does not determine the patentability of the product. In any event, marinading meat product is well known and marinading meat analog product is known as shown in Geistlinger. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to marinade the Scionti product when desiring to obtain enhanced flavoring. The marinade will absorb into the product and the empty spaces.
Conclusion
September 16, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793