Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 13, 18, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “any suction nozzle” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because “a suction nozzle” is earlier recited and not a plurality of them.
Claim 18 recites “in a case that the base is connected with the carrier platform, the two sets of prism components are capable of being accommodated in two prism avoidance cavities in a one-to-one correspondence”. It is not clear if connection of the base to the carrier platform is claimed or is optional.
Claim 21 is rejected due to dependency on claim 18.
Claim 19 recites “in a case that the carrier platform is connected with the base, the transfer circuit is capable of being electrically connected to the crimping joint”. It is not clear if connection of the platform to the base is claimed or is optional.
Claim 4 recites “the air chamber structure comprises an elastic hollow ball, an elastic air bag, a resilient box or a resilient cylinder”. It is not clear if the claim intended to be a Markush Claim and applicant intended to claim the air chamber structure is selected from a group consisting of an elastic hollow ball, an elastic air bag, a resilient box and a resilient cylinder. Examination is conducted in this manner.
Claims 5-6 are rejected due to dependency on rejected claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 206248698 U).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below and machine translated document attached) a carrier platform (entire Fig. 1), comprising: a carrier unit (703), configured to carry a display module;
a suction nozzle (vacuum hole 702), disposed on the carrier unit; and a negative pressure assembly (negative pressure assembly comprises vacuum chuck and vacuum switch control button 109), configured to provide a negative pressure to the suction nozzle to enable the suction nozzle to adsorb the display module located on the carrier unit.
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) the carrier platform further comprises a crimping table (table to which crimping pressing assembly 400 is connected to) provided with a crimping joint (entire toggle clamp shown in Fig. 3); a flexible circuit board of the display module (flexible electronic paper display module) is capable of being crimped with the crimping joint; and wherein the crimping table is detachably connected to the carrier unit.
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) a carrier platform (entire Fig. 1), comprising: a carrier unit (703), configured to carry a display module;
a suction nozzle (vacuum hole 702), disposed on the carrier unit; and a negative pressure assembly (negative pressure assembly comprises vacuum chuck and vacuum switch control button 109), configured to provide a negative pressure to the suction nozzle to enable the suction nozzle to adsorb the display module located on the carrier unit.
the carrier platform further comprises a crimping table (table to which crimping pressing assembly 400 is connected to) provided with a crimping joint (entire toggle clamp shown in Fig. 3); a flexible circuit board of the display module (flexible electronic paper display module) is capable of being crimped with the crimping joint; and wherein the crimping table is detachably connected to the carrier unit;
the base is equipped with a replaceable transfer circuit (the flexible electronic paper display module placing platform (701) is further equipped with a quartz glass block of transparent structure (704) is set a flexible electronic paper display module is placed on the platform (701)).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) the base is provided with a plurality of sets of positioning connection components, and the carrier platform is detachably connected to the base through the positioning connection components (by sliding of four 705 inside four positioning connection components); and different positioning connection components are capable of being detachably connected to different carrier platforms (carrier unit shown in Fig. 6 can be removed and replaced with another carrier unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 13, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 212321042 U) in view of Wang (CN 103904011 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below and machine translated document attached) a carrier platform (61), comprising: a carrier unit (bearing table 62), configured to carry a display module (display screen 50); (Figures of Yuan show the display screen is held on surface 62 with plurality of holes which appear to be suction holes, but specification is silent regarding this).
Wang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below and machine translated document attached) a suction nozzle (suction nozzle 210) on a carrier unit (disc/chuck 100); a negative pressure assembly (assembly shown in Fig. 3), configured to provide a negative pressure to the suction nozzle to enable the suction nozzle to adsorb the display module (silicon wafer 300) located on the carrier unit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add suction nozzle and negative pressure assembly of Wang in carrier platform of Yuan. Doing so would fully grip the display module during processing and would also reduce the warpage of the display module by forcing it down to the carrier unit during the processing.
Regarding claim 2, as stated in rejection of claim 1 above, Figures of Yuan do not clearly show the claimed suction nozzle and negative pressure assembly.
Wang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) the suction nozzle and the negative pressure assembly as stated in rejection of claim 1 above and further teaches the negative pressure assembly comprises an air chamber structure (air chamber structure comprises at least second air chamber 236 connected to negative pressure source and spring 234) and a negative pressure control member (piston 232), the air chamber structure is equipped with an air chamber with a variable capacity (capacity of 236 is variable by movement of piston 232), and the negative pressure control member is configured to control a capacity change of the air chamber to control whether to generate the negative pressure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add suction nozzle, negative pressure assembly, air chamber structure and negative pressure control member of Wang in carrier platform of Yuan. Doing so would fully grip the display module during processing and would also reduce the warpage of the display module by forcing it down to the carrier unit during the processing.
Regarding claim 3, as stated in rejection of claim 1 above, Figures of Yuan do not clearly show the claimed suction nozzle and negative pressure assembly.
Wang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) the suction nozzle and the negative pressure assembly as stated in rejection of claim 1 above and further teaches the air chamber structure is elastic (by spring 234 of the air chamber structure), and the negative pressure control member is configured to compress the air chamber structure to compress the air chamber (by downward movement); and the compressed air chamber structure is capable of rebounding under action of elasticity (spring 234 moves the piston 232/negative pressure control member upward and therefore the compressed air chamber structure is rebounded) to cause the air chamber to rebound and generate the negative pressure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add suction nozzle, negative pressure assembly, air chamber structure and negative pressure control member of Wang in carrier platform of Yuan. Doing so would fully grip the display module during processing and would also reduce the warpage of the display module by forcing it down to the carrier unit during the processing.
