Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/11/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23-24, 26, 33-34 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2007050231 A2 (hereinafter Chandra) in view of US20180083738 (hereinafter Yi).
Regarding claim 23, Chandra teaches An apparatus, comprising one or more processors, cause the apparatus to perform (Chandra Fig. 4, Transmitter (Downlink: Node B, Uplink: UE), processor 426):
buffering a first radio link control (RLC) data unit for transmission to a receiving device
(Chandra Fig. 4, transmit buffer 414.
[0040] Figure 4 is a block diagram of a protocol architecture 400 containing TFC selection in an RLC sublayer. The architecture 400 can be implemented in connection with a transmitter 402 and a receiver 404. The transmitter 402 includes a MAC sublayer 410 having a HARQ entity 412 and a transmit buffer 414, and an RLG sublayer 420 with TFC selection having a MUX 422, a segmentation/concatenation processor 424, and an RM processor 426. In this case, the RLC sublayer 420 performs TFC selection every TTI and manages retransmission based on an indication from the MAC sublayer 410.
[0009] The packets are assigned sequence numbers (SNs) in the RLC entity at the transmitter similar to the TSNs and the packets are held in a retransmission buffer until the transmitter receives an ACK for the packets from the receiver.),
starting a retransmission timer responsive to providing the first RLC data unit for transmission to the receiving device (Chandra Fig. 5 [0057] Figures 5 A and 5B are flow diagrams of a retransmission method 500 as implemented in a transmitter 502 and a receiver 504. The method 500 begins with the transmitter 502 setting parameters (step 510). A packet arrives at the transmitter (step 512) and the transmitter starts the timer T_discard (step 514). Based on the TFC selection, a packet is built and a TSN is assigned to the packet (step 516). The packet is then sent to the receiver 504 (step 518).), and
retransmitting the buffered first RLC data unit before expiry of the retransmission timer
(Chandra [0052] The following describes a method of outer-loop retransmission associated with HARQ. The transmitter 402 retransmits a failed packet of a previous HARQ transmission by RM or RLC without exchanging status PDUs (i.e., ACK or NACK) from the receiver 404. The packets not correctly transmitted via HARQ transmissions are sent to the RLC sublayer 420 for retransmission. Retransmitted packets preferably have a higher priority than new packets that have not been previously scheduled.
[0053] In another implementation, the transmit buffer 414 removes the packet from the
transmit queue even if it is not successfully transmitted by HARQ. All the packets are saved by the RM processor 426, and can be sent to the transmit buffer 414 for retransmission,
[0060] If the discard timer T_discard has not expired (step 528), then a determination is made
whether to perform outer-loop (RM) retransmission (step 538). [0061] If RM retransmission is to be performed (step 538), then the current number of RM retransmissions is checked against the maximum number of allowed transmissions, N_RM_RETX (step 540).
[0062] If the current number of RM retransmissions is below the threshold (step 540), then the packet is resent via TFC selection (step 516) as described above. ).
Chandra does not explicitly teach memory comprising instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, radio link control (RLC) of a radio bearer, retransmitting the buffered first RLC data unit in response to a request for a second RLC data unit, wherein the second RLC data unit is to be transmitted to the receiving device after the first RLC data unit.
Yi in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches memory comprising instructions, when
executed by the one or more processors (Yi [0047] FIG. 5 is a block diagram of a communication apparatus.
[0048] The apparatus shown in FIG. 5 can be a user equipment (UE) and/or eNB
[0049] As shown in FIG. 5, the apparatus may comprises ...memory device (130).
[0109] Software code may be stored in a memory unit and executed by a processor.),
radio link control (RLC) of a radio bearer (Yi [0039] The MAC layer of a second layer provides a
service to a radio link control (RLC) layer of a higher layer via a logical channel. The RLC layer of the second layer supports reliable data transmission. A function of the RLC layer may be implemented by a functional block of the MAC layer.
