DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 3/23/2026, with respect to rejections of claims 15, 16, 18 and 20 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 15, 16, 18 and 20 under 35 USC 112 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 103a.
In response to applicant's argument that there is no suggestion that Carmichael’s hood would not remove vapors and fumes or rotate on command and is rather attached to the cleaning device, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are therefore being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses the word means that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“labeling means” in claim 1. The specification discloses “In particular, the labeling means 6 comprise a drum 8, which may be a transfer drum or a cutting and transfer drum and faces the containers 3 in order to transfer to said containers the labels 7 obtained from the cutting of a label ribbon 9, picked up from a spool 9a, in a per se known manner. The labeling means 6 comprise, moreover, at least one adhesive application assembly 10 designed to supply adhesive to the labels 7 before their transfer to the containers 3 on the part of the drum 8.”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“labeling assembly” in claim 11, 14. The specification discloses corresponding structure by disclosing “Each labeling assembly generally has an unwinding assembly which is designed to unwind the label ribbon from its spool” and “there is at least one labeling assembly 5 that has labeling means 6 adapted to apply the labels 7 on the containers 3 that transit on the conveyor 2.” The specification also discloses “In greater detail, the labeling assembly 5 comprises a base framework 12, which forms, conveniently in its upper part, a worktop 12a, on which the adhesive application assembly 10 is mounted, as well as the other components of the labeling means 6.”
“adhesive application assembly” in claim 11, 14. The specification discloses corresponding structure by disclosing “Typically, the adhesive application assembly is constituted by a glue roller” and “For example, the adhesive application assembly 10 comprises a glue roller 10a, which is arranged laterally to the drum 8 to contact the labels 7 or the label ribbon 9 entrained by the drum 8.”
“supporting element” in claim 17, 18, 19. The specification discloses corresponding structure by disclosing “In particular, the supporting element 16 is, conveniently, provided by a tubular body 17, which in turn provides the discharge duct 14.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmichael (US 20160280411 A1), DE 202016104049 U1 and Schinelli (US 20180354670 A1).
As to claim 11, Carmichael discloses a labeling machine comprising a conveyor (carousel 5) for moving containers to be labeled along an advancement path (article path P) and at least one labeling assembly (label transfer drum 8, feeding unit 12, cutting unit 14, glue applicator 15) arranged along said advancement path and provided with labeling means (label transfer drum 8 and glue applicator 15) configured to apply at least one respective label to the containers that transit on said conveyor, said labeling means comprising at least one adhesive application assembly (glue applicator 15) designed to supply adhesive to the labels before transfer of the labels to the containers, further comprising at least one extraction hood (evacuation hood 32)which is mounted on said labeling assembly. See Figure 1, below:
Carmichael, however, does not disclose that the extraction hood is configured to rotate on command, with respect to said labeling assembly, between an active position, in which the extraction hood is arranged above said adhesive application assembly, and an inactive position, in which the extraction hood is arranged at least partially outside of a work area of said labeling means.
However, changes in size/proportion and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B. Similarly, making parts separable and adjustable is often obvious, MPEP 2144. V C and D, and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Additionally, DE 202016104049 U1 discloses an extraction hood with an active position, in which the extraction hood is arranged above said adhesive application assembly. See the translation, disclosing:
In the figure is a glue roller 1 shown in a housing 2 is arranged. A deduction 3 for sucking glue vapors is also shown. The trigger includes a fume hood 4 , which is arranged in operation above the glue roller. Alternatively, it is also possible to remove glue from the side. In addition, the trigger comprises a connecting pipe 5 The hood with a container 6 combines. Glue vapors from the glue roller can thus be sucked in above the glue roller and transported through the tube to the container.
DE 202016104049 U1 also teaches in the translation that “In addition, the vapors can pose a health hazard for operators” and “It is therefore an object of the invention to provide a trigger for the extraction of glue vapors, which avoids contamination of the production facility and the customer's piping systems and reduces health hazards to the operator.” Thus, the hood functions as a protective body for the operator because it reduces health hazards.
See Figure 1, below:
See also Figures 2 and 3, disclosing second and third embodiments.
