Response to Amendment
Claims 1-2, 8-14, 16, and 18 has been amended.
Claims 7 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18 are still pending for consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant on page 3 of the “Remark” asserts “Claim 1 has been amended to incorporate subject matter that was previously recited in claim 7 (which is presently canceled)…. The cited portions of Lilja do not disclose applying artifact correction methods asymmetrically between the intermediate reconstruction and the final reconstruction processes. Instead, these portions of Lija only generally discuss improving image correction by calibrating projection geometry of an X-ray device.”
Response:
Examiner respectfully disagree with applicant’s argument. Lija on para [0035] disclose “In the event of significant patient movement during the X-ray projection image acquisition, pronounced streak-like or blurring artefacts will ensue in the reconstructed image”. Thus, Lija does not merely describe a theoretical geometry problem. It expressly identifies the resulting image artifacts. Lija teaches correcting those artifacts, on para [0018] disclose “The purpose of the correction process is to improve the resulting image quality by improving the geometric consistency of the X-ray image measurements and, in turn, to better satisfy the requirements of image reconstruction”, and para [0024] disclose “an improvement in the projection geometric consistency, which results in a higher image quality in terms of sharpness, level of detail and contrast. A further benefit is that by potentially preventing a re-scan due to projection geometry-related image quality degradation, the radiation dose incurred to the patient may be decreased”. Under BRI, a process directed to correcting the geometric inconsistencies that produce the expressly disclosed streak-like and blurring artifacts constitutes a step for correcting image artifacts. Lija additionally on para [0036] disclose “In the disclosed retrospective approach for compensating the adverse effects of undesired movements, an intermediate reconstruction is first computed using the 2D X-ray projection images and the estimated imaging geometry. It is sufficient to compute the intermediate reconstruction at a coarser resolution than is typically used when making reconstructions for diagnostic purposes. The intermediate reconstruction serves to aggregate the information from all X-ray projection images with the appearance of the reconstruction reflecting the mutual geometric consistency of the measured X-ray projection images”. The correction process in not complete until the corrected geometry estimate is applied in the final reconstruction. Thus, the final reconstruction incorporates the artifact-correcting geometric correction, whereas the intermediate reconstruction is used to drive the correction and does not include the same corrected reconstruction step. Therefore, Applicants argument is not persuasive.
The rest of pending dependent claims stand or fall with the arguments presented for independent claim 1, 16 and 18 respectively.
For the reasons stated above, the rejections of claims 1-6, 8-16, and 18 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 13, 15-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lilja et al. (US 20220139002 A1) in view of Ulrici et al. (US 20180165800 A1) for the same reason as stated in the last Office Action, the ground is repeated below.
Regarding claim 1, Lilja et al. teaches and an initial projection geometry (see para [0021]; “a self-calibration procedure is applied prior to the final DBT image reconstruction process. In the calibration procedure, a data-driven motion estimation algorithm is applied to establish a mutual geometric correspondence among the acquired X-ray projection images starting from an initial estimate of the projection geometry that reflects the approximate geometric form of the X-ray exposure trajectory”); (S2) performing geometric calibration through varying the projection geometry and evaluating the varied projection geometry using data consistency constraints derived from a first volume generated from the sinogram using the varied projection geometry in a first reconstruction method (see para [0041]; “computing an intermediate DBT reconstruction using the initial estimate of the X-ray projection geometry; accessing all or a subset of the measured X-ray projection images; (for each accessed projection image) establishing a projection image-specific corrective transformation”, see also para [0023]; “The validity of the transformation parameters, ….. is established by measuring the similarity of the computed DRR image and the physically measured X-ray projection image”, and para [0093]; “The computation of the intermediate DBT reconstruction and determining the corrective geometric transformations are iterated a plurality of times”), wherein the first reconstruction method uses first reconstruction parameters are used (see para [0067]; “The intermediate DBT reconstruction is typically computed on a coarser sampling than a typical DBT image reconstruction used for medical diagnosis”); and (S3) generating a final volume with a final reconstruction method using the varied projection geometry and final reconstruction parameters from the sinogram, wherein the first reconstruction parameters of the first reconstruction method and the final reconstruction parameters of the final reconstruction method differ in at least one reconstruction parameter (see para [0019]; “After establishing the corrective geometric transformations, a final DBT reconstruction is computed using the X-ray projection images and the final estimate of the projection geometry corresponding to the corrective transformations”, see also para [0104]; “The final DBT reconstruction image is computed using the original X-ray exposures and a refined projection