DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/11/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, drawn to a product, an architected three-dimensional material in the reply filed on 08/12/2026 is respectfully acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the Applicants disagree and traverse the Restriction for the following reasons: “1) Sanderson fails disclose the feature of claim 1, referred to as feature A: "a set of unit cells, each unit cell having a cavity circumscribed by an internal surface of a wall, 2) Sanderson fails to disclose the feature of claim 1, referred to as feature. B: "the cells have a hollow three-dimensional structure and comprise at least one orifice extending through the wall through which the cavity communicates with the outside. Sanderson does not disclose the feature of claim 1, referred to as feature C: "a ratio between a minimum dimension of the at least one orifice and a minimum Feret diameter of the at least one cell is smaller than or equal to 0.35".
The traversal is not found persuasive as Applicant’s argument does not commensurate with the scope of the claim 1, because:
With respect to Applicant’s argument about feature A: Sanderson discloses a set of unit cells (a foam material 10 comprising a set of unit cell, void 14 of see Sanderson’s FIG.1, 2 and a foam material 70 in FIG. 11), each unit cell having a cavity circumscribed by an internal surface of a wall (the voids (cavity/hollow) 14 are spherical (circumscribed by an internal surface of a wall) (see Sanderson’s [0039]), constituting an interconnected network of voids, since the voids 14 are interconnected, gas (or other fluid) within the voids 14 can be squeezed out of the voids 14 without breaking the portions of the continuous material matrix 12 that is between the voids 14, see Sanderson’s [0036] FIG.1, 2, the voids 74 in FIG. 11).
With respect to Applicant’s argument about feature. B: Sanderson discloses the cells have a hollow three-dimensional structure (the spherical voids 14, see Sanderson’s [0036], [0039], FIG.1, 2, the voids 74 in FIG. 11 are void (hollow) three-dimensional structure) and comprise at least one orifice extending through the wall through which the cavity communicates with the outside (the voids 14 are spherical, having what appear to be point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14, see Sanderson’s [0039]). As evidenced in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, “orifice is an opening (such as a vent, mouth, or hole) through which something may pass” and as Sanderson’s point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14, therefore, Sanderson’s point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14 meets the limitation of orifice.
With respect to Applicant’s argument about feature C: Sanderson discloses a ratio between a minimum dimension of the at least one orifice and a minimum Feret diameter of the at least one cell is smaller than or equal to 0.35" (the voids 14 are illustrated as spherical, having what appear to be point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14. The apparent point contacts will in fact be more than just points, and alternatively the voids 14 may have fillets that provide broader connections between adjacent of the voids 14, (see Sanderson’s [0039]). In Sanderson’s FIG. 11 a foam material 70 includes spherical voids 74 (cavities) having relatively large voids 76 and relatively small voids 77 and connected trough corresponding fillets 78 and 79 where the voids 76 contact one another. The fillets 78 and 79 have diameters that are from 2% to 60% or the radii of the voids 76 and 77, to give an exemplary range. When a polymer foam is rapidly heated, to raise its temperature by 50 degrees C. in under 5 seconds, those thin sections of the foam will overheat and literally burn out, before the thicker wall sections have gotten warmed up. By filleting all the sphere contacts, the thin places in the foam cell wall can be eliminated [Sanderson’s 0057]. As shown above, and evidenced in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, “orifice is an opening (such as a vent, mouth, or hole) through which something may pass”, Sanderson’s fillets are also working same as point contacts, i.e. orifice. As Sanderson’s fillets have diameters from 2% to 60% or the radii of the voids, therefore, point of contact/fillet (orifice) diameter to cavity diameter ratio is 0.01 to 0.3 which is within the range as recited in the instant claimed range.
With respect to Applicant’s argument about “the fact that claim 13 depends from claim 1 and as such incorporates all subject matter therein”, although the groups relating to each other as product, use of product and process for its manufacture shows unity a priori, that is before considering the prior art, unity of invention still requires a common special technical feature that makes a contribution over the prior art (a posteriori), a requirement which is not met in this case, as explained above, and does not make any contribution over the prior art in the Restriction Requirement over the previously cited prior art in view of Terry M. Sanderson et.al. [US20130101823A1] and below in the prior art rejections over Eva Gregorova, et.al. [“Microstructure characterization of mullite foam by image analysis, mercury porosimetry and X-ray computed microtomography”, Ceramics International 44 (2018) 12315–12328] (Eva hereafter). In the present application, the common technical features are the subject matter of claim 1, which has been disclosed by Sanderson as shown above and Eva as shown in the rejection below.