[0040] radio bearers (RBs). An RB refers to a service that the second layer provides for data transmission between the UE and the E-UTRAN.),
retransmitting the buffered first RLC data unit in response to a request for a second RLC data
unit, wherein the second RLC data unit is to be transmitted to the receiving device after the first RLC data unit (Yi [0084] when the AM RLC transmitter receives an UL resource from the MAC entity, the AM RLC transmitter generates a RLC PDU to be fit to the received UL resource, and submit it to the MAC entity. At the same time, the AM RLC transmitter copies the RLC PDU to the retransmission buffer to retransmit it in the next transmission opportunity. After that, when the AM RLC transmitter receives another UL resource from the MAC entity, the AM RLC transmitter retransmits the RLC PDU stored in the retransmission buffer, and copies it again to the retransmission buffer. The number of copying the RLC PDU, i.e. the number of transmission of the same RLC PDU is configured by RRC.
[0085] In this mode, the RLC entity can retransmit the RLC PDU without considering that RLC
status indicating NACK is received.
[0091] FIG. 9 is an example for performing autonomous RLC retransmission in a wireless
communication system according to embodiments of the present invention.
[0094] At t=T1, UL grant is received, and the MAC entity indicates UL resource=200 to the RLC
entity. The RLC entity generates the PDU3 with size=200, and submits it to the MAC entity. At the same time, the RLC entity copies the PDU3 to the retransmission buffer to prepare for retransmission.
[0095] At t=T2, UL grant is received, and the MAC entity indicates UL resource=300 to the RLC entity. The RLC entity first allocates the UL resource to the PDU3, and generates the PDU4 with size=100 for the remaining UL resource. The RLC entity submits both PDU3 and PDU4 to the MAC entity, and, at the same time, the RLC entity copies the PDU4 to the retransmission buffer to prepare for retransmission.).
By modifying Chandra’s teachings of buffering a first radio link control (RLC) data unit for transmission to a receiving device, retransmitting the buffered first RLC data unit before expiry of the retransmission timer with Yi’s teachings of radio link control (RLC) of a radio bearer, retransmitting the buffered first RLC data unit in response to a request for a second RLC data unit, wherein the second RLC data unit is to be transmitted to the receiving device after the first RLC data unit, the modification results in buffering a first radio link control (RLC) data unit of a radio bearer for transmission to a receiving device, and retransmitting the buffered first RLC data unit in response to a request for a second RLC data unit of the radio bearer before expiry of the retransmission timer, wherein the second RLC data unit is to be transmitted to the receiving device after the first RLC data unit.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra with Yi’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing the overall transmission delay (Yi [0075]).
Claim 33 recites similar limitations of claim 23, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 34, Chandra in view of Yi teaches The method of claim 33.
Chandra teaches wherein an RLC protocol entity: triggers the retransmission of the buffered first
RLC data unit to the receiving device before the expiry of the retransmission timer (Chandra [0052] The following describes a method of outer-loop retransmission associated with HARQ. The transmitter 402 retransmits a failed packet of a previous HARQ transmission by RM or RLC without exchanging status PDUs (i.e., ACK or NACK) from the receiver 404. The packets not correctly transmitted via HARQ transmissions are sent to the RLC sublayer 420 for retransmission. Retransmitted packets preferably have a higher priority than new packets that have not been previously scheduled.
[0053] In another implementation, the transmit buffer 414 removes the packet from the
transmit queue even if it is not successfully transmitted by HARQ. All the packets are saved by the RM processor 426, and can be sent to the transmit buffer 414 for retransmission,
[0060] If the discard timer T_discard has not expired (step 528), then a determination is made
whether to perform outer-loop (RM) retransmission (step 538). [0061] If RM retransmission is to be performed (step 538), then the current number of RM retransmissions is checked against the maximum number of allowed transmissions, N_RM_RETX (step 540).