geometry estimate based on an established set of rigid transformation parameters”), and wherein either a) the final reconstruction method includes correcting image artifacts with a first correction method and the first reconstruction method does not include the first correction method, or b) both of the first reconstruction method and the final reconstruction method each include correcting image artifacts, but they are different, or each include the same method for correcting image artifacts, but they are differently parameterized (see para [0035]; “In the event of significant patient movement during the X-ray projection image acquisition, pronounced streak-like or blurring artefacts will ensue in the reconstructed image”, see also para [0018]; “The purpose of the correction process is to improve the resulting image quality by improving the geometric consistency of the X-ray image measurements and, in turn, to better satisfy the requirements of image reconstruction”, see also para [0024]; “an improvement in the projection geometric consistency, which results in a higher image quality in terms of sharpness, level of detail and contrast. A further benefit is that by potentially preventing a re-scan due to projection geometry-related image quality degradation, the radiation dose incurred to the patient may be decreased”, Note: improving this consistency directly leads to the "higher image quality" (better sharpness/contrast) which then helps satisfy the requirements of image reconstruction). However, Lilja et al. does not teach a computer-implemented method for reconstructing a dental DVT image comprising the steps of (S1) providing a sinogram acquired through an extraoral dental X-ray device during a rotation of at least 180 degrees around a patient's head.
In the same field of endeavor, Ulrici et al. teaches a computer-implemented method for reconstructing a dental DVT image (see para [0011]; “In particular in the field of dental medicine, the underlying idea of the invention is, on the one hand, to combine, i.e. merge, 2D image data generated by intraoral radiography (a so-called “IO image”) with 3D image data generated, for example, by means of said digital volume tomography (DVT), in particular for the purpose of improving the image quality” see also para [0071; “A described correction of 3D image data (e.g. DVT) using 2D image data (e.g. IO image) takes place according to the aforementioned method of back projection”), comprising the steps of (S1) providing a sinogram acquired through an extraoral dental X-ray device during a rotation of at least 180 degrees around a patient's head (see para [0055]; “For the three-dimensional image acquisition by means of said DVT method, an x-ray tube 250 and an opposite digital (two-dimensional) image sensor or detector 255 that has an x-ray-sensitive scintillator layer, rotate 180 to 360 degrees around the (not depicted) patient 252, 252′, 253, 253′. In doing so, the rotating x-ray tube 250 emits a cone-shaped, mostly pulsed x-ray beam with a (spatial) beam fan 260. During the revolution of the x-ray tube 250, a plurality of said two-dimensional tomograms 200 is acquired and a 3D image data set is obtained from these x-ray images in a per se known manner”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of skill ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify a method for calibration process specifically applicable for limited angle digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) of Lilja et al in view of a method for image enhancement of image data of a dental image generation system Ulrici et al. in order to quality of the 3D image data is improved (see para [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Lilja et al. in the combination further teach characterized in that wherein the first reconstruction method and the final reconstruction method each include a reconstruction step configured by said at least one different reconstruction parameter, wherein the reconstruction step of the first reconstruction method is different from the reconstruction step of the final reconstruction method, wherein the reconstruction step of the first reconstruction method enables comparatively low computational speed or comparatively lower resource consumption or the reconstruction step of the final reconstruction method enables comparatively improved image quality for diagnosis (see para [0036]; “It is sufficient to compute the intermediate reconstruction at a coarser resolution than is typically used when making reconstructions for diagnostic purposes”, see also para [0019]; “After establishing the corrective geometric transformations, a final DBT reconstruction is computed using the X-ray projection images and the final estimate of the projection geometry corresponding to the corrective transformations” Note: reconstruction at a coarser resolution necessarily enables lower computational load, whereas the final reconstruction is intended for diagnostic image quality).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Lilja et al. in the combination further teach wherein at least one of the first reconstruction parameters describes the resolution of the first volume and at least one of the final reconstruction parameters describes the resolution of the final volume, wherein the resolution of the first volume is different from the resolution of the final volume (see para [0036]; “It is sufficient to compute the intermediate reconstruction at a coarser resolution than is typically used when making reconstructions for diagnostic purposes”, see also para [0067]; “The intermediate DBT reconstruction is typically computed on a coarser sampling than a typical DBT image reconstruction used for medical diagnosis” Note; the first volume has a first resolution and the final volume has different resolution).