DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Acknowledge is made of Applicant election of following species, Example 1, Formulation A in the reply of 06/09/2026:
Filler: lactose monohydrate (specification page 5, lines 15-16);
Binder: hydroxypropylcellulose (specification page 6, lines 1-2);
Disintegrant: sodium starch glycolate (specification page 6, lines 15-16);
Lubricant: magnesium stearate (specification page 6, lines 24-25);
Optional glidant: colloidal silicon dioxide (specification 7, line 3).
Please note the examiner requested election of single disclosed pharmaceutical composition species comprising combination of specified excipients.
Applicant argues Nerdinger recites numerous possible excipients that can be used in making a pharmaceutical composition... Nerdinger does not consider any excipient to be particularly useful or special in formulating bempedoic acid and certainly does not point to the claimed magnesium aluminometasilicate... magnesium aluminometasilicate reduces the sticky behavior of bempedoic acid...prevents melting of bempedoic acid during the compression process... These advantages are not the function of a mere filler as generically taught in Nerdinger and are unexpected.
Applicant’s argument is fully considered, but NOT persuasive. Please note Restriction/Election Requirement is not full examination. A skilled artisan would have known magnesium alumino silicate could be used in pharmaceutical composition comprising bempedoic acid as taught by Nerdinger. Selection and optimization of pharmaceutical excipients for their intended use as filler, lubricant, glidant, etc. is within the general knowledge of POSA and routine practice in pharmaceutical industry. Thus, technical feature of pharmaceutical formulation comprising bempedoic acid and magnesium aluminometasilicate as pharmaceutical excipient is not considered novel and the Restriction/Election requirement is made final.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are pending and currently under examination in this office action.
Priority
This application 18/690,975 filed on 03/11/2024 is 371 of PCT/EP2022/075272 filed 09/12/2022, which claims benefit of priority to foreign application EP 21196350.9 filed on 09/13/2021.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of foreign application priority EP 21196350.9 is filed on 03/11/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted 03/11/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the relevant references disclosed in IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
As disclosed by instants spec, bempedoic acid, 8-Hydroxy-2,2,14,14-tetramethylpentadecanedioic acid, is a dual-acting AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK) activator and ATP citrate lyase (ACL) inhibitor. Bempedoic acid has been approved for the oral treatment of hypercholesterolemia, under the brand name NILEMDO® and NEXLETOL® .
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is missing.
Claims 3-4, 7-8, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3-4 and 7-8 recite “an amount of from...” which should read an amount from....
Instant claim 13 recite “said magnesium aluminometasilicate is extragranular” which should read said magnesium aluminometasilicate is present extragranularly.
Specification
Instant specification is objected to for lack of cross-references to related applications: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 9-12 recite limitation wherein said filler, binder, disintegrant or lubricant “selected from the group comprising mannitol... calcium sulfate and talc” . The limitation is indefinite because the phrase “selected from the group” is closed-ended and the transition phrase “ comprising” is open-ended. The combination of this two phrases render the metes and bounds of the claims ambiguous. It’s not clear if the said filler, binder, disintegrant or lubricant are limited to the group members expressly recited or may also include unrecited excipient implied by the open-ended “comprising” phrase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nerdinger et al. (EP3666750A1, Applicant’s IDS dated 03/11/2024).
Nerdinger et al teaches pharmaceutical formulation comprising crystalline bempedoic acid and pharmaceutical excipients, e.g. filler, binder, disintegrant, glidant, etc. (See abstract, [0079]-[0122], claims 13-14).
Regarding claim 3 and 7-12, Nerdinger teaches embodiments comprising bempedoic acid and variety of filler, binder, disintegrant, glidant, etc. at various amount (See [0080]-[0122]), for example,
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Nerdinger teaches embodiments prepared by granulating, wherein granules contains bempedoic acid (See [0151]-0154]). Nerdinger also teaches bilayer tablet wherein bempedoic acid is in a first layer(See [0154]).
Regarding claim 8, Nerdinger teaches glidant to improve the flowability, e.g. colloidal silicon dioxide, talc or mixtures thereof. Preferably, glidants can be present in an amount of 0 to 5 wt% (See [0091]).
Regarding claim 9, Nerdinger teaches variety of filler, e.g. magnesium alumino silicates, sugar alcohol, mannitol, maltitol, sorbitol, ..., cellulose (e.g. microcrystalline cellulose), glycogen and starch, etc. (See [0081]-[0084]).