[0062] If the current number of RM retransmissions is below the threshold (step 540), then the packet is resent via TFC selection (step 516) as described above.),
Yi teaches triggers the retransmission of the buffered first RLC data unit to the receiving device in response to receiving the request for the second RLC data unit from a medium access control (MAC) protocol entity, and provides the buffered first RLC data unit to the MAC protocol entity, and provides the second RLC data unit to the MAC protocol entity if the remaining MAC resource can support the second RLC data unit (Yi [0084] when the AM RLC transmitter receives an UL resource from the MAC entity, the AM RLC transmitter generates a RLC PDU to be fit to the received UL resource, and submit it to the MAC entity. At the same time, the AM RLC transmitter copies the RLC PDU to the retransmission buffer to retransmit it in the next transmission opportunity. After that, when the AM RLC transmitter receives another UL resource from the MAC entity, the AM RLC transmitter retransmits the RLC PDU stored in the retransmission buffer, and copies it again to the retransmission buffer. The number of copying the RLC PDU, i.e. the number of transmission of the same RLC PDU is configured by RRC.
[0085] In this mode, the RLC entity can retransmit the RLC PDU without considering that RLC
status indicating NACK is received.
[0091] FIG. 9 is an example for performing autonomous RLC retransmission in a wireless
communication system according to embodiments of the present invention.
[0094] At t=T1, UL grant is received, and the MAC entity indicates UL resource=200 to the RLC
entity. The RLC entity generates the PDU3 with size=200, and submits it to the MAC entity. At the same time, the RLC entity copies the PDU3 to the retransmission buffer to prepare for retransmission.
[0095] At t=T2, UL grant is received, and the MAC entity indicates UL resource=300 to the RLC entity. The RLC entity first allocates the UL resource to the PDU3, and generates the PDU4 with size=100 for the remaining UL resource. The RLC entity submits both PDU3 and PDU4 to the MAC entity, and, at the same time, the RLC entity copies the PDU4 to the retransmission buffer to prepare for retransmission.).
Variant of Yi’s above teaching is triggers the retransmission of the buffered first RLC data unit to the receiving device in response to receiving the request for the second RLC data unit from a medium access control (MAC) protocol entity, and provides the buffered first RLC data unit to the MAC protocol entity instead of the second RLC data unit (when the MAC resource can only support the buffered first RLC data unit.)
Therefore Chandra in combination with Yi teaches wherein an RLC protocol entity: triggers the retransmission of the buffered first RLC data unit to the receiving device in response to receiving the request for the second RLC data unit from a medium access control (MAC) protocol entity before the expiry of the retransmission timer, and provides the buffered first RLC data unit to the MAC protocol entity instead of the second RLC data unit.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra as modified by Yi with Yi’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing the overall transmission delay (Yi [0075]).
Claim 24 recites similar limitations of claim 34, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 36, Chandra in view of Yi teaches The method of claim 33.
Chandra teaches wherein a transmitting unacknowledged mode RLC entity performs
said buffering, said starting, and said retransmission (Chandra Fig. 4 and 5, [0040], [0009], [0057], [0052], [0053], [0060] and [0062] cited above in rejection of claim 23. [0061] If RM retransmission is to be performed (step 538), then the current number of RM retransmissions is checked against the maximum number of allowed transmissions, N_RM_RETX (step 540). The RM processor may configure N_RM_RETX for the packets which were configured as the transparent mode (TM) or the unacknowledged mode (UM).).
Claim 26 recites similar limitations of claim 36, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 25 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandra in view of Yi as applied to claims 23 and 33 above, and further in view of US 20210153276 A1 (hereinafter Bergstrom).
Regarding claim 35, Chandra in view of Yi teaches The method of claim 33.
Chandra teaches comprising: discarding the buffered first RLC data unit in response to expiry of
the retransmission timer (Chandra [0059] If the timer T_discard has expired, then the transmitter 502 discards the packet (step 530). A discard message is sent to the receiver 504 with the discarded packet's TSN (step 532).).
Chandra does not explicitly teach without triggering a radio link failure.