Schinelli discloses that it is known to have safety features such as a protective body that is configured to move on command, with respect to said labeling assembly, between an active position, in which the safety feature such as a protective body is arranged above said adhesive application assembly, and an inactive position, in which the safety feature such as a protective body is arranged at least partially outside of a work area of said labeling means. See paragraphs 0043-44, disclosing:
[0043] According to the invention, such delimiting means comprise at least one protective body 7 which can move slideably, with respect to the base frame 2, between an active position, shown for example in FIG. 1, in which the protective body 7 delimits at least partially the work area of the labeling means 6, and at least one inactive position, which is spaced with respect to the active position, in which free access is allowed from the outside to the work area of the labeling means 6, as shown for example in FIG. 2.
[0044] In more detail, the protective body 7 is, advantageously, mounted so that it can slide along one or more guides 8 that extend substantially vertically from the base frame 2, so as to allow the protective body 7 to pass from a lowered condition with respect to the base frame 2, in which the protective body 7 is in the active position, to a raised condition with respect to the base frame 2, in which the protective body 7 is instead in the inactive position, and vice versa.
See Figures 1 and 2, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized an extraction hood with an active position, in which the extraction hood is arranged above said adhesive application assembly as suggested by DE 202016104049 U1 and to have to have safety features such as a protective body that is configured to rotate on command, with respect to said labeling assembly, between an active position, in which the safety feature such as a protective body is arranged above said adhesive application assembly, and an inactive position, in which the safety feature such as a protective body is arranged at least partially outside of a work area of said labeling means as suggested by Schinelli in order to achieve the full limitation of that the extraction hood is configured to move on command, with respect to said labeling assembly, between an active position, in which the extraction hood is arranged above said adhesive application assembly, and an inactive position, in which the extraction hood is arranged at least partially outside of a work area of said labeling means in order to achieve to provide a movable hood for the extraction of glue vapors, which avoids contamination of the production facility and the customer's piping systems and reduces health hazards to the operator, and because such features would have been obvious changes in size/proportion and shape, obvious making parts separable and adjustable and obvious rearrangement of prior art parts. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B; MPEP 2144. V C and D,; MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 12, Carmichael does not disclose wherein said extraction hood is arranged, in said active position, at a closer distance with respect to said adhesive application assembly.
However, changes in size/proportion and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B. Similarly, making parts separable and adjustable is often obvious, MPEP 2144. V C and D, and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Additionally, DE 202016104049 U1 discloses an extraction hood close to the adhesive application assembly, and Schinelli discloses moveable protective body wherein the active position is closer to the labeling assembly and the inactive position is further would have made obvious wherein said extraction hood is arranged, in said active position, at a closer distance with respect to said adhesive application assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said extraction hood is arranged, in said active position, at a closer distance with respect to said adhesive application assembly as suggested by the extraction hood of DE 202016104049 U1 and the moveable protective body of Schinelli in order to achieve to provide a movable hood for the extraction of glue vapors, which avoids contamination of the production facility and the customer's piping systems and reduces health hazards to the operator, and because such features would have been obvious changes in size/proportion and shape, obvious making parts separable and adjustable and obvious rearrangement of prior art parts. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B; MPEP 2144. V C and D,; MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 13, Carmichael does not disclose wherein said extraction hood is connected to means for conveyance of fumes or vapors collected by said extraction hood toward a lower part of said labeling assembly.
However, DE 202016104049 U1 discloses wherein said extraction hood is connected to means for conveyance of fumes or vapors collected by said extraction hood toward a lower part of said labeling assembly. See the translation, disclosing:
In the figure is a glue roller 1 shown in a housing 2 is arranged. A deduction 3 for sucking glue vapors is also shown. The trigger includes a fume hood 4 , which is arranged in operation above the glue roller. Alternatively, it is also possible to remove glue from the side. In addition, the trigger comprises a connecting pipe 5 The hood with a container 6 combines. Glue vapors from the glue roller can thus be sucked in above the glue roller and transported through the tube to the container.
DE 202016104049 U1 also teaches in the translation that “In addition, the vapors can pose a health hazard for operators” and “It is therefore an object of the invention to provide a trigger for the extraction of glue vapors, which avoids contamination of the production facility and the customer's piping systems and reduces health hazards to the operator.”
See Figure 1, below:
See also Figures 2 and 3, disclosing second and third embodiments.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said extraction hood is connected to means for conveyance of fumes or vapors collected by said extraction hood toward a lower part of said labeling assembly as suggested by DE 202016104049 U1 in order to achieve to provide a movable hood for the extraction of glue vapors, which avoids contamination of the production facility and the customer's piping systems and reduces health hazards to the operator and because such features would have been obvious changes in size/proportion and shape, obvious making parts separable and adjustable and obvious rearrangement of prior art parts. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B; MPEP 2144.04 V C and D; MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 14, Carmichael does not disclose wherein said labeling assembly comprises a base framework which forms a worktop, on which said adhesive application assembly is mounted, said extraction hood being supported by said base framework so that the extraction hood can rotate, with respect to said base framework, about a rotation axis, for a movement thereof between said active position and said inactive position.
