DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species AI (Fig. 1 – 2) in the reply filed on (4 – 17 – 2026) is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Consequently, unelected species (Claim(s) 50 – 55) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the same reply filed on (4 – 17 – 2026).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show that the intensity of each of the processing lights RL and AL may be reduced by controlling a light-reduction/light-attenuation member (not illustrated) disposed on an exit side of the processing light source 11, as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered, and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of
ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also
commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification
when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
“means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term
having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”)
or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a
rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C.
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is
interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when
the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited
function.
that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under
35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation
recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the
recited function.
interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as
otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do
not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-
AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with
functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the
generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A first processing apparatus as recited in claim 1.
A measurement unit as recited in claim 1.
A second processing apparatus as recited in claim 1.
pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the
corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and
equivalents thereof.
(Pgs. 1 – 5) of the instant application’s specifications teaches more details regarding the first processing apparatus.
(Pgs. 2, 3 – 5) of the instant application’s specifications teaches more details regarding the measurement unit
(Pgs. 1 – 5) of the instant application’s specifications teaches more details regarding the second processing
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim
limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112,
sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2)
present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform
the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA
35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 50 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Currently, claim 50 reads “acquiring timing information for switching the additive manufacturing by the first processing apparatus…” it should read “acquiring timing information for switching between the additive manufacturing by the first processing apparatus…” to best accurately reflect what is disclosed in applicant’s specifications on ([02023]) and for the purpose of claim clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 51 recites the limitation "…the timing information…" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Highlighting, applicant does have sufficient antecedent basis for “the timing information for switching” for the purposes of examination it will be understood to be “the timing information for switching”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A.) Claim(s) 44 – 57, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by over Egami et al. (TW 202017683 A, hereinafter Egami, with translation provided by US 20210379693 A1)Regarding claim 44,
A processing method for building a build object, comprising:
building a first build part that is a part of the build object,
using a first processing apparatus that performs an additive manufacturing by irradiating an energy beam;
measuring the first build part using a measurement unit,
performing a removal processing on a part of the first build part using a second processing apparatus based on a first measurement result of the first build part.
Egami teaches the following:
([0349]) teaches that the processing apparatus 1B is configured to form the three-dimensional structural object by a Laser Metal Deposition. Namely, it can be said that the processing apparatus 1B is a 3D printer that forms an object by using an Additive layer manufacturing technique. ([0350]) teaches that the material supply apparatus 101 supplies build materials M. The material supply apparatus 101 supplies, to the processing head 102, the build materials M the amount of which is necessary to form the three-dimensional structural object. As illustrated in (Fig. 51), building a first build part that is a part of the build object is portrayed.
([0352]) teaches that the processing head 102 is provided with an irradiation optical system 1021 and a material nozzle 1022 (namely, a supply system or a supply apparatus that supplies the build materials M). ([0355]) adding that In the fifth modified example, the material nozzle 1022 is aligned to the irradiation optical system 1021 so as to supply the build materials M to the irradiation area FA that is irradiated with the processing light FL by the irradiation optical system 101. Note that the material nozzle 1022 may aligned so as to supply the build materials M to a melt pool that is formed at the workpiece W by the processing light FL emitted from the irradiation optical system 1021.As illustrated in (Fig. 51), using the irradiation optical system 1021 acts as applicant’s first processing apparatus that performs an additive manufacturing by irradiating an energy beam.
& d.) ([0362]) teaches that as illustrated in (Fig. 52), the processing apparatus 17 irradiates the workpiece W with the processing light EL to perform the removal processing for removing a part of the workpiece. ([0364]) teaches that a measurement apparatus 2 measures the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. The measurement apparatus 2 may measure a shape (a three-dimensional shape) of a processed part of the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. ([0374]) adding that processing apparatus 1 may perform the processing that is different from the removal processing or the additive processing in addition to or instead of at least one of the removal processing and the additive processing. As such, a removal process on a portion of the build part using a removal processing apparatus 17 based on a measurement results obtained using measurement apparatus 2 of the build part is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 45 as applied to claim 44,
Further comprising:
building a second build part that is a part of the build object, using the first processing apparatus after the removal processing.
Egami teaches the following:
([0364]) teaches that the measurement apparatus 2 measures the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. The measurement apparatus 2 may measure a shape (a three-dimensional shape) of a processed part of the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. ([0365]) teaches that the processing apparatus 1 performs an additional processing, on the basis of the measured result of the shape of the processed part of the workpiece W measured by the measurement apparatus 2, so that the processed part has a target shape. Thus, the high accurate processing is realized with a high throughput by using the plurality of types of processing apparatuses 1 and 17. ([0406]) teaches that the processing system alternately repeats the measurement operation by the measurement apparatus and the processing of the object by the processing apparatus. ([0412]) teaches that the measurement apparatus measures the object every time the processing apparatus processes the object. Accordingly, both the processing apparatuses 1 & 17 and measuring apparatus 2 are understood to reoccur until the article being fabricated is finished. Accordingly, proving for a layer-by-layer deposition of an article that includes providing second build part / layer that is a part of the build object, using both processing apparatuses 1 (the first processing apparatus) after the removal processing with processing apparatuses 17.
Regarding claim 46 as applied to claim 44,
Further comprising:
measuring the first build part using the measurement unit after the removal processing on a part of the first build part,
wherein a second build part is built based on a second measurement result of the first build part on which the removal processing is performed.