Therefore, these technical features are not special technical feature as it does not contribute over the prior art Sanderson and Eva as the technical features are already present and are being used to reject claim 1 associated within this office action (please see the rejection section).
The restriction requirement mailed on August 12, is still seemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, drawn to a process for manufacturing an architected three-dimensional material, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 86.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Therefore, claim 10-20 are under examination on merit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b)
Claims 2, 6-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2, claim recites a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation “several of the cells” and the claim also recites “preferably each of the cells” which is the narrower statement of the limitation. The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claims 2, claim recites the phrase “preferably” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). In this case, the preference as claimed is not clear whether the claimed narrower range is a limitation and have been held to be indefinite because the intended scope of the claim is unclear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 6, claim recites the term “the support structure” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 from which claim 6 depends from does not recite any support structure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 7, claim recites the term “the void volume” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 from which claim 7 depends from does not recite any void or void volume.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 10, claim recites the term “the support structure” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 from which claim 10 depends from does not recite any support structure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 11, claim recites the term “the support structure” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 and 5, from which claim 11 depends from does not recite any support structure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eva Gregorova, et.al. [“Microstructure characterization of mullite foam by image analysis, mercury porosimetry and X-ray computed microtomography”, Ceramics International 44 (2018) 12315–12328] (Eva hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Eva teaches an architected three-dimensional material comprising a set of unit cells, forming a one-piece structure each of the cells has a three-dimensional structure and at least one cell has a hollow three-dimensional structure (a light-weight mullite foam (a one piece structure) with hierarchical microstructure, (see Eva’s Abstract), a highly porous cellular (set of unit cells) ceramic material (see Eva’s page 12319, 3.1. Material – preparation and basic characterization of the mullite foam) and a spatial three-dimensional voxel image of the foam, and two-dimensional size distributions of pores that are essentially convex and those features termed as “pore cavities” (hollow unit cells) see Eva’s Fig.3 page 12321), and comprises at least one orifice through which a cavity of the at least one cell communicates with the outside of the at least one cell and the cavity of the at least one cell is circumscribed by an internal surface of a wall of the at least one cell in which the at least one orifice is provided (two-dimensional essentially convex pores, more or less isolated pores and termed as “pore cavities” (hollow unit cells) (see Eva’s Fig.3 page 12323, 2. Theoretical, left col) are connected in cavity-throat microstructures to determine the size distribution of pore cavities in addition to the size distribution of the pore throats (see Eva’s page 12318, 2. Theoretical, left column), a clear difference between pore cavities (pore bodies) and the pore throats or pore channels (orifice), see Eva’s page 12318, 3.1. Material – preparation and basic characterization of the mullite foam), the pore throat size distribution exhibits a distinct sharp mode at around 80 µm, throats connecting the large pore cavities (orifice through which pore cavity communicates with the outside), whereas a much smaller and broader mode is visible in the size range 2–5 µm, is obviously related to the interconnections between the pores resulting from the burnout of starch granules and the intergranular voids between the partially sintered mullite grains, see Eva’s page 12324, 4.5. Characterization of microstructure and determination of pore throat size distributions via mercury porosimetry); and
a ratio between a minimum dimension of the at least one orifice (Pore throat size distribution of foam, page 12325, Eva’s Fig. 10) and a minimum Feret diameter (aspect ratios is calculated from the maximum and minimum Feret diameters, see Eva’s page 12323, 4 4.3. Determination of pore size distributions from planar and serial sections), of the at least one cell (the pore size distributions, Eva’s page 12325, Fig. 11 ) is smaller than or equal to 0.30 (=76/234) to 0.32 (=76/247) (small and medium-sized pore throats of a median 76 µm, whereas pore cavities of median 234–247 µm, see Eva’s Abstract), which is as recited in the instant claim.
Eva’s ratio is within the values as recited in the instant claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have selected and produced a ratio from the teachings of Eva that falls within the instantly-claimed ranges, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Eva also teaches for some application (e.g. thermal insulation) closed porosity is ideal, while for others (e.g. catalysis and filteration) open porosity is required, i.e. apart from porosity other characteristics of the pore space, including pore connectivity, is also quite important (see Eva’s introduction). Eva further teaches the effective properties of porous ceramics and ceramic foams depend strongly on the microstructure, for a light-weight foam, with hierarchical microstructure an important and versatile applications, e.g. for furnace linings, kiln furniture and high-temperature filters and combining the information on both pore throats and cavities can be applied to porous materials with a wide range of microstructures (see Eva’s Abstract).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have Eva’s teachings of three-dimensional porous foam to have cellular structure with pore cavity and pore throat to produce a wide range of microstructures based on the intended application.
