DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 12-17, in the reply filed on 05/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural composition of matter without significantly more.
Claims 1 and 4 claim artificial fibroin as the only recited component. Claims 2 and 5 recite that the artificial fibroin contains artificial spider silk fibroin. Claims 3, 6, and 12-13 recite that the material is in the form of a fiber. Claims 7-10 and 14-17 are drawn to articles with the artificial spider silk fibroin as the only recited component.
These instantly claimed limitations are drawn to a product of nature, namely naturally occurring spider silk fibroin. The instant specification states that the artificial fibroin of the instant invention may be fibroin having an amino acid sequence different from or identical to an amino acid sequence of naturally derived fibroin [0030]. Therefore, there is nothing differentiating the “artificial fibroin” of the instant claims from naturally occurring fibroin. Spiders naturally produce silk fibroin in the form of a fiber (see, The Journal of Experimental Biology 202, 1999, 3295–3303; abstract). Thus, the instantly claimed spider silk fibroin in the form of a fiber does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, because no additional components are recited which makes the claimed product ‘markedly different’ from the naturally-occurring component.
The claims are drawn to a naturally occurring product. Therefore, the claims are drawn to judicial exceptions. There are no limitations in claims 1-10 and 12-17 in addition to the naturally occurring spider silk fibroin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being as being anticipated by Torigoe et al. (WO 2020/067553 A1 with a foreign translation provided by US 2021/0388537 A1).
Examiner’s note: “A deodorant material” and “for imparting deodorant properties” are interpreted as an intended use of the fibroin and do not carry patentable weight.
Claims 1-6 and 12-13 are anticipated because Torigoe discloses artificial spider silk fibroin fibers (production example at [0219]-[0237]).
Claims 7-8 and 14-15 are anticipated because Torigoe discloses the artificial spider silk fibroin fibers are formed into an article (a spun yarn) [0236]-[0237].
Claims 9-10 and 16-17 are anticipated because the artificial spider silk fibroin is included at a concentration of 24 mass % and the fibers are formed into a spun yarn without the addition of dilutants [0231]-[0237]. Thus, the total amount of the spider silk fibroin is more than 3 mass % with respect to the total weight of the article.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Torigoe et al. (WO 2020/067553 A1 with a foreign translation provided by US 2021/0388537 A1) in view of Morita et al. (WO 2020/145363 A1 with a foreign translation provided by US 2022/0119463 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection over Torigoe was previously discussed.
As discussed above, the limitations of “a deodorant material” and “for imparting deodorant properties” are interpreted as an intended use of the fibroin and do not carry patentable weight.
However, in the interest of completeness of prosecution, purely arguendo, and for the purposes of this ground of rejection only, Torigoe will be interpreted as if it is not anticipatory.
In that case, Torigoe could be construed as not clearly and unequivocally disclosing the claimed invention or directing those skilled in the art to the claimed invention because Torigoe does not disclose that the fibroin is for imparting deodorant properties.
Nevertheless, Morita teaches that silk proteins, such as spider silk proteins, have excellent deodorizing properties [0002]-[0004].
Since Torigoe generally teaches spider silk proteins, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the spider silk fibroin of Torigoe as “a deodorant material” and “for imparting deodorant properties” because Morita teaches that silk proteins, such as spider silk proteins, have excellent deodorizing properties [0002]-[0004].
Claims 1-6 and 12-13 are rendered prima facie obvious because Torigoe discloses artificial spider silk fibroin fibers (production example at [0219]-[0237]).
Claims 7-8 and 14-15 are rendered prima facie obvious because Torigoe discloses the artificial spider silk fibroin fibers are formed into an article (a spun yarn) [0236]-[0237].
Claims 9-10 and 16-17 are rendered prima facie obvious because the artificial spider silk fibroin is included at a concentration of 24 mass % and the fibers are formed into a spun yarn without the addition of dilutants [0231]-[0237]. Thus, the total amount of the spider silk fibroin is reasonably expected to be present in an amount of more than 3 mass % with respect to the total weight of the article. In the alternative, Morita discloses an artificially modified fibroin composition with fibroin in an amount of 30 to 100 % by mass [0121]-[0122]. Morita teaches that the fibroin silk proteins have excellent mechanical properties, hygroscopic properties, and deodorizing properties [0002]-[0004]. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general condition of the amount of artificial fibroin has by the prior art (Morita); as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum amount via routine experimentation to achieve the desired characteristics (i.e., mechanical, hygroscopic, and deodorizing properties as taught by Moira [0002]-[0004]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 and 12-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 15-18 of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/044,436 (notice of allowance mailed 03/04/2026).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition including an artificial spider silk fibroin in the form of a fiber (claims 1 and 4), incorporated into an article (claims 1 and 6), in an amount of more than 3 mass % (claim 3). The species (composition) recited in the claims of the granted patent falls within the genus (composition) recited in the claims of the instant application, and thus reads on the instant claims.
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612