DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 112927616 A) (IDS) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2014/0328084).
Regarding claim 1, Yang et al. discloses a display device (abstract, fig. 1), comprising: a backlight module (page 3 lines 1-3) and a display module that are stacked in sequence (i.e. The backlight module 200 includes a first insulating layer 250 and a light-enhancing layer 260 which are sequentially stacked, and the backlight emitted by the backlight module 200 will pass through the first insulating layer 250 and the light-enhancing layer 260 in sequence) (page 3 lines 1-3) ; the display device has an NFC wiring area for disposing an NFC coil (i.e. a part of the NFC coil 110 is located in the display area 200a, More specifically, the NFC coil 110 is a transparent wiring) (fig. 3 and page 3, 6th to 8th paragraph) ; and the NFC coil is disposed in the display module (fig. 3 and page 3, 6th to 8th paragraph). Yang et al. differs from claim 1 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose the terminology “a back casing”. Chuang et al. teaches a device comprising a rear cover (P:0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yang et al. with a back casing in order to provide a rear cover on the display device to keep dirt or water from entering the display device that will harm the electrical components of the display, as taught by Chuang et al..
Regarding claim 19, Yang et al. discloses an electronic equipment (electronic device) (page 2, line 12), comprising a display device (abstract, fig. 1), a backlight module (page 3 lines 1-3) and a display module that are stacked in sequence (i.e. The backlight module 200 includes a first insulating layer 250 and a light-enhancing layer 260 which are sequentially stacked, and the backlight emitted by the backlight module 200 will pass through the first insulating layer 250 and the light-enhancing layer 260 in sequence) (page 3 lines 1-3) ; the display device has an NFC wiring area for disposing an NFC coil (i.e. a part of the NFC coil 110 is located in the display area 200a, More specifically, the NFC coil 110 is a transparent wiring) (fig. 3 and page 3, 6th to 8th paragraph) ; and the NFC coil is disposed in the display module (fig. 3 and page 3, 6th to 8th paragraph). Yang et al. differs from claim 19 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose the terminology “a back casing”. Chuang et al. teaches a device comprising a rear cover (P:0052). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yang et al. with a back casing in order to provide a rear cover on the display device to keep dirt or water from entering the display device that will harm the electrical components of the display, as taught by Chuang et al..
5. Claim(s) 2,3,14,15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 112927616 A) (IDS) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2014/0328084) as applied to claims 1 and 19 above and in further view of WU (CN 104993216 A)( IDS).
Regarding claims 2,3,14,15 and 20, the combination of Yang et al. and Chuang et al. differs from claims 2 and 20 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the rear casing of the backlight module is made of metal material; the rear casing of the backlight module has an opening area overlapped with the NFC wiring area; and the rear casing of the backlight module is provided with an opening in the opening area. Wu teaches a metal back cover (abstract), NFC antenna structure for metal back cover of the mobile phone, the mobile phone metal back cover is equipped with the NFC antenna coil form, mobile metal back cover is provided with a concave slot and an opening, NFC coil 31 around the wound opening 6 of camera 2 (fig. 2 and fig. 3 with edge openings 5 and 51, and its description). Wu further teaches ferrite magnetic chip is connected with a NFC coil (abstract) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yang et al. and Chuang et al. with the rear casing of the backlight module is made of metal material; the rear casing of the backlight module has an opening area overlapped with the NFC wiring area; and the rear casing of the backlight module is provided with an opening in the opening area in order for the display device to provide a strong cover to protect the display device and for a NFC antenna to be placed or inserted into the cover to make mobile phone payments to a nearby merchant for groceries, as taught by Wu.
6. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 112927616 A) (IDS) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2014/0328084) and WU (CN 104993216 A)( IDS) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above and in further view of Wu et al. (US 2015/0380820).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yang et al., Chuang et al. and WU differs from claim 4 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the rear casing of the backlight module is provided with a plurality of openings in the NFC wiring area. Wu et al. teaches a metal back cover 310 of the mobile device 300 includes multiple openings 330 to accommodate a camera, an NFC (Near Field Communication) coil or charging coil (P:0035 and fig. 3b number 330). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yang et al., Chuang et al. and WU with the rear casing of the backlight module is provided with a plurality of openings in the NFC wiring area in order for the display device to transfer energy and receive a wireless charge from a nearby charging source, as taught by Wu et al..
7. Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 112927616 A) (IDS) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2014/0328084) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Lee et al. (KR 101150202 B1).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the combination of Yang et al. and Chuang et al. differs from claim 8 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the back casing is made of metal material; and the display device is provided with a ferrite layer between the back casing and the rear casing of the backlight module. Lee et al. teaches a liquid crystal display module (abstract, fig. 1, fig. 2 number 110), the cover bottom 50 is made of a steel material such as EGI (Electro Galvanized Iron) (fig. 1 number 50 and its description), a ferrite layer (fig. 3b number 240) between the cover bottom (fig. 3b number 160), the ferrite core plate interposed between one surface of the printed circuit board and the transformer, the liquid crystal panel; A top cover (i.e. rear casing) bordering a front edge of the liquid crystal panel; It provides a liquid crystal display module “covering the back surface of the backlight assembly”, the cover bottom surface is in close contact with the other surface of the printed circuit board (page 2, 2nd paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yang et al. and Chuang et al. with the back casing is made of metal material; and the display device is provided with a ferrite layer between the back casing and the rear casing of the backlight module in order for the display device to provide a protecting back cover to the display, suppress electromagnetic interference and improve signal integrity within the device, as taught by Lee et al..
8. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 112927616 A) (IDS) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2014/0328084) and Lee et al. (KR 101150202 B1) as applied to claim 1 and 8 above and in further view of Yang et al. (US 9,819,079).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yang et al., Chuang et al. and Lee et al. differs from claim 10 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose an orthographic projection of the ferrite layer on the display module is overlapped with the NFC wiring area. Yang et al. teaches an orthographic projection of the ferrite layer (fig. 2 number 204) on the display module (fig. 3a) is overlapped with a coil antenna (fig. 2 number 202). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yang et al., Chuang et al. and Lee et al. with an orthographic projection of the ferrite layer on the display module is overlapped with the NFC wiring area in order to projection the display device depicted or a surface mapped using parallel lines to project its shape onto a plane, as taught by Yang et al..
9. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 112927616 A) (IDS) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2014/0328084) and Lee et al. (KR 101150202 B1) as applied to claim 1 and 8 above and in further view of Erentok et al. (US 20180294552).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yang et al., Chuang et al. and Lee et al. differs from claim 12 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the NFC coil comprises a body wiring disposed in a display area; and the body wiring is covered by the ferrite layer. Erentok et al. teaches an NFC antenna design may integrate an NFC antenna with a display via placement of a ferrite backed coil under a low density LCD (liquid-crystal display) display (P:0017). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yang et al., Chuang et al. and Lee et al. with the NFC coil comprises a body wiring disposed in a display area; and the body wiring is covered by the ferrite layer in order for the display device to provide a sufficient quality factor (Q) value to fulfill NFC system properties needed for proper Tx/Rx functionalities, as taught by Erentok et al..
10. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 112927616 A) (IDS) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2014/0328084) and WU (CN 104993216 A)( IDS) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above and in further view of Yoon et al. (US 2015/0024811) .
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yang et al. , Chuang et al. and WU differs from claim 16 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose the back casing is made of non-metallic material. Yoon et al. teaches an NFC function or a wireless charging function is provided in the electronic device 100, a radiator or an induction coil of an antenna device for the function may be installed in the battery cover 101d (P:0102), As mentioned previously, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the cover members, for example, the front/rear cases 101a and 101b, the frame 101c, and the battery cover 101d may be made of the fiber-reinforced plastic materials 10 and 20 (P:0102). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yang et al. , Chuang et al. and WU with the back casing is made of non-metallic material in order to provide a light weight protection back cover to the display device which would prevent breakage if accidentally dropped, as taught by Yoon et al..
11. Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 112927616 A) (IDS) in view of Chuang et al. (US 2014/0328084) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Yoon et al. (US 2015/0024811).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the combination of Yang et al. and Chuang et al. differs from claims 17 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose at least a part area of the back casing overlapped with the NFC wiring area is made of non-metallic material; and at least a part area of the rear casing of the backlight module overlapped with the NFC wiring area is made of non-metallic material. If an NFC function or a wireless charging function is provided in the electronic device 100, a radiator or an induction coil of an antenna device for the function may be installed in the battery cover 101d. Yoon et al. teaches an NFC function or a wireless charging function is provided in the electronic device 100, a radiator or an induction coil of an antenna device for the function may be installed in the battery cover 101d (P:0102). As mentioned previously, according to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the cover members, for example, the front/rear cases 101a and 101b, the frame 101c, and the battery cover 101d may be made of the fiber-reinforced plastic materials 10 and 20 (P:0102) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the Yang et al. and Chuang et al. with at least a part area of the back casing overlapped with the NFC wiring area is made of non-metallic material; and at least a part area of the rear casing of the backlight module overlapped with the NFC wiring area is made of non-metallic material in order to provide a light weight protection cover to surround the display device from breakage if accidentally dropped, as taught by Yoon et al..
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 5-7, 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination the NFC coil comprises a body wiring disposed in a display area; and the body wiring is arranged axially symmetrically; and the opening area is arranged symmetrically with respect to a symmetry axis of the body wiring.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination the NFC wiring area comprises an NFC first wiring area disposed in a display area and an NFC second wiring area disposed in a peripheral area; at least part of the NFC first wiring area is covered by the opening area.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination an NFC first wiring area disposed in a display area and an NFC second wiring area disposed in a peripheral area; and a geometric center of the opening area is coincided with a geometric center of the NFC first wiring area.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination the NFC wiring area comprises an NFC first wiring area disposed in a display area and an NFC second wiring area disposed in a peripheral area; and at least part of the NFC first wiring area is covered by the ferrite layer.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination the NFC coil comprises a body wiring disposed in a display area; and the body wiring is arranged axially symmetrically; and the ferrite layer is arranged symmetrically with respect to a symmetry axis of the body wiring.
Conclusion
/KEITH FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648