DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 3/29/2024.
Claims 1-11 and 23-31 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 3/11/2024 and 1/27/2025 have been considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO 2019/051242 A2) in view of Park (CA 3024596 A1).
Consider claims 1, 23, 25, and 27, Li discloses a method for determining a tracking reference signal period performed by a network device (see paragraph 59 and figure 1A: TRP 119a, 119b, wherein disclosed is said method performed by a network device), and a corresponding communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory to enable the communication apparatus to perform a method (see figure 1F, wherein disclosed is said apparatus), a corresponding communication apparatus, comprising a processor and an interface circuit; wherein the interface circuit is configured to receive a code instruction and transmit the code instruction to the processor; and the processor is configured to run the code instruction to perform the method (see figure 1F, wherein disclosed is said apparatus), and a corresponding a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured for storing an instruction, wherein when the instruction is executed (see RAM 82 and ROM 93 in figure 1F, wherein disclosed is said computer-readable storage medium), for:
sending first indication information to a terminal device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a change period of a tracking reference signal (TRS) (see paragraph 59: the UE may make timing adjustments based on the DL received Synchronization Signals or time or frequency tracking Reference Signal or the DMRS on the NR-PDCCH carrying the grant-free DCIs; thus, making timing adjustments based on the tracking reference signal, which requires some type of said indication information).
Although Li at least implies that the indication is sent on a physical layer (such indication information is usually transmitted on the physical layer), Li does not explicitly disclose sending the indication on a physical layer.
Park discloses sending an indication on a physical layer (see paragraph 184: the base station may transmit configuration parameters via at least one physical layer message (e.g., a DCI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li and combine it with the noted teachings of Park. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a beam failure recovery method and management that improves wireless communication be performing beam procedures in a more timely and efficient manner (see paragraph 2 of Park).
Consider claim 2, Li does not specifically disclose that sending the first indication information to the terminal device comprises at least one of: sending the first indication information to the terminal device through an available indication of the TRS, wherein the terminal device is in an idle state or an inactive state; or sending the first indication information to the terminal device through a downlink control indication (DCI), wherein the terminal device is in a connected state.
Park discloses that sending the first indication information to the terminal device comprises at least one of: sending the first indication information to the terminal device through an available indication of the TRS, wherein the terminal device is in an idle state or an inactive state; or sending the first indication information to the terminal device through a downlink control indication (DCI), wherein the terminal device is in a connected state (see paragraph 184: the base station may transmit configuration parameters via at least one physical layer message (e.g., a DCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li and combine it with the noted teachings of Park. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a beam failure recovery method and management that improves wireless communication be performing beam procedures in a more timely and efficient manner (see paragraph 2 of Park).
Consider claims 7, 24, 26, and 28, Li discloses a method for determining a tracking reference signal period performed by a terminal device (see paragraph 59 and figure 1A: TRP 119a, 119b, wherein disclosed is said method performed by a terminal device), and a corresponding communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory to enable the communication apparatus to perform a method (see figure 1B, wherein disclosed is said apparatus), a corresponding communication apparatus, comprising a processor and an interface circuit; wherein the interface circuit is configured to receive a code instruction and transmit the code instruction to the processor; and the processor is configured to run the code instruction to perform the method (see figure 1B, wherein disclosed is said apparatus), and a corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured for storing an instruction, wherein when the instruction is executed (see non-removable memory 130 and removable memory 132 in figure 1B, wherein disclosed is said computer-readable storage medium), for:
receiving first indication information sent by a network device, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate a change period of a tracking reference signal (TRS) (see paragraph 59: the UE may make timing adjustments based on the Dl received Synchronization Signals or time or frequency tracking Reference Signal or the DMRS on the NR-PDCCH carrying the grant-free DCIs).
Although Li at least implies that the indication is sent on a physical layer (such indication information is usually transmitted on the physical layer), Li does not explicitly disclose sending the indication on a physical layer.
Park discloses sending an indication on a physical layer (see paragraph 184: the base station may transmit configuration parameters via at least one physical layer message (e.g., a DCI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li and combine it with the noted teachings of Park. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a beam failure recovery method and management that improves wireless communication be performing beam procedures in a more timely and efficient manner (see paragraph 2 of Park).
Consider claim 8, Li does not specifically disclose receiving the first indication information sent by the network device comprises at least one of: receiving the first indication information through an available indication of the TRS; or receiving the first indication information through a downlink control indication (DCI).
Park discloses receiving the first indication information sent by the network device comprises at least one of: receiving the first indication information through an available indication of the TRS; or receiving the first indication information through a downlink control indication (DCI) (see paragraph 184: the base station may transmit configuration parameters via at least one physical layer message (e.g., a DCI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li and combine it with the noted teachings of Park. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a beam failure recovery method and management that improves wireless communication be performing beam procedures in a more timely and efficient manner (see paragraph 2 of Park).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (WO 2019/051242 A2) in view of Park (CA 3024596 A1) and Xu (EP 3337199 A1).
Consider claim 6, although Li in view of Park disclose sending the first indication information to the terminal device through the downlink control information (DCI) (see above), Li in view of Park do not specifically disclose sending data through the DCI in a case that a service type of the terminal device changes.
Xu discloses sending data through the DCI in a case that a service type of the terminal device changes (see paragraph 17: a specified bit in the DCY is used for indicating service type change of the SC-MCCH, wherein a value of M may be 1 or 0, and M being 1 may indicate that a Public Security (PS) service changes while M being 0 may indicate that an ordinary service changes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li and combine it with the noted teachings of Xu. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for resource configuration applicable to the SC-MCCH (see paragraphs 12-14 of Xu).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9-11, and 29-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412