Regarding claim 11, as stated in rejection of claim 1 above, Figures of Yuan do not clearly show the claimed suction nozzle and negative pressure assembly.
Wang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) the suction nozzle and the negative pressure assembly as stated in rejection of claim 1 above and further teaches a plurality of air chamber structures are provided (three as shown in Fig. 1), and respective air chamber structures are simultaneously controlled by the negative pressure control member.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add more air control chambers as taught by Wang to be able to vacuum more locations of larger wafers/displays.
Regarding claim 7, as stated in rejection of claim 1 above, Figures of Yuan do not clearly show the claimed suction nozzle and negative pressure assembly.
Wang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) the suction nozzle and the negative pressure assembly as stated in rejection of claim 1 above and further teaches a plurality of suction nozzles are provided (three as shown in Fig. 1), a plurality of air chamber structures are provided and have a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of suction nozzles, and any air chamber structure is configured to provide the negative pressure to a corresponding suction nozzle (three similar suction nozzles of Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add more suction nozzles as taught by Wang to be able to vacuum more locations of larger wafers/displays.
Regarding claim 9, as stated in rejection of claim 1 above, Figures of Yuan do not clearly show the claimed suction nozzle and negative pressure assembly.
Wang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) the suction nozzle and the negative pressure assembly as stated in rejection of claim 1 above and further teaches the negative pressure control member comprises a push rod (guide post 233 and spring 234), configured to compress or expand the air chamber of the air chamber structure (by spring force).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Yuan and Wang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) the carrier platform (61 of Yuan) further comprises a bottom plate (flat large plate of Yuan on which 62 is located), an accommodation cavity is disposed between the bottom plate and the carrier unit, and the air chamber structure (taught by Wang) is accommodated in the accommodation cavity.
Regarding claim 13, as stated in rejection of claim 1 above, Figures of Yuan do not clearly show the claimed suction nozzle and negative pressure assembly.
Wang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) the carrier unit is provided with a suction nozzle cavity, and the suction nozzle is accommodated in the suction nozzle cavity (see Figs. 4 and 5); any suction nozzles is a retractable suction nozzle (compare Figs. 3 and 4); the suction nozzle is contractible into the suction nozzle cavity in a first state (shown in Fig. 4); and the suction nozzle is extendable out of the suction nozzle cavity in a second state (shown in Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add suction nozzle, negative pressure assembly, air chamber structure and negative pressure control member of Wang in carrier platform of Yuan. Doing so would fully grip the display module during processing and would also reduce the warpage of the display module by forcing it down to the carrier unit during the processing.
Regarding claim 17, Yuan teaches the carrier platform is provided with prism avoidance cavities on both sides of the carrier unit (carrier unit 62 is located on an elevated position relative to the left and right sides which are interpreted to be cavities); and at least part of a base that is cooperated with the carrier platform is provided with a prism component (prism unit 21), and the prism component is capable of being accommodated in a prism avoidance cavity to detect a side of the display module.
Regarding claims 18 and 21, Yuan teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) a carrier platform (61), comprising: a carrier unit (bearing table 62), configured to carry a display module (display screen 50); (Figures of Yuan show the display screen is held on surface 62 with plurality of holes which appear to be suction holes, but specification is silent regarding this); wherein the carrier platform is provided with prism avoidance cavities on both sides of the carrier unit (carrier unit 62 is located on an elevated position relative to the left and right sides which are interpreted to be cavities); and at least part of a base that is cooperated with the carrier platform is provided with a prism component (prism unit 21), and the prism component is capable of being accommodated in a prism avoidance cavity to detect a side of the display module; wherein the base is provided with two sets of prism components (on left and right sides); and a detection device.
Wang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) a suction nozzle (suction nozzle 210) on a carrier unit (disc/chuck 100); a negative pressure assembly (assembly shown in Fig. 3), configured to provide a negative pressure to the suction nozzle to enable the suction nozzle to adsorb the display module (silicon wafer 300) located on the carrier unit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add suction nozzle and negative pressure assembly of Wang in carrier platform of Yuan. Doing so would fully grip the display module during processing and would also reduce the warpage of the display module by forcing it down to the carrier unit during the processing.
Regarding claims 4-6, as stated in rejection of claim 1 above, Figures of Yuan do not clearly show the claimed suction nozzle and negative pressure assembly.
Wang teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above and machine translated document attached) the air chamber structure comprises an elastic hollow ball (see the ball 220 with a central hole and a spring 234 underneath); the resilient box comprises a flexible box (piston moves inside the cylinder and makes it flexible) or a foldable box and an elastic member located in the box.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use biasing hollow ball of Wang in carrier platform of Yuan for buffering purposes.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan in view of Wang and further in view of Kitawawa (US 20130074873 A1).
Regarding claim 12, combined carrier platform of Yuan and Wang does not show the claimed pump and switch.
Kitawawa teaches a suction chuck in which controller 4 stops operating the suction pump 51 and switches the on-off valves 52 and 54 respectively to "CLOSE" and "OPEN," thereby releasing the substrate W which is held by suction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to add negative pressure pump group and control switch group of Kitawawa in combined carrier platform of Yuan and Wang for negative pressure creation and also opening and closing of such negative pressure.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hsieh (US 20120261870 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Li does not teach the claimed flexible positioning piece.
Hsieh teaches vacuum suction device and adhesive tape to fix display to a supporting jig (see par. 0006).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to ass flexible adhesive along with suction force for fixing display of Li to the carrier unit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723