Bergstrom in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches without triggering a radio link failure (Bergstrom [0006] In case the UE radio link towards the network has problems, the radio link may fail. According to current 3GPP specifications, radio link failure (RLF) is triggered when there have been too many RLC retransmissions.
[0031] Some embodiments may enable a wireless device operating in PDCP duplication to notify the radio network node about the failure of a radio link supporting the secondary logical channel without triggering the RLF procedure. ).
Therefore Chandra in combination with Bergstrom teaches comprising: discarding the buffered first RLC data unit without triggering a radio link failure in response to expiry of the retransmission timer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified discarding the buffered first RLC data unit in response to expiry of the retransmission timer of Chandra without triggering a radio link failure as taught by Bergstrom, in order to improve reliability (Bergstrom [0055]).
Claim 25 recites similar limitations of claim 35, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 27 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandra in view of Yi as applied to claims 23 and 33 above, and further in view of “5G; NR; Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol specification”, (3GPP TS 38.322 version 16.2.0 Release 16) (IDS filed 3/11/2024) (hereinafter 38.322).
Regarding claim 37, Chandra in view of Yi teaches The method of claim 33.
Although Chandra teaches the retransmission timer is started for each arriving packet at the
transmitter (Chandra [0057] A packet arrives at the transmitter (step 512) and the transmitter starts the timer T_discard (step 514).), Chandra does not explicitly teach an arriving packet is a RLC service data unit (SDU), RLC data units are RLC protocol data units (PDUs), RLC SDU is included in an RLC PDU of the radio bearer and retransmission of RLC SDU.
Yi teaches an arriving packet is a RLC service data unit (SDU), RLC data units are RLC protocol data units (PDUs), RLC SDU is included in an RLC PDU of the radio bearer (Yi [0052] FIG. 6 is a conceptual diagram for an RLC entity architecture.
[0053] The RLC protocol takes data in the form of RLC SDUs from PDCP and delivers them to the corresponding RLC entity in the receiver by using functionality in MAC and physical layers.
[0054] where each RLC entity is responsible for: i) segmentation, concatenation, and reassembly of RLC SDUs; ii) RLC retransmission; and iii) in-sequence delivery and duplicate detection for the corresponding logical channel.
[0056] The purpose of the segmentation and concatenation mechanism is to generate RLC PDUs of appropriate size from the incoming RLC SDUs.
[0057] In process of segmentation and concatenation of RLC SDUs into RLC PDUs, a header includes, among other fields, a sequence number, which is used by the reordering and retransmission mechanisms. The reassembly function at the receiver side performs the reverse operation to reassemble the SDUs from the received PDUs.
[0039] The MAC layer of a second layer provides a service to a radio link control (RLC) layer of
a higher layer via a logical channel. The RLC layer of the second layer supports reliable data transmission. A function of the RLC layer may be implemented by a functional block of the MAC layer.
[0040] radio bearers (RBs). An RB refers to a service that the second layer provides for data transmission between the UE and the E-UTRAN.).
38.322 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches retransmission of RLC SDU (38.322, page 11, The transmitting side of an AM RLC entity supports retransmission of RLC SDUs or RLC SDU segments (ARQ).).
By modifying Chandra’s teachings of the retransmission timer is started for each arriving packet at the transmitter with Yi’s teachings of an arriving packet is a RLC service data unit (SDU), RLC data units are RLC protocol data units (PDUs), RLC SDU is included in an RLC PDU of the radio bearer and 38.322’s teachings of retransmission of RLC SDU, the modification results in wherein the RLC data units are RLC protocol data units (PDUs) and the retransmission timer is started for each service data unit or a last segment of each service data unit included in an RLC PDU of the radio bearer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra as modified by Yi with Yi’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing the overall transmission delay (Yi [0075]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra as modified by Yi with 38.322’s above teachings. The motivation is supporting Radio Link Control (RLC) protocol (38.322 page 6, Section Scope).
