Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 and 17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 and 17’s recitation of “the number of the first fitting portion is multiple...” is not great English or common patent language. Usually it would be more like “wherein the inner electrode terminal has two or more first fitting portions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 to is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable over CAO (20220359937).
Regarding claim 1,
Post assemblies 200 and 300, a second post 240 (inner electrode) with a protrusion hole 242 and a first post (outer electrode terminal) 210 with a first post protrusion 211 (FIG 2).
The first positive pole having a recessed grove 211 (second fitting portion) that can be fitted on post protrusion hole 242 (first fitting portion) [0077]. Referring to FIG. 3B, in some embodiments, the protrusion hole 242 in the second post 240 has the same shape as the first post protrusion 211. In some embodiments, the outer shape of the first post 210 may be a polygon, a circle, an ellipse, a racetrack shape, or shapes such as rounded corners or keyway deformations are added to these shapes [0078].
Regarding claim 2,
A second post 240 same as an electrode terminal boss. Where the second post 241 is the recessed groove arranged on a top wall of the electrode terminal boss provided with an electrode terminal boss (FIG 2).
CAO is silence about the depth of the recessed groove, however FIG 5A shows that the recessed groove 241 have a different depth than the protruding height of the electrode boss.
Regarding claim 3,
FIG 3 shows the inner electrode terminal comprising a first electrode terminal body and the outer electrode terminal comprising a second electrode terminal body.
Regarding claim 6 and claim 9,
Top cover plate 110 with mounting holes 131 and 121 wherein the compositive electrode 200 is for the positive and 300 is for the negative and they are inserted into mounting hole and extend out. When the post assembly 200 is used for the positive electrode of the power battery, the material of the first post 210 (outer) and the second post 240 (inner) may be aluminum material or aluminum alloy material [0071]. The material of the second post 340 (inner) can be copper material or copper alloy material and wherein the material of the upper part 312a (outer) can be aluminum or aluminum alloy [0080]. Refer to FIG 3C.
Regarding claim 7,
Sealing member 230 and 330 with an insulation limiting part called fastener 220 and 320. Fig 3 and 3B shows how the sealing ring is arranged between the inner electrode terminal and the inner wall of the mounting hole and is configured to connect the inner electrode terminal and the inner wall of the mounting hole in a sealing manner; and the insulation limiting part is provided between the outer electrode terminal and the inner wall of the mounting hole, and is configured to limit the position of the outer electrode terminal relative to the top cover.
The first fastener 220 is an insulation material, it may be insulation plastic [0067].
Regarding claim 8,
FIG 2 shows the fastener (insulation limiting part) 220 with an inner ring slot where the outer electrode terminal is inserted. FIG 3B show how the cover comprises an annular protrusion located at the edge of the inner wall of the mounting hole; the outer electrode terminal is inserted into the inner ring slot, and the annular protrusion is inserted into the outer ring slot.
Regarding claim 11,
The power battery 1900 includes the power battery top cover and the battery body 1901 of the present invention [0136].
Regarding claim 12,
FIG. 17C is a partially enlarged schematic view including the post assembly 700 in FIG. 17A. Referring to FIG. 17C, in the waist position of the first post 710 (electrode terminal boss) there has a groove 711, and in the waist position of the first fastener 720 there has a protrusion 722 [0119].
Regarding claim 13,
Since the specification is not providing a definition or explanation about the relation of the notch and the recessed, the interpretation apply is the normal definition of a notch with a recessed groove. FIG 3B,3C, 11B,14B, 17B and 17C shows a recessed groove with a notch and a groove bottom opposite to the notch, and an inner diameter of the recessed groove first decreases and then increases in a direction from the notch to the groove bottom.
Regarding claim 14,
Sealing member 230 and 330 with an insulation limiting part called fastener 220 and 320. Fig 3 and 3B shows how the sealing ring is arranged between the inner electrode terminal and the inner wall of the mounting hole and is configured to connect the inner electrode terminal and the inner wall of the mounting hole in a sealing manner; and the insulation limiting part is provided between the outer electrode terminal and the inner wall of the mounting hole, and is configured to limit the position of the outer electrode terminal relative to the top cover.
