Claim Status
Claims 5-6 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4 and 7-19 are pending. Applicants’ amendment has necessitated new grounds of rejection. Accordingly, this Action is FINAL.
Withdrawn rejections
Applicants’ amendments and arguments filed 8/20/26 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn. Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7 and 10-17 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ivars et al. (JAMA Dermatology January 2017; 153(1): 103-105) as evidenced by Benson (WO2017165690). Applicant has amended the claims to overcome the rejection.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivars et al. (JAMA Dermatology January 2017; 153(1): 103-105) and Kaupinen et al. (US20180193320; of record IDS filed 6/7/24) and Tao et al. (International Journal of Pharmaceutics 513 (2016) 255–261) as evidenced by Benson (WO2017165690).
Applicant claims:
Level of Ordinary Skill in the Art
(MPEP 2141.03)
MPEP 2141.03 (I) states: “The “hypothetical ‘person having ordinary skill in the art’ to which the claimed subject matter pertains would, of necessity have the capability of understanding the scientific and engineering principles applicable to the pertinent art.” Ex parte Hiyamizu, 10 USPQ2d 1393, 1394 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1988). The level of skill is that of a pharmaceutical research scientist, as is the case here, then one can assume comfortably that such an educated artisan will draw conventional ideas from pharmaceutical formulation and application and possess specialized knowledge in drug delivery, material science, and physical chemistry to convert active pharmaceutical ingredients, such as mTOR inhibitors, into stable, effective medicines. They understand how to select excipients (inactive ingredients), optimize stability, confirm effective treatment and ensure compliance with regulatory standards. Their expertise covers formulation development, dosage form design, manufacturing processes as well as treatment effectiveness. Such an artisan will draw conventional ideas from these areas without being told to do so.
In addition, the prior art itself reflects an appropriate level (MPEP 2141.03(II)).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 7, Ivars et al. present a paper titled: Efficacy of Topical Sirolimus (Rapamycin) for the Treatment of Microcystic Lymphatic Malformations. Ivars et al. disclose: “Rapamycin petrolatum, 0.8%, was formulated, which the patient applied daily on the scrotum and penile root for 3 months. He tolerated the treatment well and experienced no local or systemic adverse effects. We did not study sirolimus levels in his serum. After treatment with the sirolimus ointment, his condition improved dramatically. Lymphorrhea practically disappeared, and physical examination revealed a reduced lesion size (Figure 1C and D). During 2 months of clinical follow-up, the lesions did not recur.” (Page 104, right column last paragraph). Petrolatum (petroleum jelly) is naturally anhydrous and is regarded in the art as a gel (as evidenced by Benson (WO2017165690; claim 9: “wherein the one or more nonaqueous oils or gels are selected from the group consisting of olive oil, vegetable oil, petroleum jelly, and any combination thereof”). A therapeutic amount was administered to the skin lesions because the symptoms improved. Daily administration for 3 months reads on administration once daily for at least 12 weeks.
Regarding claim 3, since the patient of Ivars et al. had microcystic lymphatic malformation, then the patient presented symptoms related to the microcystic lymphatic malformation skin lesions at least 1-2 days per week. Indeed, Ivars et al. report reduced lesion size, which after 2 months of clinical follow-up did not recur. (Page 104, right column last paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, topical application of the anhydrous rapamycin petrolatum gel inherently results in a applying a thin layer to the subject’s skin. Especially when the thickness of “thin” is not defined.
Regarding claims 11-12 and 16, the same method practiced by Ivars et al. inherently shows improvement of a score in the one or more assessments/symptom severity claims. In general, a limitation or the entire invention is inherent and in the public domain if it is the ‘natural result flowing from’ the explicit disclosure of the prior art. (Eli Lilly & Co. v. Barr Labs., Inc., 251 F.3d 955, 970 (Fed.Cir.2001); In re Kratz, 592 F.2d 1169, 1174 (CCPA 1979)). In some cases, the inherent property corresponds to a claimed new benefit or characteristic of an invention otherwise in the prior art. In those cases, the new realization alone does not render the old invention patentable. See Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Ben Venue Labs., Inc., 246 F.3d 1368, 1376 (Fed.Cir.2001) (explaining that newly discovered results of known processes are not patentable because those results are inherent in the known processes). In the present case, since the treatment method of Ivars et al. was therapeutically effective, then the claimed improvement in a score of one or more assessments and symptom severity scale is reduced.