Regarding claim 2, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 2 in addition, Eva teaches several of the cells comprise at least one orifice (the large pore throats (orifice) connecting the large pore cavities, whereas a much smaller and broader pore throats is obviously related to the interconnections between the pores of wheat starch granules and the intergranular voids between the partially sintered mullite grains, see Eva’s page 12324, 4.5. Characterization of microstructure and determination of pore throat size distributions via mercury porosimetry).
It is to be noted, “preferably each of the cells comprise at least one orifice”, as recited claim language, is a preference, i.e. an optional limitation and is not required by the claim.
Regarding claim 6, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 6 in addition, Eva teaches the architected material is a porous material (porous ceramics and ceramic foams, see Eva’s Abstract, Fig. 3)
and/or a composite material (a suspension of mullite powder and consists of wheat starch agglomerates after mechanical agitation is cast into a metal mold, closed, heated and the swelling and subsequent gelatinization of the wheat starch (polymer) support foam stabilization (as in starch consolidation casting) to obtain a ceramic mullite foam, i.e. a highly porous cellular ceramic material, i.e. Eva’s foam comprises a composite (polymer (wheat starch) and ceramic) see Eva’s Page 12319, 3.1. left col, 3.1. Material – preparation and basic characterization of the mullite foam).
and in which at least a portion of a volume, called void volume, extending between the cells and/or between the cells and the support structure (complex hierarchical microstructure arises, allowing clear statements about the size of the convex pore cavities (corresponding to the foam bubbles in the suspension), their interconnecting throats (together with the starch-related pores) as well as the essentially concave intergranular voids (void volume) between the mullite grains, see Eva’s Fig.3, Page 12325, 3.1. right col, 4.6. Comparison of size distributions determined via mercury porosimetry, image analysis and tomography),
and/or within the cavity of the at least one cell comprises: a matrix, and/ or at least one pore (see Eva’s Fig.3).
It is to be noted claim recites “and/or” in between the multiple limitations, prior art teaches any one of these limitations would meet the entire claim, because anything after “or” is interpreted as optional limitation and not required by the claim.
Regarding claim 9, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 6 in addition, Eva teaches comprising at least one link arranged in order that the cavity of a given cell communicates with the cavity of a cell adjoining and/or located facing said given cell (the larger pore throats (orifice) connecting (linking) the large pore cavities, whereas a much smaller pore throats (orifice) are related to the interconnections (linking) between the pores of wheat starch granules and the intergranular voids between the partially sintered mullite grains, see Eva’s page 12324, 4.5. Characterization of microstructure and determination of pore throat size distributions via mercury porosimetry, and see Eva’s Fig. 3 (see Eva’s Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 10, in addition, Eva teaches the architected material is an architected porous material in which the cells, (porous ceramics and ceramic foams, see Eva’s Abstract, Fig. 3) comprise one or more polymers (a suspension of mullite powder and consists of wheat starch (polymer) agglomerates after mechanical agitation is cast into a metal mold, closed, heated and the swelling and subsequent gelatinization of the wheat starch support foam stabilization (as in starch consolidation casting) to obtain a ceramic mullite foam, i.e. a highly porous cellular ceramic material, see Eva’s Page 12319, 3.1. left col, 3.1. Material – preparation and basic characterization of the mullite foam).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have Eva’s wheat starch (polymer) support for foam stabilization.
It is to be noted, claim recites “and/or” in between the limitations, prior art teaches any one of these limitations would meet the entire claim, because anything after “or” is interpreted as optional limitation and not required by the claim.
Claims 3-5, 7-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eva Gregorova, et.al. [“Microstructure characterization of mullite foam by image analysis, mercury porosimetry and X-ray computed microtomography”, Ceramics International 44 (2018) 12315–12328] (Eva hereafter), as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Peng Zhao, et.al. [“Synthesis and Properties of Octet NiCr Alloy Lattices Obtained by the Pack Cementation Process”, Appl. Sci. 2023, 13, 1684] (Zhao hereafter).