Claim 27 recites similar limitations of claim 37, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 28 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandra in view of Yi as applied to claims 23 and 33 above, and further in view of US 20150163741 A1 (hereinafter Sheth).
Regarding claim 38, Chandra in view of Yi teaches The method of claim 33.
Although Chandra teaches starting a retransmission timer responsive to providing the first RLC
data unit for transmission to the receiving device and retransmitting the buffered first RLC data unit before expiry of the retransmission timer (Chandra [0057], [0052], [0053], [0060] and [0062] cited above in rejection of claim 23.), Chandra does not explicitly teach delay RLC retransmission, i.e. delay starting the retransmission timer.
Sheth in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches delay RLC retransmission with a delay time determined based on HARQ ACK (Sheth [0025] According to aspects of the present disclosure, a UE may delay triggering an RLC retransmission of an RLC PDU until after a next opportunity for the UE to receive an RLC ACK of the RLC PDU. By delaying RLC retransmissions.
[0070] the HARQ ACK may be used to determine how long to delay (e.g., prolong the time before starting) RLC retransmissions.).
It is well known in the art the delay time can be implemented with a timer.
By modifying Chandra’s teachings of starting a retransmission timer responsive to providing the first RLC data unit for transmission to the receiving device with Sheth’s teachings of delay RLC retransmission with a delay time determined based on HARQ ACK, and the delay time can be implemented with a timer, the modification results in comprising: starting a delay timer in response to providing the first RLC data unit for the transmission to the receiving device, and starting the retransmission timer upon expiry of the delay timer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra as modified by Yi with Sheth’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing power consumption of UE (Sheth [0025]).
Claim 28 recites similar limitations of claim 38, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Claim(s) 29-31 and 39-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandra in view of Yi as applied to claims 23 and 33 above, and further in view of US 20210051111 A1 (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding 39, Chandra in view of Yi teaches The method of claim 33.
Chandra in view of Yi does not explicitly teaches wherein multiple RLC data units of the radio
bearer are included in a transport block, and the retransmission timer is started in response to detecting that an RLC level transmission buffer is empty.
Lee in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein multiple RLC data units of the radio
bearer are included in a transport block, and the retransmission timer is started in response to detecting that an RLC level transmission buffer is empty (Lee [0080] FIG. 7 illustrates a data flow example at a transmitting device in the NR system. In FIG. 7, an RB denotes a radio bearer. Referring to FIG. 7, a transport block is generated by MAC by concatenating two RLC PDUs from RBx.
[0123] When a transmission buffer becomes empty after discarding the indicated one or more RLC SDUs, if a poll retransmission timer is not running, the transmitting AM RLC entity selects an RLC SDU to include a poll.
[0124] The transmitting AM RLC entity starts a poll retransmission timer after submitting an RLC PDU including a poll to lower layer.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra as modified by Yi with Lee’s above teachings. The motivation is efficiently performing the retransmission procedure (Lee [0010]).
Regarding claim 40, Chandra in view of Yi and Lee teaches The method of claim 39.
Yi teaches comprising: storing the RLC data units in a retransmission queue upon initial
transmission of the RLC data units (Yi [0084] when the AM RLC transmitter receives an UL resource from the MAC entity, the AM RLC transmitter generates a RLC PDU to be fit to the received UL resource, and submit it to the MAC entity. At the same time, the AM RLC transmitter copies the RLC PDU to the retransmission buffer to retransmit it in the next transmission opportunity.).
Lee teaches activating retransmission of the RLC data units from the retransmission queue in
response to the detecting that the RLC level transmission buffer is empty (Lee [0105] the transmitting side of an AM RLC entity shall consider the RLC SDU with the highest SN among the RLC SDUs submitted to lower layer for retransmission or consider any RLC SDU which has not been positively acknowledged for retransmission, if both the transmission buffer and the retransmission buffer are empty).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra as modified by Yi and Lee with Yi’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing the overall transmission delay (Yi [0075]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra as modified by Yi and Lee with Lee’s above teachings. The motivation is efficiently performing the retransmission procedure (Lee [0010]).