Regarding claim 13, since Ivars et al. report that Lymphorrhea practically disappeared, then the subject experienced a decrease in the number of days in which lesion leaking is reported.
Regarding claim 14, Ivars et al. disclose that the two most frequent complications of microcystic LMs are bleeding and infection (Page 104, right column 1st paragraph) and report that after treatment the lesions did not recur. Consequently, it is inherent in the method of Ivars et al. for the subject to experience and report a decreased number of days in which lesion bleeding occurred.
Regarding claim 15, as discussed above Ivars et al. disclose: “Lymphorrhea practically disappeared, and physical examination revealed a reduced lesion size (Figure 1Cand D).” That reads on at least reduction of lesion size.
Regarding claim 17, because the method of Ivars et al. was successful, then field
radiation (XRT) administered to the mycrocystic lymphatic malformation skin lesion
is not necessary.
Regarding claim 1, Kaupinen et al. teach methods of treating microcystic lymphatic malformations by topically administering an effective amount of an anhydrous composition comprising one or more mTOR inhibitors (Claims 17 and 18) where the mTOR inhibitor is rapamycin (sirolimus) (Claim 10).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Kaupinen et al. teach an anhydrous composition comprising about 0.1 to about 20 wt% mTOR inhibitor, which can be rapamycin, about 1 to about 99.9 wt% one or more solvents, about 0.1 to about 5 wt% one or more gelling agents, and about 0.001 to about 1 wt% one or more antioxidants and optionally a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (Claims 1-6).
Regarding claim 8, Kaupinen et al. teach one or more solvents of diisopropyl adipate, glycerol, PEG and isopropyl alcohol (Claims 11-12; Examples 6-7).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 9, Kaupinen et al. teach in Example 7:
Klucel® is hydroxypropyl cellulose [0029]. It is the Examiner’s position that 55.3 wt% PEG400 is within the scope of “about 54.9”. Kaupinen et al. teach adding a non-aqueous pH adjusting agent (Claim 22) and suggest adding anhydrous citric acid to the composition [0043].
Regarding claim 9, Tao et al. demonstrated that addition of 0.20% of citric acid in SMEDDS most efficiently promoted the stability of sirolimus (rapamycin) (Abstract; Figure 3C, page 258, left column 2nd paragraph). Tao et al. report: “The pH was demonstrated to be the key reason for the degradation of the drugs. By adding of 0.20% of citric acid, the stability of SRL was significantly enhanced” (Page 260, right column 4. Conclusion).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02) and Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
The difference between the instant application and Ivars et al. is that Ivars et al. do not expressly teach an anhydrous gel composition comprising about 0.1 % to about 6 % of rapamycin, about 80 % to about 99 % of a solvent comprising isopropyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol 400, diisopropyl adipate, and glycerol, about 0.1 % to about 5 % of a gelling agent, and about 0.001 % to about 1 % of an antioxidant or wherein the
anhydrous rapamycin gel composition comprises about 5 wt. % to about 25 wt. % of
isopropyl alcohol, about 40 wt. % to about 60 wt. % polyethylene glycol 400, about 5 wt.% to about 25 wt. % of diisopropyl adipate, and about 5 wt. % to about 15 wt. % glycerol and citric acid, wherein the where the skin lesion is greater than about 25 cm2 and wherein topical administration of the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition to the skin of a subject achieves a maximum dermis concentration of rapamycin in the dermis of the subject of about 12-990 µM or about 50-200 µM rapamycin and wherein the subject achieves a Clinician Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) score of at least +2 relative to baseline after administering the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition for about 28 days to about 84 days. This deficiency in Ivars et al. is cured by the teachings of Kaupinen et al. and Tao et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Ivar et al. with an anhydrous gel composition comprising anhydrous gel composition comprising about 0.1 % to about 6 % of rapamycin, about 80 % to about 99 % of a solvent comprising isopropyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol 400, diisopropyl adipate, and glycerol, about 0.1 % to about 5 % of a gelling agent, and about 0.001 % to about 1 % of an antioxidant or wherein the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition comprises about 5 wt. % to about 25 wt. % of isopropyl alcohol, about 40 wt. % to about 60 wt. % polyethylene glycol 400, about 5 wt.