Regarding claim 3-4 and 8, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 3, 4 and 8 but Eva is silent about a support structure connecting, to each other, at least two cells adjoining and/or facing each other, and/or at least one junction area connecting two cells adjoining and/or facing each other, said junction area being common to said two cells adjoining and/or facing each other and the support structure is arranged to form a geometric network.
However, Zhao teaches a support structure connecting, to each other, at least two cells adjoining and/or facing each other and/or at least one junction area connecting two cells adjoining and/or facing each other, said junction area being common to said two cells adjoining and/or facing each other (multiple lattice materials, the octet structure (support structure) wherein the octet lattice consists of 36 rods of exactly the same length and diameter. Eight regular tetrahedrons are distributed on the surface surrounding the central regular octahedron (see Zhao’s 1. Introduction, Figure 1).
Zhao teaches the structure of a nickel foam (porous material) is disordered, which is a curved-dominated porous material, while the octet lattice is a stretch-dominated material. Zhao then teaches according to Maxwell’s theory and combining with the actual properties of the octahedral when the material and density are the same, the NiCr alloy with an octet structure will have better mechanical properties and mass efficiency than a bend-dominated lattice and a Ni-based foam (see Zhao’s 1. Introduction, Figure 1). Zhao further teaches a combined process of making of porous structure (a metal foam and a NiCrAlTi microlattice) and a three-dimensional model of the octet lattice into a 3D printer, and the polymer template is prepared and then, the lattice with the polymer is sintered to remove the polymer skeleton, and the hollow Ni lattice is formed (see Zhao’s 2. Materials and Methods, Figure 1).
With respect to claim 4, Zhao teaches the support structure is arranged to form a geometric network as shown in the Figure 1, (an octet structure see Zhao’s Figure 1).
With respect to claim 8, Zhao teaches the cells are arranged with respect to each other to form a regular network as shown in the Figure 1, (Ni foam is produced in an octet polymer template structure see Zhao’s Figure 1).
Zhao is directed to a porous foam material and therefore, analogous to the instant claim and Eva.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Eva to incorporate the teachings of Zhao’s octet support structure to produce a regular network of porous structure to have better mechanical properties and mass efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 3, but Eva is silent about reinforcing structure, the reinforcing structure comprises at least one strip, which: - extends between two opposite external walls of the architected material, and/or
- forms (an) internal partition(s), and/or
- is arranged to reinforce the architected material.
However, Zhao teaches a reinforcing structure, the reinforcing structure comprises at least one strip, which extends between two opposite external walls of the architected material, and/or forms (an) internal partition(s), and/or is arranged to reinforce the architected material (multiple lattice materials, the octet structure (reinforcing structure), wherein the octet lattice consists of 36 rods of exactly the same length and diameter. Eight regular tetrahedrons are distributed on the surface surrounding the central regular octahedron (see Zhao’s 1. Introduction, Figure 1), and the structure of a nickel foam (porous material) is disordered, which is a curved-dominated porous material, while the octet lattice is a stretch-dominated material. Zhao teaches according to Maxwell’s theory and combined with the actual properties of the octahedral when the material and density are the same, the NiCr alloy with an octet structure will have better mechanical properties (reinforcing) and mass efficiency than a bend-dominated lattice and a Ni-based foam (see Zhao’s 1. Introduction, Figure 1). Zhao further teaches combining the processes of porous structure (a metal foam and a NiCrAlTi microlattice) and a three-dimensional model of the octet lattice into a 3D printer, and the polymer template is prepared and then, the lattice with the polymer is sintered to remove the polymer skeleton, and the hollow Ni lattice is formed (see Zhao’s 2. Materials and Methods, Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Eva to incorporate the teachings of Zhao’s polymer template to produce a regular network of porous structure to have better mechanical properties and mass efficiency.
Regarding claim 7, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 7 in addition, Eva teaches a void volume, extending between the cells (complex hierarchical microstructure comprises the convex pore cavities (corresponding to the foam bubbles in the suspension), their interconnecting throats (together with the starch-related pores) as well as the essentially concave intergranular voids (void volume) between the mullite grains (cells), see Eva’s Fig.3, Page 12325, 3.1. right col, 4.6. Comparison of size distributions determined via mercury porosimetry, image analysis and tomography).
But Eva is silent about void volume is arranged to form a regular network.
However, Zhao teaches a regular network arrangement of a porous foam with an octet structure to have better mechanical properties (see Zhao’s 1. Introduction, Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Zhao’s regular network to modify Eva’s porous cellular structure comprising void volumes to produce a regular network of porous structure with regular void volumes to have better mechanical properties.
