DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Farchmin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2004/0148039).
Consider claim 1; Farchmin discloses a location management system comprising:
a wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 74, lines 1-6); and
a facility device (e.g. access point) installed in a building (par. 74, lines 1-6),
the wireless terminal including
an information storage to store user identification information of a user of the wireless terminal (par. 109, lines 1-11),
a communication interface to perform wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 82, lines 1-7), and
circuitry to detect (par. 109, lines 1-11), based on the wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), and
transmit (par. 109, lines 1-11), to the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 109, lines 1-11), person location information that includes the user identification information and the location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 109, lines 1-11),
the facility device (e.g. access point) including
a communication interface to perform wireless communication with the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 114, line 1 – par. 115, line 9), and
an information storage to store the person location information (e.g. in a machine zone) received from the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 100, lines 1-7; par. 197, lines 1-5).
Consider claim 2; Farchmin discloses the wireless terminal is a plurality of the wireless terminals of a corresponding plurality of users (par. 102, lines 1-2), each of the plurality of wireless terminals further includes a display (par. 187, lines 1-14), and the circuitry acquires (par. 187, lines 1-14), from the facility device (par. 187, lines 1-14), the person location information for each of the plurality of users (par. 187, lines 1-14), determines (par. 187, lines 1-14), for each of the plurality of users (par. 102, lines 1-2), whether the user is present in the building (par. 187, lines 1-14), based on the acquired person location information for the user (par. 187, lines 1-14), and displays on the display a location of the user present in the building (par. 187, lines 1-14), in a manner in which the user present in the building is identifiable (par. 187, lines 1-14).
Consider claim 3; Farchmin discloses the circuitry receives (par. 109, lines 6-11), from the user of the wireless terminal (par. 109, lines 6-11), designation of a desired user (par. 109, lines 6-11) among the users present in the building (par. 102, lines 1-2) and designation of target location information [e.g. specific facility location (par. 109, lines 6-14)], and transmits (par. 109, lines 6-11), to the facility device (par. 109, lines 6-11), user notification information that includes the user identification information of the designated user and the designated target location information [e.g. specific facility location (par. 109, lines 6-14)], and the information storage of the facility device further stores the user notification information received from the plurality of wireless terminals (par. 100, lines 1-7; par. 102, lines 1-2).
Consider claim 4; Farchmin discloses acquires from the facility device (par. 187, lines 1-14), the user notification information addressed to the user of the wireless terminal [e.g. audible notifications (par. 187, lines 1-10)], and the information display means displays the acquired user notification information on the display in a predetermined manner (par. 187, lines 1-14).
Consider claim 5; Farchmin discloses detects (par. 130, lines 1-9), based on a history of the person location information of each of the plurality of users (par. 130, lines 1-9), contact between the plurality of users in the building (par. 130, lines 1-9), and displays (par. 187, lines 10-14), on the display in a predetermined manner (par. 187, lines 10-14), information based on a result of the detection (par. 187, lines 10-14).
Consider claim 6; Farchmin discloses the circuitry acquires (par. 10, lines 1-13), based on a history of the person location information for each of the plurality of users (par. 10, lines 1-13), a person count for a designated area in the building at a designated time or in a designated time slot (par. 10, lines 1-13), and displays (par. 187, lines 10-14), on the display in a predetermined manner (par. 187, lines 10-14), information based on a result of the acquisition (par. 187, lines 10-14).
Consider claim 7; Farchmin discloses a location management system comprising:
a wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 74, lines 1-6); and
a facility device (e.g. access point) installed in a building (par. 74, lines 1-6),
the wireless terminal including
an information storage to store user identification information of a user of the wireless terminal (par. 109, lines 1-11),
a first communication interface to perform wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 82, lines 1-7),
a second communication interface to perform wireless communication with the management device (e.g. controller) (par. 74, lines 1-6), and
circuitry to
detect (par. 109, lines 1-11), based on the wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), and
transmit (par. 130, lines 1-5), to the management device (e.g. controller), person location information that includes the user identification information (par. 114, lines 1-10) and the location information of the wireless terminal (par. 130, lines 1-5),
the facility device (e.g. access point) including a communication interface to perform wireless communication with the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 114, line 1 – par. 115, line 9),
the management device (e.g. controller) including
a communication interface to perform wireless communication with the wireless terminal (par. 114, lines 1-10; par. 176, lines 1-4), and
an information storage to store the person location information (e.g. in a machine zone) received from the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 100, lines 1-7).
