DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 5/8/2026.
Claims 7-11 are pending, with claims 1-6 being cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 5/8/2026 with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
However, despite the above, Examiner wishes to note that Applicant has stated that the secondary reference of “Elshafie is completely silent with respect to the repetitions. As such, it logically follows that Elshafie fails to remedy the deficiencies of [primary reference] Wigard to teach the above-mentioned limitations of amended independent claim 7.” (see pages 8-9 of Applicant’s remarks filed on 5/8/2026)
In response, Examiner notes that the claims were rejected via 35 U.S.C. 103 and, as such, the references must be viewed in combination with, and in light of, each other. In this case, Elshafie’s teaching of “deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response” must be viewed in light of Wigard’s teachings, including the repetitions. Therefore, Applicant’s assertion regarding Elshafie’s lack of teaching of repetitions does not take into account combining Elshafie’s teachings with the teachings of Wigard, which results in Applicant’s claimed invention.
Despite the above remarks, which alone would have been sufficient to maintain the previous rejection, Examiner has changed the grounds of rejection due to Applicant’s correction of the 112(b) rejection, and the new reference more clearly and explicitly discloses the claimed invention.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are “a reception section,” “a transmission section,” and “a control section” in claim 7 and “a transmission section,” “a reception section,” and “a control section” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wigard (EP3917259A1) in view of Elshafie (USPAN 2022/0078832) and Hosseini (USPAN 2022/0116153).
Consider claims 7, 10, and 11, Wigard discloses a terminal (see figure 1a, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said terminal), and a corresponding radio communication method (see paragraph 21, wherein disclosed is said method), and a corresponding radio communication system, comprising: a terminal and a base station (see figure 1a, wherein disclosed is said communication system comprising said terminal and base station) comprising:
a reception section that receives a downlink shared channel, the downlink shared channel being based on semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (see paragraph 9: NPDSCH (downlink shared channel); see paragraph 14: activation of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS));
a transmission section that transmits an acknowledgement response to the downlink shared channel through an uplink control channel (see paragraph 15: HARQ-ACK transmission); and
a control section that configures stopping transmission of the acknowledgement response, wherein the control section expects, when configuring the stopping of transmission of the acknowledgement response, that repetition of a resource for the uplink control channel is not configured (see paragraph 21: the UE has stopped transmitting data, i.e. stopped ACK/NACK transmission in the case of downlink data transfer and stopped repetitions in the case of uplink data transfer).
Although Wigard discloses stopping the transmission of the acknowledgment response (see above), Wigard does not specifically disclose deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response.
Elshafie discloses deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response (see paragraph 19: the UE may defer to delay transmission of HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback until slot 11 when an uplink grant PUCCH occasion arises), and further discloses
receiving a downlink shared channel, the downlink shared channel being based on semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (see paragraph 19: SPS PDSCH [physical downlink shared channel] occasions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wigard and combine it with the noted teachings of Elshafie. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for delay imposed hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback reporting (see paragraph 2 of Elshafie).
Hosseini discloses that deferring of transmission of the acknowledgement response is configured (see paragraph 95: the UE may defer HARQ-ACK by reporting it in a Type-3 codebook).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wigard and combine it with the noted teachings of Hosseini. The motivation to combine these references is to provide an efficient method for reporting feedback based on information received by a base station and an RRC message (see paragraph 6 of Hosseini).
Consider claim 8, Wigard discloses that the reception section receives configuration information on a resource of the uplink control channel (see paragraph 46: the collaboration may be performed when the source cell is aware a new grant is needed for new UL/DL traffic available and derives the grant configuration...Therefore, the source cell may trigger the coordination between source and target cells to determine the possible resource allocation per cell), and a control section that configures stopping transmission of the acknowledgement response, wherein the control section expects, when configuring the stopping of transmission of the acknowledgement response, that repetition of a resource for the uplink control channel is not configured (see paragraph 21: the UE has stopped transmitting data, i.e. stopped ACK/NACK transmission in the case of downlink data transfer and stopped repetitions in the case of uplink data transfer).
Although Wigard discloses stopping the transmission of the acknowledgment response (see above), Wigard does not specifically disclose deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response.
Elshafie discloses deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response (see paragraph 19: the UE may defer to delay transmission of HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback until slot 11 when an uplink grant PUCCH occasion arises).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wigard and combine it with the noted teachings of Elshafie. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for delay imposed hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback reporting (see paragraph 2 of Elshafie).
Hosseini discloses that deferring of transmission of the acknowledgement response is configured (see paragraph 95: the UE may defer HARQ-ACK by reporting it in a Type-3 codebook).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wigard and combine it with the noted teachings of Hosseini. The motivation to combine these references is to provide an efficient method for reporting feedback based on information received by a base station and an RRC message (see paragraph 6 of Hosseini).
Consider claim 9, Wigard discloses a base station (see figure 1a, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said base station), comprising:
a transmission section that transmits a downlink shared channel, the downlink shared channel being based on semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (see paragraph 9: NPDSCH (downlink shared channel); see paragraph 14: activation of semi-persistent scheduling (SPS));
a reception section that receives an acknowledgement response to the downlink shared channel through an uplink control channel (see paragraph 15: HARQ-ACK transmission); and
a control section that configures stopping transmission of the acknowledgement response, wherein the control section does not configure repetition of a resource for the uplink control channel when configuring the stopping of transmission of the acknowledgement response (see paragraph 21: the UE has stopped transmitting data, i.e. stopped ACK/NACK transmission in the case of downlink data transfer and stopped repetitions in the case of uplink data transfer).
Although Wigard discloses stopping the transmission of the acknowledgment response (see above), Wigard does not specifically disclose deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response.
Elshafie discloses deferring the transmission of the acknowledgement response (see paragraph 19: the UE may defer to delay transmission of HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback until slot 11 when an uplink grant PUCCH occasion arises), and further discloses
receiving a downlink shared channel, the downlink shared channel being based on semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) (see paragraph 19: SPS PDSCH [physical downlink shared channel] occasions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wigard and combine it with the noted teachings of Elshafie. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for delay imposed hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback reporting (see paragraph 2 of Elshafie).
Hosseini discloses that deferring of transmission of the acknowledgement response is configured (see paragraph 95: the UE may defer HARQ-ACK by reporting it in a Type-3 codebook).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wigard and combine it with the noted teachings of Hosseini. The motivation to combine these references is to provide an efficient method for reporting feedback based on information received by a base station and an RRC message (see paragraph 6 of Hosseini).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412