Regarding claim 11, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 and 5 are applicable to claim 11, in addition, Eva teaches the architected material is an architected porous material in which the cells, (porous ceramics and ceramic foams, see Eva’s Abstract, Fig. 3) comprise one or more polymers (a suspension of mullite powder and consists of wheat starch (polymer) agglomerates after mechanical agitation is cast into a metal mold, closed, heated and the swelling and subsequent gelatinization of the wheat starch support foam stabilization (as in starch consolidation casting) to obtain a ceramic mullite foam, i.e. a highly porous cellular ceramic material, see Eva’s Page 12319, 3.1. left col, 3.1. Material – preparation and basic characterization of the mullite foam).
Although Eva is silent about the architected material is an architected porous material in which the cells, or the cells and the support structure, comprise one or more metallic elements, it is to be noted, claim recites “and/or” in between the limitations, prior art teaches any one of these limitations would meet the entire claim, because anything after “or” is interpreted as optional limitation and not required by the claim.
In addition, Zhao teaches the architected material is an architected porous material in which the cells, or the cells and the support structure, comprise one or more metallic elements or one or more polymer material (a regular network arrangement of a porous Ni foam (metal) with an octet structure (polymer template) to have better mechanical properties (see Zhao’s 1. Introduction, Figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have either Eva’s wheat starch (polymer) support for foam stabilization or Zhao’s polymer template to produce a regular network of porous structure to have better mechanical properties.
Regarding claim 12, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 12, but Eva is silent about the architected material is a metal foam.
However, Zhao teaches when a Ni octet structure lattice is used as a template, and a nickel–chromium alloy lattice with high strength and toughness is prepared by pack cementation. Among porous materials, the nickel–chromium lattice has great advantages because of its the mechanical properties. It is thus a candidate for the productions of, e.g., as high-temperature catalyst media, high-temperature filters or heat exchangers, and porous material carriers (see, Zhao’s page 2-3). Zhao further teaches the octet structure Ni-based alloy lattice showed an excellent static energy absorption capacity and the energy absorbed per unit volume is higher than those of octahedral and layered composite, polymer or ceramic foam (see, Zhao’s page 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have Zhao’s teachings of metallic foam to modify Eva’s ceramic cellular structure with the metallic foam to have a porous structure with great mechanical properties as well as for high temperature application.
Claims 1-2, 3-4, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terry M. Sanderson et.al. [US20130101823A1] (Sanderson hereafter).
An evidentiary reference Merriam-Webster Dictionary has presented to define “orifice”.
Regarding claim 1, Sanderson discloses an architected three-dimensional material comprising a set of unit cells, forming a one-piece structure each of the cells has a three-dimensional structure and at least one cell has a hollow three-dimensional structure (a foam material 10 comprising a set of unit cell, void 14 of see Sanderson’s FIG.1, 2 and a foam material 70 in FIG. 11, the spherical voids 14, see Sanderson’s [0036], [0039], FIG.1, 2, the voids 74 in FIG. 11 are void (hollow) three-dimensional structure) and comprises at least one orifice through which a cavity of the at least one cell communicates with the outside of the at least one cell (the voids 14 are spherical, having what appear to be point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14, see Sanderson’s [0039]). As evidenced in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, “orifice is an opening (such as a vent, mouth, or hole) through which something may pass” and as Sanderson’s point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14, therefore, Sanderson’s point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14 meets the limitation of orifice) and the cavity of the at least one cell is circumscribed by an internal surface of a wall of the at least one cell in which the at least one orifice is provided (the voids (cavity/hollow) 14 are spherical (circumscribed by an internal surface of a wall) (see Sanderson’s [0039]), constituting an interconnected network of voids, since the voids 14 are interconnected, gas (or other fluid) within the voids 14 can be squeezed out of the voids 14 without breaking the portions of the continuous material matrix 12 that is between the voids 14, see Sanderson’s [0036] FIG.1, 2, the voids 74 in FIG. 11).