Consider claim 8; Farchmin discloses a wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 74, lines 1-6) comprising:
an information storage to store user identification information of a user of the wireless terminal (par. 109, lines 1-11),
a communication interface to perform wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 82, lines 1-7), and
circuitry to detect (par. 109, lines 1-11), based on the wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), and
transmit (par. 109, lines 1-11), to the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 109, lines 1-11), person location information that includes the user identification information and the location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 109, lines 1-11).
Consider claim 9; Farchmin discloses a wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 74, lines 1-6) comprising:
an information storage to store user identification information of a user of the wireless terminal (par. 109, lines 1-11),
a first communication interface to perform wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 82, lines 1-7),
a second communication interface to perform wireless communication with the management device (e.g. controller) (par. 74, lines 1-6), and
circuitry to
detect (par. 109, lines 1-11), based on the wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), and
transmit (par. 130, lines 1-5), to the management device (e.g. controller), person location information that includes the user identification information (par. 114, lines 1-10) and the location information of the wireless terminal (par. 130, lines 1-5).
Consider claim 10; Farchmin discloses a location management method comprising:
detect (par. 109, lines 1-11), based on the wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), and
transmit (par. 109, lines 1-11), to the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 109, lines 1-11), person location information that includes the user identification information and the location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 109, lines 1-11),
storing, by the facility device (e.g. access point), in an information storage included in the facility device, the person location information (e.g. in a machine zone) received from the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 100, lines 1-7; par. 197, lines 1-5).
Consider claim 11; Farchmin discloses a location management method comprising:
detect (par. 109, lines 1-11), based on the wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), and
transmit (par. 130, lines 1-5), to the management device (e.g. controller), person location information that includes the user identification information (par. 114, lines 1-10) and the location information of the wireless terminal (par. 130, lines 1-5),
storing (par. 100, lines 1-7), by the management device (e.g. controller), in an information storage included in the management device (par. 100, lines 1-7), the person location information (e.g. in a machine zone) received from the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 100, lines 1-7).
Consider claim 12; Farchmin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program, the program causing a wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 74, lines 1-6), including an information storage to store user identification information of a user of the wireless terminal (par. 109, lines 1-11) and a communication interface to perform wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 82, lines 1-7) to function as:
a location information detector to detect (par. 109, lines 1-11), based on the wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), and
a person location information transmitter to transmit (par. 109, lines 1-11), to the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 109, lines 1-11), person location information that includes the user identification information and the location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 109, lines 1-11).
Consider claim 13; Farchmin discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program, the program causing a wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 74, lines 1-6), including an information storage to store user identification information of a user (par. 109, lines 1-11), a first communication interface to perform wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 82, lines 1-7), a second communication interface to perform wireless communication with the management device (e.g. controller) (par. 74, lines 1-6), to function as:
a location information detector to detect (par. 109, lines 1-11), based on the wireless communication with the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 115, lines 1-9; par. 127, lines1-4; par. 130, lines 1-5), and
a person location information transmitter to transmit (par. 109, lines 1-11), to the facility device (e.g. access point) (par. 109, lines 1-11), person location information that includes the user identification information and the location information of the wireless terminal (e.g. WID) (par. 109, lines 1-11).
Consider claim 14; Farchmin discloses detects (par. 130, lines 1-9), based on a history of the person location information of each of the plurality of users (par. 130, lines 1-9), contact between the plurality of users in the building (par. 130, lines 1-9), and displays (par. 187, lines 10-14), on the display in a predetermined manner (par. 187, lines 10-14), information based on a result of the detection (par. 187, lines 10-14).