Regarding claim 10, Nerdinger teaches variety of binder, e.g. hydroxypropyl cellulose, hypromellose (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, HPMC), acacia, alginic acid, carboxymethyl cellulose, ethyl cellulose, methylcellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, ethylhydroxyethyl cellulose, polyvinyl alcohol, polyacrylates, carboxymethyl cellulose calcium, carboxymethyl cellulose sodium, compressible sugar,
ethyl cellulose, gelatin, liquid glucose, methylcellulose, polyvinyl pyrrolidone and pregelatinized starch , etc. (See [0085]-[0086]).
Regarding claim 11, Nerdinger teaches variety of disintegrants, e.g. carboxymethyl cellulose calcium, carboxymethyl cellulose sodium, croscarmellose (crosslinked carboxymethyl cellulose) sodium, cross-linked polyvinylpyrrolidone, crospovidone, alginic acid, microcrystalline cellulose (hydroxypropyl cellulose (HPC), low substituted hydroxypropyl cellulose, polacrillin potassium, sodium alginate, sodium starch glycolate, partially hydrolysed starch, sodium carboxymethyl starch, and starch, etc. (See [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 12, Nerdinger teaches variety of lubricants to reduce friction, e.g. stearate, magnesium stearate, mineral oil, stearic acid, fumaric acid, adipic acid, sodium stearyl fumarate, zinc stearate and polyethylene glycol, in particular magnesium stearate (See [0089]-[0090]).
Nerdinger teaches magnesium aluminosilicate as filler (See [0083]). The ratio of magnesium aluminosilicate as filler to bempedoic acid could be calculated as 1:2 ( 20% filler to 40% bempedoic acid)(See [0115])(which reads on instant claim 2).
Nerdinger is silent about magnesium aluminometasilicate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to further explore different excipient based on the teaching of Nerdinger together with experimentation/ optimization of the active and inactive ingredients (amount , ratio, etc.) based on the collective teachings of prior art and general knowledge of pharmaceutical composition, and arrive at instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. Selection and optimization of pharmaceutical excipients for their intended use as filler, lubricant, glidant, etc. is within the general knowledge of POSA and routine practice in pharmaceutical industry. A skilled artisan would be motivated to further explore magnesium aluminometasilicate as excipient in bempedoic acid composition and reasonably expect the alternative bempedoic acid composition comprising magnesium aluminometasilicate would exhibit similar property as taught by prior art.
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lalwani et al. ( WO 2019161307A1, Applicant’s IDS dated 03/11/2024 ), in view of Grenier et al. (US20100196475A1) and Tran et al. (International Journal of Pharmaceutics, 2021, vol. 592, 120054, DOI:10.1016/j.ijpharm.2020.120054, available online November 2020, Evaluation of multifunctional magnesium aluminosilicate materials as novel family of glidants in solid dosage products).
Lalwani discloses solid formulations ( immediate release and sustained- release) comprising 50-70% of bempedoic acid and pharmaceutical excipients (binder, filler, diluent, granulating agent, disintegrant, lubricant, or combination thereof), and method of treating cardiovascular disease or reducing the risk of cardiovascular disease comprising administering bempedoic acid formulation(See title, abstract, [0004]; [0006]; Example 4-6; Table 4-17; claims 1-30).
Regarding claim 3, Lalwani discloses various amount of bempedoic acid, from 30-50% by weight, from 35-55% by weight, from 40-60% by weight, from 45-65% by weight, 50-70% by weight, 55-75% by weight, or 60-80% by weight (See [00127], [00130]-[00135], Examples 4-6).
Regarding claim 5, Lalwani discloses bempedoic acid composition prepared by granulation process (See [00184]-[00185], [00297]-[00298]). Lalwani teaches bilayer tablet comprising API and swelling compartment made by granulation process (See [00188]).
Regarding the pharmaceutical excipients recited in instant claims 7-12, Lalwani teaches embodiments comprising variety of excipients (See [0004], [0006], [00117]-[00119],[00131]-[00134], Example 4-6), for example,
fillers (e.g. microcrystalline cellulose, mannitol, lactose, starch, etc.) at 5-50% w/w (See claim 2);
binder(e.g. hydroxylpropyl methylcellulose HMPC) at 0 .1-1.5% w/w (See claim 4, Example 6);
diluent or solubilizer (e.g. sodium lauryl sulfate) at 1-5% w/w (See claim 3);
disintegrating agents(e.g. sodium starch glycolate, etc.) at 0.1 to 10% w/w (See [0141], Table 15);
lubricating agents( e.g. magnesium stearate, etc.) (See [00185] [00257], Table 15), at about 2.7% (=9/337) by weight;
glidants ( e.g. colloidal silicon dioxide) (See [00257], Table 15) at about 1.5% (=5/337) by weight;
It’s noted the ratio of glidant colloidal silicon dioxide to bempedoic acid in Table 15 is 1:36 (=5: 180 (which falls in the range of instant claim 2).
