DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 8/27/2024.
Claims 7-11 are pending, with claims 1-6 being cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) filed on 3/11/2024 and 4/17/2024 have been considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 7, 10, and 11 each recite, in the last limitation, “expecting, by the terminal…that repetition of a resource for the uplink control channel is not configured” (or “the terminal expects…”) is unclear. That is, it is not understood how the terminal performs the “expecting,” and Examiner notes that the usage of the term “expecting” in this context (coming from the standpoint of a computer terminal, i.e. a terminal does the expecting) is also unconventional as well. As such, such usage renders the claim unclear and, therefore, indefinite.
Claim 8 is rejected by virtue of being dependent on claim 7.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are “a reception section,” “a transmission section,” and “a control section” in claim 7 and “a transmission section,” “a reception section,” and “a control section” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigard (EP3917259A1) in view of Elshafie (USPAN 2022/0078832).
Consider claims 7, 10, and 11, Wigard discloses a terminal (see figure 1a, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said terminal), and a corresponding radio communication method (see paragraph 21, wherein disclosed is said method), and a corresponding radio communication system, comprising: a terminal and a base station (see figure 1a, wherein disclosed is said communication system comprising said terminal and base station) comprising:
a reception section that receives a downlink shared channel, the downlink shared channel being based on semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (see paragraph 9: NPDSCH (downlink shared channel); see paragraph 14: activation of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS));
a transmission section that transmits an acknowledgement response to the downlink shared channel through an uplink control channel (see paragraph 15: HARQ-ACK transmission); and
a control section that configures stopping transmission of the acknowledgement response, wherein the control section expects, when configuring the stopping of transmission of the acknowledgement response, that repetition of a resource for the uplink control channel is not configured (see paragraph 21: the UE has stopped transmitting data, i.e. stopped ACK/NACK transmission in the case of downlink data transfer and stopped repetitions in the case of uplink data transfer).
Although Wigard discloses stopping the transmission of the acknowledgment response (see above), Wigard does not specifically disclose deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response.
Elshafie discloses deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response (see paragraph 19: the UE may defer to delay transmission of HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback until slot 11 when an uplink grant PUCCH occasion arises), and further discloses
receiving a downlink shared channel, the downlink shared channel being based on semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (see paragraph 19: SPS PDSCH [physical downlink shared channel] occasions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wigard and combine it with the noted teachings of Elshafie. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for delay imposed hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback reporting (see paragraph 2 of Elshafie).
Consider claim 8, Wigard discloses that the reception section receives configuration information on a resource of the uplink control channel (see paragraph 46: the collaboration may be performed when the source cell is aware a new grant is needed for new UL/DL traffic available and derives the grant configuration...Therefore, the source cell may trigger the coordination between source and target cells to determine the possible resource allocation per cell), and a control section that configures stopping transmission of the acknowledgement response, wherein the control section expects, when configuring the stopping of transmission of the acknowledgement response, that repetition of a resource for the uplink control channel is not configured (see paragraph 21: the UE has stopped transmitting data, i.e. stopped ACK/NACK transmission in the case of downlink data transfer and stopped repetitions in the case of uplink data transfer).
Although Wigard discloses stopping the transmission of the acknowledgment response (see above), Wigard does not specifically disclose deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response.
Elshafie discloses deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response (see paragraph 19: the UE may defer to delay transmission of HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback until slot 11 when an uplink grant PUCCH occasion arises).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wigard and combine it with the noted teachings of Elshafie. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for delay imposed hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback reporting (see paragraph 2 of Elshafie).
Consider claim 9, Wigard discloses a base station (see figure 1a, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said base station), comprising:
a transmission section that transmits a downlink shared channel, the downlink shared channel being based on semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (see paragraph 9: NPDSCH (downlink shared channel); see paragraph 14: activation of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS));
a reception section that receives an acknowledgement response to the downlink shared channel through an uplink control channel (see paragraph 15: HARQ-ACK transmission); and
a control section that configures stopping transmission of the acknowledgement response, wherein the control section does not configure repetition of a resource for the uplink control channel when configuring the stopping of transmission of the acknowledgement response (see paragraph 21: the UE has stopped transmitting data, i.e. stopped ACK/NACK transmission in the case of downlink data transfer and stopped repetitions in the case of uplink data transfer).
Although Wigard discloses stopping the transmission of the acknowledgment response (see above), Wigard does not specifically disclose deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response.
Elshafie discloses deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response (see paragraph 19: the UE may defer to delay transmission of HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback until slot 11 when an uplink grant PUCCH occasion arises), and further discloses
receiving a downlink shared channel, the downlink shared channel being based on semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (see paragraph 19: SPS PDSCH [physical downlink shared channel] occasions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wigard and combine it with the noted teachings of Elshafie. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for delay imposed hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback reporting (see paragraph 2 of Elshafie).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412