DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/12/2024 and 7/11/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because “Aspects of the present disclosure relate to a battery support for a battery. As an example” should be avoid. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “when the movable frame member is moved in a first direction toward the first frame” are not clear, which direction (lateral or longitudinal relative to a vehicle) refer to a first direction. Also the first frame is the same with the first midframe.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the second frame” is not clear, whether the same with the second midframe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Jinhui (CN212738395).
Jinhui (CN212738395) in figures 1-9, disclose a battery support for a battery, comprising a first midframe (1) of a vehicle, a second midframe (2) of the vehicle spaced apart from the first frame to define a cavity (see figure 2). The first midframe and the second midframe each extend along a longitudinal centerline of the vehicle (see figure 9). Jinhui also disclose a movable frame member (6, a seal ring can be considered a movable frame) positionable in the cavity and comprising a first interface configured to interface with a corresponding second interface defined on an interior side of the first midframe when the movable frame member is moved in a first direction toward the first midframe. The movable frame member cooperates with the second midframe to define a battery cavity sized to receive the battery and to restrict a movement of the movable frame member in a second direction opposite the first direction when the battery is received by the battery cavity.
Regarding claim 2, Jinhui disclose a cover (51, see figures 2-3, 5, position on a top of the battery 31) that mechanically couples to the movable frame member to retain the battery in the battery cavity in a third direction angled relative to the first direction.
Regarding claim 3, Jinhui disclose the cover further comprising a positive terminal feature positioned to cover a positive terminal of the battery; and a negative terminal feature that restricts removal of the cover when a negative terminal of the battery is electrically connected.
Regarding claim 6, Jinhui disclose a lower battery support (10) supported by the movable frame member and the first frame to restrict movement of the movable frame member in the second direction.
Regarding claim 7, Jinhui disclose the first interface comprising a peg and an isolator (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, Jinhui disclose the first interface including a peg and the second interface includes an isolator, the isolator and the peg cooperating to couple the movable frame member relative to the first frame.
Regarding claim 9, Jinhui in figures 1-9, disclose an electric vehicle having a battery (3), comprising a plurality of ground engaging members (not show, but the electric vehicle must have a wheel, which can be considered a plurality of ground engaging members), a frame (see figure 9) supported by the plurality of ground engaging members, including a first midframe (1) having a first interface defined on an interior side of the first midframe and a second midframe (2). The first midframe and the second midframe are on opposing sides of a longitudinal centerline of the vehicle. Jinhui also disclose a movable frame member (6) comprising a second interface configured to interface with the first interface of the first midframe when the movable frame member is moved in a first direction toward the first midframe and away from the longitudinal centerline. The movable frame member cooperates with the second midframe to define a battery cavity sized to receive the battery and to restrict a movement of the movable frame member in a second direction opposite the first direction when the battery is received by the battery cavity (figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Jinhui disclose a cover (51) that mechanically couples to the movable frame member to retain the battery in the battery cavity in a third direction angled relative to the first direction.
Regarding claim 11, Jinhui disclose the cover further comprises a positive terminal feature positioned to cover a positive terminal of the battery; and a negative terminal feature that restricts removal of the cover when a negative terminal of the battery is electrically connected.
the lower battery support positioned to restrict movement of the first movable frame member in the second direction and the second movable frame member in the first direction.
Regarding claim 14, Jinhui disclose a lower battery support (10) supported by the movable frame member and the first frame to restrict movement of the movable frame member in the second direction.
Regarding claim 15, Jinhui disclose the second interface comprising a peg and an isolator (not number, position on a perimeter of the second movable frame, see figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Jinhui disclose the second interface including a peg; and the first interface includes an isolator. The isolator and the peg cooperating to couple the movable frame member relative to the first midframe.
Regarding claim 17, Jinhui in figures 1-9, disclose battery support for a battery, comprising a first movable frame member (1), a second movable frame member (2) that cooperates with the first movable frame member to define a battery cavity sized to receive the battery. Jinhui also disclose a cover (51) that mechanically couples to the first movable frame member and the second movable frame member to retain the battery within the battery cavity. The cover includes a positive terminal feature positioned to cover a positive terminal of the battery a negative terminal feature that restricts removal of the cover when a negative terminal of the battery is electrically connected. Jinhui also disclose a busbar feature (figures 4-5) configured to permit a busbar to extend from the battery cavity, thereby enabling an electrical connection to the positive terminal of the battery via the busbar when the cover is coupled to the first movable frame member and the second movable frame member.
Regarding claim 18, Jinhui disclose a safety cap (93) tethered to the cover, wherein the safety cap is sized and shaped to be mechanically coupled to the busbar.
Regarding claim 19, Jinhui disclose the busbar, wherein the busbar is electrically coupled to the positive terminal of the battery.
Regarding claim 20, Jinhui disclose the busbar including an indexing feature to orient, within the battery support, at least one of the busbar; or a positive cable electrically coupled to the positive terminal of the battery.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record don’t disclose a vehicle comprising a second movable frame member comprising a third interface configured to interface with a fourth interface defined on an interior side of the second midframe when the second movable frame member is moved in the second direction toward the second midframe. The vehicle also comprises a first movable frame member and the second movable frame member cooperate to define the battery cavity and to restrict a movement of the second movable frame member in the first direction when the battery is received by the battery cavity.
Conclusion
/HAU V PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615