Regarding claim 15, Lalwani teaches matrix-based tablet ( See[00120]-[00121]), and tablet embodiments wherein bempedoic acid is in the core tablet (See Example 6, Table 15).
Lalwani is silent about magnesium aluminometasilicate.
Grenier teaches controlled release tablet formulation comprising magnesium aluminometasilicate with variety of active ingredients(See abstract, [0006]-[0010]; Examples 1- 7; claims 1-12) . Grenier teaches uses of magnesium aluminometasilicate ( NeusilinTM) for flow enhancement , stabilizer for deliquescent drugs and for absorption of water or oil (See [0037]) and the benefit of magnesium aluminometasilicate in controlled release pharmaceutical dosage forms which overcomes or at least ameliorates the problems associated with use of water swellable and/or gellable polymeric substances as the controlled release excipient (See [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Grenier teaches various amount of active ingredient and magnesium aluminometasilicate, wherein the ratio of active ingredient to magnesium aluminometasilicate could be calculated as 1: 1.6 (e.g. 37.5% w/w active and 60% w/w NeusilinTM )(See [0032], [0046], Example 4 ).
Regarding claim 3, Grenier teaches the amount of active substance at 0.05% to 70% w/w (See [0019], Examples 1-7, claim 5).
Regarding claim 4, Grenier teaches magnesium aluminometasilicate is present at various amount in the range from 15% to 95% (See [0009], claim 2 and 8).
Regarding claim 6, Grenier teaches formulating active agent in a granulate composition comprising a minimum 15% w/w magnesium aluminometasilicate (See [0025], claim 11).
Regarding claims 13-15 and 17-19, Grenier teaches embodiments comprising magnesium aluminometasilicate in mono or multi-layer tablet comprising barrier layer (See [0020]-[0021], [0038], Example 5- 6).
Tran et al. teaches multifunctional magnesium aluminosilicate (MAS) ( Neusilin® ) as glidant in solid dosage products (See whole article). Tran teaches MAS are known for their very low cohesive interactions and their utilization could avoid the disadvantages associated with conventional glidant usage (e.g. colloidal silicon dioxide CSD) and have other desirable properties, e.g. flow enhancer, improves the flow properties of tablet formulation , low compression forces, short mixing time, improve dissolution and release rate of poorly soluble drugs, etc. (See abstract, page 2, right column, para 1 and 2 ). Tran compares magnesium aluminometasilicate (Neusilin® ) with conventional glidant colloidal silicon dioxide and evaluates the effect of MAS on surface friction of filler particles, wherein MAS improves flow properties of other excipient/filler (e.g. microcrystalline cellulose MCC) (See page 7, 3.2.1. left column; page 8, 3.3 Effect of MAS on surface friction of filler particles, right column).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to further explore Lalwani’s bempedoic acid composition by incorporating multifunctional magnesium aluminometasilicate as excipient taught by Grenier and Tran, together with experimentation/ optimization of the active and inactive ingredients (amount , ratio, etc.) based on the combined teachings of prior art and general knowledge of pharmaceutical composition, and arrive at instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. At the time when instant application was filed, it was already known that tablet comprising bempedoic acid and variety of pharmaceutical excipients, e.g. glidants (e. g. colloidal silicon dioxide) , fillers, lubricants(e. g. magnesium stearate), disintegrant, etc. could be prepared for treating cardiovascular disease as taught by Lalwani. It was also known magnesium aluminometasilicate is a multifunctional excipient with beneficial properties (e.g. flow enhancer) for sustained release formulation as taught by Grenier and Tran. A skilled artisan would be motivated to further explore magnesium aluminometasilicate as excipient in bempedoic acid composition based on the beneficial teaching of Grenier and Tran, and reasonably expect magnesium aluminometasilicate would improve the flow property of resulting formulation along with other desirable properties (e.g. short mixing time, less process sensitivity, etc.). A skilled artisan would know to explore different components/ excipient in intragranular and/or extra-granular to achieve a desired release/dissolution profile. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art, together with optimization based on general knowledge of pharmaceutical composition. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelnasser et al. ( WO2018218147A1, Applicant’s IDS dated 03/11/2024), in view of Grenier et al. (US20100196475A1) and Tran et al. (International Journal of Pharmaceutics, 2021, vol. 592, 120054, DOI:10.1016/j.ijpharm.2020.120054, available online November 2020, Evaluation of multifunctional magnesium aluminosilicate materials as novel family of glidants in solid dosage products).