However, Schinelli discloses wherein said labeling assembly comprises a base framework (base frame 2) which forms a worktop, on which said adhesive application assembly is mounted. See paragraph 0039, disclosing:
[0039] In particular, the base frame 2 supports the labeling means 6 that make it possible to affix labels on the individual containers 4 transiting along the conveyor 3.
As noted above, DE 202016104049 U1 suggests an extraction hood close to said adhesive application assembly and Schinelli discloses a moveable protective body. See the discussion in claims 11-13, above. Additionally, changes in size/proportion and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B. Similarly, making parts separable and adjustable is often obvious, MPEP 2144. V C and D, and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI C. An arrangement wherein said extraction hood being supported by said base framework so that the extraction hood can rotate, with respect to said base framework, about a rotation axis, for a movement thereof between said active position and said inactive position would have been an obvious changes in size/proportion and shape (going from linear shape or direction to rotational); as well as an obvious making parts separable and adjustable and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said labeling assembly comprises a base framework which forms a worktop, on which said adhesive application assembly is mounted, said extraction hood being supported by said base framework so that the extraction hood can rotate, with respect to said base framework, about a rotation axis, for a movement thereof between said active position and said inactive position as suggested by the extraction hood of DE 202016104049 U1 and the moveable protective body of Schinelli in order to achieve to provide a movable hood for the extraction of glue vapors, which avoids contamination of the production facility and the customer's piping systems and reduces health hazards to the operator, and because such features would have been obvious changes in size/proportion and shape, obvious making parts separable and adjustable and obvious rearrangement of prior art parts. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B; MPEP 2144. V C and D,; MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 15, Carmichael does not disclose wherein said extraction hood is connected to an extraction flow path arranged below said worktop.
However, DE 202016104049 U1 discloses wherein said extraction hood is connected to an extraction flow path (such as path to a conventional pump). See the translation, disclosing “For sucking the glue vapor, any known suction system may be used, for example a conventional pump.”
Additionally, changes in size/proportion and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B. Similarly, making parts separable and adjustable is often obvious, MPEP 2144. V C and D, and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI C. An arrangement wherein an extraction device is arranged below said worktop would have been an obvious changes in size/proportion and shape (going from linear shape or direction to rotational); as well as an obvious making parts separable and adjustable and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said extraction hood is connected to an extraction flow path arranged below said worktop as suggested by the conventional pump of DE 202016104049 U1 in order to achieve to provide a movable hood for the extraction of glue vapors, which avoids contamination of the production facility and the customer's piping systems and reduces health hazards to the operator, and because such features would have been obvious changes in size/proportion and shape, obvious making parts separable and adjustable and obvious rearrangement of prior art parts. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B; MPEP 2144. V C and D,; MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 16, Carmichael does not disclose wherein said extraction hood is connected to a discharge duct, which passes through said worktop and is connected to said extraction flow path.
However, DE 202016104049 U1 discloses wherein said extraction hood is connected to a discharge duct (“connecting pipe 5”).
Additionally, changes in size/proportion and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B. Similarly, making parts separable and adjustable is often obvious, MPEP 2144. V C and D, and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI C. An arrangement wherein the discharge duct passes through said worktop and is connected to said extraction flow path would have been an obvious changes in size/proportion and shape (going from linear shape or direction to rotational); as well as an obvious making parts separable and adjustable and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said extraction hood is connected to a discharge duct, which passes through said worktop and is connected to said extraction device as suggested by the discharge duct (or connecting pipe) and conventional pump of DE 202016104049 U1 in order to achieve to provide a movable hood for the extraction of glue vapors, which avoids contamination of the production facility and the customer's piping systems and reduces health hazards to the operator, and because such features would have been obvious changes in size/proportion and shape, obvious making parts separable and adjustable and obvious rearrangement of prior art parts. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B; MPEP 2144. V C and D,; MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 17, Carmichael does not disclose wherein said extraction hood is supported by a supporting element which is mounted so that it can rotate on said worktop about said rotation axis.
