DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 3/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the r-cracked stream comprises at least a portion of the cracker furnace effluent, wherein at least one of the following criteria (i) through (vii) are met …”. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear, with reasonable certainty, what element of the claim is being modified by the recited criteria (i)–(vii). The clause is positioned such that it could be interpreted as modifying the r-cracked stream, the recycled content product, the first fuel gas, the second fuel gas, or another process stream. The claim does not clearly identify the subject to which the criteria apply, thereby rendering the scope of the claim ambiguous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Southwick et al. (WO 2021/087066) in view of Ronczy (US 7,207,192) and Senetar et al. (US 6,444,869), and further in view of Albers et al. (WO 2015/000840).
Southwick teaches processes for producing olefins from recycled waste, comprising pyrolyzing waste plastic to form a recycled-content pyrolysis stream and cracking at least a portion of the pyrolysis stream in a cracking furnace to produce an olefin-containing effluent, followed by separation in a downstream separation zone including a demethanizer (Fig. 1; pp. 1–3).
Southwick does not teach steps wherein hydrogen- and/or methane-containing streams are recovered from the separation zone as fuel gas in the pyrolysis furnace and/or cracking furnace.
Ronczy teaches a conventional steam cracking separation scheme wherein furnace effluent is passed to a demethanizer, and the overhead stream is further processed in a cold box to produce a hydrogen-rich stream and a methane-rich stream (col. 4, lines 25–35; Fig. 1). Ronczy further teaches that such hydrogen- and methane-containing streams originate from the cracking facility separation section and are available for use within the plant, including as fuel gas.
Senetar teaches separating hydrogen and methane from a demethanizer overhead stream using separation processes such as pressure swing adsorption and recycling or reusing the recovered gases within the process (col. 1, lines 50–67). This includes recovery of hydrogen-rich streams and methane-containing streams from separation zones associated with olefin production.
Albers teaches hydrocarbon processing and cracking processes that produce gaseous streams comprising hydrogen and methane and describe separation and handling of such streams within integrated hydrocarbon processing systems (p. 4–5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Southwick by utilizing hydrogen- and/or methane-containing streams recovered from the separation zone as fuel gas in the pyrolysis furnace and/or cracking furnace, as taught by Ronczy and Senetar because such streams are conventionally separated in olefin plants and reused as internal fuel sources to improve energy efficiency and reduce external fuel requirements, as further supported by Albers.
Claims 2-5
Ronczy teaches that demethanizer overhead streams are processed in a cold box to produce hydrogen-rich and methane-rich streams (col. 4, lines 25–35; Fig. 1).
Senetar teaches that demethanizer overhead streams comprising hydrogen and methane are subjected to separation processes (e.g., PSA) and the recovered gases are reused (col. 1, lines 50–67).
Claim 2
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Southwick by utilizing overhead streams from the separation zone as fuel gas and to recover hydrogen therefrom using known separation technologies, as taught by Ronczy and Senetar because such configurations are standard in olefin recovery systems.
Claim 3
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Southwick et al. such that the overhead stream is withdrawn from a demethanizer or cold box, as taught by Ronczy because demethanizer-first fractionation schemes routinely employ cold box processing of overhead streams to separate hydrogen and methane components.
Claim 4
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Southwick to include a hydrogen separation unit utilizing known separation techniques, as taught by Senetar because hydrogen recovery from demethanizer overhead streams using PSA, membrane, or cryogenic separation is a conventional practice in olefin recovery systems.
Claim 5
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Southwick such that the overhead stream comprises hydrogen and/or methane in the claimed concentration ranges, as taught by Ronczy and Senetar because demethanizer overhead streams inherently comprise hydrogen-rich and methane-containing mixtures and their compositions are routinely determined by operating conditions.
Claim 6
Albers teach integration of gaseous streams and process energy management within hydrocarbon processing systems (pp. 4–5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Southwick to expand at least a portion of the overhead stream and recover work therefrom for use elsewhere in the process, as suggested by Albers et al., because expansion and energy recovery from process gas streams are conventional techniques used to improve overall plant energy efficiency in hydrocarbon processing systems.
Claims 7-8
Ronczy and Senetar teach hydrogen-rich and methane-containing streams derived from separation zones (col. 4, lines 25–35; col. 1, lines 50–67).
Albers teaches gaseous streams comprising hydrogen and methane in hydrocarbon processing (pp. 4–5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Southwick such that the first fuel gas comprises hydrogen and/or methane in the claimed compositions and properties, as taught by Ronczy, Senetar and Albers because fuel gas compositions in olefin plants are routinely adjusted and characterized based on available process streams and desired combustion performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Southwick such that the second fuel gas comprises hydrogen and/or methane in the claimed compositions and properties, as taught by Ronczy, Senetar and Albers because the use of hydrogen-rich and methane-containing fuel gases in cracking furnaces is conventional and their compositions are routinely optimized for process efficiency.
Claim 9
Senetar teaches recovery of hydrogen from process streams using separation technologies (col. 1, lines 50–67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Southwick to include a reforming process producing synthesis gas and a purified hydrogen stream and to incorporate at least a portion of the purified hydrogen stream into the fuel gas, as taught by Senetar.
Claim 10
Ronczy and Senetar teach hydrogen-rich fuel streams derived from separation processes (col. 4, lines 25–35; col. 1, lines 50–67).
Hydrogen-enriched fuel gas is known to reduce CO and CO₂ emissions during combustion.
The recited limitation of less than 8 mole percent CO and CO₂ represents optimization of combustion conditions through selection of fuel gas composition.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Southwick to utilize hydrogen-rich fuel gas compositions that reduce CO and CO₂ emissions in furnace stack effluent, as suggested by Ronczy and Senetar, because hydrogen-containing fuel gases are known to produce lower carbon-containing emissions and fuel composition is a result-effective variable in combustion processes.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771