Abdelnasser discloses formulation comprising bempedoic acid and pharmaceutical excipients (binder, filler, disintegrant, lubricant, etc. or combination thereof) with improved proprieties/stability for treating or prevention of cardiovascular disease (See abstract, [0008]-[0009], [0028], Examples 2 and 5 ; Tables 5-58; claims 1-30).
Regarding claim 3, Abdelnasser discloses bempedoic acid at various amount/concentration from 40% and no more than 95% by weight (See [0045], Examples 2 and 5; claim 7).
Regarding claim 5, 14-15 and 18-19, Abdelnasser discloses bempedoic acid granulated composition wherein bempedoic acid is present intragranular (See [0094]-[0095], Example 2, Table 32).
Regarding the pharmaceutical excipients recited in instant claims 7-12, Abdelnasser teaches embodiments comprising variety of excipients (See [00185]- [00197], Examples 2 and 5 ;Table 5, 26, 32-34 and 58; claims 8- 21), for example,
fillers (e.g. microcrystalline cellulose, lactose monohydrate, etc.) at 1-20% w/w (See [0095], claim 10);
binder(e.g. hydroxylpropyl cellulose, HPC-L, povidone) at 3-10% w/w(See [00188]-[00189], claim 10 );
disintegrating agents (e.g. sodium starch glycolate, etc. ) at 5-50mg (See [0054], [00192], claim 21 ) ;
lubricating agents( e.g. colloidal silicon dioxide, sodium stearyl fumarate, magnesium stearate, etc.) (See claims 1 and 11) ;
glidants ( e.g. colloidal silicon dioxide)(See [00194] );
The weight percentage of bempedoic acid and excipients in Table 32 is calculated as
bempedoic acid is 60% w/w (=180/300);
filler (microcrystalline cellulose) is 17 % (=51/300);
binder(hydroxylpropyl cellulose, HPC-L) is 4% w/w(=12/300);
disintegrating agents (sodium starch glycolate) is 4.7% w/w(=14/300);
lubricating agents (magnesium stearate) is 1.5% w/w(=4.5/300);
glidant(colloidal silicon dioxide) is 0.5% w/w(=1.5/300).
Abdelnasser teaches variety embodiment comprising different amount of excipient for solving sticking problem of bempedoic acid formulation(See [00208], Table 33, 34 and 58; Example 5), wherein the weight ratio of glidant(colloidal silicon dioxide) to bempedoic acid is 1:120(=1.5/180) (which falls within the range of instant claim 2).
Abdelnasser is silent about magnesium aluminometasilicate.
The collective teachings of Grenier and Tran are elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied as before. Grenier and Tran teach magnesium aluminometasilicate as multifunctional excipient in controlled-release tablet formulation with beneficial properties (e.g. flow enhancer).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant application to further explore Abdelnasser bempedoic acid composition by incorporating multifunctional magnesium aluminometasilicate as excipient taught by Grenier and Tran, together with experimentation/ optimization of the active and inactive ingredients (amount , ratio, etc.) based on the combined teachings of prior art and general knowledge of pharmaceutical composition, and arrive at instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. At the time when instant application was filed, it was already known that tablet comprising bempedoic acid and variety of pharmaceutical excipients, e.g., fillers, lubricants, disintegrant, glidants (e. g. colloidal silicon dioxide). etc. could be prepared for treating cardiovascular disease as taught by Abdelnasser. It was also known magnesium aluminometasilicate is a multifunctional excipient with beneficial properties (e.g. flow enhancer) for controlled release formulation as taught by Grenier and Tran. A skilled artisan would be motivated to further explore magnesium aluminometasilicate as excipient in bempedoic acid composition based on the beneficial teaching of Grenier and Tran, and reasonably expect magnesium aluminometasilicate would improve the flow property of resulting formulation with other desirable properties (e.g. short mixing time, less process sensitivity, etc.). A skilled artisan would know to explore different components/ excipient in intragranular and/or extra-granular to achieve a desired release profile. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art, together with optimization based on general knowledge of pharmaceutical composition. Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed
/LIYUAN MOU/ Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628