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Lilja et al. in the combination further teach wherein at least one of the first reconstruction parameters describes a first temporal subsampling of the sinogram and at least one of the final reconstruction parameters describes a second temporal subsampling of the sinogram, wherein the first temporal subsampling of the sinogram is different from the second temporal subsampling of the sinogram (see para [0041]; “an intermediate DBT reconstruction using the initial estimate of the X-ray projection geometry; accessing all or a subset of the measured X-ray projection images”, see also para [0067]; “The intermediate DBT reconstruction is typically computed on a coarser sampling than a typical DBT image reconstruction used for medical diagnosis” Note; using subset of projection images during calibration implies temporal sampling ).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Lilja et al. in the combination further teach wherein at least one of the first reconstruction parameters describes a first local subsampling of the sinogram and at least one of the final reconstruction parameters describes a second local subsampling of the sinogram, wherein the first local subsampling of the sinogram is different from the second local subsampling of the sinogram (see para [0036]; “an intermediate reconstruction is first computed using the 2D X-ray projection images and the estimated imaging geometry. It is sufficient to compute the intermediate reconstruction at a coarser resolution than is typically used when making reconstructions for diagnostic purposes”, see also para [0067]; “The intermediate DBT reconstruction is typically computed on a coarser sampling than a typical DBT image reconstruction used for medical diagnosis” Note; coarser intermediate reconstruction and reduced data for calibration implies local/spatial or temporal subsampling of projection data).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Lilja et al. in the combination further teach wherein at least one of the first reconstruction parameters describes the size and/or position of the first volume and at least one of the final reconstruction parameters describes the size and/or position of the final volume, wherein the size and/or position of the first volume is different from the size and/or position of the final volume (see para [0067]; “The intermediate DBT reconstruction is typically computed on a coarser sampling than a typical DBT image reconstruction used for medical diagnosis” Note; coarser intermediate reconstruction necessarily implies a different effective volume resolution and extent and is commonly implemented as a reduced/cropped/reposition volume).
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Lilja et al. in the combination further teach wherein the geometric calibration is an iterative method and correcting image artifacts or its parameterization are changed during the iterations (see para [0019]; “the computation of an intermediate reconstruction using the current estimate of the projection geometry and the subsequent optimization of the corrective transformations, may be iterated for a number of times”).
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Lilja et al. in the combination further teach wherein the geometric calibration is an iterative method and the first reconstruction parameters are changed during the iterations (see para [0023]; “The procedure is iterated a number of times with the X-ray projection image-specific rigid transformation parameters used in the next iteration for computing the updated intermediate DBT reconstruction and further as the initial guess for the subsequent parameter optimization”).
Regarding claim 16, the scope of claim 16 is fully encompassed by the scope of claim 1,
accordingly, the rejection analysis of claim 1 is equally applicable here.
Regarding claim 18, the scope of claim 18 is fully encompassed by the scope of claim 1,
accordingly, the rejection analysis of claim 1 is equally applicable here.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulrici et al. in view of Lilja et al. as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 20110317894 A1) for the same reason as stated in the last Office Action, the ground is repeated below.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Ulrici et al. and Lilja et al. does not teach wherein correcting image artifacts reduces metal artifacts or cone beam artifacts or scattered beam artifacts.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang et al. teach wherein correcting image artifacts reduces metal artifacts or cone beam artifacts or scattered beam artifacts (see para [0001]; “The invention relates generally to the field of diagnostic imaging and in particular to Cone-Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) imaging”, see also para [0061]; “As was shown in the coronal and sagittal views of FIGS. 7B and 7C, truncation artifacts vary along the axis, so that truncation is more pronounced along the middle of the image than toward top and bottom edges. The distribution of truncation artifacts has been found to follow an approximate cosine function. FIG. 15 shows, in schematic form, how the shape of the perceptible truncation artifacts varies with rows R of the coronal or sagittal image” Note: truncation artifacts is a subset of cone-beam CT artifacts). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of skill ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify a method for calibration process specifically applicable for limited angle digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) of Lilja et al in view of a method for image enhancement of image data of a dental image generation system Ulrici et al. and method for 3-D volume image reconstruction of a subject of Yang et al. in order to provide a high resolution 3D reconstruction of the particular region of interest (see para [0001]).