Egami teaches the following:
([0364]) teaches that the measurement apparatus 2 measures the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. The measurement apparatus 2 may measure a shape (a three-dimensional shape) of a processed part of the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. As such, measuring the build part using the measurement apparatus 2 after the removal processing apparatus 17 on a part of the build part is understood to be disclosed.
([0365]) teaches that the processing apparatus 1 performs an additional processing, on the basis of the measured result of the shape of the processed part of the workpiece W measured by the measurement apparatus 2, so that the processed part has a target shape. Thus, the high accurate processing is realized with a high throughput by using the plurality of types of processing apparatuses 1 and 17. ([0406]) teaches that the processing system alternately repeats the measurement operation by the measurement apparatus and the processing of the object by the processing apparatus. Accordingly, a second build part is understood to be built based on a second measurement result of the first build part on which the removal processing is performed. ([0412]) teaches that the measurement apparatus measures the object every time the processing apparatus processes the object.
Regarding claim 47 as applied to claim 46,
further performing a removal processing before building the second build part based on the second measurement result.
Egami teaches the following:
([0364]) teaches that the measurement apparatus 2 measures the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. The measurement apparatus 2 may measure a shape (a three-dimensional shape) of a processed part of the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. As such, measuring the build part using the measurement apparatus 2 after the removal processing apparatus 17 on a part of the build part is understood to be disclosed. ([0365]) teaches that the processing apparatus 1 performs an additional processing, on the basis of the measured result of the shape of the processed part of the workpiece W measured by the measurement apparatus 2, so that the processed part has a target shape. Thus, the high accurate processing is realized with a high throughput by using the plurality of types of processing apparatuses 1 and 17. ([0406]) teaches that the processing system alternately repeats the measurement operation by the measurement apparatus and the processing of the object by the processing apparatus. ([0412]) teaches that the measurement apparatus measures the object every time the processing apparatus processes the object. Accordingly, removal by removal processing apparatus 17 is understood to transpire before additional processing / building the second build part based on the second measurement result.
Regarding claim 48 as applied to claim 44,
Further comprising:
repeating an additive manufacturing using the first processing apparatus and
a removal processing using the second processing apparatus till building the build object is completed.
Egami teaches the following:
& b.) ([0364]) teaches that the measurement apparatus 2 measures the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. The measurement apparatus 2 may measure a shape (a three-dimensional shape) of a processed part of the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. As such, measuring the build part using the measurement apparatus 2 after the removal processing apparatus 17 on a part of the build part is understood to be disclosed. ([0365]) teaches that the processing apparatus 1 performs an additional processing, on the basis of the measured result of the shape of the processed part of the workpiece W measured by the measurement apparatus 2, so that the processed part has a target shape. Thus, the high accurate processing is realized with a high throughput by using the plurality of types of processing apparatuses 1 and 17. ([0406]) teaches that the processing system alternately repeats the measurement operation by the measurement apparatus and the processing of the object by the processing apparatus. ([0412]) teaches that the measurement apparatus measures the object every time the processing apparatus processes the object. Accordingly, repeating both the additive manufacturing using the processing apparatus 1 and removal processing using the removal processing apparatus 17 till building the workpiece W is completed is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 49 as applied to claim 48,
Further comprising:
determining an amount of the additive manufacturing is equal to or greater than a predetermined amount based on a measurement result of a build part by the first processing apparatus,
wherein the removal processing is performed in response to determining the amount of the additive manufacturing is equal to or greater than the predetermined amount.
Egami teaches the following:
& b.) ([0345]) teaches that when the processing apparatus 1 performs the additive manufacturing, the operation for determining whether or not the processed amount by the processing apparatus 1 is the appropriate amount in the processing operation (the step S133 in FIG. 6) may include an operation for determining whether or not an added amount by the processing apparatus 1 is an appropriate amount. ([0365]) teaches that the processing apparatus 1 performs an additional processing, on the basis of the measured result of the shape of the processed part of the workpiece W measured by the measurement apparatus 2, so that the processed part has a target shape. As such, determining if an amount of the additive manufacturing is equal to or greater than a predetermined amount based on a measurement result of the measurement apparatus 2 of the workpiece W by the processing apparatus 1 is understood to be disclosed.
([0364]) teaches that The measurement apparatus 2 measures the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. The measurement apparatus 2 may measure a shape (a three-dimensional shape) of a processed part of the workpiece W processed by the processing apparatus 17. ([0406]) teaches that the processing system alternately repeats the measurement operation by the measurement apparatus and the processing of the object by the processing apparatus. ([0412]) teaches that the measurement apparatus measures the object every time the processing apparatus processes the object. As such, the removal processing is performed in response to determining the amount of the additive manufacturing is equal to or greater than the predetermined amount.
Regarding claim 50 as applied to claim 44,
Further comprising:
acquiring timing information for switching the additive manufacturing by the first processing apparatus and
the removal processing by the second processing apparatus.
