DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(q) because the following reference characters are improperly underlined:
· Figs. 1 and 2: “1”
· Figs. 4-7: “1(2)”
· Figs. 4, 5, and 7: “20”
· Figs. 8-10: “61”
The underline should be removed.
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
· Reference characters "1" and "2" have both been used to designate the same element in Figs. 3-7.
· Reference characters "4c" and "4q" have both been used to designate the same element in Fig. 3.
· Reference characters "21h" and "21d" have both been used to designate the same element in Figs. 4 and 5.
Reference characters cannot share the same leader line.
Double Patenting
4. A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
5. Claim 4 (note claim 4 includes all of the limitations of independent claim 1) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1 and 5 of copending Application No. 18/690,865. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine (JP2004330820A) in view of Toda (JP2017136975A).
Regarding claim 1, Sekine discloses a tire air filling device (10 “automatic air pressure adjusting device”; Figs. 1 and 2) that is provided on a wheel attached to a tire (1 “tire”; Fig. 5), and that compresses air and fills an inside of the tire with the air (Refer to Para [0001]-[0006] of the attached English translated document of Sekine), the device comprising: a cylinder (21 “first cylinder” and/or 22 “second cylinder”; Fig. 2) having a first opening (44 “fourth chamber” and 47 “second passage”; Fig. 2) communicating with the tire (Para [0023]; Fig. 5); a weight (31 “first piston” and/or 32 “second piston”; Fig. 2) that is provided inside the cylinder (21 and/or 22), that has an air flow hole (45 “first passage” and/or 47 “second passage”; Fig. 2) through which the air to be supplied to the tire passes, and that moves in an axial direction of the cylinder upon a receipt of a centrifugal force (Para [0008]), to supply the air from the first opening (44 and 47) to the tire; a weight airtight member interposed between the weight and an inner surface of the cylinder (Although not explicitly labeled in the drawings, the airtight members are indicated by the black dots in Fig. 2 between the weight 31, 32 and the inner surface of the cylinder 21, 22); and a weight spring (51 “spring”; Fig. 2) that biases the weight (31 and/or 32) to a side opposite to the tire (Para [0023]), wherein the cylinder (21 and/or 22) has a second opening (41 “first chamber” and 45) on a side opposite to the first opening (44 and 47), but fails to disclose a cap that is detachably attached to the second opening is provided.
Toda, however, teaches a detachable cap (11 “cap”; Figs. 4 and 5; Para [0020]) to the opening of the air intake device.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the tire air filing device of Sekine by including a detachable cap to the opening as taught by Baldry, with the motivation to provide a removable closure for the opening of the cylinder to allow access to the interior of the cylinder for assembly or maintenance.
10. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, as modified by Toda, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Mochizuki (JPS4816034Y1).
Regarding claim 2, Sekine, as modified by Toda, further discloses a plurality of the weight airtight members (Although not explicitly labeled in the drawings, the airtight members are indicated by the black dots in Fig. 2 between the weight 31, 32 and the inner surface of the cylinder 21, 22), wherein the plurality of weight airtight members are aligned along the axial direction (Fig. 2), but fails to disclose a cross section of each of the plurality of weight airtight members taken along a plane extending along the axial direction has a U-shape with an open end, and the plurality of weight airtight members are disposed such that the open ends face a first opening side.
Mochizuki, however, teaches a cross section of each of the plurality of weight airtight members taken along a plane extending along the axial direction has a U-shape with an open end, and the plurality of weight airtight members are disposed such that the open ends face opening sides (Refer to the highlighted portions on page 2 of the attached English translated document of Mochizuki; Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the tire air filing device of Sekine, as modified by Toda, by substituting its sealing members for a U-shaped sealing members as taught by Mochizuki, with the motivation to improve sealing engagement by orienting the open ends of the sealing members toward the direction of fluid pressure.
11. Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, as modified by Toda, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sakurada (JP2017165176A).
Regarding claim 3, Sekine, as modified by Toda, discloses a backflow prevention valve (52 “first check valve” and/or 53 “second check valve”; Fig. 2) provided inside the weight (31 and/or 32), and preventing a backflow of the air from the weight to the side opposite to the tire (Refer to Para [0009] on page 4 of the attached English translated document of Sekine), but fails to disclose wherein the backflow prevention valve includes a slide member that slides in the axial direction in the air flow hole, and a specific gravity of the slide member is smaller than a specific gravity of the weight.
Sakurada, however, teaches the backflow prevention valve (23 “check valve”; Fig. 3) includes a slide member (23a “valve element”; Fig. 3) that slides in the axial direction in the air flow hole (Fig. 3; Para [0029]). The slide member
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the tire air filing device of Sekine, as modified by Toda, by including a slide member that slides in the axial direction in the air flow hole as taught by Sakurada, with the motivation to provide a movable valve element for controlling air flow and preventing backflow.
Further, the slide member is configured to slide within the air flow hole, and therefore implicitly has a smaller specific gravity than the weight of the modified air filing device so as to allow responsive movement relative to the weight.
Regarding claim 8, Sekine, as modified by Toda, discloses a backflow prevention valve (52 and/or 53) provided inside the weight (31 and/or 32), and preventing a backflow of the air from the weight to the side opposite to the tire (Para [0009] on page 4 of the attached English translated document of Sekine), wherein the weight includes an accommodation portion (45 and/or 47) that accommodates the backflow prevention valve (Fig. 3), but fails to disclose at least a part of the accommodation portion is inserted into the weight spring.
Sakurada, however, teaches at least a part of the accommodation portion is inserted into the weight spring (Refer to the below annotated Fig. 3).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 3 of Sakurada
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the tire air filing device of Sekine, as modified by Toda, by configuring the accommodation portion such that at least a part of the accommodation portion is inserted into the weight spring as taught by Sakurada, with the motivation to provide a more compact arrangement of internal components within the cylinder, as is well known in mechanical assemblies.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references disclose wheel-mounted air filling devices and related valve structures.
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615