% to about 25 wt. % of diisopropyl adipate, and about 5 wt. % to about 15 wt. % glycerol and citric acid, where the skin lesion is greater than about 25 cm2 and wherein topical administration of the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition to the skin of a subject achieves a maximum dermis concentration of rapamycin in the dermis of the subject of about 12-990 µM or about 50-200 µM rapamycin, as suggested by Kaupinen et al. and Tao et al., resulting in wherein the subject achieves a Clinician Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) score of at least +2 relative to baseline after administering the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition for about 28 days to about 84 days and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this because for the following sound articulated reasoning with rational underpinning based upon the evidence. The test for obviousness is "what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Keller, 642 F.2d 4I3, 425 (CCPA I98I) (MPEP 2145(III)). First, measurement of the lesion size, such as about 25 cm2 in the same microcystic lymphatic malformation being treated by Ivars et al. is within the skill of the ordinary artisan in this art. The ordinary artisan would do so in order to monitor treatment effectiveness with a reasonable expectation of success. Secondly, employing the anhydrous rapamycin gel of Kaupinen et al. to treat the same microcystic lymphatic malformation as Ivars et al. is merely substituting one functional alternative carrier for another functional carrier. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007). Moreover, “Where two known alternatives are interchangeable for a desired function, an express suggestion to substitute one for the other is not needed to render a substitution obvious." In re Fout 675 F.2d 297, 301 (CCPA 1982). The ordinary artisan would employ the anhydrous rapamycin gel of Kaupinen et al. and Tao et al. in the method of Ivars et al. with a reasonable expectation of success. Since Kaupinen et al. teach and suggest an overlapping amount of rapamycin and the same anhydrous gel carrier components as claimed, then the topical administration of the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition to the skin of a subject achieves a maximum dermis concentration of rapamycin in the dermis of the subject of about 12-990 µM or about 50-200 µM rapamycin. That is a natural result of applying the anhydrous rapamycin gel to the skin. Since the same condition is being treated in the same manner with the same active agent rapamycin, then it is reasonable that the subject achieves a Clinician Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) score of at least +2 relative to baseline after administering the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition for about 28 days to about 84 days. The Examiner's findings are based on the principle that products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. This is a well settled principle in patent law. See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381,391 (CCPA 1963) ("From the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all of its properties are inseparable; they are one and the same thing."). Where patentability rests upon a property of the claimed material not disclosed within the art, the USPTO has no reasonable method of determining whether there is, in fact, a patentable difference between the prior art materials and the claimed material. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 (CCPA 1977). Therefore, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the USPTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Id.
Regarding the limitations of anhydrous gel composition comprising about 80 % to about 99 % of a solvent comprising isopropyl alcohol, polyethylene glycol 400, diisopropyl adipate, and glycerol, or wherein the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition comprises about 5 wt. % to about 25 wt. % of isopropyl alcohol, about 40 wt. % to about 60 wt. % polyethylene glycol 400, about 5 wt.% to about 25 wt. % of diisopropyl adipate, and about 5 wt. % to about 15 wt. % glycerol, the prior suggests the same solvents and absent any criticality of the claimed ranges, it would be obvious to employ those ranges in the same solvents in the anhydrous composition with a reasonable expectation of success. In fact, Kaupinen et al. et al. do so by teaching 15% of isopropyl alcohol, 55.3% polyethylene glycol 400, 15% of diisopropyl adipate, and 10% glycerol and Tao et al. teach the desirable benefit of adding citric acid: “By adding of 0.20% of citric acid, the stability of SRL was significantly enhanced”. Consequently, the claimed anhydrous composition is known in the art, and it is desirable to add citric acid.
