On Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Applicant’s claims, filed on 03/12/2024.
Claims 1-3 are currently pending and have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following:
Figures 2-3 are recited as a cross sectional views however the figures do not include any cross hatching.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shioji et al. (US9702112) in view of Erhardt et al. (US11801794).
Claim 1. Shioji discloses: A cab (4 cab, Fig. 1) for a construction machine (1 excavator, Fig. 1), comprising:
a cab box (41, 42, 46 pillars form room space of 4 and 142 roof portion, Fig. 1; Col. 5, line 53-Col. 6, line 5) having an opening (141a opening, Fig. 7) formed on a front side (141 front wall, Fig. 7) thereof;
a front window (47 front window, Fig. 7) provided in the cab box and movable between a window-closing position where the opening is closed and a window-opening position (open and close positions; Fig. 7, Col. 8, lines 16-33) where the front window is accommodated below a top surface (underside of 142 roof, Fig. 7) portion of the cab box (underside of 142 roof, Fig. 7); and
a monitor device (21 monitor, Fig. 3-9) provided in the cab box (Fig. 3) and displaying various types of information (21 displays real time updates, Col. 5, lines 34-37).
Shioji does not disclose: the monitor device is mounted on the front window ( to move between the window-closing position and the window-opening position as the front window is moved.
Erhardt discloses a display oriented in a cab of a power machine to provide information to the operator both while the door is in the opened and closed positions.
Erhardt teaches: the monitor device (402 or 502 display, Fig. 12) is mounted on the front window (524 front entry door, Fig. 11-13) to move between the window-closing position (closed, Fig. 12) and the window-opening position (open, Fig. 13) as the front window is moved (Fig. 12-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the location of the monitor of Shioji to a location attached to the front window as taught by Erhardt with a reasonable expectation of success in order have an improved viewing angle as taught by Erhardt (Col. 16, lines 6-11).
Claim 2. Shioji in view of Erhardt teaches: The cab for a construction machine according to claim 1, wherein the monitor device is mounted on the front window (see previously rejected claim 1), using a universal joint having an adjustable mounting angle (Shioji: 50 support member, Fig. 4-5; Erhart: 512 moveable mount, Fig. 14A-14B).
Claim 3. Shioji in view of Erhardt teaches: The cab for a construction machine according to claim 1, wherein an operator's seat for an on-board operator is provided in the cab box (Shioji: 61 operator’s seat, Fig. 3; Erhardt: 364 operator seat, Fig. 4A), wherein the monitor device is mounted on the front window so as to be located forward from a backrest (Shioji: backrest of 61 operator’s seat, Fig. 3; Erhardt: 362 operator seatback, Fig. 4), of the operator's seat, with the front window disposed at the window-opening position (Shioji: Fig. 3; Erhardt: Fig. 4).
Claim 4. Shioji in view of Erhardt teaches: The cab for a construction machine according to claim 1, wherein the cab box comprises an entrance way for allowing access to one side in the right-and-left direction (Shioji: door; Col. 6, lines 8-9), wherein the monitor device is disposed on the other side in the right-and-left direction of the front window opposite the entrance way (Shioji: 21 monitor is opposite of entrance; Fig. 3; Erhardt: 402 is on the right side of the window; Fig. 7).
Regarding the limitation: the monitor device is disposed on the other side in the right-and-left direction of the front window opposite the entrance way, both Shioji and Erhardt teach monitors on the right side of the cab in various embodiments (Shioji: Fig. 3; Erhardt: Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to positioned the monitor on the opposite side of the entry on the front window as instantly claimed based on choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve access and/or improve forward visibility. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
/DANIEL T CRAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676