Regarding claim 41, Chandra in view of Yi and Lee teaches The method of claim 40.
Lee teaches comprising: starting the retransmission timer for the retransmission
queue in response to the detecting that the RLC level transmission buffer is empty (Lee [0123] When a transmission buffer becomes empty after discarding the indicated one or more RLC SDUs, if a poll retransmission timer is not running, the transmitting AM RLC entity selects an RLC SDU to include a poll.
[0124] The transmitting AM RLC entity starts a poll retransmission timer after submitting an RLC PDU including a poll to lower layer.),
Chandra teaches discarding the data units in the retransmission queue in response to expiry of the timer (Chandra [0059] If the timer T_discard has expired, then the transmitter 502 discards the packet (step 530). A discard message is sent to the receiver 504 with the discarded packet's TSN (step 532).).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra as modified by Yi and Lee with Lee’s above teachings. The motivation is efficiently performing the retransmission procedure (Lee [0010]).
Claim 29, 30 and 31 recite similar limitations of claim 39, 40 and 41, are thus rejected under
similar rational.
Claim(s) 32 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandra in view of Yi as applied to claims 23 and 33 above, and further in view of US 20070268861 A1 (hereinafter Diachina).
Regarding claim 42, Chandra in view of Yi teaches The method of claim 33.
Chandra teaches comprising: configuring the retransmission timer for a service by an upper
layer (Chandra [0045] The following RM parameters can be configured by the upper layer or by the RM processor 426, 444 depending on the data types or priorities. Time-sensitive data may have lower thresholds, for example in video telephony as compared to non-real time services.
[0046] T_discard_th).
Yi teaches the upper layer is radio resource control (RRC) layer and the service corresponding to a radio bearer (Yi [0040] A radio resource control (RRC) layer located at the bottom of a third layer is defined only in the control plane. The RRC layer controls logical channels, transport channels, and physical channels in relation to configuration, re-configuration, and release of radio bearers (RBs). An RB refers to a service that the second layer provides for data transmission between the UE and the E-UTRAN.)
Therefore Chandra in combination with Yi teaches comprising: configuring the retransmission timer for the radio bearer by a radio resource control entity.
Chandra in view of Yi does not explicitly teach the retransmission timer is based on a packet delay parameter, such as a packet delay budget, assigned for a quality of service flow associated with the radio bearer.
Diachina teaches the retransmission timer of a service is based on a packet delay parameter, such as a packet delay budget, assigned for a quality of service flow associated with the service (Diachina [0020] According to one embodiment, upper-layer packet data units (PDUs) associated with an application having a maximum data transfer delay constraint are transferred by starting a timer responsive to initial transmission of an RLC data block associated with one or more upper-layer PDUs (e.g., LLC PDUs). The timer is initialized to a timer value that is based on the maximum data transfer delay constraint. So long as the timer has not expired, the RLC data block is retransmitted responsive to a received message indicating its reception is unacknowledged. The value of the timer may be determined upon initial TBF establishment (e.g. based on the transfer delay QoS attribute of the corresponding packet service).).
Diachina in combination with Yi teaches the retransmission timer for the radio bearer is based on a packet delay parameter, such as a packet delay budget, assigned for a quality of service flow associated with the radio bearer.
Chandra in combination with Yi and Diachina teaches comprising: configuring the retransmission timer for the radio bearer by a radio resource control entity according to a packet delay parameter, such as a packet delay budget, assigned for a quality of service flow associated with the radio bearer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra as modified by Yi with Yi’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing the overall transmission delay (Yi [0075]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chandra as modified by Yi with Diachina’s above teachings. The motivation is maintaining Quality-of-Service (QoS) for delay-sensitive applications (Diachina [0002]).
Claim 32 recites similar limitations of claim 42, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418 /Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418