Consider claim 15; Farchmin discloses detects (par. 130, lines 1-9), based on a history of the person location information of each of the plurality of users (par. 130, lines 1-9), contact between the plurality of users in the building (par. 130, lines 1-9), and displays (par. 187, lines 10-14), on the display in a predetermined manner (par. 187, lines 10-14), information based on a result of the detection (par. 187, lines 10-14).
Consider claim 16; Farchmin discloses the circuitry acquires (par. 10, lines 1-13), based on a history of the person location information for each of the plurality of users (par. 10, lines 1-13), a person count for a designated area in the building at a designated time or in a designated time slot (par. 10, lines 1-13), and displays (par. 187, lines 10-14), on the display in a predetermined manner (par. 187, lines 10-14), information based on a result of the acquisition (par. 187, lines 10-14).
Consider claim 17; Farchmin discloses the circuitry acquires (par. 10, lines 1-13), based on a history of the person location information for each of the plurality of users (par. 10, lines 1-13), a person count for a designated area in the building at a designated time or in a designated time slot (par. 10, lines 1-13), and displays (par. 187, lines 10-14), on the display in a predetermined manner (par. 187, lines 10-14), information based on a result of the acquisition (par. 187, lines 10-14).
Consider claim 18; Farchmin discloses the wireless terminal is a plurality of the wireless terminals of a corresponding plurality of users (par. 102, lines 1-2), each of the plurality of wireless terminals further includes a display (par. 187, lines 1-14), the circuitry acquires (par. 187, lines 1-14), from the management device (par. 100, lines 1-7), the person location information for each of the plurality of users (par. 187, lines 1-14), determines (par. 187, lines 1-14), for each of the plurality of users (par. 102, lines 1-2), whether the user is present in the building (par. 187, lines 1-14), based on the acquired person location information for the user (par. 187, lines 1-14), and displays on the display a location of the user present in the building (par. 187, lines 1-14), in a manner in which the user present in the building is identifiable (par. 187, lines 1-14), receives (par. 109, lines 6-11), from the user of the wireless terminal (par. 109, lines 6-11), designation of a desired user (par. 109, lines 6-11) among the users present in the building (par. 102, lines 1-2) and designation of target location information [e.g. specific facility location (par. 109, lines 6-14)], and transmits (par. 109, lines 6-11), to the facility device (par. 109, lines 6-11), user notification information that includes the user identification information of the designated user and the designated target location information [e.g. specific facility location (par. 109, lines 6-14)], and the information storage of the facility device further stores the user notification information received from the plurality of wireless terminals (par. 100, lines 1-7; par. 102, lines 1-2).
Consider claim 19; Farchmin discloses the wireless terminal is a plurality of the wireless terminals of a corresponding plurality of users (par. 102, lines 1-2), each of the plurality of wireless terminals further includes a display (par. 187, lines 1-14), the circuitry acquires (par. 187, lines 1-14), from the management device (par. 100, lines 1-7), the person location information for each of the plurality of users (par. 187, lines 1-14), detects (par. 130, lines 1-9), based on a history of the person location information of each of the plurality of users (par. 130, lines 1-9), contact between the plurality of users in the building (par. 130, lines 1-9), and displays (par. 187, lines 10-14), on the display in a predetermined manner (par. 187, lines 10-14), information based on a result of the detection (par. 187, lines 10-14).
Consider claim 20; Farchmin discloses the wireless terminal is a plurality of the wireless terminals of a corresponding plurality of users (par. 102, lines 1-2), each of the plurality of wireless terminals further includes a display (par. 187, lines 1-14), the circuitry acquires (par. 187, lines 1-14), from the management device (par. 100, lines 1-7), the person location information for each of the plurality of users (par. 187, lines 1-14), acquires (par. 10, lines 1-13), based on a history of the person location information for each of the plurality of users (par. 10, lines 1-13), a person count for a designated area in the building at a designated time or in a designated time slot (par. 10, lines 1-13), and displays (par. 187, lines 10-14), on the display in a predetermined manner (par. 187, lines 10-14), information based on a result of the acquisition (par. 187, lines 10-14).
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646