Regarding claim 15,
A second post 240 same as an electrode terminal boss. Where the second post 241 is the recessed groove arranged on a top wall of the electrode terminal boss. provided with an electrode terminal boss. CAO is silence about the depth of the recessed groove, FIG 5A shows that the recessed groove 241 have a different depth than the protruding height of the electrode boss.
Regarding claim 16,
FIG 3 shows the inner electrode terminal comprising a first electrode terminal body and the outer electrode terminal comprising a second electrode terminal body.
Regarding claim 19,
A second post 240 same as an electrode terminal boss. Where the second post 241 is the recessed groove arranged on a top wall of the electrode terminal boss provided with an electrode terminal boss where a recessing direction of the recessed groove is opposite to a protruding direction of the electrode terminal boss. CAO is silence about the depth of the recessed groove, FIG 5A shows that the recessed groove 241 have a different depth than the protruding height of the electrode boss.
Regarding claim 20,
FIG 3 shows the inner electrode terminal comprising a first electrode terminal body and the outer electrode terminal comprising a second electrode terminal body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20220359937) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kurata (US 20130130100).
Regarding claim 4, CAO doesn’t teach:
The number of the first fitting portion is multiple, and the number of the second fitting portion matches the number of the first fitting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, battery assembly, Kurata teaches a battery with a plurality of homopolar external terminal. (FIG. 1,2,4, 16 and 19). It would be obvious to have multiple portions in the first fitting to improve the stability and mechanical strength of an electrical connection, for example this would provide a more secure connection between the terminal and a busbar.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20220359937) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO2022242255.
Regarding claim 5, CAO doesn’t teach:
The composite electrode terminal further comprises a conductive layer, wherein the conductive layer is arranged between the first fitting portion and the second fitting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, electrodes, WO’ 2255 teaches a how to prepare an electrode sheet including two metal layers. Where the conductive connector is deposited metal; at least one of the first metal layer and the second metal layer is integrated with the conductive connector. Also teaches that this conductive connector can be a metal sheet [47-48]. It would be obvious to provide a conductive layer between those parts because conductive layers disposed between contacting members were known to improve electrical connection between adjacent components.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20220359937) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Zeng 20200144584.
Regarding claim 10, CAO doesn’t teach:
The top cover further comprises a current collector plate, wherein the current collector plate and the inner electrode terminal of the composite electrode terminal are integrally formed, and the current collector plate is attached to a side wall of the top cover plate.
In the same field of endeavor, manufacturing of battery, Zeng teach a current collecting member 70 includes an extending portion 70a and a connecting portion 70b connected to the extending portion [0022]. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to integrate the current collector with the inner electrode terminal in order to reduce the number of components and electrical interface, thereby lowering contact resistance, improving electrical reliability, simplifying assembly and reducing manufactured cost.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20220359937) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kurata (US 20130130100).
Regarding claim 17, CAO doesn’t teach:
The number of the first fitting portion is multiple, and the number of the second fitting portion matches the number of the first fitting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, battery assembly, Kurata teaches a battery with a plurality of homopolar external terminal. (FIG. 1,2,4, 16 and 19). It would be obvious to have multiple portions in the first fitting to improve the stability and mechanical strength of an electrical connection, for example this would provide a more secure connection between the terminal and a busbar.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CAO (US 20220359937) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of WO2022242255.
Regarding claim 18, CAO doesn’t teach:
The composite electrode terminal further comprises a conductive layer, wherein the conductive layer is arranged between the first fitting portion and the second fitting portion.
In the same field of endeavor, electrodes, WO’ 2255 teaches a how to prepare an electrode sheet including two metal layers. Where the conductive connector is deposited metal; at least one of the first metal layer and the second metal layer is integrated with the conductive connector. Also teaches that this conductive connector can be a metal sheet [47-48]. It would be obvious to provide a conductive layer between those parts because conductive layers disposed between contacting members were known to improve electrical connection between adjacent components.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ Nicolas Rosa / Examiner / Art Unit 1741 / 08/05/2026
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741