Claims 9-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ulrici et al. in view of Lilja et al. as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Herzog et al. (US 20170181731 A9) for the same reason as stated in the last Office Action, the ground is repeated below.
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. The combination of Ulrici et al. and Lilja et al. does not teach wherein the final reconstruction method includes post-processing the final volume and the first reconstruction method does not include the same post-processing; or both of the first reconstruction method and the final reconstruction method each include post-processing the first and final volumes respectively, wherein but are different, or each include the same post-processing step, wherein these are differently parameterized.
In the same field of endeavor, Herzog et al. teach wherein the final reconstruction method includes post-processing the final volume and the first reconstruction method does not include the same post-processing; or both of the first reconstruction method and the final reconstruction method each include post-processing the first and final volumes respectively, wherein but are different, or each include the same post-processing step, wherein these are differently parameterized (see para [0112]; “interframe persistent artifact estimation and removal is performed post-reconstruction, on the reconstructed image, or on an intermediate image formed after reconstruction, rather than performing this step on the sinogram data. In an embodiment, interframe persistent artifact estimation and removal is performed post-reconstruction on the real, imaginary or both components of complex images reconstructed from complex sinograms; complex images and sinograms are discussed in more detail below”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of skill ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify a method for calibration process specifically applicable for limited angle digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) of Lilja et al in view of a method for image enhancement of image data of a dental image generation system Ulrici et al. and iterative method for reducing artifacts in computed tomography (CT) images of Herzog et al. in order to produce statistically significantly better image quality (see para [0112]).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Herzog et al. in the combination further teach wherein said first reconstruction method includes pre-processing said sinogram or post-processing said first volume and said final reconstruction method does not include the same pre-processing or post-processing; or both of said first reconstruction method and said final reconstruction method each include pre-processing said sinogram or post-processing said first volume and said final volume respectively, which are different, or each include the same pre-processing or post-processing, wherein these are differently parameterized (see para [0349]; “Preprocessing the sinogram data (220) [0352] c. Reconstructing images from the processed sinogram data (225) [0353] d. Processing the reconstructed images (230), and producing long and short envelope images (232, 234); [0354] e. Creating parametric maps; [0355] f. Pre-processing of a parametric map may be done as a step (i.e. noise-removal, smoothing, statistical normalization”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of skill ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify a method for image enhancement of image data of a dental image generation system of Ulrici et al. in view of a method for calibration process specifically applicable for limited angle digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) of Lilja et al. iterative method for reducing artifacts in computed tomography (CT) images of Herzog et al. in order to produce better image quality (see para [0349]).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Herzog et al. in the combination further teach wherein the post-processing serves for gray value adjustment or edge-preserving smoothing or noise reduction (see para [0363]; “the foregoing approach may also be applied when other various signal processing, noise reduction, or other filters are used” see also para [0112]; “interframe persistent artifact estimation and removal is performed post-reconstruction, on the reconstructed image, or on an intermediate image formed after reconstruction, rather than performing this step on the sinogram data. In an embodiment, interframe persistent artifact estimation and removal is performed post-reconstruction on the real, imaginary or both components of complex images reconstructed from complex sinograms”).
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated herein.
Herzog et al. in the combination further teach herein said pre- and post-processing is for noise reduction or edge-preserving noise reduction or edge enhancement or truncation artifact suppression (see para [0363]; “the foregoing approach may also be applied when other various signal processing, noise reduction, or other filters are used”, see also para [0349]; “Preprocessing the sinogram data (220) [0352] c. Reconstructing images from the processed sinogram data (225) [0353] d. Processing the reconstructed images (230), and producing long and short envelope images (232, 234); [0354] e. Creating parametric maps; [0355] f. Pre-processing of a parametric map may be done as a step (i.e. noise-removal, smoothing, statistical normalization)”).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Lilja et al. in the combination further teach wherein the geometric calibration is an iterative method and the pre- and post-processing or its parameterization are changed during the iterations (see para [0023]; “The procedure is iterated a number of times with the X-ray projection image-specific rigid transformation parameters used in the next iteration for computing the updated intermediate DBT reconstruction and further as the initial guess for the subsequent parameter optimization”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WINTA GEBRESLASSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2677