Egami teaches the following:
([0359]) teaches that the control apparatus 7 controls an operation of the processing system. For example, the control apparatus 7 may control an emitting aspect of the processing light FL by the irradiation optical system 1021. The emitting aspect may include at least one of an intensity of the processing light FL and an emitting timing of the processing light FL, for example. When the processing light FL is a pulsed light, the emitting aspect may include a ratio (what we call a duty ratio) of a length of an ON time of the pulsed light to an emitting cycle of the pulsed light. Moreover, the emitting aspect may include at least one of the length itself of the ON time of the pulsed light and the emitting cycle itself of the pulsed light. ([0359]) adding that the control apparatus 7 may control a supplying aspect of the build materials M by the material supply apparatus 101. The supplying aspect may include at least one of a supplied amount (especially, a supplied amount per unit time) a supply timing. As such, the control apparatus 7 is understood to provide for acquiring timing information for switching the additive manufacturing by the additive processing apparatus 1 .
([0141]) teaches that the control apparatus 7 designates an amount of a standard removed thickness that is a parameter representing a thickness (namely, a length in the Z axis direction) of a removed part that is removed by one-time sweeping of the processing light EL. The amount of the standard removed thickness depends on a characteristic of the processing light EL. The characteristic of the processing light EL may include at least one of a total energy amount of the processing light EL (for example, a total amount of the energy transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL), an energy amount of the processing light EL per unit area (for example, an energy amount that is transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL per unit area, and it is what we call a fluence), an energy amount of the processing light EL per unit time (for example, an energy amount that is transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL per unit time), a size of the irradiation area EA which is irradiated with the processing light EL and an irradiation time of the processing light EL. ([0361]) teaches that the light source 11 of the processing apparatus 1 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having a first emitting time (typically, a pico-second, a femto-second) and the light source of the processing apparatus 17 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having a second emitting time (typically, a nano-second) that is longer than the first emitting time. However, the light source of the processing apparatus 17 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having an emitting time that is comparable with the first emitting time. As such, the control apparatus 7 is understood to also provide for acquiring timing information for switching the removal processing by the removal processing apparatus 17.
Regarding claim 51 as applied to claim 50,
Wherein the timing information is generated based on a shape of the build object.
Egami teaches the following:
([0359]) teaches that the control apparatus 7 controls an operation of the processing system. For example, the control apparatus 7 may control an emitting aspect of the processing light FL by the irradiation optical system 1021. The emitting aspect may include at least one of an intensity of the processing light FL and an emitting timing of the processing light FL, for example. When the processing light FL is a pulsed light, the emitting aspect may include a ratio (what we call a duty ratio) of a length of an ON time of the pulsed light to an emitting cycle of the pulsed light. Moreover, the emitting aspect may include at least one of the length itself of the ON time of the pulsed light and the emitting cycle itself of the pulsed light. ([0359]) adding that the control apparatus 7 may control a supplying aspect of the build materials M by the material supply apparatus 101. The supplying aspect may include at least one of a supplied amount (especially, a supplied amount per unit time) a supply timing. As such, the control apparatus 7 is understood to provide for acquiring timing information for switching the additive manufacturing by the additive processing apparatus 1. ([0141]) teaches that the control apparatus 7 designates an amount of a standard removed thickness that is a parameter representing a thickness (namely, a length in the Z axis direction) of a removed part that is removed by one-time sweeping of the processing light EL. The amount of the standard removed thickness depends on a characteristic of the processing light EL. The characteristic of the processing light EL may include at least one of a total energy amount of the processing light EL (for example, a total amount of the energy transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL), an energy amount of the processing light EL per unit area (for example, an energy amount that is transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL per unit area, and it is what we call a fluence), an energy amount of the processing light EL per unit time (for example, an energy amount that is transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL per unit time), a size of the irradiation area EA which is irradiated with the processing light EL and an irradiation time of the processing light EL. ([0361]) teaches that the light source 11 of the processing apparatus 1 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having a first emitting time (typically, a pico-second, a femto-second) and the light source of the processing apparatus 17 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having a second emitting time (typically, a nano-second) that is longer than the first emitting time. However, the light source of the processing apparatus 17 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having an emitting time that is comparable with the first emitting time. As such, the timing information for switching is understood to be based off the shape of the article. Namely, that depending on the shape of the article it will depend on how much material is utilized, where the deposited material is utilized on the substate, how much material is removed from the article and where material is removed from the article, all depending on the shape of the object being built.
Regarding claim 52 as applied to claim 50,
Wherein the timing information is processing control information for building the build object.
Egami teaches the following:
([0359]) teaches that the control apparatus 7 controls an operation of the processing system. For example, the control apparatus 7 may control an emitting aspect of the processing light FL by the irradiation optical system 1021. The emitting aspect may include at least one of an intensity of the processing light FL and an emitting timing of the processing light FL, for example. When the processing light FL is a pulsed light, the emitting aspect may include a ratio (what we call a duty ratio) of a length of an ON time of the pulsed light to an emitting cycle of the pulsed light. Moreover, the emitting aspect may include at least one of the length itself of the ON time of the pulsed light and the emitting cycle itself of the pulsed light. ([0359]) adding that the control apparatus 7 may control a supplying aspect of the build materials M by the material supply apparatus 101. The supplying aspect may include at least one of a supplied amount (especially, a supplied amount per unit time) a supply timing. As such, the control apparatus 7 is understood to provide for acquiring timing information for switching the additive manufacturing by the additive processing apparatus 1. ([0141]) teaches that the control apparatus 7 designates an amount of a standard removed thickness that is a parameter representing a thickness (namely, a length in the Z axis direction) of a removed part that is removed by one-time sweeping of the processing light EL. The amount of the standard removed thickness depends on a characteristic of the processing light EL. The characteristic of the processing light EL may include at least one of a total energy amount of the processing light EL (for example, a total amount of the energy transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL), an energy amount of the processing light EL per unit area (for example, an energy amount that is transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL per unit area, and it is what we call a fluence), an energy amount of the processing light EL per unit time (for example, an energy amount that is transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL per unit time), a size of the irradiation area EA which is irradiated with the processing light EL and an irradiation time of the processing light EL. ([0361]) teaches that the light source 11 of the processing apparatus 1 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having a first emitting time (typically, a pico-second, a femto-second) and the light source of the processing apparatus 17 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having a second emitting time (typically, a nano-second) that is longer than the first emitting time. However, the light source of the processing apparatus 17 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having an emitting time that is comparable with the first emitting time. As such, the timing information is understood to be the processing control information for building the object utilizing additive processing apparatus 1 and removal processing apparatus 17.