Sanderson discloses a ratio between a minimum dimension of the at least one orifice and a minimum Feret diameter of the at least one cell is smaller than or equal to 0.35" (the voids 14 are illustrated as spherical, having what appear to be point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14. The apparent point contacts will in fact be more than just points, and alternatively the voids 14 may have fillets that provide broader connections between adjacent of the voids 14, (see Sanderson’s [0039]). In Sanderson’s FIG. 11 a foam material 70 includes spherical voids 74 (cavities) having relatively large voids 76 and relatively small voids 77 and connected trough corresponding fillets 78 and 79 where the voids 76 contact one another. The fillets 78 and 79 have diameters that are from 2% to 60% or the radii of the voids 76 and 77, to give an exemplary range. When a polymer foam is rapidly heated, to raise its temperature by 50 degrees C. in under 5 seconds, those thin sections of the foam will overheat and literally burn out, before the thicker wall sections have gotten warmed up. By filleting all the sphere contacts, the thin places in the foam cell wall can be eliminated [Sanderson’s 0057]. As shown above, and evidenced in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, “orifice is an opening (such as a vent, mouth, or hole) through which something may pass”, Sanderson’s fillets are also working same as point contacts, i.e. orifice. As Sanderson’s fillets have diameters from 2% to 60% or the radii of the voids, therefore, point of contact/fillet (orifice) diameter to cavity diameter ratio is 0.01 to 0.3 which is within the range as recited in the instant claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the present invention, to have selected and produced a ratio from the teachings of Sanderson that falls within the instantly-claimed ranges, because “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)” [See MPEP § 2144.05.I].
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have Sanderson’s teachings of three-dimensional porous foam constituting an interconnected network of voids, so that gas (or other fluid) within the voids can be squeezed out of the voids and flows through the interconnected voids without breaking the portions of the continuous material matrix.
Regarding claim 2, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 2 in addition, Sanderson teaches several of the cells, preferably each of the cells comprise at least one orifice (the voids 14 are spherical, having what appear to be point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14, see Sanderson’s [0039], and since the voids 14 are interconnected, gas (or other fluid) within the voids 14 can be squeezed out of the voids 14 without breaking the portions of the continuous material matrix 12 that is between the voids 14, see Sanderson’s [0036] FIG.1, 2, the voids 74 in FIG. 11). As evidenced in the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, “orifice is an opening (such as a vent, mouth, or hole) through which something may pass” and as Sanderson’s point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14, therefore, Sanderson’s point contacts between them that allow fluid communication between the voids 14 meets the limitation of orifice.
Regarding claim 3, and 9, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 3, in addition, Sanderson teaches a support structure connecting, to each other, at least two cells adjoining and/or facing each other, and/or at least one junction area connecting two cells adjoining and/or facing each other, said junction area being common to said two cells adjoining and/or facing each other and the support structure is arranged to form a geometric network (a foam material 70 includes spherical voids 74 (cavities) having relatively large voids 76 and relatively small voids 77 and connected trough corresponding fillets 78 and 79 where the voids 76 contact one another. The fillets 78 and 79 have diameters that are from 2% to 60% or the radii of the voids 76 and 77, to give an exemplary range. When a polymer foam is rapidly heated, to raise its temperature by 50 degrees C. in under 5 seconds, those thin sections of the foam will overheat and literally burn out, before the thicker wall sections have gotten warmed up. By filleting all the sphere contacts, the thin places in the foam cell wall can be eliminated [Sanderson’s 0057]. Sanderson further teaches the apparent point contacts will in fact be more than just points, and alternatively the voids 14 may have fillets that provide broader connections between adjacent of the voids 14, (see Sanderson’s [0039]).
With respect to claim 9, at least one link arranged in order that the cavity of a given cell communicates with the cavity of a cell adjoining and/or located facing said given cell (as fillets that provide broader connections between adjacent of the voids 14, (see Sanderson’s [0039], [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have Sanderson’s teachings to have fillets (support structure) that provide broader connections and communications between adjacent of the voids of the interconnected network of voids.
Regarding claim 4 and 8, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 4 and 8, Sanderson teaches the support structure is arranged to form a geometric network (as shown in Sanderson’s FIG.1, 2 and 11, voids are connected in point of contact/fillet in a regular and geometric network).
With respect to claim 8, Sanderson teaches the cells are arranged with respect to each other to form a regular network (as shown in Sanderson’s FIG.1, 2 and 11, voids (cells) are arranged in a regular and/or geometric network).
Regarding claim 10, all the above discussions regarding claim 1 are applicable to claim 10, Sanderson teaches the architected material is an architected porous material in which the cells, or the cells and the support structure, comprise one or more metallic elements or one or more polymers (The continuous material matrix may include a polymer material, (see Sanderson’s [0010]).
Conclusion
/NAZMUN NAHAR SHAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/SPE, Art Unit 1738