Further regarding claims 11-17, Applicant is merely claiming latent benefits of the method of Ivars et al. and Kaupinen et al. These latent benefits cannot render the method disclosed in Ivars et al. and Kaupinen et al. again patentable as these latent benefits are inherent in the prior art methods. See In re Baxter Travenol Labs., 952 F.2d at 392 (“Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention.”). See also MPEP 2145(II): Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979).
Response to Arguments:
Applicants’ arguments filed on 8/20/26 have been carefully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that: “the Office appears to rely upon Benson solely to teach that petrolatum (petroleum jelly) is naturally anhydrous and is allegedly regarded as a gel. See Office Action at 3. Applicant respectfully disagrees. Benson at 10 discloses that "the one or more nonaqueous oils or gels are selected from the group consisting of olive oil, vegetable oil, petroleum jelly, and any combination thereof." Emphasis added. This statement by Benson does not teach that petroleum jelly is a gel. Applicant further notes that the formulation of Ivars, containing only rapamycin and petrolatum, is described as an ointment.” Respectfully, the Examiner has a different perspective. A jelly is not an oil; it is a gel. At least one prior art reference considered petroleum jelly as a gel. Be that as it may, Ivars does teach and suggest an anhydrous composition of rapamycin and Kaupinen et al. provide an alternative conventional anhydrous vehicle for rapamycin. Substitution of one conventional anhydrous vehicle for another conventional anhydrous vehicle is obvious to the ordinary artisan. “Where two known alternatives are interchangeable for a desired function, an express suggestion to substitute one for the other is not needed to render a substitution obvious." In re Fout 675 F.2d 297, 301 (CCPA 1982). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant asserts: “None of the cited references teach or suggest using the claimed composition for treating microcystic lymphatic malformations wherein the subject achieves a Clinician Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) score of at least +2 relative to baseline after administering the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition for about 28 days to about 84 days.” However, it is the Examiner’s position that the same active agent in the same amount and applied in the same manner to treat the same malformations will implicitly achieve a CGI-C score of at least +2 relative to baseline after administering the anhydrous rapamycin gel composition for about 28 days to about 84 days. Based on the evidence of record, it is reasonable to shift the burden of proof to Applicant to show that the functional limitations regarding CGI-C score are not inherent in the method made obvious by prior art. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254-55, (CCPA 1977). This is predictable by the artisan because Ivars et al. teach: “Lymphorrhea practically disappeared, and physical examination revealed a reduced lesion size (Figure 1Cand D).” Healing is expected by the ordinary artisan. In this record, there is no comparative data between the method of Ivars et al. and the inventive method that would indicate significantly improved healing. “One way for a patent applicant to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness is to make a showing of ‘unexpected results,’ i.e., to show that the claimed invention exhibits some superior property or advantage that a person of ordinary skill in the relevant art would have found surprising or unexpected.” In re Soni, 54 F.3d 746, 750 (Fed. Cir. 1995). At this time, such a showing is absent from the record. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Tao does not cure the deficiencies of Ivars, Benson, and Kaupinen. However, Tao is relied upon as characterized by the Examiner as teaching the desirable addition of citric acid to the composition. It is impermissible to attack references singly when the Examiner relies upon the combined teachings of the references, nor may they attack a reference for not teaching a limitation of the claim when the Examiner has explicitly relied upon another reference as teaching that limitation. See In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2000). Applicants’ arguments are not persuasive.
MPEP 2141 III states: “The proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts.” Respectfully, after review of all the facts, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The Examiner has reached a determination that the instant claims are not patentable in view of the preponderance of evidence and consideration of all the facts, which is more convincing than the evidence which has been offered in opposition to it.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERNST V ARNOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613