Regarding claim 53 as applied to claim 50,
Wherein the timing information is obtained before performing the removal processing.
Egami teaches the following:
([0141]) teaches that the control apparatus 7 designates an amount of a standard removed thickness that is a parameter representing a thickness (namely, a length in the Z axis direction) of a removed part that is removed by one-time sweeping of the processing light EL. The amount of the standard removed thickness depends on a characteristic of the processing light EL. The characteristic of the processing light EL may include at least one of a total energy amount of the processing light EL (for example, a total amount of the energy transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL), an energy amount of the processing light EL per unit area (for example, an energy amount that is transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL per unit area, and it is what we call a fluence), an energy amount of the processing light EL per unit time (for example, an energy amount that is transmitted to the workpiece W from the processing light EL per unit time), a size of the irradiation area EA which is irradiated with the processing light EL and an irradiation time of the processing light EL. ([0361]) teaches that the light source 11 of the processing apparatus 1 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having a first emitting time (typically, a pico-second, a femto-second) and the light source of the processing apparatus 17 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having a second emitting time (typically, a nano-second) that is longer than the first emitting time. However, the light source of the processing apparatus 17 may supply, as the processing light EL, a pulsed light having an emitting time that is comparable with the first emitting time. As such, it is understood that one would need to obtain the timing information prior to preforming the removal process due to requiring the timing information to control the removal process i.e., the irradiation / pulse time of the processing light EL. Accordingly, the timing information is understood to be obtained prior performing the removal processing with the removal processing apparatus 17.
Regarding claim 54 as applied to claim 53,
Wherein the timing information is obtained before performing the additive manufacturing.
Egami teaches the following:
([0359]) teaches that the control apparatus 7 controls an operation of the processing system. For example, the control apparatus 7 may control an emitting aspect of the processing light FL by the irradiation optical system 1021. The emitting aspect may include at least one of an intensity of the processing light FL and an emitting timing of the processing light FL, for example. When the processing light FL is a pulsed light, the emitting aspect may include a ratio (what we call a duty ratio) of a length of an ON time of the pulsed light to an emitting cycle of the pulsed light. Moreover, the emitting aspect may include at least one of the length itself of the ON time of the pulsed light and the emitting cycle itself of the pulsed light. ([0359]) adding that the control apparatus 7 may control a supplying aspect of the build materials M by the material supply apparatus 101. The supplying aspect may include at least one of a supplied amount (especially, a supplied amount per unit time) a supply timing. As such, the control apparatus 7 is understood to provide for acquiring timing information for switching the additive manufacturing by the additive processing apparatus 1. As such, it is understood that one would need to obtain the timing information prior to preforming the additive manufacturing process due to requiring the timing information to control the removal process i.e., the irradiation / pulse time of the processing light FL and supply timing of the build materials M. Accordingly, the timing information is understood to be obtained prior performing the additive manufacturing processing with the additive processing apparatus 1.
Regarding claim 55 as applied to claim 50,
Further comprising:
changing a positional relationship between at least one of the first processing apparatus and
the second processing apparatus, and
a placing device on which the build object is placed.
Egami teaches the following:
([0356]) teaches that the driving system 5B moves the processing head 102. The driving system 5B moves the processing head 102 along at least one of the X axis, the Y axis and the Z axis. Moreover, the driving system 5B may move the processing head 102 along a rotation direction of at least one of the θ – X direction, the θ – Y direction and the θ – Z direction in addition to or instead of at least one of the X axis, the Y axis and the Z axis. As such, the driving system 5B provides for changing a positional relationship between at least one of the first processing apparatus and the second processing apparatus.
([0363]) teaches that a driving system 171 moves the processing apparatus 17 along at least one of the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, the Z axis direction, the θ – X direction, the θ – Y direction and the θ – Z direction under the control of the control apparatus 7, in FIG. 52. A position measurement device 1711 is configured to measure a position of the processing apparatus 17 that is moved by the driving system 171. As such, the driving system 171 provides for changing a positional relationship between at least one of the additive processing apparatus 1 and the removal processing apparatus 17.
([0376]) teaches that In the above-described description, the stage apparatus 3 is provided with the stage driving system 33. ([0100]) teaches that he stage apparatus 3 is provided with a surface plate 31 and a stage 32. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Figs. 51 – 52) the stage apparatus 3 with surface plate 31 acts as applicant’s placing device on which the workpiece / build is placed. As such, a stage apparatus 3 on which the workpiece / object being built is placed is provided.
Regarding claim 56 as applied to claim 44,
Wherein the build object is built on a placing device,
the processing method comprises:
changing a positional relationship between at least one of the first processing apparatus and the second processing apparatus, and
the placing device on which the build object is placed.
Egami teaches the following:
([0376]) teaches that in the above-described description, the stage apparatus 3 is provided with the stage driving system 33. Highlighting, as illustrated in (Figs. 51 – 52) the stage apparatus 3 with surface plate 31 acts as applicant’s placing device on which the workpiece / build is placed. As such, the workpiece / object being built is completed on a placing device.
([0356]) teaches that the driving system 5B moves the processing head 102. The driving system 5B moves the processing head 102 along at least one of the X axis, the Y axis and the Z axis. Moreover, the driving system 5B may move the processing head 102 along a rotation direction of at least one of the θ – X direction, the θ – Y direction and the θ – Z direction in addition to or instead of at least one of the X axis, the Y axis and the Z axis. ([0363]) teaches that a driving system 171 moves the processing apparatus 17 along at least one of the X axis direction, the Y axis direction, the Z axis direction, the θ – X direction, the θ – Y direction and the θ – Z direction under the control of the control apparatus 7, in FIG. 52. A position measurement device 1711 is configured to measure a position of the processing apparatus 17 that is moved by the driving system 171. As such, the driving system 5B and the driving system 171 provides for changing a positional relationship between at least one of the additive processing apparatus 1 and the removal processing apparatus 17.
([0101]) teaches that the stage 32 is movable along each of the X axis direction and the Y axis direction. In this case, the stage 32 is movable along a stage movement plane that is parallel to the XY plane. The stage 32 may be further movable along at least one of the Z axis direction, θ – X direction, the θ – Y direction and the θ – Z direction. In order to move the stage 32, the stage apparatus 3 is provided with a stage driving system 33. The stage driving system 33 moves the stage 32 by using any motor (for example, a linear motor and the like). Moreover, the stage apparatus 3 is provided with a position measurement device 34 for measure a position of the stage 32.
Regarding claim 57 as applied to claim 44,
Wherein an additive manufacturing using the first processing apparatus and
a removal processing using the second processing apparatus is performed while the first build part is placed on a placing device.
Egami teaches the following:
& b.) ([0101]) teaches that the stage 32 is movable along each of the X axis direction and the Y axis direction. In this case, the stage 32 is movable along a stage movement plane that is parallel to the XY plane. The stage 32 may be further movable along at least one of the Z axis direction, θ – X direction, the θ – Y direction and the θ – Z direction. In order to move the stage 32, the stage apparatus 3 is provided with a stage driving system 33. The stage driving system 33 moves the stage 32 by using any motor (for example, a linear motor and the like). Moreover, the stage apparatus 3 is provided with a position measurement device 34 for measure a position of the stage 32. As illustrated in (Figs. 50 – 52), the stage apparatus 3 is provided with a stage driving system 33 is shown to traverse from each of the various processing stations, i.e, the additive manufacturing processing apparatus 1, measurement apparatus 2 and removal processing apparatus 17. As such, both the additive manufacturing and the removal process utilize the additive manufacturing processing apparatus 1 and the removal processing apparatus 17, respectively are understood to transpire while the workpiece is found on the stage apparatus 3 comprising stage 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
B.) Claim(s) 44 – 49 & 56 – 57, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN 112549523 A, hereinafter Zeng)Regarding claim 44,
A processing method for building a build object, comprising:
building a first build part that is a part of the build object,
using a first processing apparatus that performs an additive manufacturing by irradiating an energy beam;
measuring the first build part using a measurement unit,
performing a removal processing on a part of the first build part using a second processing apparatus based on a first measurement result of the first build part.
Zeng teaches the following:
& b.) ([0049]) teaches S1: Design CAD models of electronic components, and use slicing and processing software such as CURA, Simplify3D, and CAM to generate additive manufacturing trajectories for the supporting structures based on the outline information of the model slices. ([0050]) teaches at a set temperature, fused deposition modeling technology is used to perform layer by-layer additive manufacturing of support structures such as PEEK/PLA/ABS in a high temperature forming zone. Namely, additive manufacturing via fused deposition to build a first build part that is a part of the build object is understood to be disclosed. With ([0016]) noting that the material additive manufacturing subsystem includes one or more of a photopolymerization printing component. Additionally, ([0037]) teaches that an electronic material additive manufacturing is provided for conformal printing of electronic functional materials. ([0016]) noting that the electronic material additive manufacturing subsystem includes one or more of a photopolymerization component. ([0019]) notes that the , the electronic additive manufacturing subsystem includes an ultraviolet (UV) curing lamp 6. Accordingly, an additive manufacturing subsystem that implements a photopolymerization component and/or an electronic material additive manufacturing subsystem that implements an ultraviolet (UV) curing which acts as applicant’s additive manufacturing by irradiating an energy beam is understood to be disclosed. In summary, building a first build part that is a part of the build object, using a first processing apparatus additive manufacturing subsystem and/or an electronic material additive manufacturing subsystem that performs an additive manufacturing by irradiating an energy beam a photopolymerization component or ultraviolet (UV) is understood to be disclosed. Highlighting, that either / both the additive manufacturing subsystem and electronic additive manufacturing subsystem may be viewed as a first processing apparatus that performs an additive manufacturing by irradiating an energy beam.
([0038]) teaches that a thermal sensor, and an infrared thermal imaging component, and can be used for controllable auxiliary heating/cooling of the heating and cooling rates in the thermoforming and cold forming zones. ([0051]) teaches that slowly move the support structure with the set temperature out of the thermoforming area. after the workpiece cools down to room temperature. Followed by roughly machine it using the cutting tool of the subtractive machining subsystem, and then perform surface processing using polishing cotton /ultrafast laser equipment. The dimensional accuracy and surface roughness of the workpiece are read using a 3D scanner. Namely, that a temperature of the article fabricated is understood to be measured prior to performing a removal processing, in addition to dimensional accuracy of the workpiece is understood to be obtained using a 3D scanner. In summary, measuring the article to ensure it is at room temperature and determining its dimensional accuracy using a 3D scanner prior to performing a removal processing on the first build part using a second processing / subtractive machining apparatus based on a first temperature measurement (room temperature) / dimensional accuracy result of the first build part is understood to be disclosed.Additionally, ([0038]) teaches that a motion control subsystem of the mechanism includes one or more of a machine vision component. ([0061]) teaches that the replaceable cutting component 31 of the subtractive machining component in the cold forming area can realize tool processing and ultrafast laser processing functions by replacing the front end of the machining process. The tool assembly can perform drilling, cutting, and milling on structural surfaces; the ultrafast laser can complete the preparation of micro-holes with large diameter ratios, the preparation of metal layer microstructures, and can be used to improve the accuracy of metal wires. It can share the laser and position sensor with the laser micro-cladding direct writing assembly. The second machine vision module is used to correct the machining trajectory error and accurately position the replaceable cutting component 31. Namely, the system comprises a motion control subsystem which comprises a position sensor in combination with a (second) machine vision module for the subtractive machining system. Adding that the motion control subsystem including the position sensor in combination with a (second) machine vision module are used to measure and correct the machining trajectory error and accurately position the replaceable cutting component in relation to the article being fabricated. In summary, measuring the first build part, in particular its position using a measurement unit.
([0038]) teaches that a thermal sensor, and an infrared thermal imaging component, and can be used for controllable auxiliary heating/cooling of the heating and cooling rates in the thermoforming and cold forming zones. ([0051]) teaches that slowly move the support structure with the set temperature out of the thermoforming area. after the workpiece cools down to room temperature. Followed by roughly machine it using the cutting tool of the subtractive machining subsystem, and then perform surface processing using polishing cotton /ultrafast laser equipment. Namely, that a temperature of the article fabricated is understood to be measured prior to performing a removal processing. In summary, measuring the article to ensure it is at room temperature prior to performing a removal processing on the first build part using a second processing.([0038]) teaches that a motion control subsystem of the mechanism includes one or more of a machine vision component. ([0061]) teaches that the replaceable cutting component 31 of the subtractive machining component in the cold forming area can realize tool processing and ultrafast laser processing functions by replacing the front end of the machining process. The tool assembly can perform drilling, cutting, and milling on structural surfaces; the ultrafast laser can complete the preparation of micro-holes with large diameter ratios, the preparation of metal layer microstructures, and can be used to improve the accuracy of metal wires. It can share the laser and position sensor with the laser micro-cladding direct writing assembly. The second machine vision module is used to correct the machining trajectory error and accurately position the replaceable cutting component 31. Namely, the system comprises a motion control subsystem which comprises a position sensor in combination with a (second) machine vision module for the subtractive machining system. Adding that the motion control subsystem including the position sensor in combination with a (second) machine vision module are used to measure and correct the machining trajectory error and accurately position the replaceable cutting component in relation to the article being fabricated. In summary,In summary, performing a removal processing the first build part using a second processing apparatus / subtractive components based on a first position measurement result of the first build part is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 45 as applied to claim 44,
Comprising:
building a second build part that is a part of the build object, using the first processing apparatus after the removal processing.
Zeng teaches the following:
([0016]) teaches that the structural material additive manufacturing subsystem and the electronic additive manufacturing subsystem can work alternately or simultaneously, so as to enable the simultaneous three-dimensional conformal electronic component additive and subtractive manufacturing integration and one-time forming of multiple parts to be processed. Namely, both the structural material additive manufacturing and electronic component additive working simultaneously and in tandem is understood to be disclosed. ([0051]) teaches the removal process including the measurements of temperature, dimensional accuracy and position. ([0052]) teaches that laser micro-cladding technology is used to conformally manufacture electronic functional materials layer by layer on the surface of the supporting structure to obtain characteristic structures. Namely, that the removal process is followed by the electronic additive manufacturing subsystem. Accordingly, implementing the structural material additive manufacturing to work simultaneously and in tandem with electronic component additive after the removal process including the measurements of temperature and position is understood to be disclosed. In summary, building a second build part that is a part of the build object, using the first additive processing apparatus after the removal processing and measurements is understood to be disclosed.Additionally, ([0024]) Step 2: Fabricate a multilayer conformal circuit structure on the support structure using electronic additive manufacturing, and further improve the dimensional accuracy of the electronic structure through machining. ([0026]) adds that Step 4: Without process conflicts, selectively repeat step 2 or step 3 according to the functional design to combine the processes, thereby producing integrated electronic components with high functional density, high compression ratio and low profile. In summary, building a second build part that is a part of the build object, using the first electronic additive manufacturing after the removal processing and measurements is understood to be disclosed.Highlighting, while there is no perceived discrepancies regarding the building a second build part that is a part of the build object, using the first processing apparatus after the removal processing. The case law for sequential vs. simultaneous may be recited. Where, In general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. Pat. App. 1959). Additionally, the case law for the rearrangement of method steps may be recited. Where, in general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes (e.g., Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. Pat. App. 1959); In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)). See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(C). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fabrication to include building a second build part that is a part of the build object, using the first processing apparatus after the removal processing as a matter of routine optimization for one of ordinary skill in the art due to the fact it would amount to nothing more than a use of a known combination of simultaneous operation and sequential processing arrangement for its intended use, in a known environment, to accomplish entirely expected result, as suggested by Zeng.
Regarding claim 46 as applied to claim 44,
Comprising:
measuring the first build part using the measurement unit after the removal processing on a part of the first build part,
wherein a second build part is built based on a second measurement result of the first build part on which the removal processing is performed.
Zeng teaches the following:
([0061]) notes that the subtractive machining component can share the laser and position sensor with the laser micro-cladding direct writing assembly used for the electronic additive manufacturing subsystem. Namely, during the subtractive processing the position of the article is monitored. ([0051]) teaches that the subtractive process is then followed by the laser micro-cladding. Which as noted in ([0016]) which teaches that the structural material additive manufacturing subsystem and the electronic additive manufacturing subsystem can work simultaneously. Namely, during the laser micro-cladding, material additive manufacturing may transpire as well. Providing for measuring the first build part using the measurement unit after the removal processing on a part of the first build part. In summary, the measuring the first build part using the position measurement unit after the removal processing on a part of the first build part is understood to be disclosed.
([0049]) teaches that S1: Design CAD models of electronic components, and use slicing and processing software such as CURA, Simplify3D, and CAM to generate additive manufacturing trajectories for the supporting structures based on the outline information of the model slices; generate surface machining paths based on the geometric dimensions of the electronic functional structures. Accordingly, the additive manufacturing process implements models comprising the geometric dimensions of the electronic functional structures. With ([0016]) teaching that the structural material additive manufacturing subsystem and the electronic additive manufacturing subsystem can work simultaneously.Additionally, ([0025]) noting prepare the packaging structure using the above-mentioned additive and subtractive composite processing method; In summary, the material additive manufacturing taking place during the electronic additive manufacturing (that implements a position sensor) or electronic additive manufacturing (that implements a position sensor), provides for a second build part that is built based on a second position measurement result of the first build part on which the removal processing is performed.
Regarding claim 47 as applied to claim 46,
Comprising:
further performing a removal processing before building the second build part based on the second measurement result.
Zeng teaches the following:
([0026]) teaches Step 4: without process conflicts, selectively repeat step 2 or step 3 according to the functional design to combine the processes, thereby producing integrated electronic components with high functional density, high compression ratio and low profile. With ([0024]) noting that step 2 comprises fabricate a multilayer conformal circuit structure on the support structure using electronic additive manufacturing, and further improve the dimensional accuracy of the electronic structure through machining. Namely, the machining is provided before building the second build part. ([0044]) teaches that the machine vision module is used to correct the machining trajectory error and accurately position the replaceable machining component. ([0061]) noting that the removal process implements a position sensor in composition with machine vision module used to correct the machining trajectory error and accurately position the replaceable cutting component 31. Namely, the removal process implements a position sensor in composition with machine vision module to measure the position of the article being fabricated. In summary, the fabrication provides for performing a removal processing before building the second build part based on the second measurement result. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding performing a removal processing before building the second build part based on the second measurement result. The case law for sequential vs. simultaneous steps may be recited. Where, in general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. Pat. App. 1959).
Regarding claim 48 as applied to claim 44,
Comprising:
repeating an additive manufacturing using the first processing apparatus and a removal processing using the second processing apparatus till building the build object is completed.
Zeng teaches the following:
([0023]) teaches the mechanical support for the overall electronic component is fabricated using additive manufacturing of structural materials, ([0025]) teaches that preparing the packaging structure using the above-mentioned additive and subtractive composite processing method. In summary, repeating an additive manufacturing using the structural material additive manufacturing subsystem / first processing apparatus and a removal processing using the second processing apparatus till building the build object is completed is understood to be disclosed.Additionally, ([0024]) teaches Step 2: Fabricate a multilayer conformal circuit structure on the support structure using electronic additive manufacturing, and further improve the dimensional accuracy of the electronic structure through machining ([0026]) teaches that Step 4: Without process conflicts, selectively repeat step 2 or step 3 according to the functional design to combine the processes, thereby producing integrated electronic components with high functional density, high compression ratio and low profile. In summary, repeating an additive manufacturing using the electronic additive manufacturing subsystem / first processing apparatus and a removal processing using the second processing is understood to be disclosed.
Regarding claim 49 as applied to claim 48,
Comprising:
determining an amount of the additive manufacturing is equal to or greater than a predetermined amount based on a measurement result of a build part by the first processing apparatus,
wherein the removal processing is performed in response to determining the amount of the additive manufacturing is equal to or greater than the predetermined amount.
Zeng teaches the following:
([0049]) notes that CAD models of electronic components and use slicing and processing software to generate additive manufacturing trajectories for the supporting structures based on the outline information of the model slices; generate surface machining paths based on the geometric dimensions of the electronic functional structures. ([0051]) teaches that the dimensional accuracy and surface roughness of the workpiece are read using a 3D scanner. Namely, it is understood that determining whether an amount of the additive manufacturing is equal to or greater than a pre-determined amount , i.e., the CAD model’s geometric dimensions by using a 3D scanner is understood to be disclose.
([0044]) teaches that the subtractive machining subsystem is used to improve the dimensional accuracy, surface roughness, marking, through holes/blind holes, etc. of parts. ([0051] – [0052]) notes that after the (last) subtractive machining step the process is moved to the electronic material additive manufacturing subsystem processing. Where, subtractive machining subsystem is understood to be performed in response to determining the amount of the additive manufacturing is equal to or greater than the predetermined amount i.e., the CAD model’s geometric dimensions by using a 3D scanner.
Regarding claim 56 as applied to claim 44,
Wherein the build object is built on a placing device, the processing method comprises:
changing a positional relationship between at least one of the first processing apparatus and
the second processing apparatus, and
the placing device on which the build object is placed.
Zeng teaches the following:
([0050]) teaches at a set temperature, fused deposition modeling technology is used to perform layer by-layer additive manufacturing. Namely, printing is understood to comprise moving the material additive manufacturing subsystem in relation to the subtractive machining subsystem.([0052]) teaches that S4: Laser micro-cladding technology is used to conformally manufacture electronic functional materials layer by layer on the surface of the supporting structure to obtain characteristic structures Namely, printing is understood to comprise moving the electronic material additive manufacturing subsystem in relation to the subtractive machining subsystem.
([0051]) teaches S3: Slowly move the support structure with the set temperature out of the thermoforming area. After the workpiece cools down to room temperature, fix the support structure on the printing platform with the help of the fixture. Roughly machine it using the cutting tool of the subtractive machining subsystem, and then perform surface processing using polishing cotton /ultrafast laser equipment. Namely, cutting is understood to comprise moving the subtractive machining subsystem in relation to both the material additive manufacturing subsystem and the electronic material additive manufacturing subsystem.
([0046]) teaches that the motion control subsystem consists of a working conveyor belt 22. ([0051]) teaches S3: slowly move the support structure with the set temperature out of the thermoforming area. After the workpiece cools down to room temperature, fix the support structure on the printing platform with the help of the fixture. Roughly machine it using the cutting tool of the subtractive machining subsystem. Namely, the conveyor belt 22 is provided as a the placing device on which the build object is placed.
In summary, the build object is built on a placing device / conveyor belt 22, and the process comprises changing a positional relationship between the first processing apparatus namely the material additive manufacturing subsystem and / or the electronic material additive manufacturing subsystem and the second processing apparatus / subtractive machining subsystem, and the placing device (conveyor belt) on which the build object is placed.
Regarding claim 57 as applied to claim 44,
Wherein an additive manufacturing using the first processing apparatus and
a removal processing using the second processing apparatus is performed while the first build part is placed on a placing device.
Zeng teaches the following:
([0046]) teaches that the motion control subsystem consists of a working conveyor belt 22. ([0045]) teaches that the air-cooling component 14 is placed at the bottom of the working conveyor belt 22, and the printed parts are cooled by air at a certain rate through ventilation holes. ([0051]) teaches S3: slowly move the support structure with the set temperature out of the thermoforming area. After the workpiece cools down to room temperature, fix the support structure on the printing platform with the help of the fixture. Roughly machine it using the cutting tool of the subtractive machining subsystem. As illustrated in (Fig. 1), the working conveyor belt 22 is found to provide for moving the printed parts from the additive manufacturing subsystem to the subtractive machining subsystem.
([0015]) notes that the subtractive machining subsystem's workstation is located within the structural material additive manufacturing subsystem. ([0021]) notes that the motion control subsystem of the mechanism includes a work conveyor belt 22. As illustrated in (Figs 1 – 2) the article being manufactured is found to be moved from station to station via the work conveyor belt 22. As such, the work conveyor belt 22 may act as applicant’s placing device, Namely, the subtractive machining process using the subtractive machining subsystem is understood to be performed while the build part is placed on the work conveyor belt 22 / placing device. Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sanders et al. (US 20220379380 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) Methods, systems, and apparatus, including medium-encoded computer program products, for computer aided design and manufacture of physical structures using hybrid additive and subtractive manufacturing.
Spink et al. (US 20180250775 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) that the present disclosure provides three-dimensional (3D) printing methods, apparatuses, systems and/or software to form one or more three-dimensional objects, some of which may be complex.
Emmanuel et al. (US 6036777 A) – teaches in the (Abstract) An apparatus and method for use in producing three dimensional components by bonding together successive layers of a porous material with droplets of a binder material. A powder is dispensed on a support surface in a layer. A vibratory mechanism vibrates the layer of dispensed powder to compact the powder.
Hidemi Kawai (US 20210001403 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A processing system is provided with: a support apparatus that is configured to support a processing target; a processing apparatus that performs an additive processing by irradiating a processed area on the processing target with an energy beam and by supplying materials to an area that is irradiated with the energy beam.
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743