Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 108950625) in view of Singh et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2007/0068819).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a method for manufacturing a rod/workpiece (8; figures 1, 3-4) by plating the rod (paragraphs 5, 46), comprising:
a step of arranging the rod/workpiece (8) in a first tube body formed by arranging a plurality of rod-shaped members (42) in an annular shape (figures 3, 6),
a step of plating the rod (8) by causing a plating liquid to flow in one direction through a first flow path between the first tube body (paragraph 53 – the electrolyte flows through the inlet 23 from the bottom of the working tank 2 through the outlet 22), and
wherein each of the rod-shaped members is covered with a platinum at least on a surface facing the rod (paragraph 47).
Liu fails to teach wherein each of the rod-shaped members has a polyqonal column shape.
Singh discloses a method for electroplating conductive materials on a desired substrate comprising a plurality of anode elements having a surface selected from a variety of shapes including a triangle, rectangle, square, and hexagon, among others. The anode elements may be arranged in hexagonal, rectangular, or circular arrangements in order to reduce the terminal effect, promote uniform plating thickness, compensate uneven plating and control electroplating profiles (paragraphs 50, 55, 70).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select polygonal-shaped members as the anodes of Liu because as taught by Singh, this arrangement reduces the terminal effect, promotes uniform plating thickness, compensates uneven plating and controls electroplating profiles as desired. It is important to note that it has been held by the courts that the shape of an element is an obvious matter of design choice, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. MPEP 2144.04.IV.B.
Regarding claim 2, Liu teaches that each of the rod-shaped members is covered with platinum at least on a surface facing the rod (paragraph 47), wherein a first surface is caused to face the rod (figure 3), and the plating liquid is caused to flow between the first surface and the rod/workpiece (8; paragraph 53 – the electrolyte flows through the inlet 23 from the bottom of the working tank 2 through the outlet 22).
Liu fails to teach wherein the rod-shaped member has a rectangular column shape having a first surface formed by first side portions and second side portions that are shorter than the first side portions and a second surface formed by third side portions that are shorter than the first sides and the second sides.
Singh discloses a method for electroplating conductive materials on a desired substrate comprising a plurality of anode elements having a surface selected from a variety of shapes including a triangle, rectangle, square, and hexagon, among others. The anode elements may be arranged in hexagonal, rectangular, or circular arrangements in order to reduce the terminal effect, promote uniform plating thickness, compensate uneven plating and control electroplating profiles (paragraphs 50, 55, 70).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select polygonal-shaped members as the anodes of Liu because as taught by Singh, this arrangement reduces the terminal effect, promotes uniform plating thickness, compensates uneven plating and controls electroplating profiles as desired.
Regarding claim 3, Liu further teaches wherein a gap is provided between the rod-shaped members (42) adjacent to each other (figures 3, 6). The electrolyte solution flows in one direction through the inlet (23) from the bottom of the working tank (2) through the outlet (22) and recirculates back into the working tank (2; paragraph 57). Given that Liu teaches recirculation of the electrolyte to conduct a second working process, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to dispose a second tube body/working tank (2) on an outer peripheral side of the first tube body (2) so that the electrolyte with adjusted temperature and composition enters a second working tank (paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses an anode device (paragraphs 15-19, 47-49) comprising a plurality of rod-shaped members (42) that are disposed in an annular shape to form a first tube body (as shown in figures 3, 6) and form a space through which a plating liquid flows between the first tube body and a rod/workpiece (8) disposed in the first tube body (paragraph 53 – the electrolyte flows through the inlet 23 from the bottom of the working tank 2 through the outlet 22),
wherein a positive voltage is applied to the anode device wherein each of the rod-shaped members (42) is covered with a platinum at least on a surface facing the rod (8; paragraphs 48-52).
Liu fails to teach wherein each of the rod-shaped members has a polyqonal column shape.
Singh discloses a method for electroplating conductive materials on a desired substrate comprising a plurality of anode elements having a surface selected from a variety of shapes including a triangle, rectangle, square, and hexagon, among others. The anode elements may be arranged in hexagonal, rectangular, or circular arrangements in order to reduce the terminal effect, promote uniform plating thickness, compensate uneven plating and control electroplating profiles (paragraphs 50, 55, 70).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select polygonal-shaped members as the anodes of Liu because as taught by Singh, this arrangement reduces the terminal effect, promotes uniform plating thickness, compensates uneven plating and controls electroplating profiles as desired. It is important to note that it has been held by the courts that the shape of an element is an obvious matter of design choice, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. MPEP 2144.04.IV.B.
Conclusion
/ZULMARIAM MENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794