However, DE 202016104049 U1 as discussed above in claim 11 discloses said extraction hood as a protective body. Additionally Schinelli discloses that protective bodies are supported by a supporting element such as guides 8 and post 8a. See paragraphs 0044-45, below:
[0044] In more detail, the protective body 7 is, advantageously, mounted so that it can slide along one or more guides 8 that extend substantially vertically from the base frame 2, so as to allow the protective body 7 to pass from a lowered condition with respect to the base frame 2, in which the protective body 7 is in the active position, to a raised condition with respect to the base frame 2, in which the protective body 7 is instead in the inactive position, and vice versa.
[0045] Conveniently, each guide 8 is fixed to a respective post 8a that extends, substantially vertically, from the base frame 2 and is, advantageously, engaged slideably by a corresponding slider 9 which is fixed to the protective body 7, for example by way of adapted brackets 9a.
Additionally, changes in size/proportion and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B. Similarly, making parts separable and adjustable is often obvious, MPEP 2144. V C and D, and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI C. An arrangement wherein said extraction hood is supported by a supporting element which is mounted so that it can rotate on said worktop about said rotation axis would have been an obvious changes in size/proportion and shape (going from linear shape or direction to rotational); as well as an obvious making parts separable and adjustable and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said extraction hood is supported by a supporting element which is mounted so that it can rotate on said worktop about said rotation axis as suggested by the extraction hood DE 202016104049 U1 and the guides and posts of Schinelli in order to achieve to provide a movable hood for the extraction of glue vapors, which avoids contamination of the production facility and the customer's piping systems and reduces health hazards to the operator, and because such features would have been obvious changes in size/proportion and shape, obvious making parts separable and adjustable and obvious rearrangement of prior art parts. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B; MPEP 2144. V C and D,; MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 18, Carmichael does not disclose wherein said discharge duct is formed inside said supporting element.
However, changes in size/proportion and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B. Similarly, making parts separable and adjustable is often obvious, MPEP 2144. V C and D, and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI C. An arrangement wherein said discharge duct is formed inside said supporting element would have been an obvious changes in size/proportion and shape; as well as an obvious making parts integral and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said discharge duct is formed inside said supporting element because such features would have been an obvious integration of known parts under MPEP 2144. V B and additionally would have been obvious changes in size/proportion and shape and obvious rearrangement of prior art parts. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B; MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 19, Carmichael does not disclose wherein said supporting element comprises a tubular body, which has at least one first portion which extends substantially vertically above said worktop and is mounted, at a lower end thereof, so that it can rotate about its own axis with respect to said base framework, and at least one second portion which is connected, at one end, to an upper end of said first portion and extends substantially radially with respect to said first portion, said second portion being connected, at another end, to said extraction hood.
However, changes in size/proportion and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B. Similarly, making parts integral is often obvious. MPEP 2144. V B. Rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI C. An arrangement wherein said supporting element comprises a tubular body, which has at least one first portion which extends substantially vertically above said worktop and is mounted, at a lower end thereof, so that it can rotate about its own axis with respect to said base framework, and at least one second portion which is connected, at one end, to an upper end of said first portion and extends substantially radially with respect to said first portion, said second portion being connected, at another end, to said extraction hood would have been an obvious changes in size/proportion and shape; as well as an obvious making parts integral and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein said supporting element comprises a tubular body, which has at least one first portion which extends substantially vertically above said worktop and is mounted, at a lower end thereof, so that it can rotate about its own axis with respect to said base framework, and at least one second portion which is connected, at one end, to an upper end of said first portion and extends substantially radially with respect to said first portion, said second portion being connected, at another end, to said extraction hood would have been obvious changes in size/proportion and shape, obvious making parts separable and adjustable and obvious rearrangement of prior art parts. MPEP 2144.04 IV A and B; MPEP 2144.04 IV B and C; MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
As to claim 20, Carmichael does not disclose that said extraction flow path is connected to a duct for evacuation toward an outside environment.
However, DE 202016104049 U1 discloses that said extraction flow path is connected to a duct for evacuation toward an outside environment. See the translation, disclosing:
The glue vapors pass through a glue vapor inlet 7 in the container. With the reference number 11 Here is an air outlet designated by the purified air can escape from the container. In this example, the air outlet is a pressure relief valve 11a arranged, which is optional.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that said extraction flow path is connected to a duct for evacuation toward an outside environment as taught by DE 202016104049 U1 so that purified air can escape.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK